Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Castelli Roofing & General Construction Inc

Founded 1990 • With Angi since June 2007

4.7

(203) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

817 McKean St

Philadelphia, PA 19148

Description

Castelli Roofing is a family owned and operated business. Every customer is important to us and we treat you like family. My name is Marcy and I handle every customer call. My husband, Robert is on every job. It might be time to get your roof Serviced! Servicing older roofs and new roofs is extremely important to maintain the your warranty. Most roofs should be serviced every 3 to 5 years. Special rates on Roof Services are offered this time of year. Did you know that we are OSHA 30 trained and card carrying members for OSHA 30. We are above the City of Philadelphia's L&I requirement for OSHA training. Approved Contractors under the PA Housing Finance Agency (PHFA). This is a home improvement loan at 1% interest lending homeowners from $1,000 to $10k. Did you know we are also winners of YELP in 2016 & 2017, Best of Philadelphia for 2015 and 2016 and Best of USA - Philadelphia for 2014 and 2015. I want to personally thank my Angie’s List Customers who are so very loyal. Keep your reviews coming. Angie's List Super Service Award Winners from 2008 to 2016. Remember, we are a family owned and operated company and we do not have separate sales men trying to sell you work! Robert (owner/operator) is on every job, estimate, and inspection. Always feel free to call Marcy with you questions, concerns and work requests. Our customers are our primary focus and we look forward your calls. We will always do our absolute best to make you a satisfied customer. We pride ourselves on our customer ratings and we will always strive to be an "A" rated company. But, sometimes, we can't please all of the people, all of the time and we can only work towards improving ourselves and our company....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/08/2021


Jason K.

Jimmy and crew did nice job with attention to detail for a reasonable price. Marcy answered all of our questions and kept us up to date.

Description of Work
new rubber roofing; deck removal; window capping

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your review. It is important to us as well as any potential new customer

4.0

11/16/2020


Jeff M McCray M.

Initial installation went well. The sklylight leaked after the install, but they were responsive to calls about the leak. They came out twice to address the problem, and on the third time they replaced the entire skylight. I would recommend and hire them again.

Description of Work
New Roof and Skylight

Category roofing, skylights

Service Provider Response

Unfortunately that specific skylight was manufactured defective. The customer took great video which proved it was defective and I was able to get a new skylight at no charge for the replacement. Very rare for this to happen. Glad together we were able to resolve the problem. Thank you

5.0

07/29/2020


David Y.

These guys are great and really professional. They have someone on staff to answer the phone which is important because you never know if other places will call back ever. Marcy was super organized and, despite a major summer storm burying them in business, her boys were out in a day or two to look over my roof. Within a week, it was done. The crew itself was three guys who were extremely courteous and professional and then they swept up my whole front walk immaculately. The price was very reasonable and they even took photos of the new roof and emailed them to me afterwards. I've now had my roof redone four times and these guys were the most professional outfit I've ever worked with.

Description of Work
new roof in south Philly

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

One of my best customers ever! Thank you for the write up. Thank you for buying my guys lunch and offering cold drinks during the duration of the job. We really appreciated that very much.

5.0

07/15/2020


Jeff M McCray M.

I found them to be very responsive, knowledgeable, timely and neat. 5 stars!

Description of Work
New flat roof and skylight.

Category roofing, woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Each customer and every review is important to me and our family owned company (as well as important to the next customer).

5.0

07/07/2020


Caroline M.

Castelli was great! We received multiple quotes and Castelli was the most cost effective for what they were going to provide (full roof replacement, venting, capping, 15 year transferrable warranty etc.) They were able to come out and replace my South Philly row home roof in under 1 business day! The roofers were polite and I was very happy with the work done. We got pictures and were able to compare to our "before" pictures and it looks perfect! There have been 2 strong rain storms since then and we haven't noticed any issues with the new roof. Castelli also replaced our broken basement window and capped around our front door at an additional (but very reasonable) cost. We are very satisfied with all the work they did and will certainly call them again and recommend them to the new owners of our house when we sell.

Description of Work
Roof replacement and window replacement

Category roofing, woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thank you Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Each customer and every review is important to me and our family owned company (as well as important to the next customer).

5.0

06/23/2020


Zahra F.

These guys are amazing. They replaced my entire roof in one day because that day Philadelphia was going into lockdown for COVID. They worked straight for 12hrs to get it done. I am so grateful that I had a roof during the past 3 months. Marcey is awesome. She communicated well and the quote was reasonable. I also love that I can pay with Venmo.

Description of Work
Replaced my roof

Category gutter repair, roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Each customer and every review is important to me and our family owned company (as well as important to the next customer).

2.0

06/06/2020


DANIELE R.

It went ok, leak was taken care of but 1 year and half since roof was done I am still getting white granules shedding from the roof.

Description of Work
Flat roof redone

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

The new roof installed was a white “granulated” modified bitumen rubber membrane. I am not the Manufacturer of the material. Your granulated roof sheds granules from the roof. It is unusual that it would last this long butAgain I am not the manufacturer only the installer. I cannot control how many granules are on the membrane or how many how or much come off the membrane. The roof has never leaked and that is the ultimate goal. Your pricing was good the service was good and I’ve answered all of your questions promptly and to the best of my knowledge. Your rating of our services is not really accurate since I did not make the membrane simply I installed it.

5.0

05/11/2020


Alex T.

Marcy and her team are great! They came out to inspect quickly, and despite a few delays because of weather, knocked out the job. They did it quickly and safely. Gave me a few options to consider that cost different amounts, it was nice to have options and have someone explain the differences.

Description of Work
Roof repair

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank You for your review. It is important to me and to potential other customers.

5.0

04/25/2020


steven E.

Everything went very well. After his initial survey of the house, Jimmy proposed thoughtful, cost-effective solutions to each problem I showed. A few days later, he and his small crew showed up on time, to do the work. They were very courteous and conscientious. They completed all the work per expectations, and they cleaned up thoroughly after themselves. This is the 6th time I've hired a professional to waterproof the door to the roof top deck, which included a rather expensive replacement of the entire door and frame assembly as one of the first efforts. I caulk and caulk the door frame every few months. Nothing has worked. Jimmy's weatherproofing consisted of cutting a "reglet" into the stucco around the door, and installing counter flashing. The results look promising. And, it has been a month since the work was completed, during which time we have had several significant rainstorms. No leaks! Thanks!

Description of Work
Waterproofing of door frame to roof deck, Repair to capping and downspout box, Repair to minor roofing damage, Painting exterior stucco wall with elastomeric masonry paint, Adding gate to existing wooden privacy fence, shored up joist.

Category gutter repair, remodeling, roofing, woodworking, house painters, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for that kind review

5.0

04/23/2020


Larry R.

Jimmy and his crew were great. From removal to installation of new siding, everything was completed in 2 days and our house looks amazing. We would recommend you use them for your house/contractor needs.

Description of Work
New Siding

Category siding

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Each customer and every review is important to me and our family owned company (as well as important to the next customer).

5.0

12/05/2019


Joseph G.

The work was completed in a timely fashion, there weren't any surprises, and photos were provided to help document the maintenance work.

Description of Work
Roof maintenance

Category roofing

5.0

10/04/2019


Andrew M.

It went well! The work they completed was of good quality and if we had any issues they came and fixed them right away. I would recommend them

Description of Work
Installed a new roof

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Each customer and every review is important to me and our family owned company (as well as important to the next customer).

3.0

07/18/2019


DANIELE R.

I don't like to give negative reviews but I have given Marcel and her team ample time and opportunity to explain the problem I have been having since they redid my roof in January 2019. The only positive thing I will say is the leak seems to be fixed. But little white beads in large quantities have been shedding from my roof ever since. I have emailed them several times, sent pictures but I was told " it should dissipate". Every time it rains, 6 months later it's still coming down into my patio.

Description of Work
roof redone

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] The new white granulated rubber roof has small granules baked And embedded into the membrane by the manufacturer. This is how I purchase the material from the supply house. It has nothing to do with me or my company. This product will last for a minimum of 15 years but I have seen it last longer. The granules will shed from the membrane over times. My rating should be based on the quality of service and response time not a small amount of manufacturer white granules that shed over time. There’s nothing I can do to prevent that. The granules protect the membrane.

5.0

04/17/2019


Elisha A.

We have used Castelli on several occasions and we are in awe. Marcy, Mike, and Alex are the consummate professionals and do beautiful work. With Castelli we are always assured that we are in the best of hands

Description of Work
We had a shared Chimney with our neighbor that was repaired and a new downspout installed.

Category roofing, chimney caps

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Each customer and every review is important to me and our family owned company (as well as important to the next customer).

5.0

11/13/2018


Joseph G.

Marcy presented me with options in order to addressed my roof concerns. I chose the option that I felt was the best for my situation. The work was completed for the estimated amount, in a professional manner, and in a timely fashion.

Description of Work
New roof and membrane vents

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Each customer and every review is important to me and our family owned company (as well as important to the next customer).

5.0

10/22/2018


Julia S.

Castelli Roofing did an excellent job repairing a leaky downspout and replacing my roof. I originally contacted Castelli for the downspout and to inspect the roof since I had a small leak on the top floor. They provided a thorough inspection, including taking photos, and providing an estimate of what the roof replacement would cost. We had to wait a little bit for them to come out initially but that is because they are very busy. Marcy was very responsive by email and kept me updated on the timeline of the work. The crew was polite, thorough and tidy. I would recommend them to anyone in need of roof work.

Description of Work
Downspout repair and roof replacement

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind review.

5.0

07/17/2018


Edward T.

Honest assessment, prompt arrival, diligent work and reasonably priced. We had a small issue that they came back and corrected as soon as reasonably possible.

Description of Work
New roof, vents, drain box

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Each customer and every review is important to me and our family owned company (as well as important to the next customer).

5.0

06/24/2018


Gail K.

My old roof (nearly 20 years old) sprang a serious leak after a a heavy rainstorm. I called Castelli Roofing the next day and the inspection was performed the day after that. I was not at all surprised to learn that the old roof was beyond repair. I promptly received an estimate for installation of a White Granulated Modified Bitumen Rubber Roof on my row house (typical South Philly style). The work was scheduled and completed within a week of my initial call to Castelli's. I was very happy and relieved that the work was done so quickly, thus preventing any further interior damage. Both the estimate and final invoice were very detailed and the final price included the installation of roof membrane vents and a new drain box. The new roof has a 15-year transferrable warranty. Also, it's energy efficient as it reflects UV rays; the temperature reduction on my second floor on a hot summer day was immediately obvious. Overall, I was very happy with Castelli's fast and excellent service and I highly recommend them to anyone finding themselves in need of of a roofing contractor.

Description of Work
new roof installation

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you kindly. Your review helps others make an informed and educated decision when selecting a contractor.

5.0

06/21/2018


Andre W.

I can't recall the young man's name that came through (Dan?), but he was very prompt, though it seems he was very busy. Still, he took time with me and wasn't rushed to move on to his next appointment. I showed him the source of the roof leak where water came from the window frame and ran down the wall. He immediately asked when it happened. When I mentioned it was during the big snow melt from a big storm we had in late February, he was pretty sure it was an ice damming issue. He explained in good detail that heat from both the outside (sun) and warm air inside helps to melt the snow on a roof but that when the temperature gets below freezing, water going into drain box and down drain spout can tend to freeze and because of the temperature difference. So water melt needs somewhere to go and it can go over the side of the roof and down the wall. He suggested heat tape in the drain box and down spout. He said having an electrician install it would be the cheaper option. I honestly didn't know what it was he was describing, but I at least wanted him to take a look at the roof to be sure all was OK as one previous roofer told me the roof was improperly installed so I would need a whole new roof (!). He had a look and told me all looked good, only that I would likely need to have it resealed in about a year's time as it was a bout 4 or 5 years old. As he said I really didn't need any work done by a roofer, I did not hire them. I do appreciate that he was quite frank and said there was no work that was needed. It is not often that you have a contractor come out to your home for a quote and they say we have nothing to quote you for.

Description of Work
Assess roof for source of leak in upstairs bedroom

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review.

1.0

06/08/2018


Ernestine S.

Terrible job, no drip edge so water leaks between the gutter & roof or ponds in the gutter.

Description of Work
New gutters.

Category gutter repair, roofing

Service Provider Response

Just to be clear here and the customer is also aware and has an additional estimate for this problem to be corrected. Yes she paid for a new gutter but the actual Shingles roof that we did not install was done incorrectly. The existing shingles were installed to short to the end and the gutter has a gap in Between the Shingles roof line and the gutter. Since we did not install the Shingles roof, we made additional recommendations on how to remedy the problem. Since then the customer has reviewed our additional estimate and said she would be moving forward once she is ready. The F rating is not fair since it is the Shingles roof that was incorrect installed and not the gutter we installed. I am hoping this customer reconsiders and updates Her rating/post.

2.0

05/26/2018


Chris D.

Beware. Poor finishing work. Damaged the roof cornice. Paid in full $7k and left it unfinished. Not happy. Now need to pay someone else to finish the work.

Description of Work
Roof deck resurfacing and repair

Category roofing, woodworking

Service Provider Response

I haven’t heard from this customer since any work was done and no chance to remedy or correct whatever he is saying. I will follow up on Monday with this customer since this is the first time I am seeing this feedback. I would love to know the address so I can follow up Could not find this work by this name. ?

5.0

03/06/2018


Ringo R.

Give this company your business. Courteous and easy to talk to. Prompt service. I shopped around a few different companies and they had a very reasonable price. They fixed my leak, and went above and beyond to make sure that I was satisfied with the work even after we were settled. They're doing business the right way.

Description of Work
Roof repair / re-sealing, chimney cover, etc.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Each customer and every review is important to me and our family owned company (as well as important to the next customer).

1.0

02/25/2018


stephen R.

Poor. They never came to look at the jobs.

Description of Work
2 buildings, 1 leaking around the chimney and the other needed to be replaced. It took days for a response for them to look at the jobs.. multiple texts, emails and phone calls I was given excuses and they never showed up. If they can't show up to look at a job I can imagine how responsive they would be if I needed warranty work.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Sorry. Your request was a little sketchy. We did inspect the Shingle request and called but got [Member Information Removed] answer or call back. Weather has caused us to be somewhat behind this month since the month of February rained more than the entire year. Record amount of rain in February amounting to over 6" in Philadelphia caused my estimate schedule to be behind. If you still want me to inspect the North 10th Street request, I would be happy to do so. I am sorry for any confusion. Let me know if I can still be of any help to you.

5.0

02/14/2018


Eric S.

I couldn't have asked for a better experience. Very nice and professional; I was told the exact condition of my roof and anything that was wrong or could be better. The price was great, the work was done quickly, and the finished product was top notch.

Description of Work
Replacement of roof vents, skylight, drain box, drain pipe, and some roof maintenance.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Each customer and every review is important to me and our family owned company (as well as important to the next customer).

5.0

12/28/2017


anne M.

Marcy and the team at Castelli Roofing were all great! We had a somewhat urgent situation that needed tending to before the winter weather set in. It was the week before Christmas and Marcy was able to send someone out to give us a quote within three days of talking on the phone. Even during a chaotic time of year, she spent the time to discuss our options over the phone and fit us in for an appointment the next week. We have a flat roof row home that needed a new roof over top of a poorly constructed patch job. The men arrived on time and finished the job within a few hours. They took pictures of the finished product and sent them to me before they even left. Overall, this was a great experience and we'd recommend Castelli to anyone in the Philadelphia area that needs work on their roof!

Description of Work
New roof over top of poor patch job

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank You [Member Name Removed]. We appreciate your business

    Other local Pros in your area

    E.B. Heat & AC

    I provide Installs, replacements, service/repairs & preventive maintenance on all HVAC forced air systems. Fully certified, insured & licensed. Quality, clean work from a technician you can trust! Call for a free quote today!  

    We Care Free Estimates.com Inc

    Owner operated since 1975. Uses subs occasionally for labor. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. DOES NOT DO REPAIR WORK. License # 22750; PAHIC PA014111; BBPL #167602; N.J. 3Vh0584220. May contact through email.  

    P & J Home Improvement, LLC

     

    Business Highlights

    Women Owned & OperatedWomen Owned & Operated
    LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    City of Phila License # 863839 Licensed / Insu / Bonded
    Trade License Locale
    Pennsylvania
    Trade License Authority
    city of Philadelphia
    Trade License Expiration
    06/03/2022
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    no
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    SHINGLE, RUBBER, HISTORICAL, & SLATE ROOFING, CHIMNEY CAPS, ROOF COATING, GENERAL CONSTRUCTION, SIDING, CERAMIC & MARBLE TILE, FLOORING INSTALLATION, CARPENTRY-WOODWORKING, REMODELING- KITCHENS, BATHS, & GENERAL CARPENTRY, WINDOWS, DOORS, STAIRCASES, NEW WALLS, SHEETROCK, SPACKLE, & PAINT.

    Services Not Offered

    STAND-ALONE ELECTRICAL & PLUMBING JOBS AND HVAC

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Castelli Roofing & General Construction Inc

    How is Castelli Roofing & General Construction Inc overall rated?

    Castelli Roofing & General Construction Inc is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Castelli Roofing & General Construction Inc open?

    Castelli Roofing & General Construction Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: Closed

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Castelli Roofing & General Construction Inc provide

    Castelli Roofing & General Construction Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available

    Does Castelli Roofing & General Construction Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Castelli Roofing & General Construction Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Castelli Roofing & General Construction Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Castelli Roofing & General Construction Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Castelli Roofing & General Construction Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Castelli Roofing & General Construction Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Castelli Roofing & General Construction Inc?

    Yes, Castelli Roofing & General Construction Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Castelli Roofing & General Construction Inc offer?

    Castelli Roofing & General Construction Inc offers the following services: SHINGLE, RUBBER, HISTORICAL, & SLATE ROOFING, CHIMNEY CAPS, ROOF COATING, GENERAL CONSTRUCTION, SIDING, CERAMIC & MARBLE TILE, FLOORING INSTALLATION, CARPENTRY-WOODWORKING, REMODELING- KITCHENS, BATHS, & GENERAL CARPENTRY, WINDOWS, DOORS, STAIRCASES, NEW WALLS, SHEETROCK, SPACKLE, & PAINT.

    Are there any services Castelli Roofing & General Construction Inc does not offer?

    STAND-ALONE ELECTRICAL & PLUMBING JOBS AND HVAC