Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Mr. Contractor Inc

4.8

(532) Verified Reviews

Founded 1949 • With Angi since April 2007

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021

Business Highlights

LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask
Licensed
Trade License Number
PA025178
Trade License Locale
Pennsylvania
Trade License Authority
Pennsylvania: Home Improvement Contractors
Trade License Expiration
09/01/2023
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

2634 Frankford Ave

Philadelphia, PA 19125

http://www.mrcontractor.com
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.
Roofing Project

Roofing Project

roofing
Roofing and siding.

Description

Mr. Contractor has been around since 1949. For 65 years we have serviced more than 55,000 clients in the Philadelphia, Lower Bucks County, and parts of New Jersey areas while earning a solid reputation. As a result, we have been consistently named "Top 500 Remodelers in the Country" for more than a decade. Mr. Contractor has been ranked by Philadelphia Business Journal (Book of Lists) for being in the 'Top 50' for “Family-Owned Businesses” '13, '14, '15. We have maintained an A+ rating at the Better Business Bureau for over 30 years. We have also been awarded “Best of Philly '12 & '07", "Angie's List Super Service Award '15 & '09”, “Angie’s List Honor Roll '12", "Best of Thumbtack '15", and "Philly Happening List Winner '15". In 2011 we were featured on the Rachael Ray Show for creating a community garden in Philadelphia (corner of Wharton Street and East Passyunk Avenue at 9th Street). We provide the finest quality care with personal attention by a staff of expert craftsmen. All jobs are welcomed. We do not claim to be the best, but our customers do! Although not the cheapest, Mr. Contractor is competitive with pricing while also finding ways to work within your budget to bring unparalleled services. We have maintained and grown our social media presence on Facebook, Twitter, Thumbtack, YouTube, and Instagram. In fact, we have more than 2,000 "Likes" on Facebook and have more than 5,000 views on our 81 videos on YouTube. Our website has received more than 55,000 visitors. Our websites contains over 3,000 pictures and 100 testimonials for our customers to look at, as well as staff bios and updated information. Come see why everyone is buzzing about Philly's #1 Contractor! Visit us online and call for your FREE estimate!...

Verified Reviews

4.8

(532) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

456

4

30

3

8

2

12

1

26

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (131)drywall (124)woodworking (118)door installation (115)window replacement (100)interior painting (95)plumbers (86)electrician (79)roofing (71)decks & porches (64)general contractors (60)siding companies (56)
Showing 1-10 of 532 reviews
5.0

06/11/2022


Bill S.

I felt that they were serious about solving my problem and making sure I was happy with the results. The work they did actually looks better as more time goes by. I notice more of the details that really improve on what we started with. They thought of improvements I had not even considered. I really got more than I bargained for. That is a rare thing. I highly recommend these guys.

Description of Work
Repaired an addition that was poorly built by another contractor as substantial water damage

Category ceramic tile,decks,picture framing,gutter repair,plumbing,roofing,siding,water damage restoration,chimney caps

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/11/2022

5.0

06/03/2022


Mark H.

Very happy with the entire project. From the initial consultation, ordering the work, communication throughout, and then the actual labor and the finished product. The new back door has completely transformed our outdoor space.

Description of Work
New door installation

Category chimney caps,doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/03/2022

5.0

05/13/2022


Dana C.

Mr Contractor is a professional, legit licensed, skilled company. If you need proof check out their work on-line at mrcontractorinc.com. Let's not forget the owner Lonnie he's awesome 😊

Description of Work
Flooring, ceiling, paint job

Category flooring contractor,lighting,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/13/2022

5.0

05/02/2022


Juanita S.

We most definitely recommend Mr. Contractor! If you want grade “A” service, then Mr. Contractor is where to find it! The professionalism and customer service from the front end with Barry, to the backend with Ms. Jennie and everyone in between is hands down “The Best” Philadelphia has to offer! They are very reliable, respectful and Always On Time!!!!🤗 Their work is First Class . We are so happy with our overall experience that we’ve chosen them for future home renovations.

Description of Work
We had our roof pilot house enclosed while leaving access with a glass pocket door.

Category drywall,picture framing,remodeling,chimney caps,woodworking,interior painters

Cost $6,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/25/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your awesome review. Personally I must say it was a great pleasure working with you. Your understanding and responsiveness were top notch. We have the best customers! Thanks again and call us if your ever in need! Mr Contractor & Jennie :)
5.0

05/01/2022


Beth H.

Mr. Contractor did a great job turning our unfinished basement into a play area and tv room! We are very happy with the work, everyone was friendly and communicative, and we look forward to hiring them for our next home project.

Description of Work
Basement renovation

Category basement remodeling

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2022

5.0

03/19/2022


Teresa D.

They were all so helpful and courteous - they truly did go out of their way giving us a finished product that was so much nicer than we anticipated. Any questions we had were quickly addressed. They went above and beyond to make sure we were happy. We love our new bedroom and bathroom!

Description of Work
Bathroom and Bedroom Remodeling

Category ceramic tile,drywall,electrician,lighting,plumbing,replacement windows,skylights,home remodeling,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/21/2022

5.0

02/11/2022


Christopher S.

My family had a vision to build a modern electric fireplace with mounted tv in our living room and basement. We called several contractors with no response back or not interested in our project. I stumbled upon Mr. Contractor in a google search around my neighborhood. I left a message and it was returned within 48 hours. Kenny talked briefly with me about what I was looking to accomplish, met me in person to discuss the details, and promptly provided a price with timeline. Mr. Contractor provided excellent communication throughout the process. His framing crew worked effectively and efficiently with respect to my home and family. Thank you to Rob, Alex, and the whole team. After framing was complete Nick and his team completed the electrical portion of the project within hours with the same care for my home, We chose to tile the framing and Isaac did a fantastic job. His patience and precision were notable. Rob, Alex, and the team came back to finish the mantel/TV mount, cleaned up my entire house, and left no loose ends. My expectations were far exceeded, my new fireplace and tv have become a focal point of the space, and I am completely satisfied. Mr. Contractor won’t be the cheapest or the most expensive in the market, but their value for craftsmanship, communication, respect, and personality is embedded in the company culture thus worth the price. I will certainly use them for more improvements and highly recommend their services.

Description of Work
Modern electric linear fireplaces with mounted TV surrounded by tile work.

Category ceramic tile,drywall,electrician,picture framing,fireplaces

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/08/2022

Images

Review for Mr. Contractor Inc - 2634 Frankford Ave, Philadelphia, PA - 39625826

+8 More

5.0

01/16/2022


Spring G.

As first-time home buyers tackling a major kitchen and bath remodel, we feel very lucky to have worked with Ken and his team. The entire Mr. Contractor crew was communicative, responsive, and professional. They had the know-how and practical experience to transform our vague taste and one single architectural sketch-up into a gorgeous, spa-like bathroom and functional, spacious kitchen. We love our home. Even better, they bought a lot of experience working in Philadelphia rowhomes. This meant that they knew how to respond—without blowing the budget!—when they ran into unexpected snags like an extra electric sub-panel or wood rot in the walls. Their subcontractors were also excellent. We are delighted with our new kitchen and bathroom, and know that we'll be enjoying the benefits of this investment for a long time.

Description of Work
Kitchen and bathroom remodel

Category ceramic tile,concrete repair,drywall,electrician,picture framing,handyman service,hardwood floor,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,replacement windows,woodworking,stucco,home remodeling,interior painters,doors

Cost $70,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2021

5.0

12/30/2021


Kelly F.

The work went as planned, on time, was thorough, and of high quality. I would recommend without hesitation! Ken is outstanding, responsive, and great at communicating to staff and clients. They gutted the kitchen, added electrical, and performed the work on time, as promised, during a busy time of year (and a pandemic!). They replaced old beams, installed new flooring and walls, replaced window frame, painted, and added electrical, new cabinets and countertops. They worked in a very small space; while house is about 825 square feet! I included a “before” and some “after shots” and could not be happier with my new kitchen. Everyone at Mr. Contractor was respectful and did great work.

Description of Work
Full kitchen renovation & new circuit breaker

Category countertops,drywall,electrician,flooring contractor,handyman service,lighting,plumbing,chimney caps,home remodeling,interior painters

Cost $27,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/20/2021

Images

Review for Mr. Contractor Inc - 2634 Frankford Ave, Philadelphia, PA - 39585358

+4 More

5.0

10/25/2021


Delia M.

It was a great experience working with the Mr. Contractor team on our bathroom renovation and the addition of a first floor half bath. The firm came highly recommended because a family member had used it for a renovation project. Barry communicated with us all the way, and the carpenters, tile setters, painters, and other folks all did an outstanding job. Everyone working for Mr. Contractor was courteous and friendly, and the quality of the work was solid. I'm very happy with the results.

Description of Work
Bathroom renovation and addition of a half bath

Category remodeling,home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/16/2021

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your review. It was our pleasure to work with you. We are pleased with the results as well, and look forward to helping you again in the future. Thanks again.

Services Offered

Complete Renovations. Siding-Complete kitchen and a bathroom renovations- Decks/Porches/Beams Steps-Railing-Custom TrimWork-Window and Door installation Storm doors- Insurance Repairs-Cement/Brick/Stucco-Plumbing/Electric All Phases of Home Remodeling General contractor

Services Not Offered

Carpet • Asphalt • Heating & AC (HVAC)

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
Senior Discount
7%
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Mr. Contractor Inc

How is Mr. Contractor Inc overall rated?

Mr. Contractor Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

What days are Mr. Contractor Inc open?

Mr. Contractor Inc is open:

Monday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

What payment options does Mr. Contractor Inc provide

Mr. Contractor Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

Does Mr. Contractor Inc offer free estimates?

Yes, Mr. Contractor Inc offers free project estimates.

Does Mr. Contractor Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

Yes, Mr. Contractor Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Does Mr. Contractor Inc offer a senior discount?

No, Mr. Contractor Inc does not offer a senior discount.

Does Mr. Contractor Inc offer emergency services?

Yes, Mr. Contractor Inc offers emergency services.

Are warranties offered by Mr. Contractor Inc?

Yes, Mr. Contractor Inc offers warranties.

What services does Mr. Contractor Inc offer?

Mr. Contractor Inc offers the following services: Complete Renovations. Siding-Complete kitchen and a bathroom renovations- Decks/Porches/Beams Steps-Railing-Custom TrimWork-Window and Door installation Storm doors- Insurance Repairs-Cement/Brick/Stucco-Plumbing/Electric All Phases of Home Remodeling General contractor

Are there any services Mr. Contractor Inc does not offer?

Carpet • Asphalt • Heating & AC (HVAC)