dRemodeling

About

Founded 2000 • With Angi since November 2008

*Authorized Waypoint Cabinetry Dealer* dRemodeling is Philadelphia's HIGHEST-rated home improvement company. We've been recognized by Remodeling Magazine’s Big 50 for best remodeling companies in the country. We were named Contractor of the Year in 2017 by the National Association of the Remodeling Industry (NARI). We have also won Angie's List Super Service award 8 years in a row in addition to having won Best of Houzz in both Design and Services 3 years running. We are a one-stop shop for kitchen, and bathroom remodeling projects. From award-winning interior designers and amazing in-home technicians, to a complete Showroom and Design Center (carrying top-industry brands for kitchen cabinets, vanities, tiles, natural stone, hardwood floors, plumbing fixtures, quartz, marble, and granite countertops) dRemodeling is your ideal home remodeling solution. We'll take the stress out of remodeling and help you save time and money. Our inspired interior designers and our skilled installation team will work with you from design conception through completion. We handle everything for you, all under one roof. To top it all off, dRemodeling offers a 5-YEAR warranty on labor and materials when you hire us for our full design, material procurement, and construction services. The dRemodeling Team includes real people with inspired solutions who are motivated to make your remodeling dreams come true! We look forward to getting to know you and your project! Happy Remodeling! Feel free to call our direct number 215.848.4444 and mention that you are an Angie's List member....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+434 more images

Modern-Bath-Remodel-Lansdale

Modern-Bath-Remodel-Lansdale

home remodeling201819446
With a scope that many contractors would shy away from, dRemodeling was well-suited to step up to the task of designing and installing the contemporary materials and fixtures of this spa-inspired master bathroom. The biggest challenges to overcome with this project were related with the tile work. With both the sheer scale of the tile installation, extending fourteen feet up the highest wall to the ceiling, and the complex leveling and grading of the shower base to ensure the large format tiles would drain correctly to the linear shower drain, our on-site installation team had to perform technical calculations to arrive at the correct solution. The gracious-sized walk-in shower features a shower trim that is conveniently located outside of the area of the shower spray for ease of use. This trim will control both the temperature and water diversion between the rain shower and handheld shower fixture. As the shower is used on a day to day basis, but the tub is only used periodically it was downsized and relocated to be a separate feature of the room. Some of the other features included electrified recessed medicine cabinets, heated towel warmers, wall mounted vanity, linen cabinet, and modern glass sconces. Designer: Devin Mearig dRemodeling Kitchen and Bath Design Center 7709 Ridge Avenue Philadelphia PA 19128 Special Features: Ceiling Height Wall Tile, Curbless Shower, Frameless Glass Shower Panel, Towel Warmer, Open Shower Dimensions: 12’ x 15’

Verified Reviews

4.7

(255) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

196

4

15

3

17

2

7

1

20

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (230)electrician (47)plumbers (41)tile installation (41)interior painting (36)drywall (36)lighting (35)flooring (30)woodworking (28)basement remodeling (17)marble & granite (17)interior decorators (16)
Showing 1-25 of 255 reviews
5.0

02/24/2022


Edmund M.

dRemodeling renovated our kitchen and master bathroom. Both areas were a complete demo, walls were moved/removed, and an amazing new kitchen and master bathroom appeared in their place. Devon helped us with the layout and selection of materials and we couldn't have been more pleased with the results. The crew was professional, punctual, and extremely helpful. There is nothing that team couldn't do.

Description of Work
Kitchen & Master Bathroom Remodel

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, interior designers, lighting, remodeling, siding, marble & granite, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2018

Images

Review for dRemodeling - 7709 Ridge Ave, Philadelphia, PA - 39639730

+2 More

5.0

03/22/2021


Elise L.

The DRemodeling team did an incredible job! We had them tear down a wall between our our laundry room and our master bathroom and take everything down to the studs to create one large master bathroom. The team was extremely professional and we could not be happier with the results! They were responsive and helpful with all questions and very communicative throughout the process. We would not hesitate to recommend them and would hire them again in a second.

Description of Work
Bathroom gut renovation

Category home remodeling

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/22/2021

Images

Review for dRemodeling - 7709 Ridge Ave, Philadelphia, PA - 39260428

+4 More

5.0

09/11/2020


Simone S.

The dRemodeling team was very easy to work with and they designed a fantastic kitchen that we love!

Description of Work
Kitchn design and remodeling

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/11/2020

5.0

07/22/2020


Matthew M.

We had our existing kitchen ripped out and the entire area redone, which included taking down a load-bearing wall, so it was a rather large and involved project. We had a number of contractors come in to give estimates. Most of them quoted similar pricing, however, dRemodeling was the only one that provided a detailed break down of the project, how it would proceed, and close to a line-item cost for the materials to back up their estimate, that is why we picked them. My wife and I aren't the easiest people to pin down on decisions, but the folks at dRemodeling were patient with us and guided us through the design and scheduling process. Once the actual work started they were very professional and punctual. The only real delay that occurred was as a result of the wall being removed and a new support beam being required. That involved new plans, so it took some time for the city to approve them, but other than that delay, they were there almost every day until the project was completed. This even included them finishing it off during the pandemic, which they did safely and professionally. I would highly recommend their services if you are looking for a comprehensive remodeling company.

Description of Work
Full kitchen remodel

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/23/2020

5.0

06/24/2020


Lori R.

Dan and his team were consummate professionals from design to demo to construction to finishing touches. They helped us transform two tiny neighboring rooms - a bathroom and laundry room - into one large room that now feels like a spa! Peaches' design was both creative and functional, and her suggestions for materials made for a beautiful finished product. The team was timely and tidythroughout the whole process. We will definitely use dRemodeling again for future renovation projects!

Description of Work
Bathroom renovation

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/23/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the positive feedback! We are all so happy you loved the final project! You were awesome to work with! For any future projects you know you can count on us!

5.0

05/16/2020


Odell S.

dRemodeling did an excellent job. The workers were kind, considerate, and professional. They kept us informed about what they were doing throughout the project. Any questions or concerns we had were addressed immediately. We are in joying our beautiful kitchen. We highly recommend dRemodeling. We also had them remodel our master bathroom last year. We also used their design services for both projects.

Description of Work
Remodeled Kitchen

Category garage builders, home remodeling

Cost $60,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/17/2020

Images

Review for dRemodeling - 7709 Ridge Ave, Philadelphia, PA - 38570070

+4 More

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed] it was a pleasure working with you again Thank you for considering us again to remodel your kitchen!

5.0

02/24/2020


Lauren L.

We had a great experience working with dRemodeling! Devin was our designer, and she did a fantastic job listening to our needs and preferences and coming up with a design that's stunning. She and Dan were also in touch throughout the work, which was completed efficiently and carefully. The workers were polite, worked hard (sometimes even coming on Saturdays and a holiday!), and cleaned up after themselves very well at the end of each day. dRemodeling moved our shower (creating a large walk-in shower with bench), changed the position of the door and converted a swinging door to a pocket door, moved the toilet and sink, and installed a custom vanity and shelves. They turned our very small space (roughly 6 x 7) into a larger-feeling, more functional room, with beautiful finishes. We have an old house, and the team was great about dealing with unexpected challenges and taking out the proper permits, which was important to us. You could tell that every step along the way they're careful not to cut corners, treating your house as if it were their own. We immediately decided to rehire them for our kitchen, because we're confident they're up to the challenge and will exceed our expectations again.

Description of Work
Design and gut remodel of small bathroom

Category home remodeling

Cost $33,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/01/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for reviewing your remodeling experience with us. dRemodeling works very hard to provide a smooth experience and top-notch result, and we're so happy that was your experience! Also, thank you for mentioning Devin's work. She's a great designer, and we are so happy to hear that her expertise went above and beyond in your space.

5.0

12/22/2019


MARTHA M.

Excellent service! Started slow with the design but we had 4 full bathrooms done at one time. Excellent project team and quality work!! True professionals.

Description of Work
Professional High Quality Bath Remodeling

Category home remodeling

Cost $60,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/18/2019

Service Provider Response

We truly appreciate your review ! Thank you so much for choosing us again ! Happy new year !

5.0

12/01/2019


Ronald W.

Let me start by saying that overall I was satisfied. The crew came and covered floors and protected railings etc. They were all polite, hardworking, and for the majority of the work everything was done extremely well. There were a few minor problems. There were some communication errors. For example arriving on the weekend without prior notification, Failure to notify me when they were not coming, and late arrival by the electrician. The electrician installed new outlets on new walls crooked. He also installed a ceiling fan crookedly. I was assured that this would be fixed but the person they sent claimed that they could not fix the problems. And by this time I no longer trusted their electrician. I have since hired a new company to correct the issues. (This electrician claims that it all can be fixed). The final correction list was not fully addressed and I feel that a job of this size should have had these minor problems addressed. I would hire again but retain some money to insure final corrections are fully addressed.

Description of Work
Third floor bathroom and bedroom renovation, second floor bathroom renovation.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $60,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/07/2019

Service Provider Response

Hello and thank you for your feedback. We are glad that overall you are satisfied with the work and the experience and we really appreciate this feedback it as we use any opportunity, we get to improve our services. We do apologize for failing to let you know in advance that we were planning to work that Saturday and we showed up at your home unannounced. We are implementing a new rule were the technicians have to double check with me and client that they are welcome working Saturdays. In regards to the electrician, we no longer work with the individual who performed the electrical work in the bathrooms (and additional work that you had him do, separate from our work on the bathroom). We apologize for any inconvenience this caused - his work did not meet the standards that we set for ourselves as a company either.

5.0

11/14/2019


Scott M.

We have nothing but praise for the owner and his staff at dRemodeling. From the initial estimate through to the final walkthrough, everything was beyond our expectations. Highlights include: -Detailed quotes - you pay for the quotes, but it was the most thorough quote that we received. -Soup to nuts group - Their team guides you through all steps in the remodeling process, often taking over the responsibility to ensure a successful resolution and handling any task we threw their way. -Dan was a hands on owner. Although he did not come out to our sight, he was in constant communication with us and his team, from our quote to frequent in-stream communications and follow-up emails. He remained involved throughout our remodel and was always responsive to our questions/concerns. -They staff superior craftsman to lead and work on the onsite projects. Our onsite Project Supervisor was Tudor, and he was an incredible talent who was a master in many areas ranging from electrical, tiling and woodworking. He expertly coordinated our project, guiding his team and also hands on with completing the work. He kept things organized and moving forward, putting in long hard days. I trusted his advice and recommendations implicitly, as everything he worked on turned out perfectly. -Throughout the remodel, we were amazed by how many expert craftsmen dRemodeling employs. Depending on the task, dRemodeling would send one of their experts to complete the job. -Mike did an excellent job coordinating the permitting process in a township that is recognized as being difficult. The townships onsite inspections always went well and we ultimately passed final inspection without issue. -Peaches was an outstanding designer/project coordinator who oversaw every step of our remodeling process, including working closely with me to review and tweak the project plan/contract; the demolition plan, the materials list, the final drawing set, the structural plan, giving in stream timeline updates, liaising with our tile/countertop supplier, Anderson Door supplier and stucco contractor. - Subcontractors are thoroughly vetted by dRemodeling and with constant oversight by the onsite project lead. - They double check and confirm the measurements for any 3rd party materials, such as the Anderson Door. - They were willing to work with us on jobs that were outside of their scope and the completed result was very well done. - Any issues were immediately and expertly resolved. Peaches and Tudor were able to improvise with various solutions discussed allowing us options to fit within our budget. - Additional cost relating to materials or miscellaneous (as noted in the contract) were discussed in advance and agreed to prior to posting an invoice. - They offer competitive pricing. - There are detailed documents for every step in the process which ensure no guessing games for the customer. -The team does a great job of always making the homeowner feel comfortable whether you are home or away. -dRemodeling stand by their work. After the project was completed, there was a final walkthrough. dRemodeling ensured that any findings were addressed in a timely manner. We would highly recommend using dRemodeling.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel, structural wall removal, half wall rebuild, tile flooring installation, painting

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/05/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We are delighted that you are happy with your bathroom, and that the remodeling process went smoothly! Best -dRemodeling team

5.0

11/13/2019


Daniel R.

We found dRemodeling to remodel our bathroom through Houzz.com which recommended 5 businesses. Only 2 of the 5 responded to my inquiries and dRemodeling was the only one that had someone answer the phone when I called. We are very satisfied with the process and the results. ▪ High quality workmanship - Because the house was so old, our project involved taking the old bathroom down to the joists. There wasn’t a right angle in the place and they had to start by reframing the room with sister joists. It also involved removing the tub, moving the toilet, and replacing old radiators and electrical wiring. There was nothing this team couldn’t do. And their attention to detail was extraordinary. We couldn’t be happier with the results. ▪ Excellent design recommendations - We had some broad, vague ideas about what we wanted and their designer helped us choose a floor plan, tiles, and fixtures that updated the look of the bathroom, met modern building codes, and kept it consistent with the design of the house. We missed some of the details we requested (like the placement of the hand shower) and they did not make it into the design. However, overall, we didn’t really appreciate what a benefit the design work was until some acquaintances proudly showed us their DIY bathrooms. ▪ Electronic automation - We appreciated the electronic process automation they used. Being able to receive and approve designs and pay invoices by email saved time and speeded up the process by not having to drive for in-person meetings or using snail mail. ▪ Project management - The unsung hero was the project manager who coordinated the delivery of all the materials and custom cabinets and the scheduling of all the staff so as to minimize the downtime we had without our only functioning shower. While the entire project took longer than planned, it was because we were waiting for suppliers to deliver materials and the dRemodeling team was working around our personal travel schedule. ▪ Professional staff - everyone we met who worked on our project was friendly and respectful. They were all hard workers. And every day they took the time to clean up when they were done. We’re glad we chose dRemodeling.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category home remodeling

Cost $38,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/11/2019

Images

Review for dRemodeling - 7709 Ridge Ave, Philadelphia, PA - 38230916

+5 More

Service Provider Response

We can't thank you enough for your generous review! You greatly spelled out the true benefits and advantages of working with a one-stop-shop. It was truly a pleasure to work with you during your bathroom renovation and we hope it will be enjoyed for years to come! Thank you!

5.0

11/12/2019


William B.

The scope of work (Replacement kitchen & two full baths + New Powder room) in a five bedroom twin residence constructed 1905 was extreme. Additionally, the house was not entirely vacated in process and also contained two professional music studios with assets worth over $350K. In a structure nearly 115 years old, surprises regarding demolition and reconstruction were inevitable. DR was consistently pro-active and on top of all challenges. Especially impressive was their extremely and beyond competitively priced fees for surprise electrical remediation, new sewer & water lines, foundation and floor leveling remediation, and overall cooperation, understanding, and partnership to make the entire renovation a very pleasing success. Additionally, DR's design counseling was spectacular. Lauren created beautiful solutions for seemingly impossible challenges that continue to please every day. Working with DR may appear to be more costly than trying to act as your own General Contractor -- which BTW I was prior too retirement -- but the end product is beyond more seamless and way beyond what can be accomplished by trying to coordinate one's own trades people. Go DR, and will definitely call you guys for any future projects we have. And BTW, our guests are always vocally impressed with our new kitchen and baths.

Description of Work
All work required excavation to studs, ceiling & floor joists, and involved: A. Entirely new Kitchen B. Creation of new Powder Room that had not previously existed. C. Construction of two entirely new replacement full bathrooms

Category ceramic tile, countertops, decks, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac, lighting, plumbing, woodworking, ceiling fans, marble & granite, structural engineer, home remodeling, doors

Cost $120,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/12/2018

Service Provider Response

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. It was a pleasure working with you and we are thrilled that you are pleased with the end result. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any future home remodeling projects! Again, thank you and we hope you enjoy your newly remodeled spaces!

5.0

09/09/2019


Rick S.

dRemodeling did a great job on our kitchen. Everyone from the owner to the designer to the crew was professional and efficient. This isn't a discount company, but the work is first rate.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/09/2019

Service Provider Response

We greatly appreciate your positive review and are so pleased that you were happy with your dRemodeling experience. Your satisfaction is our main concern, and we always aim to keep your needs at the forefront of priority. Our team was happy to work with you and we appreciate your business. Please contact us again if you ever need future remodeling services...we would be happy to help you!

5.0

07/16/2019


Lindsey D.

dRemodeling was fantastic from start to finish. They remodeled two bathrooms in our 100+ year old home in about eight weeks. The design consultation, material selection, demolition, reconstruction and finished product all exceeded our expectations. They took the issues that arose with remodeling an old home in stride and without shortcuts or budget blow ups. Every person with whom we worked genuinely cared about their craft. Thank you, dRemodeling!

Description of Work
Two Full Bathrooms in Historic Home

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/31/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the compliment! You deserve amazing service ! Thank you for choosing us !

5.0

06/21/2019


Mitch K.

Exceptionally well. Everyone we interacted with from dRemodeling was professional, knowledgeable and friendly. Design staff walked us through the design and material selection process and were very helpful and patient. Very high quality workmanship. All new walls and surfaces are plumb and level, drywall, paint and tiling show an impressive attention to detail. Additional plumbing, electric and HVAC were all laid out thoughtfully and installed carefully to seamlessly integrate with existing service. Work site was kept neat and clean, were respectful of neighbors, and communicated very well. I can't recommend them highly enough.

Description of Work
Finish an unfinished basement, add a kitchenette and powder room.

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/20/2019

Images

Review for dRemodeling - 7709 Ridge Ave, Philadelphia, PA - 37941589

+2 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive words ! It was a pleasure working with you this means so much to us and we strive to make each project run smoothly ! - dRemodeling

5.0

06/20/2019


Carol C.

If you are looking to remodel a bathroom (or kitchen), look no further. dRemodeling is the best! After an amazing experience working with dRemodeling 5 years ago to redo a guest bathroom and powder room, we took the plunge (no pun intended) to upgrade our master bathroom We added heated floors and a vent, removed an old radiator, enlarged the shower complete with bench, niches and a rain shower/spray combo, replaced a double sink with 2 sinks on either side of the room, installed Kohler lighted medicine cabinets, and a Kohler cleansing toilet seat, and more! We couldn't be happier with the results. The room looks gorgeous and is both comfortable and functional. Working with Dan and his team was, once again, a very positive experience. They are ALL professional, responsive, customer-focused, creative and talented. Our designer, Devin was a dream; her suggestions for everything from the layout options to the material choices was extraordinary. She was easy to work with and made us feel like true partners in design - much appreciated! The Project Managers and the entire team who made the design come alive were fabulous as well. They were a bunch of really hard-working, detail-oriented, neat guys who took extra care to ensure that everything was done right and that we were completely satisfied. Great work! We couldn't be happier with the results! Thanks, dRemodeling! We highly recommend dRemodeling!!!!

Description of Work
Master Bath Remodel

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, lighting, plumbing, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/04/2019

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed]! Thanks so much for the amazing and detailed review ! Also for being such a great client for the past few years ! We really appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience with us!

1.0

06/07/2019


Brad P.

Called and spoke to Devon. She told me that they will charge $145 for an in home estimate. I asked her to post this charge on the Angie's list home page so other will not waste their time if they are unwilling to pay this fee.

Description of Work
master bathroom remodeling

Category home remodeling

Cost $145

Work Completed On 06/07/2019

Service Provider Response

Hello, dRemodeling is a one-stop solution for kitchen and bathroom remodeling projects. We are licensed, insured, and we handle all aspects of remodeling (design, installation and materials). We have in-house interior designers, a design center, and a team of installers that includes electricians, plumbers, carpenters, tile installers, painters and other general laborers. We are not just a man with a van. We are one of the highest-rated remodeling companies in the country for a reason. We have unique process for our clients which includes a site visit and a survey of the space, a detailed labor proposal, a schedule for the work, and a meeting with a professional designer so possible clients can find out more about budget, discuss layout options, material options and so on. We charge $145 for our estimate –and this fee is refundable if you move forward with us – we are very transparent about our process and pricing and we have a detailed pricing page on our website that explains the remodeling costs and the estimate fee. http://www.dremodeling.com/remodeling-costs.html Also to find more about Why I charge for the Estimate – you can read more on my blog here – http://www.dremodeling.com/blog/why-do-i-charge-for-the-estimate/ I understand that you might have your reasons for wanting free estimate or not wanting to pay a small fee for a professional service – but keep in mind, as Benjamin Franklin said, “The bitterness of POOR QUALITY remains long after the sweetness of LOW PRlCE is forgotten.” We wish you happy remodeling and do not hesitate to reach out to us in the future.

5.0

01/28/2019


Philip O.

Fantastic. Lauren provided great design insights and guidance, and tracked estimated costs based on our decisions. once the project started, people showed up on time every day, no excuses. when some design changes were needed we were given several good options to come up with a better solution. we got regular detailed updates on project costs so there were no surprises.

Description of Work
demolition and remodel of old original bathroom

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $28,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/16/2018

Images

Review for dRemodeling - 7709 Ridge Ave, Philadelphia, PA - 37680678

+1 More

Service Provider Response

We truly appreciate the positive review thank you for choosing us !

5.0

01/15/2019


Jeffrey B.

Things I value about dRemodeling (used them to redo an entire full bathroom): 1. The design process: Devin (the designer) and I were able to work 99% of the design out entirely through e-mail communication, which worked wonderfully for my lifestyle. Her attention to the tiny details and ability to communicate through language and pictures was appreciated. This company has worked out all the technology to make this process online easy and highly efficient throughout the entire process from design, material selection, and payment. I can't tell you how much easier this made things with my busy schedule. 2. The teamwork: I originally was nervous about hiring a company in which you really don't meet the people who will be doing the work. Moreover, different teams of people (all part of dRemodeling, no subs) move in and out of the project at different times. However, they all communicate extremely well and make the process seemless. 3. The communication: I value this highly. I would email the team quite frequently with questions, and I always received either a phone call or email response within 24 hours addressing every single thing I asked. I can't say how highly I value this and appreciated this. 4. The professionalism: Not only did they do an excellent job and do exactly what they said they would, but they also fixed any damages that tend to occur during demo (patched, spackled, painted a hole in the ceiling; spackled and painted a crack in a wall, etc.). No extra charge, no excuses, nothing. 5. The transparency: all costs were clearly laid out from the very beginning in a detailed cost estimate and updated frequently. No mysteries. I would definitely hire this team again.

Description of Work
Full bathroom remodel (small bathroom)

Category home remodeling

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your feedback and taking the time to write this detailed review !

5.0

11/12/2018


Mary K.

This review is delayed due to long term family illness and subsequent death in family. However, dRemodeling did such a good job with the project, I felt compelled to post this review, even if it is late. Using Angie’s List, we consulted three contractors for estimates. We had considered using dRemodeling for our major kitchen remodel several years earlier but decided to go with another company. Based on the excellent reviews on Angie’s List, we scheduled a meeting with Dan Dragonir, the owner of dRemodeling and one of his designers, Ashley. We discussed design ideas, materials, cost, work schedule and expected completion time. Shortly thereafter, Dan provided us with a document which included a lot of information about major costs associated with typical bathroom remodel. We asked him to proceed with providing us with a design proposal. We liked the idea of Dan having a showroom where we could go to look at materials and speak to the designer. After we saw the designs, the estimated cost and completion time, we decided to hire dRemodeling. Our bathroom remodel was a major undertaking. It involved gutting 3 bathrooms down to the studs, in a house that is nearly 130 years old. Although we stayed within the existing footprint of the bathrooms (no enlargement), due to the age of the house, the project was complex, with surprises lurking around every corner. Nothing is level or square in a house this old. Structural issues needed to be addressed before the rebuild could begin. This prolonged the project. The demolition began February 20th, 2017 things moved along fairly smoothly. Dan and the designers (Ashley and Stephanie) were very responsive to suggestions and questions; they were available by phone, text or e-mail. As work progressed, we decided on a number of upgrades and Dan always informed of the additional costs in advance so we could decide how we wanted to proceed. As I mentioned, there were challenges throughout the job. Design changes had to be made in the main bathroom because the original design was not feasible, according to the engineer. This was somewhat disappointing but we worked around it. The technicians were superb. They were highly skilled, knowledgeable, hardworking and conscientious about minimizing dust and dirt and cleaning up at the end of the day. Any unavoidable collateral damage (ex., cracks in plaster to adjoining rooms, suspended ceiling tiles in room below bathroom damaged) was addressed immediately. The project was finalized in mid-June. A month or so later, we found what we thought was a potential plumbing problem and called Dan. He sent someone out immediately to investigate and we determined it was NOT related to the project. It was resolved to our satisfaction. Here are the pros and areas needing improvement: Pros - Price: Cost of job was reasonable compared to other estimates. Dan and his designers will work with you to stay within your budget -Quality: The technicians are knowledgeable, highly skilled and meticulous. They took great care to protect other areas of our home and cleaned up every day. Some collateral damage occurred during demolition and everything was repaired to our satisfaction. -Showroom: It was advantageous to have in-house designers and a showroom to look at materials. This was one of the reasons we selected this company. Dan and the designers (Ashley & Stephanie) were very responsive to changes we wanted to make as the project progressed -All employees are very professional, courteous and hard working Areas for Improvement -Scheduling: Dan (the owner) estimated each bathroom would take 15 days, for a total of 45 days to complete the project. We felt that was a bit optimistic. As previously mentioned, the age of the house created challenges that required more time, which we understood. Initially, the job moved along smoothly but after a while, there were days the technicians could have worked and they did not. We were not informed they weren't coming and didn't know the reason. We had to contact the office to find out what was going on. My husband and I are retired so we have a very flexible schedule. I travel out of state two weeks each month so we were able to work around their scheduling issues. However the project took nearly 5 months from start to finish. This could be a problem for people whose schedules aren't as flexible as ours. -Communication: There was no Project Manager on site on a regular basis. When issues came up on the job, we talked to the technician but they weren't empowered to resolve the issue without talking to someone or they asked that we call the office. This resulted in some miscommunication between the designer, the technicians, Dan and us. However, I must say, when I sent an e-mail to the designer or Dan, we generally received a prompt response. I realize Dan has a small operation and having a PM would be an additional expense. However, for a job this big, it would have made things work more smoothly. -Material Shipment: Make certain someone opens the boxes as the materials arrive, to check for damage. We were discouraged from opening boxes for safety reasons so we assumed the technicians were inspecting the material. All 3 toilets, an expensive linen closet and vanity top were broken. This was the freight company's fault, not dRemodeling however, the damage was not discovered until the boxes were opened for the materials to be installed. In one case it was beyond 30 days and the manufacturer did not want to replace it. This caused additional delays in completing the project. Despite the few areas needing improvement, overall, I would highly recommend using dRemodeling . We love the end result! Our bathrooms are beautiful and their price was competitive with other estimates we had gotten. All employees were a pleasure to work with!

Description of Work
Full remodel of 3 bathrooms

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/20/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time and writing the review we truly appreciate the positive feedback. Keep us in mind for your next remodel!

5.0

10/16/2018


Kelly B.

The process from beginning to end went really well with Dremodeling. I wanted to have the same resource design and complete all of the work for our kitchen remodel. After searching through different sites and reading numerous reviews, Dremodeling was one of the finalists for our job. From the start of the process, I was extremely happy with the responsiveness of Dan and his whole team. Our designer, Allison, really listened to what we needed as a family with young children and was a joy to work with. The crew that was on site was incredibly careful, cleaned up each day, and were very courteous in each interaction. The work was completed on the timeline that was originally outlined and we are incredibly happy with the end result.

Description of Work
Kitchen Design and Remodel

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/02/2018

Service Provider Response

The team here at dRemodeling is thrilled to hear such good feedback! Thank you so much