Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Family Floors

Founded 1986 • With Angi since April 2006

5.0

(37) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

484 Broadway

Pitcairn, PA 15140

Description

Whether you are looking for carpet, ceramic, luxury vinyl tile, laminate or wood flooring, in need of a bathroom remodel or a kitchen backsplash, with our shop at home service or full service showroom, Family Floors has a floor to match your lifestyle. From your first visit to the showroom to the completion of your project, a member of Mazon family is involved. We enjoy getting to know our customers. Chuck Mazon will provide a personal evaluation of your project and provide you with a written proposal of your job. He is present on every job, with our own installers, we do not use sub-contractors. Chuck offers his 30 years of experience. We offer Saturday and evening hours by appointment....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/30/2014


Janice C.

Went perfectly! We also discussed Family Floors laying new vinyl flooring in the kitchen, hall and powder room sometime in the spring. We picked out the flooring and they made all the measurements for the flooring job. Very happy with them.

Description of Work
The restretched our living room carpet. Did a wonderful job.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

12/30/2014


Michael S.

Tremendous service and meticulous work. Couldn't be happier with the work.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel and installation of hardwood floors throughout first floor.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

12/08/2014


Daniel M.

Terrific. Family Floors was so great to work with. From arranging the estimate, to picking flooring in their showroom to the installation of the floors, it was easy and smooth and most importantly, fun. My girlfriend and I had a blast with the whole experience. We're ready for more home renovations!

Description of Work
I had a weird situation in my loft apartment; the kitchen and living room are both in one big room, but there were 2 kinds of flooring (tile and a crappy laminate), which was awkward. I also had really ugly black vinyl moldings going around the entire room. What I really wanted to do was rip up both floors and put down one new floor throughout with new moldings, but nobody could do that for the amount I wanted to spend ($7k). For 7k, most estimates involved putting down new tile and ripping up some of the laminate to attempt to make the transition between the two floors more aesthetically pleasing. But then along came Family Floors to save the day! For $6,610, Chuck did exactly what I wanted, ripping up both preexisting floor types and putting down one high quality laminate throughout, including crisp white moldings. It looks great, I couldn't be happier.

Category ceramic tile,flooring contractor

5.0

11/22/2014


Bryan M.

They were tremendous! My wife loves the way it looks and loves the way they laid it. We didn't have one single complaint about them!

Description of Work
We got an estimate in February. They ripped the carpet from before and installed the entryway of our home and the entire basement with Karndean plank vinyl.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

07/08/2014


Sherrie B.

This was my first time using them and I liked everything about the service. They were excellent from beginning to end. I had no dislikes about them at all. I have not had any issues since the service was provided.

Description of Work
I just had hardwood floors put in in the living room, dining room, kitchen and hall, carpeting put in in four rooms and the stairs and a laminate put in in two bathrooms and an entry way by Family Floors two weeks ago.

Category carpet installation,hardwood floor

5.0

05/15/2014


Terry C.

Excellent service and work. Completely satisfied with all aspects of the job.

Description of Work
Replaced flooring in kitchen, hall, and dining room.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

02/27/2014


Helen C.

Up to that point we thought we our choices were ceramic tile or laminate flooring. Kelly was very friendly and showed us some luxury vinyl tiles that they carried. We picked out some possibilities and made arrangements for Chuck to bring the samples when he came to take measurements. Between Chuck and my husband we picked out tiles that complemented the spaces. The estimates were reasonable and we made arrangements for installation. Chuck and his assistant were prompt and professional as well as friendly and easy to work with. He reviewed the steps he would be taking to install the tiles just in case there might be any concerns on our part. We are thrilled with our new floors! What a difference the floor makes in each space! Thank you Kelly, Chuck & Matt!

Description of Work
When we were shopping for flooring for our Foyer, Kitchen, and Master bath we decided to visit Family Floors.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

02/20/2014


Frank C.

It is a family owned business, it is a husband and wife team, but they are down to earth, professional, and they respond within 10 to 15 minutes when you call them. They are a great business.

Description of Work
We used Family Floors. They did the floor in the kitchen.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

02/04/2014


Walter B.

Outstanding. Estimate of time spot on. Quality excellent. Great company.

Description of Work
Removed existing carpet and installed new flooring in retail business.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

02/04/2014


Elizabeth K.

The floor is beautiful. They did an exceptional job. Even matched the molding in the different rooms. I tell people the floor is too nice for my house. They did that nice of a job. I would definitely hire them again for any of my flooring needs. The wait time can be several months, but is absolutely worth it.

Description of Work
Placed new laminent floor in bathroom, kitchen, and dining room.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

12/31/2013


Evelyn G.

lChuck Mazon, the owner ofFamily Floors, was very helpful in the choosing of the flooring. He and his helper did a great job of the installation. I give them an A+ recommendation.

Description of Work
Family Floors installed new vinyl flooring in my kitchen and entry hall. The flooring is Soledo Plank from earthwerks co. The floor laid in strips and gives the appearance of hardwood.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

10/10/2013


Robert G.

I used them and they did a fantastic job. I think the price was $6700. It was very good and did a good job. They were in and out for 3 days. Left masterpieces for in case I need repairs I have extra left for me. They did an extra thank for me that I asked them to do. I needed to put in a little affection that was left over, then they cut it up and put it I for me. The quality, the products that they used, and their handling out were very good.

Description of Work
I used Family Floors for carpet sales/installation/repair, ceramic tile, and hardwood flooring sales/installation/refinishing. I got all end step fillings for 4 rooms; wood laminate for 3 other rooms; final tile for the kitchen; and carpet for the hole and steps.

Category carpet installation,ceramic tile,hardwood floor

5.0

09/29/2013


Charles B.

From start to finish we could not have been more pleased with our experience with Family Floors. They really made the entire process so easy! I stopped in their showroom and met with Kelly. They had a huge selection! Kelly was SO helpful and really explained the differences between products and helped me narrow down my selection. I made an appointment and Chuck brought the possible selections to my house. He measured and helped me pick the best choice for our home. Chuck gave me a quote that night. I paid my deposit and we were put on the schedule. The final product/transformation is just amazing! The look and feel of the carpet is just what we were hoping for and we love, love, love our new look. The job took about a day and a half. They moved a grandfather clock and large pieces of furniture and everything was returned undamaged to the original places. Our family would highly recommend Family Floors to anyone looking for great service, product, and price! We will definately use them for our future carpet/flooring needs.

Description of Work
Replaced padding and carpet in our living room, dining room, stairway, hallway and master bedrooom.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

07/30/2013


linda P.

The fellows arrived bout 830 AM. They removed the old carpeting in our basement family-room. they moved couches, tables and assorted lamps. They installed Alloc Cityscapes Bristol Oak laminate flooring. The process took two days. They were friendly and professional. Totally cleaned up everything before they left. Would recommend them to anyone looking for flooring of any kind.

Description of Work
removed old rug disposed of rug provided materials and installed laminate and 1/4 round (stained to match) removed and replaced furniture. provided felt pads for funiture

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

06/23/2013


Jennifer K.

Family Floors is a family-owned business, with the second generation now in the driver seat. That second generation has over 20 years experience in the business as well. We started the relationship with our plumber who provided Family Floors as a recommendation when I mentioned that we needed to do a bathroom remodel. I called Family Floors and Chuck came out and talked to me and took a lot of measurements saying he would provide an estimate the next day. The work was for removal of the current tub and tub wall, installation of ceramic tile, new tub, and vinyl flooring. I didn't receive Chuck's estimate the next day, I got it via email that night! Wow! I got a follow-up copy of the estimate in the mail a couple days later. We hired Family Floors and I went to their store to pick out the tile and flooring. I worked with Kelly and we managed to pick out a lot. I came back to the store after doing some thinking and to view some additional samples after trying out the ones Kelly and I picked in my bathroom. This time I met with Chuck and he was terrific too. He listened carefully to what I explained, the kind of look I was after, and he made some suggestions himself for the finer details now that we were going with what Kelly and I had picked out originally. We honestly had fun with it all. He and Kelly are both very personable, and you can tell they have years of experience doing this because they stay very professional as well. The job is complete now. And it is absolutely beautiful. To attempt to do a quick summary: Chuck was ALWAYS on time, did the job in the amount of time he told me he had scheduled, he worked steadily from the time he arrived at our house until he was done for the day, he was very, very neat and cleaned up very well at the end of each day. I don't think he realized I saw him, but on the first day, I was planting flowers next to our sidewalk and hadn't swept up all the dirt. The next day, he pulled out his brush and swept off that little corner so that he wouldn't track the dirt into the house during his trips in from his van. His prices are very good and there's no having to wheel and deal. He gives you a good price, the right price, from the get go, no games. I loved that too. Thank you Chuck and Kelly, and welcome to the family!!

Description of Work
The work was for removal of the current ceramic tub and tub wall, installation of ceramic tile tub wall, new tub, and vinyl flooring. Also repair floor that had been water-damaged. Cost of service above does not include the cost and labor of the plumber for the tub, plumbing fixtures, and plumbing.

Category ceramic tile,flooring contractor

5.0

05/10/2013


Pat G.

The service was excellent. The workers were very professional and prompt. They were also very knowledgeable. I am very happy with my new floor. Chuck and Kelly are the owners. Chuck and Chick, his father, and Matt, his brother-in-law, do the estimates and instillation.They have been in the flooring business for many years. Combined they have a lot of experience and knowledge. Chuck, the owner, brought the floor samples to my house and gave me an estimate. He was very pleasant, helpful and patient with me. Chick and Matt did the instillation. They were also very pleasant and knowledgeable. It was nice to have them in my home. Kelly scheduled the instillation and she also was very helpful. My experience with Family floors was very positive.

Description of Work
Installed new kitchen floor.

Category flooring contractor

4.0

02/15/2013


Judy S.

Family Floors did an excellent job on repairing the hardwood floor. I wanted him to do another job replacing ceramic tiles but he just walked away. He didn't say he didn't want to do it which I felt wasn't really honest. So that's why I give him a B.

Description of Work
Family Floors replaced damaged hardwood boards in our laundry room.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

02/01/2013


Matthew M.

Chuck is so nice, knowledgeable, and professional, and Kelly, who we dealt with at the store is great in these same ways. They responded promptly to our initial call and were always responsive, prompt, and dependable in the process of giving estimates, setting dates, and following through with the installation. The floor looks great, and the price was very reasonable.

Description of Work
Reinforced floor joists in bathroom in preparation for claw foot tub, installed subfloor and sheet vinyl

Category carpet installation

5.0

12/10/2012


Stephen P.

The company owner and his assistants arrived at precisely the scheduled time (8am) and began work immediately. The work was completed in under 2 days, including moving and replacing all appliances. The workmanship was outstanding, and results were amazing. The crew was careful to clean and remove all debris and left no trash of any kind. the crew was considerate of the families schedule and were always pleasant and accomodating. I would not hesitate to use Family Flooring again for any future floor replacement or repair.

Description of Work
The Company Owner, Chuck came in person to provide both samples of flooring (I had already decided on a vinyl flooring) and took extensive measurements for his estimate. It should be mentioned that Chuck was extremely helpful in giving advice in making final decisions for patterns and coloring of the flooring as well. The contract was for replacing old linoleum in my entryway, hallway and powder room, and carpeting in my kitchen anbd laundry room with vinyl wood textured planking. Included in the contract was movement of the refrigerator, gas oven, dishwasher, washer and dryer to place the new flooring. Also included was a new base to the subflooring that had been omitted by the house builders, and removal and restaining of the wood trim on the walls along all areas where the flooring was replaced .

Category flooring contractor

5.0

05/25/2012


Jan J.

I am very satisfied with the work done by Family Floors. The person who worked was very good and punctual. He was easy to work with.

Description of Work
I used Family Floors to put laminates on the floors of the dining room, living room and the kitchen.

Category ceramic tile,flooring contractor

5.0

05/11/2012


Wende M.

He was terrific. The owner of the house was so happy with them that she hired them to do her own kitchen. It looks so beautiful. He worked very quickly and did a beautiful job.

Description of Work
He redid tile around the tub wall.

Category carpet installation,ceramic tile,flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

03/05/2012


Janet R.

Chick and Matt were professional, knowledgeable and efficient. They worked with my schedule. All of the staff were courteous and willing to assist. We arranged for 2 bedrooms to be done first and then to finish the kitchen. They then worked on the other part of the house which took extensive repairs in the bathroom. Placed underlayment and linoleum. They stained the wood quarter round to match existing wood. They recommended changes when needed. The linoleum pattern was placed exactly and we could not tell where the seams were. They even placed linoleum on 2 landings, which was not included in the original order. Other changes were made easily and quickly. Very pleased with Family Floors. Definitely will be using them in the future. Excellent service. Wide selection of products to choose from. "That Was Easy".

Description of Work
Carpeted 2 bedrooms. Linoleum in 2 kitchens, living room, hall and bath and 2 landings. The floor in the bathroom needed to be rebuilt since there was a leak and the joists were rotting through. There was another area in the kitchen under the refrigerator that also needed the joists repaired due to a previous water leak. Underlayment was required in both kitchens, hall and bath. Extensive work - professionally done.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

01/19/2012


Yuling W.

Carpet stretching was well performed by one person, and furniture was restored to original location. Staircase carpet was replaced using leftovers from original carpet, and now looks brand new. Job was performed neatly and quickly. Both the carpet stretching and staircase job were finished in one afternoon. They cleaned up very nicely afterwards too. No contract was written, but the originally discussed amount of $300 was honored.

Description of Work
Stretched carpet in living/dining area. Replaced carpeting on staircase.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

10/10/2011


Patrick D.

It was very good. I don't remember the cost of the carpet and the installation. They had to move a very heavy piano and they did that without complaining. Their whole work idea was very good. The sonny and the father came and they did a very good job. They lived up to their word. They were on time. When they said they would have it done, they were there promptly and did the work quickly and efficiently. I didn't check the prices, but their price was certainly reasonable. The quality of work was very good. Their responsiveness, punctuality, and professionalism were very good.

Description of Work
I purchased some carpeting from Family Floors a couple of years ago. They installed it as well.

Category carpet installation

5.0

07/26/2011


Mary S.

They did a great job of making it as even as possible, and we have not had any moisture or wetness issues since. We used ceramic tile which was pricey, but we wanted something solid and durable that would hold up. It is cold in the Winter of course, but we've warmed it up with some throw rugs and it feels great in the hot summer months!It was a bit tough to get on their calendar, but once we got a date set they stuck to it and they delivered a fabulous result. Highly recommended!

Description of Work
We used Family Floors for our basement floor replacement. There had previously been carpet over the concrete floor of our finished basement (city house built in the 1930s). We had issues with moisture in the carpet, and it just needed to be replaced after years of use that predated our move in 4 years ago. As this is an old home and the basement was poured concrete by hand, you can imagine that the floor was pretty uneven.

Category ceramic tile,flooring contractor

    Other local Pros in your area

    JD's Floor Sanding & Refinishing

    Locally owned and operated. Over 15 years of experience. We take pride in every single floor we do. Customer satisfaction is guaranteed. We leave your home as clean or cleaner then when first get there. We will show what the samples of stain look like on your hardwood floor cause every floor has different age. We fill all holes with wood filler, set nails if needed, and sand every room 2 to 3 times to get all scratches and stains out, I'm new to Angie's List but not to floor sanding. This is all I do, so don't hire a general contractor that does a little of everything. I have the best equipment for the job, not the small machines you can rent. When you call me, I do all the work myself, some companies have young inexperienced guys that don't know what they are doing also getting hourly rate so they don't care as much. When you call me you get me from start to finish 15 years experience. I guarantee all of my work, Thank you look forward to doing business with you. Also take advantage of fall discounts 20% off all jobs 3 or more rooms.  

    Doran Hard Surfaces

    Hardwood Floors- Installation and refinishing  

    Sandfree

    Sandfree wood refinishing. We refinish floors and more with no sanding. Check out Sandfree.com. No dust no odor no downtime!!!! Spruce up your floor, kitchen or furniture without sanding and for half the cost.  

    Offers by Sandfree on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Carpet, vinyl sheet, vinyl tiles, laminate, hardwood & ceramic tile, residential & commercial, ceramic backsplashes & bathrooms, carpet restretching, patching & ceramic tile repair.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Family Floors

    How is Family Floors overall rated?

    Family Floors is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Family Floors open?

    Family Floors is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Family Floors provide

    Family Floors accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Family Floors offer free estimates?

    Yes, Family Floors offers free project estimates.

    Does Family Floors offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Family Floors offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Family Floors offer a senior discount?

    No, Family Floors does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Family Floors?

    Yes, Family Floors offers warranties.

    What services does Family Floors offer?

    Family Floors offers the following services: Carpet, vinyl sheet, vinyl tiles, laminate, hardwood & ceramic tile, residential & commercial, ceramic backsplashes & bathrooms, carpet restretching, patching & ceramic tile repair.