Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Rafferty Subaru

Founded 1977 • With Angi since October 2011

4.5

(36) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4700 West Chester Pike

Newtown Square, PA 19073

Description

Additional phones - (888) 711-0779 (888) 445-9821. Additional hours - Mon-Fri 9:00 AM-9:00 PM; Sat 9:00 AM-5:00 PM. Cost is determined by the job....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/23/2021


Annette D P.

I go there for sales and service. They have pair price. I would not trade this dealership.

Description of Work
I maintained my car there.

Category auto repair

5.0

12/28/2020


Barbara S.

It was excellent. They were courteous and efficient.

Description of Work
They did car service for me.

Category auto repair

5.0

10/13/2017


Deborah S.

I have a Subaru. My Subaru is past 10 years old and I still go there. They might be a little more expensive than other people, but they know what they’re doing. You never have to wait there. You get an appointment time and that’s when they do it.

Description of Work
They provided auto service.

Category auto repair

5.0

07/20/2017


Annette D P.

Oil change was free. I've been with them for almost 15 years, so they must be great. Every time I need a car that's where I go buy it from.

Description of Work
They performed an oil change.

Category auto repair

4.0

03/21/2017


gregory M.

This dealership is close to my residence and I purchased a new vehicle here. I will not purchase another vehicle here.

Description of Work
New vehicle purchase.

Category car sales

5.0

11/03/2016


Jane J.

The body shop was excellent and they have express service for the oil change and they did a good job. They are fine.

Description of Work
Body shop and an oil change.

Category auto repair

5.0

03/23/2015


Keith M.

I purchased a car through ebay that they inspected and had maintained for the last 50k miles for $5200. I drove 500 miles to pick it up and came home trusting that it was in good condition. Took it to my local dealer for state inspection it didn't pass and needed over $3000 of repairs to get it to pass and a non functional sunroof that cost $1500 to repair. They were completely non responsive. Not disclosing known repairs is completely unethical and fraudulent. If you must buy from here, make sure you take the car to a third party for inspection prior to purchase, but I would simply recommend staying away from this pack of liars.

Description of Work
Sold me a car for $5200 that needed $4700 worth of repairs.

Category car sales

4.0

11/14/2014


Edward J. M.

We chose them because they were just close in our area to buy it. The cost of their service is fair. Some things come back and some things do not seem to be resolved. I do not know if that is them or us. They are good with responsiveness and they are professional.

Description of Work
We usually use a dealer for our cars. We have a Subaru so we go to Rafferty. We went there the last time because I think there was a problem with alignment that they were looking at. They do preventative maintenance.

Category auto repair,car sales

2.0

07/21/2014


Benjamin S.

I would not recommend them to anybody because they overcharge on every single thing they do. I had no issues with their service.

Description of Work
Rafferty Subaru replaced a left front axle for me.

Category auto repair

5.0

06/09/2014


DAVID H.

I go back for service and I am happy with the level of service.

Description of Work
Rafferty Subaru replaced the front bumper and did a coalition repair.

Category auto body repair,auto repair

2.0

02/27/2014


Julie W.

Did not go well. Price quoted on the internet was different at dealership. Felt like the whole deal was based on mistrust. Very condescending to women. Had an attitude that was belittling and smug. Sales person could not speak without manager approval. Lots of wasted time. Said they located a car, then had to order it. More time wasted. Should have had certain options, but it didn't . Took aver three hours to purchase the car once it arrived. Contacted Subaru Corp. who resolved all my problems. Subaru Corp. is wonderful. Do not deal with Rafferty. It is not about YOU, as their advertisement said.

Description of Work
Purchased a new subaru

Category car sales

4.0

09/26/2013


GARY M.

This is the third time the car has been there for the same issue. They keep replacing the fuse but don't yet know the reason it keeps burning out. I had no issues for the first 10 years I owned the car. It was in an accident a year ago, and this is a result of the accident, but I really would like to find out what is at the root of the problem so I don't have to keep returning every few months for the same repair. It doesn't take a long time, and it's not terribly expensive, but it's a nuisance. I will go back to the other driver's auto insurance and let them know of the ongoing issue.

Description of Work
Replaced a burned-out fuse in a headlight.

Category auto repair,car sales

5.0

07/29/2013


William K.

They have been top notch in taking care of my car. I follow through with all the regular maintenance checks and services needed. I have been very satisfied with their services.

Description of Work
I purchased my car at this lot and I have had all of my service work performed here.

Category auto repair,car sales

5.0

07/03/2013


Mary H.

It is a dealer service so they will do the right thing. It is not cheap but it is dependable and reliable. They are not more expensive than others.

Description of Work
We use Rafferty Subaru for one of our cars. My husband last had a state inspection and they found some things that had to be fixed.

Category auto repair,car inspections

5.0

05/08/2013


Holenarasipur R.

I thought their price was reasonable, they're generally okay. I always go there because they are the dealer where I got the car and they have generally been good. When I want something done on my car, I don't go to anybody else, I go only to them.

Description of Work
I had body work done at the dealer, Rafferty Subaru around two years ago.

Category auto body repair

5.0

04/30/2013


Anthony P.

It was an awesome experience; very pleasurable. They were courteous. The name of the person I used was Andre. The salesperson in general was very good. There was no rush or pressure. They actually called me back. The price was reasonable. I shopped around and their price was the lowest. The quality was very good.

Description of Work
I just bought a car from Rafferty Subaru. I have actually leased the car from them.

Category car sales

5.0

02/02/2012


Irene F.

I have had many positive experiences at Rafferty Subaru. when I am in the market for a new car I will likely be buying from them.

Description of Work
I have gone to Rafferty in the past 2007 to 2009 for car care services, oil changes, inspections, etc... They were fairly priced and their service is good. They have a nice waiting room as well, and free coffee. :) I went to them in 2009 looking to purchase a new car, they were helpful then and discussed many options with me. I ultimately did not purchase from them, but not due to their services. I went back again in 2011 just to take a look a what they had available for the new year. I mentioned I was interested but not in the market at the moment. They were respectful of that and not pushy trying to get me to buy.

Category auto repair,car sales,car inspections

5.0

10/13/2011


Elek F.

He's been very satisfied with his experiences here. Everyone from the salespeople to the maintenance crew is very helpful and accommodating.

Description of Work
My husband purchased a new car here. Last week, he got in a minor accident and took it back to the dealership for repair.

Category auto repair,car sales

5.0

08/04/2009


james L.

They were great to work with. They have a very great inventory and a wonderful showroom. The sales men were not high pressure. They took the time to explain things and help to get me into the right car for me. I like that I can have all of my servicing done at the facility. The waiting room is comfortable. I had a very pleasant experience working with Rafferty Subaru.

Description of Work
I just purchased my Subaru from Rafferty Subaru.

Category car sales

5.0

05/07/2009


Annmarie W.

My experience was good. The sales person was able to give me all the information I needed before I bought the car. The price was comparable and I did check a couple of places before I bought it. I knew what I wanted, but I don't think they had a big selection of colors. The car is fine and I haven't had any problems with it. I love my car.

Description of Work
I bought my car from the auto sales company five years ago.

Category car sales

5.0

04/25/2009


Robert E S.

They are very courteous, thorough and professional. They are very customer friendly. Their waiting area is very nice, clean and well maintained. They have a coffee and tea machine in there. This makes the waiting more pleasant. Their price is not very cheap.

Description of Work
I take my vehicle to Rafferty Subaru for service.

Category car inspections

1.0

03/01/2009


JAMES H.

In the early afternoon, Rafferty Subaru called and said that the Radiator had a blockage and that was why it was running hot. They further said that the headgasket needed to be replaced because it was leaking externally. They quoted a price of $2,800 to complete this work. I said I would pick the car up that afternoon and think about their quote. They did not repair/replace the seatbelt because they had to order the part after verifying what I told them on Tuesday. I took the car to an independent mechanic. He told me the radiator was ~1 gallon low on coolant and he could find no evidence of a blockage. He could find no evidence of a head gasket leak either. He did find that the temperature sensor was reading 25 degrees hotter than actual. He replaced the sensor and filled the radiator. A full week after my initial visit with Rafferty, they contacted me to tell me the part was in. The next weekend they replaced the seatbelt for no charge in accordance iwth federal law. I find the fact that a dealer let me drive out of their shop a gallon low on coolant to be negligent. That they misdiagnosed the problem and recommended expensive service for the car is evidence of either incompetence or fruad. I would not recommend service at this dealer.

Description of Work
I called on a Tuesday to schedule repair of a malfunctioning seatbelt. It was fully retracted and locked in that position. When I took the car for the scheduled service on Saturday morning, I asked if they would look at the engine, as it was running hot. The engine wa snot overheating, but I had to run the heat on hot, and could regulate the temperature by running the fan.

Category radiator service

5.0

10/04/2008


JOSE P.

I got price quotes from 4 other dealers. Rafferty came close to the lowest price quote that I had received (I did not buy from the dealer with the lowest quote because the salesman who gave me that quote failed to follow up despite my repeated attempts to contact him). The Raffert salesman Andrew was friendly, professional and responsive. The buying experience was smooth. The only negative was that I did not get the price they had promised for my trade-in. They asked for a lower price after I got there (compared to what I had been promised on the phone). I feel that I should have got more for my trade-in based on the blue book value.

Description of Work
I bought a Forrester from them.

Category car sales

4.0

03/11/2008


SYLVIA S.

I will continue to use this company. The cost is an average oil change/fluid check. They also do free emissions testing when you have your inspection done with them which saves about $20.00.

Description of Work
They do regular tune ups on my Subaru.

Category auto repair

5.0

01/06/2008


RONALD R.

The cars have had manufacturing defects. The service techs have on rare occasion made an error. Every issue has been responded to with competence, professionalism an "concrete" response for my loss of time. Ninety seven percent of the time the service is done right the first time. For scheduled service they have always provided a loaner car.

Description of Work
This is my third WRX from Rafferty. The sales and service people are thoughtful, effective and without exception seem to like both what they do for a living and where they do it. There has never been any sales pressure or deceptive practices. Since I have been driving I have purchased at least 30 vehicles. Rafferty set a consistently high standard in how they treat both their customers and employees as evidenced by the low personnel turnover rate. I did a lot of shopping, both on line and in person before each purchase. Each time Rafferty made the best deal by at least $400.00.

Category car sales

    Other local Pros in your area

    Conestoga Collision LLC

    If you live or work in Berwyn, PA or anywhere along the Main Line and Chester County, the auto body professionals at Conestoga Collision are always eager to answer your collision repair needs. Whether your vehicle has suffered simple bumper damage or the effects of a more significant type of accident, we’ll be there to assist you every step of the way. Locally owned & operated. Additional phone - (610) 644-1002.  

    CREIGHTON'S AUTO REPAIR

    ADDITIONAL HOURS: 2ND SATURDAY OF EVERY MONTH 7:00 AM-12:00 PM  

    Ridge Auto Body & Repairs

    Bring your vehicle in for free estimates on all mechanical and auto body collision repairs. Tire specials daily call for pricing. Stop by Ridge Auto Body & Repairs Your One Stop Auto Shop Serving the Browns Mills/Joint Base Dix McGuire Lakehurst & Pemberton Township communities for over 30 years !!  

    Auto Service
    Auto Sales
    Auto Inspections
    Auto Body Work
    Auto Radiators
    Taxi/Shuttle Service
    Auto Accessories
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Financing Available, Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Auto parts repairs, installation including oil change, brakes, tires, inspections, alignment, transmission, shuttle, coolant flush, towing, muffler & sales.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Rafferty Subaru

    How is Rafferty Subaru overall rated?

    Rafferty Subaru is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Rafferty Subaru open?

    Rafferty Subaru is open:

    Sunday: Closed
    Monday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
    Friday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Rafferty Subaru provide

    Rafferty Subaru accepts the following forms of payment: Financing Available, Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Rafferty Subaru offer free estimates?

    Yes, Rafferty Subaru offers free project estimates.

    Does Rafferty Subaru offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Rafferty Subaru does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Rafferty Subaru offer a senior discount?

    No, Rafferty Subaru does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Rafferty Subaru?

    Yes, Rafferty Subaru offers warranties.

    What services does Rafferty Subaru offer?

    Rafferty Subaru offers the following services: Auto parts repairs, installation including oil change, brakes, tires, inspections, alignment, transmission, shuttle, coolant flush, towing, muffler & sales.