Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

GARY'S TREES

Founded 1987 • With Angi since March 2004

4.3

(26) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2821 KENILWORTH ST

Pittsburgh, PA 15226

Description

Tree pruning, Tree Removel and Tree planting. Bucket truck rental

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

11/03/2019


Angela K.

HORRIBLE!!! They left a HUGE mess, and they had the AUDACITY to violate my First Amendment rights by erasing part of an anti-Trump sign I have in my house. DO NOT USE THESE PEOPLE!!!!!!

Description of Work
Tree trimming

Category tree service

1.0

06/20/2017


Gloria I.

Called three times and never had the courtesy to return my call. What a way to conduct a business!!!

Description of Work
Tree trimming

Category tree service

3.0

03/25/2017


Benjamin M.

I didn't like this company. It wasn't particularly expensive. The price was good.

Description of Work
They damaged a tree a lot when it was trimmed out of season so it started getting shock because it was done poorly.

Category tree service

1.0

09/13/2016


Jennifer A.

If you're looking for cheap, this is the company to use. If you're looking for professionalism, find another company immediately. Because I work during the day, my neighbor was in contact with Gary and Sons Tree Service and scheduled removal of a dead tree for me. The work was done two weeks after promised. Also, they broke two boards on my deck and have yet to contact me to replace them (I had the work done three weeks ago). (Fun fact: Not only did they break two boards on my deck, they also moved my table over the broken boards, so that I couldn't see them at first glance.) Apparently, Gary speaks highly and is incredibly proud of the clean up. I'm not sure why since nothing on my deck was put back where it was found, there was saw dust all over EVERYTHING (deck, furniture, lawnmower, grill, etc.), and they left trash in my yard (two empty bottles (one was Naked Juice and one was a Starbucks Doubleshot)). The cleanup was so nonexistent that when a contractor came to my house the following Saturday (four days after the tree was cut down), the contractor commented how unprofessional and unacceptable the mess that Gary and Sons Tree Service left in my yard. Not surprisingly, I can't get in contact with this business, but I will be filing a complaint with the BBB and possibly taking them to the magistrate to get my deck fixed.

Description of Work
Cutting a tree down

Category tree service

5.0

04/15/2016


Chantal B.

Category tree service

5.0

10/06/2015


Janet P.

Description of Work
Cut back branches of tree that were hitting my house. Removed all debris created during the job.

Category tree service

1.0

01/14/2015


Justin S.

I called several times during normal business hours and never got a response. I left a message, and it was never returned. I ended up calling two other tree services who were both immediately responsive. I can't comment on Gary's Tree's quality of service, since they were impossible for me to get in contact with.

Description of Work
I called Gary's Trees for an estimate to remove 2 trees, because they're the closest tree service to my house.

Category tree service

5.0

12/18/2014


GARY W.

Description of Work
Pruned tree in front yard. Outstanding job. Pruned and mulched cuttings. No a single piece tree branch, leaf or debris anywhere.

Category tree service

3.0

10/03/2014


Jack C.

Most of the work was completed - except for the clean-up. They left piles of dead branches and weeds which they were supposed to remove. My Mom is 79 and there is no way she would hire someone to cut and clean and then leave all the mess, which is what they did. The cost for their work was $250 - very high for the small amount of time they spent on the job. Anyway, my Mom has called Gary's Trees repeatedly since then and received no response. In addition, I called Gary's Trees about two weeks ago and left two detailed messages with no response. My Mom doesn't mind waiting for them to return to complete the job but there has been no contact with Gary since he was paid.

Description of Work
Hired by my 79 y.o. Mom to remove a large shrub and an old rotted stump, cut/remove over-hanging branches from a neighbors walkway, remove vines (trumpet vines) and then clean up afterward.

Category tree service

5.0

07/28/2014


Concetta L.

Description of Work
Cut a old cherry tree down, dug out the old stump. took the wood away |They were very prompt, they had several men to do the job. It was a big job.

Category tree service

5.0

07/24/2014


diane S.

Gary and his team came over as scheduled and completed the job within 2 hours. After 30 minutes of careful planning of all the steps and how to safely carry them out, each member of the team precisely carried out his responsibilities professionally and accurately. Besides cutting off all the dead branches, they saw cut them into logs for use in our fireplace. Upon completion of the job they left the front and back yards clean and tidy. In summary, this contractor is very professional and reasonably priced, punctual, extremely experienced with tree-cutting and all the demanding safety aspects associated with it and willing to please. We would recommend the use of this contractor to friends and neighbors without hesitation.

Description of Work
Gary and his team came and cut off all dead branches at the front and back of our house.

Category tree service

5.0

12/04/2013


Jeff W.

Gary and Sons Trees was awesome!! I called and the next day he was at my house with a quote which was almost $1000 cheaper than the other 3 that I got. Him and 5 other workers arrived on time and got right to work. As the tree was taken down, they carried the wood to the back of my house and stacked it. They were constantly raking and cleaning up the yard. He has an amazing team and were very respectful. Highly satisfied customer for life and would certainly recommend to anyone!!!!!

Description of Work
Removed an 80 foot Silver Maple tree and stump from the front yard.

Category tree service

5.0

08/27/2013


Emilie N.

They gave me the best bid, got the job done as agreed, and ahead of schedule. Gary seemed more knowledgeable about trees than the other tree guys I got bids from, and was able to advise me on the best way to solve the problems.

Description of Work
Removed a large tree and stacked it in the back yard. Trimmed two large trees.

Category tree service

5.0

05/29/2013


Elizabeth W.

All went well and I would call him again.

Description of Work
The provider helped us to assess whether a tree needed to be removed form our side yard.

Category tree service

2.0

03/31/2013


eileen F.

, Gary and his sons came about 7 weeks later, without calling. He must not have looked at his note as regard to my specific instructions. He did the complete opposite of what I wanted done. The shape of my tree was ruined as he removed vital limbs. My landscape was ruined as the tree limbs were shaped perfectly for the spot it was in. Also, the privacy of my yard and family room was now completely gone. I did not pay Gary for the work that he did. I did have to have a privacy fence installed as I live on a busy street.

Description of Work
In March 2012, Gary came to give me an estimate to prune my tree. I acceped his bid and gave him specific instructions -which he did write down. He was to prune only the top 2/3rds of the tree but he was not to touch the bottom 1/3rd of the tree. He said he would be back in 2-3 weeks.

Category landscaping, tree service

5.0

12/12/2012


Bruce S.

The experience overall went well. He was slightly delayed in starting the project, but he did everything I asked and I was very satisfied with the work. I would call Gary again if i ever needed any tree service.

Description of Work
Gary removed close to 20-25 overgrown shrubs around a home. He also cut down 6-8 modest sized trees and one large sugar maple in the backyard. He then came back two weeks later to stump grind everything.

Category tree service

5.0

07/25/2012


Cheryl B.

He arrived at 9:30am and had everything done by 12:30. The tree was abouit 25 ft tall and quite big, every storm we had I was afraid it would take my wires down. Gary did all the climbing and the four men with him did the clean up. They kept the road open and cleaned as they went. It was amazing watching them take it down. I am very satisfied. If I ever need a tree taken down again I will diffently call Gary.

Description of Work
Called to have a tree pruned that was hanging over my wires. He came out on 7/3/2012 gave me a price and explained what he would do. I thought the price reasonable and scheduled the service for 7/12. The city nor the electric company wouild not help.

Category tree service

5.0

06/19/2012


Olivia F.

They did a good job overall.

Description of Work
Gary and his crew did a nice job cutting down a couple dead trees and removal of some branches on other trees in our backyard. My husband used to work for the company during the summers while still in high school, so we knew we could trust Gary to do a great job and treat our backyard like it was his own. Gary and his crew took a little over an hour to complete the job and clean. They moved our patio furniture out of the way and put them back when they were done.

Category tree service

5.0

12/15/2011


Noah T.

It went extremely well. Gary always returned my calls promptly, demonstrated an advanced knowledge of his trade, and had his credentials and insurance information in order. I surveyed about six different companies for the removal of this tree, with Gary's price being the lowest, and another popular vendor's being over $3100.00. Most arborists fell towards the high end. I was somewhat skeptical of the price, but Gary's labor force consists mostly of his sons, and he has very little in the way of overhead. He was very transparent on his costs. I was impressed with his work ethic, and that of his family. During the time he was taking the tree down, he rarely paused for more than a 5 minute period, working constantly, and very safely. Gary does not take credit cards, but does accept cash and checks. As you would expect, a receipt is provided for your transactions. I have successfully used his services on 2 other jobs since and been satisfied.

Description of Work
Removal of 100+ foot tall 60 year old Norway Maple from a location with significant power line coverage, pedestrian and automotive traffic. It was a complex job, that was done in a very short amount of time, and included stump removal and location clean up.

Category tree service

5.0

06/23/2011


Andrea S.

Gary provided and estimate, we agreed. Within three days Gary and his crew came out, removed the large tree from the front and trimmed the maple in the back. All debris were removed. Workers were polite, professional and friendly.

Description of Work
Removal of large pine from front yard and trimming of neighbors encroaching maple.

Category tree service

5.0

10/04/2010


Christine D.

Due to a storm on 09/22/10 a very large branch from a neighbor's tree (2 yards over) fell into my driveway and damaged a metal awning. I called on Friday, 09/24 to get an estimate, Gary arrived on Saturday evening between jobs. Gary arrived on Sunday, 09/26, late afternoon, removed the branch and cleaned up the driveway of all debris from the storm. Because of the storm, many trees were down in the South Hills area. I was pleased that Gary could fit us in between jobs to clear the driveway so we could get our car out.

Description of Work
Cut and remove very large branch from awning and driveway.

Category tree service

5.0

10/08/2009


SARAH M.

They did an excellent job and the pricing was very reasonable. He showed up and said he would get to it and he did. He did a professional job and was very careful and did not break anything, and it was a nice experience. I think he was in the neighborhood and he saw that the tree was getting out of control and he put a card in my door. You have to give him credit for working hard and getting new business.

Description of Work
I used Gary’s Trees and they cut down a big tree for me on the 7th of October.

Category tree service

2.0

10/22/2008


GOUTHAM R.

Trimmed large tree in backyard which went very well ($950). We asked Gary to return to remove dangling limbs from a tree in a backyard we share with two neighbors. Gary gave us a quote of $150.00 for this minor job. After completion, he sent one of his assistants over with an invoice of $325.00, though he never informed us the job would cost more than his original estimate. We would not have asked him to this had we known it would cost $325.00 since the affected tree is actually on a neighbor's property. He did not stick to his original estimate, which is both unprofessional and dishonest.

Description of Work
Trimming of large tree in front yard; removal of dangling limbs from tree in backyard.

Category tree service

5.0

09/20/2007


ROBERT B.

I was very pleased with the work that they provided for me. They were on time and they did a very good job. I also think that they charged me a very reasonable price. It took them a lot of time to finish the work, but that was because it was a huge tree.

Description of Work
They removed a huge common tree from my back yard and it took them about a week to finish the job. They removed the stump, also.

Category tree service

4.0

03/04/2004


karen G.

GARY WAS VERY NICE. HE DID THE JOB RIGHT AWAY. HE AND HIS WORKERS CLEANED EVERYTHING UP. THE PRICE WAS BETTER THAN 2 OTHER PLACES I CALLED.

Description of Work
CUT DOWN AND REMOVED A VERY HIGH, LARGE TREE FROM BACKYARD.

Category tree service

    Other local Pros in your area

    Flower Pots Hardscaping

    Experienced landscape design and build company that can create unique projects for each home.  

    Angi Certified

    JJ's Landscaping

    Landscaping Services, Hardscapes, Concrete work, Installing walls, installation of fences, excavation work.  

    Angi Certified

    Lyle Blum, LLC Cert Arborist & Expert Tree Climber

    I am a Certified Arborist with over 25 years experience. Owner operated, FULLY insured Free Estimates  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Tree pruning, Tree Removel and Tree planting. Bucket truck rental

    Services Not Offered

    Painting

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about GARY'S TREES

    How is GARY'S TREES overall rated?

    GARY'S TREES is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are GARY'S TREES open?

    GARY'S TREES is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 AM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 AM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 AM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 AM

    What payment options does GARY'S TREES provide

    GARY'S TREES accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does GARY'S TREES offer free estimates?

    Yes, GARY'S TREES offers free project estimates.

    Does GARY'S TREES offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, GARY'S TREES offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does GARY'S TREES offer emergency services?

    Yes, GARY'S TREES offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by GARY'S TREES?

    Yes, GARY'S TREES offers warranties.

    What services does GARY'S TREES offer?

    GARY'S TREES offers the following services: Tree pruning, Tree Removel and Tree planting. Bucket truck rental

    Are there any services GARY'S TREES does not offer?

    Painting