Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ADAPTIVE LIVING SOLUTIONS

Founded 2005 • With Angi since October 2007

4.9

(10) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 7202

Penndel, PA 19047

Description

Adaptive Living Solutions has been in business since 2005 specializing in accessible remodeling and consulting services for home accessibility. Jamie is the Lead General Contractor and a Certified Aging In Place Specialist through the NAHB and Cindy is the Home Accessibility Consultant with 20 years experience as an Occupational Therapist in healthcare....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/22/2016


Michael M.

We had them install a wheel chair lift for our disabled son. They did an amazing job. Very professional, all the guys were very nice. They cleaned up at the end of everyday, and it looks like it's part of the house. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Wheel Chair Lift

Category doors

5.0

04/19/2016


Brian R.

It took a couple months to schedule the work, and about three weeks to complete the job. The owner was here each day, doing a large percentage of the work himself. Everyone was polite and friendly. They did a good job cleaning up after each day of work. We are very happy with the final result. The price we paid seems very reasonable for the amount of work that was done.

Description of Work
Built two wheelchair ramps inside the house. Built a porch and a short wheelchair ramp outside the house. Widened doorways. Installed a wheelchair friendly sink in the bathroom.

Category plumbing, home remodeling, doors

5.0

04/05/2016


John B.

Went well on time for estimate and start of work. Done in 3 hrs. Expert, clean work. Will definitely recommend to others.

Description of Work
Provided and installed two stair hand rails and a bathtub grab bar.

Category handyman service, doors

1.0

02/28/2016


John B.

I think they are out of business. May want to delete from your registry. Have been trying to reach them for a month w/ no success.

Description of Work
nothing

Category doors

5.0

09/18/2015


John H.

Arrived on time, performed the work in a professional fashion, paid attention to detail (made sure the bars were secured in the wall studs when possible during placement), cleaned up afterwards and provided an invoice of the work performed. I would use Jamie @ Adaptive Living Solutions again for similar type work and definitely recommend him.

Description of Work
Installed 5 safety grab bars in the bathroom.

Category doors

5.0

09/11/2015


Robert R.

The contractor was on time everyday to work on the job. Nothing was rushed however and much consideration was given to all the little details that came up as the job progressed. Much thought and care was given to where the bathroom fixtures were placed so they would be most efficiently accessible to my son. The height and placement of the sink and toilet were worked out directly with my son as were the placement of all the shower fixtures. The electrical placement of lights, fan and switches were also carefully located considering my son's limitations being in a wheelchair. When any difficulties did arise which commonly occur during the construction phase of any job we were called in and provided with well thought out options on how best to proceed. The job did take a little longer than expected but there again the constructor did not want to rush anything along or sacrifice the end product in any way. It has been several months now since the job was completed and we our all happy with how the job turned out. My son has found his new bathroom very handy for all his needs. Also the entire living space which includes the adjacent bedroom has has become a beautiful and efficient living space for our son.

Description of Work
The contractor initially designed and constructed a ramp to make our house accessible for our disabled son. The contractor worked with us to design and modify our existing first floor bathroom and bedroom to make the bathroom wheelchair accessible for our son and made the new bathroom and adjacent bedroom into an efficient living area for our son. Jamie and his wife Cindy worked as a team combining Cindy's occupation therapy expertise with Jamie's construction experience to come up with efficient and cost saving solutions to make our home accessible for our son who is confined to a wheelchair. Before any construction began a complete and comprehensive accessibility report was prepared with recommended solutions to make our home more livable for our son. An excellent floor plan was conceived for enlarging our existing first floor bathroom to provide for a barrier free shower area and plenty of room for our son to maneuver his wheelchair around the new bathroom. We gave up some closet space and laundry room space to accomplish the goal of enlarging the floor space of the new bathroom but this solution saved us from the much large expense of having to consider building a complete addition.

Category handicap equipment

5.0

08/12/2015


Joseph F M.

Description of Work
Bathroom, mud room and laundry room remodel. Schluter System shower stall (included demo and new framing) and floor heat (did not include electrical connections or testing). Tile floors, shower stall and walls in bathroom. Armstrong flooring in other rooms. Had separate contractors for electric, plumbing and glass shower door. Quality work and easy to work with and coordinate.

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

03/30/2014


Robert R.

The contractor was on time everyday to work on the job. Nothing was rushed however and much consideration was given to all the little details that came up as the job progressed. Much thought and care was given to where the bathroom fixtures were placed so they would be most efficiently accessible to my son. The height and placement of the sink and toilet were worked out directly with my son as were the placement of all the shower fixtures. The electrical placement of lights, fan and switches were also carefully located considering my son's limitations being in a wheelchair. When any difficulties did arise which commonly occur during the construction phase of any job we were called in and provided with well thought out options on how best to proceed. The job did take a little longer than expected but there again the constructor did not want to rush anything along or sacrifice the end product in any way. It has been several months now since the job was completed and we our all happy with how the job turned out. My son has found his new bathroom very handy for all his needs. Also the entire living space which includes the adjacent bedroom has has become a beautiful and efficient living space for our son.

Description of Work
The contractor initially designed and constructed a ramp to make our house accessible for our disabled son. The contractor worked with us to design and modify our existing first floor bathroom and bedroom to make the bathroom wheelchair accessible for our son and made the new bathroom and adjacent bedroom into an efficient living area for our son. Jamie and his wife Cindy worked as a team combining Cindy's occupation therapy expertise with Jamie's construction experience to come up with efficient and cost saving solutions to make our home accessible for our son who is confined to a wheelchair. Before any construction began a complete and comprehensive accessibility report was prepared with recommended solutions to make our home more livable for our son. An excellent floor plan was conceived for enlarging our existing first floor bathroom to provide for a barrier free shower area and plenty of room for our son to maneuver his wheelchair around the new bathroom. We gave up some closet space and laundry room space to accomplish the goal of enlarging the floor space of the new bathroom but this solution saved us from the much large expense of having to consider building a complete addition.

Category electrician, interior designers, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

01/26/2014


Dianne M.

.

Description of Work
I had used Jamie Caldwell a few years ago to install doors and wood trim in a bedroom that I was redoing, baseboards, crown molding, window/door casing, etc. I found the price to be very fair and Jamie was very accommodating and easy to work with, and did a beautiful job on everything. When we decided to replace the bathtub in my mother's house with a shower stall I remembered that this type of thing was Jamie's primary business. So I called him and a few other contractors for estimates. Once again Jamie came in with the best estimate and was very accommodating with the way that we wanted things done. He ordered the shower stall, but while waiting for it to come in my mother had a stroke. As soon as the doctors told us that there was a chance that she would not be able to return to her house to live alone I called Jamie to see if he could put the order on hold. Unfortunately the shower stall had been delivered and Jamie had just picked it up. He agreed to store it until we knew for sure and I assured him that if we couldn't go forward we would pay for it and he would not be stuck. It was a few weeks in rehab before we knew for sure that mom would have to go into a nursing home. We felt very bad keeping Jamie in limbo all this time but he was very patient and understanding. He contacted the supplier and found that the shower stall could be returned with a restocking fee of $250, which we were happy to pay. We were relieved that we would not be stuck having to buy it outright and trying to sell it on ebay or craigslist. Based on the work that Jamie did for me previously I have no doubt that he would have done a wonderful job on this project and I would not hesitate to recommend his work and his business ethics to anyone.

Category remodeling, doors

5.0

03/10/2012


John W.

I am very pleased with his work. He has great communication and good quality of work. If you have any concerns you can speak with them directly and they are very good about follow-up. I would reccomend them.

Description of Work
He replaced windows on our home, remodeled two bathrooms, and remodeled the kitchen.

Category replacement windows, home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Spark Electrical Services LLC

    Electrical Services in Philadelphia and surrounding areas is our specialty. We provide Residential and Commercial Electrical Services throughout Philadelphia, Bucks County, and Delaware County. As a Licensed Professional Electrician in Philadelphia, we are dedicated to bringing a first-class experience into your Home or Business. Customer Service and Competitive Prices remain our top priorities. Our Talented and Professionals Electricians team at "Spark Electrical Services" can provide 24/7 Emergency Electrical Services with no hidden fees. ✓ Electrical Panel Upgrade. ✓ Circuit Breakers. ✓ Electrical Switches & Outlets. ✓ Wiring & Installations. ✓ Electrical Troubleshooting. Call Us Today to Get an Estimate with no pressure or obligation.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Brandon Electric Inc

    Brandon Electric, Inc., has been serving Philadelphia, Bucks, Montgomery, Delaware, and Chester Counties for more than 30 years. Our company is licensed and fully insured. We offer 24-hour emergency service and our crews are radio dispatched daily in your area. We carry workman's comp for all our employees and never use sub-contractors. All of our trucks have company signs and our employees wear uniforms. We have 10 fully stocked and radio dispatched trucks in your neighborhoods daily. Award winning. Cost is determined by the job. 16 employees. Travel charges may apply. Additional phones - (215) 947-2203, (215) 657-4303, (610)565-1400, (215) 244-9120, (215) 355-6520.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Brandon Electric Inc on Angi
    Accent Electric, Ltd.

    We are an Electrical Contracting firm that works out of the Willow Grove area proudly serving Bucks and Montgomery Counties. We have an office on Easton Rd that is available by appointment and have two trucks ready for your calls. We specialize in all phases of new or existing residential wiring. We also offer services for commercial applications. We offer free estimates. You will find that our prices are better than the big outfits and competitive with the smaller ones.  

    General Remodeling
    Home Healthcare - Disability Equipment & Services
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    We offer traditional remodeling and specialize in accessible remodeling of bathrooms, kitchens, additions, widening doorways, grab bars and installation of stair lifts, wheelchair lifts and ramps. In addition, we offer a Comprehensive Home Evaluation to help you navigate through what renovations could best serve your needs.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ADAPTIVE LIVING SOLUTIONS

    How is ADAPTIVE LIVING SOLUTIONS overall rated?

    ADAPTIVE LIVING SOLUTIONS is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are ADAPTIVE LIVING SOLUTIONS open?

    ADAPTIVE LIVING SOLUTIONS is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does ADAPTIVE LIVING SOLUTIONS provide

    ADAPTIVE LIVING SOLUTIONS accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does ADAPTIVE LIVING SOLUTIONS offer free estimates?

    Yes, ADAPTIVE LIVING SOLUTIONS offers free project estimates.

    Does ADAPTIVE LIVING SOLUTIONS offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, ADAPTIVE LIVING SOLUTIONS does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does ADAPTIVE LIVING SOLUTIONS offer a senior discount?

    No, ADAPTIVE LIVING SOLUTIONS does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by ADAPTIVE LIVING SOLUTIONS?

    No, ADAPTIVE LIVING SOLUTIONS does not offer warranties.

    What services does ADAPTIVE LIVING SOLUTIONS offer?

    ADAPTIVE LIVING SOLUTIONS offers the following services: We offer traditional remodeling and specialize in accessible remodeling of bathrooms, kitchens, additions, widening doorways, grab bars and installation of stair lifts, wheelchair lifts and ramps. In addition, we offer a Comprehensive Home Evaluation to help you navigate through what renovations could best serve your needs.