Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Old City Movers

Founded 2006 • With Angi since April 2008

4.9

(80) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1417 N. 2nd St. Ste. 3R

Philadelphia, PA 19122

Description

Additional contact - John. Award winning. Cost is determined by the job....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/28/2017


Rifat P.

The move went flawlessly even when there were challenges.

Description of Work
Moving of a 1 bedroom apartment

Category moving companies

5.0

01/23/2017


Zach S.

It went very well. They showed up on time, worked hard, didn't complaint about anything, nothing was broken, and they were efficient. It even took them less time than initially estimated so it cost us less...

Description of Work
Move a 3 bedroom row house

Category moving companies

5.0

01/20/2016


Nadin C.

chose Olde City Movers based and i was not disappointed. They were polite, on time, very professional, and all my stuff got to their destination in one piece.The pricing was competitive with other moving companies

Description of Work
Moved my belongings to my new apartment

Category moving companies

5.0

12/07/2015


Sima K.

They, 3 of them, showed up on time. They called to verify the day before. They were very professional. They realized that a lot of boxes weren't packed well meaning there was a lot of air in the boxes, including ones that said fragile and made sure they handled them with care. They unscrewed table legs, they made sure boxes and furniture were placed where asked. They packed up pictures in moving blankets, then wrapped tape around the blankets - nicely done. They were very careful as they realized that the furniture and stuff in boxes was old. very respectful of my mother.

Description of Work
They moved about 40 very large boxes - a lot of which weren't packed as well as we should have packed them and large furniture and plants down 2 very narrow and curving flights of stairs to another residence

Category moving companies

5.0

11/06/2015


Miriam V.

It went well considering there were physical challenges with the move. Old City Movers prepared of the narrow street of the new home. They were able to move the furniture down narrow staircases of the original home with great care. The team was punctual and easy to work with. They handled all of the items with great care. The only complaint was that the truck was small for the amount of items that needed to be moved. fortunately the move was within the city so we were able to go back and pick up the remaining items. But in the end I would use them again.

Description of Work
Moved furniture and packed boxes for 2 bedroom plus den row house to a 3 story row house

Category moving companies

5.0

09/28/2015


BARBARA H.

The move couldn't have gone better. An Old City Movers representative confirmed order by phone, staff assigned to make the move contacted me by phone prior to the move as well as kept me posted regarding specific time on the day of the move. The team members were professional, worked hard and efficiently, and were very polite and personable. Move was completed in considerably less time than I anticipated and therefore at a cost below expectations.. The team placed items as requested, stairs were not a hindrance at the destination, and all pieces were moved in fine condition.

Description of Work
Light office furniture, file cabinets, heavy boxed documents -- move from one office location to another

Category moving companies

5.0

09/24/2015


Anoop C.

They were very careful and responsive to our requests.

Description of Work
Move from two bedroom apartment in the city to a house in the suburbs

Category moving companies

5.0

07/09/2015


Manjiree J.

These guys did a great job. It was my third time using them, although the prior moves were between apartments/condos within Center City, so this was the biggest job I've hired them for. They show up on time and get moving right away. They are efficient, very careful with your stuff, and friendly. We were amazed at how much they could carry on their backs on each trip from the truck. My only complaint was that the total came out to be just above the high end of their estimate. Nothing alarming (I believe $100 over), and they had warned me that it was just an estimate and dependent on how things went on the actual day, so I can't say I was misled. All considered, I don't think anyone else could have done the job faster, and i think their hourly rate is reasonable, so I think we paid a fair price, but I was glad I had taken out a little extra cash just-in-case, cause we needed it. I would still hire them again and highly recommend them!

Description of Work
Moved us from 2 bedroom condo in Center City to house in Penn Valley

Category moving companies

4.0

02/18/2015


Kathleen M.

The 3 men who did all the moving were amazing, polite and worked incredibly hard. The weather was terrible, but they persevered and never complained. My complaint is how much I paid verses how much I was quoted in the estimate. There was an almost 300.00 difference. When I verbalized my concern regarding this issue, I was asked if anyone had come out to my home to do the estimate. The answer was no, but all the questions that were asked online were answered honestly. The reasons I was given were that there were more steps and furniture than anticipated. At that point, what choice does a customer have? I still wanted to tip the gentlemen who worked diligently all day long, but quite honestly, I would have booked a different moving company who quoted $1,000.00 for the move. I was disappointed in the financial outcome and feel that this company should visit each home so a customer can receive a more honest estimate.

Description of Work
The moving company transported all the furnishings from my condo to a new townhouse.

Category moving companies

5.0

11/05/2014


Caroline C.

My initial call for a price and schedule was returned right away, and they got me on the calendar quickly. When they showed up, the movers were great, and very punctual. There were three people, and they were all pleasant, quick, and seemed nice, and easy to get along with. The price was competitive, and the move went quickly.

Description of Work
moved some items from my home to a storage facility

Category moving companies

5.0

06/30/2014


Burke A P.

Absolutely incredible. 3 very polite and well mannered guys showed up to move the house. They wrapped all the large glass objects, disassembled tables, wrapped up my tv and move all my furniture and a 3 bedroom house worth of boxes in to the truck. Off to Wissahickon, unloaded the truck and placed all of the items/furniture in the exact room they were intended. All in all it was about a 5 hours effort for what would have taken me a week. I did label each box extremely clearly about where it was supposed to go which I think helped speed up the moving in aspect. Nothing was broken and the head guy took extra time to help me disassemble the couches to fit them through the 100 year old custom sized front door. By far the most incredible and worthwhile service I've ever used. I would use them again in a heartbeat. I was beyond satisfied. I seriously cannot stress how awesome this moving company is.

Description of Work
Moved my house from South Philadelphia to Wissahickon.

Category moving companies

5.0

06/24/2014


Brad R.

They were very friendly. They did practically no damage at all to the new house or the furniture involved. They were able to accommodate every furniture that was there. I really cannot think of any complains that we had.

Description of Work
I used the services of Old City Movers. They moved my furniture and boxes.

Category moving companies

3.0

06/11/2014


Andrey G.

The email exchange before the work was good, we could warn about and describe potential issues. The estimate was $565.00 to $675.00. However, the whole affair took them much longer and the cost for us was close to 1K. The guys did not waste time, they just should give better estimates. Further, a few scratches were left both on the walls and on some furniture. Overall, they seemed reasonably careful, though. So, a mixed bag.

Description of Work
Move from Phila to NJ

Category moving companies

5.0

12/13/2013


Sonia S.

The move was stressfree because of the 3 professional, very pleasant, movers! They were on time, efficient, took great care to wrap and tape what needed to be. Once to our new home, items were brought into the house securely; unwrapped; beds set up; all done in a timely fashion! We would highly recommend this company!!

Description of Work
Old City Movers, a 3-man crew, moved us from an apartment to our recently bought home. Because our closing was rescheduled, the company was flexible in changing our move-out day, one day up. The cost came in a little under budget!

Category moving companies

5.0

12/07/2013


Linda W.

Travis and his crew were amazing. They were prompt, efficient, friendly, and polite. The company was easy to deal with--we spoke on the phone once but handled most other issues by email, which they responded to promptly. They arranged the city parking permits. All told, a great experience. They made a stressful day much less so! Thanks. I'd recommend them to anyone who needs to move within the city as they understand how challenging it can be.

Description of Work
Moved me from a 2 bedroom apartment in an elevator building to a three story row house with narrow stairwells.

Category moving companies

3.0

11/14/2013


Michelle D.

I have to give an overall grade of 'C' (fair rather than excellent or good) because they arrived approximately 5 - yes, five - hours later than their original estimate and didn't give us any reduction on the price of the service. They also mislaid two small drawer knobs (minor issue, but annoying since we had to find and buy new ones) because they didn't tell us that they had removed them and put them who-knows-where. Having said that, they worked very quickly and effectively once they did arrive. The move itself was completed in less time than we had expected, which is saying something since the house we moved to is on a narrow, no-parking street in South Philadelphia and access is not exactly easy. They also returned the $50 that we had paid in parking permits, since by the time the move was under way both permits had expired. Scratches were left on the walls in a few places, and there was minor damage to one piece of furniture, but that wasn't a a biggie since we knew what we were signing up for and our furniture is not exactly, let's say, high-end. (I'm simply mentioning it here to make sure people know what to expect.) The real issue was the enormous delay. Going to the trouble of putting up permits and advising all our neighbors of the move so as to allow them time to move their cars could have been avoided. More importantly, taking the day off work would not have been necessary for either of us if we'd known that the movers would arrive after 5 PM rather than between 12 and 2 PM as they had originally stated. Taking off work is loss of income for us, and this was why we were pretty upset not to be given any break on the service price at all. I'm sure these guys would do an excellent job - provided you don't have super-expensive, delicate furniture - if booked for a morning move and instructed specifically to hand over all knobs, screws, and small moving parts for safe-keeping. But I think we'd wait a while before giving them a second chance.

Description of Work
Moved furniture and belongings from a small one-bedroom apartment on the second floor to a Trinity (3-level house) in the same zip-code.

Category moving companies

5.0

11/10/2013


JOAN R.

Old City Movers were professional, punctual and very helpful from first contact to completion of the job. They applied for a permit so that they could park their truck in front of the house and then I just had to get the signs at the local police department and hang them a day before the move. They moved everything very quickly and then again into the storage unit. I recommend them highly.

Description of Work
Moved possessions out a two story house and into storage unit.

Category moving companies

5.0

11/04/2013


Deborah V.

They did a great job. They were very care moving my belonging from a storage unit to my new home. This was a great experience. They put all of my furniture and boxes in the rooms I wanted them in. They were just very accommodating to my schedule and my belongings. I just like the fact that they were very careful about bringing in my furniture and boxes in. They made sure nothing was damaged with the move. They know how to navigate through Philadelphia’s narrow streets and told me where to get the needed paperwork to have them park.

Description of Work
They moved my belongings from a storage unit to my new home.

Category moving companies

5.0

09/04/2013


Mindy B.

The three men were friendly.efficient and comprehensive. The movers called a head to confirm the time. They were reasonably priced, completed the job quickly. The showed up on the scheduled time.

Description of Work
The company moved us out of one apartment to another apartment. ($110.00 per hour for 3 people.)

Category moving companies

5.0

08/19/2013


Megan W.

Excellent- they arrived early, were extremely professional and did a great job. A pleasure to work with.

Description of Work
Moved from a storage unit into a 5 bedroom house.

Category moving companies

5.0

06/27/2013


Courtney R.

This is the second time we have used Old City Movers, and we regularly recommend them to friends and family that need moving services. OCM has a good system to make sure that everything is likely to go smoothly on moving day. Over the phone and/or email, they arranged all of the logistics ahead of time, including the necessary Philly parking permits. (We did not need an in-person estimate because they had moved us in.) They called a day ahead to confirm the appointment. The OCM team - Jeremy, Julian, Mike - arrived early and began work at the 8am start time. Truck parking/loading area logistics went very smoothly, thanks to good communication beforehand. They quickly but carefully packed up our 2-bedroom apartment and completed the move-in at our new 3-bedroom house in just over 4 hours. The job was completed within the estimated time, even in 90-degree mid-day temperatures. The team was very efficient with the move, and treated all of our things with care. P.S. - Do not forget to tip your crew. These guys work harder than almost anyone, and they actually save you time and money with their efficiency.

Description of Work
Moved 2 bedroom apartment into 3 bedroom house. 4-hour job.

Category moving companies

5.0

06/12/2013


Kellyann M.

This was the third time that I used Old City Movers. To date, I have used them twice for full home moves and once for a dining room set. The guys were so nice, helpful, and hard working. I cannot say enough about their service. Communication is great, from booking to confirming to estimating arrival times. I had an elevator issue with the first move that they worked around. With my second move, I was not quite ready (six month old baby), and they helped with the last of the packing. I have lived in NJ for the last 2 moves, and I still use them (even paying the mileage/tolls). I plan on using them again at the end if the summer. I would never use anyone else, and would honestly change my moving date rather than use someone else if they weren't available.

Description of Work
Moved my belongings.

Category moving companies

5.0

06/03/2013


Brian G.

Everything went very well and was a smooth move. I would recommend this company.

Description of Work
5.5 hours of moving services. 3 Guys and a truck. Moved my wife and I from our 825 Square foot center city high rise condo to a home in the suburbs.

Category moving companies

5.0

05/14/2013


David W.

The best way for me to describe Old City Movers' performance on my moving day is to contrast their work with that of another vendor I hired to perform a task that day. Two months before the move date, I contacted Old City Movers via email based on reviews I'd read on Angie's List and Yelp. I got a callback within a few hours, and scheduled a walkthrough of the home I was vacating. I also called the other vendor, Comcast, to move my account to my new address. The walkthrough went smoothly, and the Old City rep was friendly, knowledgable and gave me what turned out to be accurate estimates of the time and expense involved. Comcast called back, made an appointment for the day before Old City did the move, and assured me we'd have service on that day. They also assigned me a new account number and Comcast email address, and told me they'd deleted all my existing comcast.net email accounts. The day before the move, Old City called to confirm the 8am start time. One hour before the Comcast installation appointment, their tech called me and said there was no Comcast feed at my new address, so there would be no installation. The day of the move, the Old City Movers team, Zack, Sam and Adam, arrived right on time, introduced themselves and immediately got to work with resourcefulness, efficiency and good humor. They managed to empty a pretty large 3-bedroom house into one big semi truck without damaging or denting anything, and I have no idea how they managed that oversized vehicle on the tiny, narrow South Philly streets, but they did it. On the other hand, still no Comcast. At the end of moving day, everything was in disarray, of course, but Old City Movers had gotten it to the new spot in one piece. The next day Comcast sent another installer, followed by a manager, who told me Comcast hadn't even completed "the build" in my new neighborhood and he had no idea when my new home would be hooked up. So I'd say the win for the day went to Old City Movers. My conclusion: Old City Movers arrived on time, did the job they were hired to do professionally and with great good humor, and had no need to return after the job was done. As of this writing, Comcast still hasn't completed the job they were hired to do five days ago, and still haven't gotten their "build" to my address. My opinion: The crew at Old City Movers deserves the same executive compensation Comcast CEO Brian Roberts receives (about $27 million), and Roberts should be paid the same salary an Old City mover is paid (somewhat less). I would happily hire Old City Movers again.

Description of Work
Before the move , an Old City Movers rep accurately estimated the size, time and cost of the move in a walkthrough of the house. We discussed logistics, proper prep on our part, and which items needed special handling. During the move, the three-man Old City crew worked quickly but carefully, and with good humor. They introduced themselves by name, and called us by our first names during the move. They successfully navigated their large semi through the little streets of South Philadelphia, and offloaded into our new place without any problems. Nothing was broken, no walls were damaged, nothing was left behind. Overall, an excellent execution from a responsible mover that added much-needed relief to what is always a stressful day.

Category moving companies

5.0

05/09/2013


Nicole B.

We hired Old City Movers to help us move a large couch we couldn't figure out how to move through narrow doorways. Old City movers Dave and Phil were very professional. They wrapped the couch in blankets for protection and skillfully maneuvered it through two narrow apartment doors to load onto their truck. When they arrived at our house, they again expertly moved the couch through a narrow entry door, over a bannister and around a corner through an even narrower interior door, with no damage to the couch. They placed the couch exactly where I asked and even offered to help me move anything else I might need while they were there. As a bonus, they also shooed a nasty looking spider out the door.

Description of Work
Moved a large couch through narrow doorways from an apartment to a home.

Category moving companies

    Other local Pros in your area

    Gotham Moving Systems

    We're a reliable and professional moving company ran by an industry leader with over 20 years experience in the moving and storage business. When you contact us, you'll be treated as family because we truly care about helping you out through the stressful task of moving. We offer free, in home as well as phone consultations. In home estimates are encouraged. We servive both local and interstate moves. Packing service is available as well. If you require your office be moved, that is also something we can help with. All of our movers are hand picked by the owner and thoroughly vetted and trained the Gotham way prior to working on any move. You can expect clean cut and highly skilled personnel on the job site. Most employees have actually been working hand in hand with the owner for over 10 years.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Gotham Moving Systems on Angi
    TreeStooges Moving Co.

    We are a small business, steadily growing. We offer all services from, moving (loading and unloading) to full clean outs. We pride ourselves how quickly and efficiently we can move pack or unpack your items  

    Versatile

    I am owner operated. Will go above and beyond to meet the customers criteria, also this is something I actually like doing rather some might just see a job, I see opportunity to make a customer happy with there home.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Delivery Service
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Furniture moving, sale boxes, art moves, local and long distance moving, packing, hoisting, load and unload trucks & deliveries.

    Services Not Offered

    Grand piano moving.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Old City Movers

    How is Old City Movers overall rated?

    Old City Movers is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Old City Movers open?

    Old City Movers is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Old City Movers provide

    Old City Movers accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Old City Movers offer free estimates?

    Yes, Old City Movers offers free project estimates.

    Does Old City Movers offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Old City Movers does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Old City Movers offer a senior discount?

    No, Old City Movers does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Old City Movers?

    No, Old City Movers does not offer warranties.

    What services does Old City Movers offer?

    Old City Movers offers the following services: Furniture moving, sale boxes, art moves, local and long distance moving, packing, hoisting, load and unload trucks & deliveries.

    Are there any services Old City Movers does not offer?

    Grand piano moving.