Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

J & R Garage Door Company Inc

About

Founded 1964 • With Angi since December 2011

J & R Garage Door Company, Inc. is a locally owned and operated company in Bensalem, Pennsylvania, is the area's premier destination for garage door services, including installation, maintenance, & repair. We look forward to hearing from you!...

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Verified Reviews

5.0

(27) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

21

4

0

3

0

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.9

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

garage doors (26)door installation (3)
Showing 1-25 of 27 reviews
5.0

09/20/2020


Robert S.

very good. one professional and one helper

Description of Work
garage door opener, springs, pulley, wires and rollers

Category doors

Cost $1,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/20/2020

5.0

10/20/2019


Marc G.

It went just as it should go. They were very nice, got me pricing quickly, and made an appointment within 1-2 weeks. The guy who did the work was very nice and did all the work needed.

Description of Work
Replacing bottom weatherstripping on two garage doors and overall adjustments.

Category garage doors

Cost $160

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/23/2019

5.0

01/12/2018


Catherine S.

After my calling in late afternoon, J&R scheduled a technician for the next morning. He diagnosed the problem: the gears in the motor were stripped. He replaced the gears and the door is working great. Prompt, friendly, expert, and informative. J&R does great work! Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Fixing garage door

Category garage doors

Cost $174

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/03/2018

5.0

01/01/2018


Carol G.

Great work

Description of Work
Had new capping put on around garage door

Category garage doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/24/2017

5.0

09/17/2017


Catherine S.

When I called the office, the person who answered first tried to help me over the phone to determine whether I could fix the door myself and avoid a service call. When that turned out not to be the case, she scheduled a service call. The work was done expertly and the technician also took time to explain how to maintain the door.

Description of Work
Garage door was stuck due to pulley device sliding over bolt at end of track.

Category garage doors

Cost $90

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/11/2017

5.0

07/12/2017


Dorothea H.

I cannot say enough good things about J and R. Donna came out to my home to give me an estimate. She was very friendly and professional. When the installer came out he was professional and worked with my schedule. He had to install new tracks therefore he worked all day. I would use them again and recommend them highly.

Description of Work
I needed a new garage door my old door was falling apart.

Category garage doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/27/2017

5.0

06/10/2017


John W.

The price was better than I expected. The results were excellent! I have recommended J & R to neighbors.

Description of Work
We had an 8' wide garage door and a 2' wide side door replaced with a 10' garage door. This required changes to the framing and new capping.

Category garage doors

Cost $1,950

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/10/2017

5.0

09/30/2014


Martin C.

Description of Work
Had my garage door replaced. They were prompt, professional and the price was great. Always a live person on the phone, fast and neat work.

Category garage doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/24/2014

5.0

06/30/2014


Kenneth C.

Arrived on time and the installation went well with no problems.

Description of Work
Furnished and installed garage door opener.

Category garage doors

Cost $350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/19/2014

5.0

05/18/2014


Joyce O.

It went very well

Description of Work
Put in a new garage door opener

Category garage doors

Cost $380

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2014

5.0

03/26/2014


Catherine S.

It is a nice door. It has windows. I liked how informative the guy was. They actually came out when they said they would. It was everything you would want in a company. When they first came out they said that the starter was fine and that I should wait until it went out before replacing it, which I agreed. When they came out to install the door they called me at work and told me that the starter had started sparking so they kicked in a keypad for no charge and gave me a discount on the starter which I thought was pretty nice. I know that they didn't do anything to the starter that it was just it's time to go. I could tell that they felt awful about it. It is good to find good people.

Description of Work
I used J and R Garage Door Company to install a garage door and a starter about 6 months ago.

Category garage doors

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/09/2013

5.0

12/24/2013


Mark G.

I am a general contractor who have been using Jand R for many years. They have the best value out there. Their pricing, product and service combination cannot be beat. They keep their word, solve problems well and do a great overall job. You should use them or at least given them serious consideration when needing overhead door service and installation!

Description of Work
Installed garage door openers

Category garage doors

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/03/2013

5.0

07/23/2013


Leigh M.

Came out the next day and was very prompt. The men were nice and respectful as well as knowledgeable. Also gave advice to avoid future problems. Good experience. Would not hesitate to hire again.

Description of Work
Fixed Garage door: replaced cables and springs, got rid of rust and oiled it.

Category garage doors

Cost $140

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/23/2013

5.0

07/10/2013


Susan P.

A very pleasant experience, from the sales man, to the office person and the installers.

Description of Work
Replaced two garage doors and installed garage openers on both doors.

Category garage doors

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/08/2013

5.0

05/22/2013


Kathy Z.

They were on time, had everything they needed. Were very quick, cleaned up and the price was exactly what was quoted. Also they helped me move boxes back into garage.

Description of Work
Removed broken garage door, hung new rails and installed a new door also capping around door.

Category garage doors

Cost $711

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/25/2013

5.0

04/01/2013


Byron R.

Solid, reliable, friendly local business that did exactly what they promised.

Description of Work
Double-wide 15+ year old garage door failed to open one morning. Returned call within a few hours, quickly established problem with existing garage door, recommended several options, order parts and replaced existing hardware to have door operational again 2 days later.

Category garage doors

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/15/2013

5.0

11/06/2012


William D.

We were having a problem with our garage door opener. We could hear the motor running but the door would not open or close. We call Jand R. The arrived at our house at the time promised. They fixed the door at a very reasonable price. We would certainly use their services again.

Description of Work
our garage door opener was fixed.w

Category garage doors

Cost $160

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/06/2012

5.0

04/27/2012


Mary M.

They arrived within the quoted time window, quick, efficient and did the job well. I used them 3 years ago, hence the call back.

Description of Work
Replaced cable on garage door.

Category garage doors

Cost $4,135

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/12/2012

5.0

04/06/2012


Victoria C.

Jand F installed our original garage doors, almost 20 years ago; continue to maintain; replaced doors once; service call answered promptly!

Description of Work
Replaced garage door spring. Adjusted door opener. Replaced garage door bottom weather stripping.

Category garage doors

Cost $187

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/12/2012

5.0

02/11/2012


Michele T.

Jand R was right in time, diagnosed the problem and fixed my door.

Description of Work
Replace springs, pulleys and wheels of garage doors.

Category garage doors

Cost $220

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/16/2012

5.0

01/13/2012


Sarah K.

Everything worked out fine. I found them very communicative, competent, and reliable. I didn't have any problems with them.

Description of Work
Several years they put in a new garage door for me. I did have a problem later on. Last spring, they did a repair for me.

Category garage doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/13/2011

Contact

Phone

Address

351 Merion Pl

Newtown, PA 18940

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Website

http://www.jandrgaragedoor.com

Services Offered

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information

Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
Senior Discount
No
Warranties
Yes
Licensed
Trade License Number
PA067710
Trade License Locale
Pennsylvania
Trade License Authority
Pennsylvania: Home Improvement Contractors
Trade License Expiration
04/28/2024
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about J & R Garage Door Company Inc

How is J & R Garage Door Company Inc overall rated?

J & R Garage Door Company Inc is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

What days are J & R Garage Door Company Inc open?

J & R Garage Door Company Inc is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

What payment options does J & R Garage Door Company Inc provide

J & R Garage Door Company Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Does J & R Garage Door Company Inc offer free estimates?

Yes, J & R Garage Door Company Inc offers free project estimates.

Does J & R Garage Door Company Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

Yes, J & R Garage Door Company Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Does J & R Garage Door Company Inc offer a senior discount?

No, J & R Garage Door Company Inc does not offer a senior discount.

Are warranties offered by J & R Garage Door Company Inc?

Yes, J & R Garage Door Company Inc offers warranties.

What services does J & R Garage Door Company Inc offer?

J & R Garage Door Company Inc offers the following services: Retail & contractor sales, residential & commercial services-installations, new developmental installations. Garage doors, & electric operator installations