Girl Contracting, Inc.

About

Founded 2007 • With Angi since May 2018

Call us today to discuss your project. Girl Contracting, Inc. is a woman-led, construction company offering a personalized, detailed approach to commercial/residential design, build and renovation. Girl Contracting leads an in-house team of qualified, trustworthy male contractors, licensed in Pennsylvania. Our services include: New Construction, Project Management, Whole Home Remodel/Rehab, Kitchen and Bath Renovations, Additions, Interior Design and Landscaping. Our clients are Home Owners, Real Estate Investors, Developers, Business Owners, Property Managers and Realtors....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Minority Owned & OperatedMinority Owned & Operated
Women Owned & OperatedWomen Owned & Operated
Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+54 more images

Verified Reviews

4.8

(14) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

13

4

0

3

1

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (11)electrician (6)interior painting (5)plumbers (5)woodworking (4)interior decorators (3)hardwood floors (3)basement remodeling (1)architect (1)home builder (1)masonry (1)decks & porches (1)
Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews
5.0

01/03/2021


William D.

GirlContracting was thorough, easy to work with, patient, conscientious, adaptable, went the extra mile, has high standards and an exacting finish. GC is a great General Contractor, and lead a great team. We are very happy with the look and finish of the job.

Description of Work
Gut & remodel a very old Kitchen for a Quaker Meeting.

Category concrete repair, electrician, hardwood floor, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $130,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/04/2020

5.0

06/15/2020


Joan B.

It went very smoothly, we were very pleased from start to finish, they were very neat and professional. Girl Contracting manager with the employee that they had, they were all top notch. At the end of the day, it was very clean and tidy job.

Description of Work
They renovated 3 bedrooms 2 1/2 bath, we redesigned the whole thing, we rip off old spaces and created a new one.

Category home remodeling

Cost $84,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/12/2020

3.0

06/05/2020


Lisa G.

Let me say that I had high hopes when we started the job. Lynette is very charming and clearly very intelligent. Her estimate was not the lowest but because of her obvious smarts and personality, I chose her company. A number of things went wrong, but one can always expect problems with any project. My first issue was when she installed a bathroom exhaust fan venting out to the front of my house (historic 1930 tudor) with a square white piece of plastic right in the center middle of my house. She told me that the exhaust fan could not be vented anywhere else. I was very upset but wanted an exhaust fan. I hired the electrician we always use for household work who came to my house today (and previously told me there would not issue venting the exhaust at the soffit). I was not going to write a review until he told me the exhaust fan was not even hooked up to the outside of the house. Also, during the project Lynette decided she needed to charge me for "delivery" of the tile (that she volunteered to pick up personally) and the faucet, etc for the bathroom. This was not on the estimate. Before paying her, I called the two places where the tile was obtained and the fixtures. She had overcharged me for both "deliveries". However, she had previously threatened to not finish the job and I was worried she wouldn't so I said nothing. The marble tile floor was also an issue. I warned her that tile floor was very subject to scratching and to please make sure it didn't get scratched during the install. Regardless, the installers scratched it. Then when the tile supervisor came to my house he said that he didn't see the scratches. They were very visible to my husband and myself. He offered to put a treatment on the tile to remove the scratches. I accepted. However, after the work was done, I noted that whatever he applied to the floor changed the color of the grout. So, now I have multi colored grout on my floor. We also had all the doors in the hallway stripped as well as the hardware. I rented a truck and took them myself. When the day came to install the doors I found one of her workers painting the newly stripped hardware. I said something and he stopped. Had I not been there, I'm sure that all of the historic door knobs and hinges would have been painted. Further, her carpenter emptied his tarp full of drywall into my newly landscaped garden that I paid a considerable sum to get landscaped. When I took issue with this, instead of apologizing profusely (which is what I would do) she called me a racist. In short, Lynette is great as long as you don't question her. In fairness, she did offer to remove the "smoke alarm" looking vent from the front of my house but I did not trust that it would be done properly. Fortunately, we have a very trustworthy electrician and handyman that was able to repair my house. Updated 6/07/2020 I take issue with your response that you did not hear from me. Do I need to tell you to connect a bathroom exhaust properly to the outside? Do I need to tell you that you over charged me for so called "delivery fees" that were not in the estimate and were in excess of what the vendor charges. Do I need to tell you that you shouldn't put a piece of plastic on the front of my house and instead install the exhaust system to the soffit? My family electrician did with ease. You told me I had to vent it to the front of my house. Do I need to tell you that your employees shouldn't dump their construction debris in my landscaped garden? Frankly, I would expect you should have better judgment. When I did complain to you, you threatened to not complete the job. Let's be real I was going to walk away from this experience and say nothing, but why should I?

Description of Work
A redo of a second floor family bathroom

Category architect, home remodeling

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 03/14/2019

Service Provider Response

We regret that we did not live up to your expectations. We are usually known for exceptional customer service and work. We apologize this was not your experience about 1 year ago, when this project was completed. We are saddened that we never heard from you directly, until now. We certainly would have welcomed the opportunity to make things right.
5.0

02/05/2020


Lucien K.

Communication and project planning was excellent. Workers are very competent, have an eye for detail, and don't cut corners. Flexible with changing scope mid project when things come up, with changes appropriately communicated and charged. I'm very happy with the final result.

Description of Work
Remodeling - General

Category electrician, masonry, remodeling, woodworking, interior painters

Cost $6,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/05/2020

Images

Review for Girl Contracting, Inc. - 1324 S Harmony St, Philadelphia, PA - 38370590
5.0

10/31/2019


Kimberly N.

It was excellent. They were very clean, neat, and very punctual. It was worth the cost.

Description of Work
They remodeled my entire condo.

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/31/2018

5.0

01/30/2019


Beth L.

Spectacular! Off the chain the best! I will be using them again. They took ownership of the project. Perfection and professionalism throughout.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel and master bath remodel

Category electrician, interior designers, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/29/2019

5.0

12/27/2018


Adam M.

Did not have work done by girlcontracting but we did bid them but pursued a contractor through our designer. Have never met a more professional individual in the contracting business. Lynette was sincere, kind, informative and polite. I even called her directly to ask her about a problem we ran into and she proposed a few solutions. Will definitely consider for future projects.

Description of Work
Pricing and Bid

Category home remodeling

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/27/2018

5.0

10/22/2018


Natoya B.

Girl Contracting hit the ground running when it came to our kitchen remodel and prioritized our need to have our kitchen remodel started and completed before the end of summer. Lynette, the GC made sure to accommodate me and my husband's work schedules so she could guide us through countertops, tile, backsplashes and everything in between. She also anticipated issues in advance so that we never had to make a decision on the spot and responded promptly to any concerns we had. Her workers were the brightest spots in the whole process. Each day they arrived promptly making sure to carefully clean up at the end of each work day and keep work areas covered and organized as so we could still function comfortably in our household despite the construction. In addition we asked that they update our deck beforehand and that was completed within a week. We will definitely use Girl Contracting in the future due to the attention to detail, flexibility, affordability and individualized attention we received that made what might normally be a stressful change a pleasure to experience.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category decks, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/18/2018

Images

Review for Girl Contracting, Inc. - 1324 S Harmony St, Philadelphia, PA - 37495616

+1 More

5.0

10/18/2018


Jen R.

What a breeze! Lynette and her team did a great job. My husband and I knew we wanted to open up the wall between our dining and kitchen. We did not foresee the challenges involved regarding electric, lighting, and pipes in the wall. Lynette is a problem solver and works quickly and professionally. We even made some last minute changes and this was no problem for Girl Contracting. The turn around for our project was less than 2 weeks which was so great. Lynette is easy to get a hold if and makes time for your concerns. Everyone on the team is very friendly and professional. We are very pleased with the outcome!

Description of Work
Opened a plaster wall between kitchen and dining, moved pipes, removed and installed cabinet, built bar stool height wall, installed 4 outlets, installed pendant lights, installed ceiling fan, installed recessed lights in kitchen and dining, trim and paint.

Category electrician, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/18/2018

5.0

10/12/2018


Elliot W.

The job went very well and she was on the job site everyday to make sure the job was going smooth, wanted to make sure we are happy with the work.

Description of Work
Master bathroom remodel

Category electrician, interior designers, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/12/2018

5.0

07/02/2018


Loretta J.

Excellent. She and her team were professional, punctual, honest, and dedicated to the task. I truly enjoyed interacting with her throughout the whole process from beginning to end. We are so pleased with the results. We love our newly renovated condo. We would use them again and again.

Description of Work
She gutted out my 3 bedroom condo and redesigned it for us. She took up the carpet, added new hardwood floors throughout the unit, new kitchen cabinets and appliances, new tiles in the 3 bathrooms with new vanities, built closets, painted throughout the unit, and added creative and innovative electric lighting throughout the unit

Category electrician, hardwood floor, interior designers, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/30/2018

5.0

06/26/2018


Adarrel F.

The job went well I was able to upgrade my counter tops to some beautiful granite counter tops. The cabinets looked much better when they were done and were much more functional than the small cabinets that were original with the home. The work took a little longer than originally anticipated but they communicated well with me and the finished job was worth the wait. I sold the home two years later and due to the work done the house was able to sell for much higher than when I purchased it.

Description of Work
I needed some work done in my small kitchen in my 1 bath, 2 bedroom home. I needed new counter tops and new cabinets for my kitchen.

Category home remodeling

Cost $7,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/03/2010

5.0

06/12/2018


Keisha U.

They were timely, and the floor is beautiful. They did really good work and came on Mother's Day, which was an unexpected accommodation! She made it very convenient for my schedule.

Description of Work
They installed hardwood flooring in one bedroom.

Category hardwood floor, home builders

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/21/2018

5.0

06/07/2018


Lizzette M.

I appreciated that it was done well and they didn’t break the bank. They were professional. They called me if questions came up. It was a great experience.

Description of Work
They helped us renovate a rental property. They did some kitchen and remodeling work too.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2018

    Contact

    Phone

    Address

    1324 S Harmony St

    Philadelphia, PA 19146

    Hours

    Sunday
    8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Monday
    8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Tuesday
    8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Wednesday
    8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Thursday
    8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Friday
    8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Saturday
    8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Website

    http://www.girlcontracting.com

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information

    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Financing, Check, Discover, American Express
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    PA141410
    Trade License Locale
    Pennsylvania
    Trade License Authority
    Pennsylvania: Home Improvement Contractors
    Trade License Expiration
    07/12/2024
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    COVID-19 Update
    We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

    Health & Safety Measures

    We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
    We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
    We accept remote payment
    All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Girl Contracting, Inc.

    How is Girl Contracting, Inc. overall rated?

    Girl Contracting, Inc. is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Girl Contracting, Inc. open?

    Girl Contracting, Inc. is open:

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Girl Contracting, Inc. provide

    Girl Contracting, Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Financing, Check, Discover, American Express

    Does Girl Contracting, Inc. offer free estimates?

    Yes, Girl Contracting, Inc. offers free project estimates.

    Does Girl Contracting, Inc. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Girl Contracting, Inc. does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Girl Contracting, Inc. offer emergency services?

    Yes, Girl Contracting, Inc. offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Girl Contracting, Inc.?

    Yes, Girl Contracting, Inc. offers warranties.

    What services does Girl Contracting, Inc. offer?

    Girl Contracting, Inc. offers the following services: Girl Contracting, Inc. services include: New Construction, Project Management, Whole Home Remodel/Rehab, Kitchen and Bath Renovations, Additions, Interior Design and Landscaping.