Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Michael F Whalen Contracting

Founded 1982 • With Angi since May 2010

4.9

(40) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1035 Woodberry Rd

New Kensington, PA 15068

Description

Additional DBAs - Whalen Construction....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/15/2017


Becky M.

The job went very well. The crew was always at the job sight early each morning and worked throughout the day. The little things and added touches were great. They always cleaned up each day. I was very particular about how I wanted the front porch done, and Shawn worked with me and gave me over and above what I was looking for. I definitely recommend them and would call them again for any improvements we might do later on

Description of Work
New roof, new windows, new siding, gutters, door, and new front porch

Category decks, gutter repair, roofing, siding, replacement windows, doors

5.0

08/10/2017


David M.

Michael Whalen did a fantastic job; completed the work in a very timely manner; accommodated minor changes requested during the course of the work; and, provided complete clean up of the site when finished. I highly recommend Michael Whalen Contracting and will seek them out for use on future projects that I may have.

Description of Work
12'X12' deck extension. Michael Whalen was prompt in reviewing the proposed work and providing an estimate. While being extremely busy during the summer season, they fit my project in to their schedule and accommodated me in getting the work completed in a timely manner.

Category decks, remodeling

5.0

05/12/2016


Michele B.

Every step of working with Mike Whalen, his son Sean, and his company was absolutely AWESOME! I sent them a message through their website and they called and came out to give us a quote the next day! I was super impressed with their punctuality and knowledge at this point. Mike got a quote back to us in a few days, we discussed and decided we wanted to change the scope of our project a bit and Mike was very patient with us through this process. He came out 1-2 more times and provided us with another quote. After we accepted he walked us through everything we needed to do to get the process started, and his guys were out a few weeks later! The project took 6 days total, Day 1 tear down, day 2 digging holes for posts, day 3 posts in and framing began, Day 4 framing finished, Day 5 deck boards went down, Day 6 railings and stairs were in and they were done! I am so amazed with the craftsmanship of the work and how much the team communicated with us throughout the project. Mike would call us every night to give the details of what had been done that day, any issues they ran into or decisions we needed to make. Being the first contractor we have worked with, I don't plan on searching for another one for our next project. Mike and his team will certainly be our first and only call!

Description of Work
Took down an existing deck and built a similar deck (as a walkway) to a very large 16x20 wood deck.

Category decks

5.0

04/20/2016


donna S.

Owner came right away to give us an estimate. Supplies were delivered promptly. Crew showed up early and got started. Worked steadily around weather and got done in a day and a half. Really nice job. Owner followed up with phone call to make sure we were satisfied. Would definitely use again.

Description of Work
We needed a new garage roof done

Category roofing

5.0

11/15/2015


Louise A. S.

Michael showed up to discuss my roofing needs. The shingles & dumpster arrived next day. The team started working the day after. There was excellent communication btwn the workers & me. We discussed the porch roof and ways to remedy the flat roof. The work was excellent.

Description of Work
Replaced roof (removed shingles, install ice shield, synthetic paper, shingles, new pipe covers, necessary venting & flashing, seals. White vinyl siding on dormers. Frame in shingle front porch add gutter & tie into existing down spout. Clean up & haul debris.

Category roofing

5.0

09/17/2015


Chuck B.

Mike was prompt to come and evaluate. He submitted the estimate promptly as well. When a date was set, that's when they showed up and worked every day until completion.

Description of Work
Complete shingle roof replacement, including modifying two exhaust vents.

Category roofing

5.0

08/09/2015


James P.

Everything went as planned. No hidden costs. Very professional and great work ethics. Couldn't be more pleased and satisfied.

Description of Work
installed new roof and gutters

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

07/25/2015


Lisa R.

In a single day, Michael's crew placed the posts and railings on my front porch, giving it an entirely new look. In additions, the crew took out two old exterior doors, replacing them with new, better and more energy efficient ones. They placed two new storm doors on those entryways as well, and now I'm all set. I was quite surprised that that could do all that they did, but I shouldn't have been. This is the second time I've used Michael Whalen Construction (he did a beautiful deck for me two years ago) and it will not be the last. Like I told Michael, I'm already thinking of the next project.

Description of Work
Replaced two exterior doors, attached two storm doors, and added posts and railings to my front porch.

Category decks, remodeling, roofing, doors

5.0

05/24/2015


Allan T.

The crew was punctual, professional, courteous and always working - no fooling around on the job. They arrived at 7:00 a.m. and began their work immediately, and left in the afternoon around 4 or 5:00 p.m. This was a large job and this 4 man crew completed it in 6 days of steady work. They cleaned the area every day before they left for the day. I have not found any stray nails or debris. These guys are professional and possess the skills needed for a quality job. I can only praise them.

Description of Work
we had a problem with prior construction and this job required a total tear down of existing patio roof - shingles, plywood rafters and total rebuild of a new one including all new framing and plywood. They finished the patio roof with a beautiful vinyl ceiling, lights and fan. We also had a new matching shingle job on existing house roof, all new roof vents, gutters and downspouts.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

03/22/2015


Gary G.

Selecting a home contractor can be a very unsettling task. Sites such as Angie's List are helpful in this process, but in the end one is left to rely on the accuracy of other customer reviews, personal references, and gut-feeling. We recently decided to have a deck extension built at our home. The first contractor we approached was a guy we used in the past and who had always done nice work at a reasonable price, however, for a variety of reasons, including failure to produce evidence of worker's compensation coverage, caused us to change contractors. We used Angie's List to choose another contractor, based upon reviews, price, and the professional approach he brought to the job. We selected Michael Whalen Contracting of New Kensington and were absolutely delighted with both the finished project and the very skilled and polite workers who worked at our home. In that the weather finally broke enough last week to dig footers, etc., four workers showed up on Monday morning and by Thursday afternoon, the project was completed. The four men worked extremely hard and well together and went above and beyond to deliver a very nice finished deck extension. This is the type of contractor a homeowner dreams of working with and I am proud to give them my highest recommendation. In addition, I would gladly provide an excellent reference to any homeowner who wishes to discuss our satisfaction with Michael Whalen Contracting. Sincerely, Gary & Janet Grysiak Monroeville, PA

Description of Work
Built a deck extension, capable of supporting a large hot tub.

Category decks, roofing

5.0

02/16/2015


ken C.

Work was completed accurately and on time. Mike was a pleasure to deal with. Would recommend

Description of Work
Installed soffit and facia

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding

5.0

12/10/2014


Keith T.

We are extremely happy with the services provided by Michael Whalen, his son Sean, and their crew. No detail was given up on this gutter job. Estimate Let?s start back with the Estimate that started more than a month ago. Michael stopped by the house to visit my wife. He entertained us about our house and its long term potential. When I reported that the job that we wanted complete before the winter was upon us was just gutters, I expected some disappointment because I have had other contractors tell me they were not interested in small jobs. Michael gladly jumped at the opportunity to take my gutter measurements and the estimate he mailed back to me was within our budget. Michael left us with a siding sample book that was very big and very detailed. Though he didn't know if he?d ever hear back from us, he gave us all the tools to get on with our lives and possibly contact the next contractor. Estimate Follow-up In the project estimate business --- follow-up is essential. Michael followed up with a clean estimate in a PDF. I have had such bad experiences getting contractors to write down their estimates that I was completely flabbergasted when we got an estimate on company letterhead. By the way, if you have happened to get a contractor that is not willing to provide an estimate on official company letterhead, they are scared that you will shop around, and are insecure about one of 3 things: (a. They are insecure about their estimate because they are overpriced. (b. They have a good estimate, but their work leaves little to be desired (c. They are overpriced and their work leaves little to be desired (this one is the worst kind) You know you have a good contractor when he/she isn't afraid to give you a number and challenge you to find a better deal. Angie?s List takes care of the work to be desired piece. You only have so many chances to make a first impression. Day of Work I was not there the actual day the crew arrived but my wife reported that the whole crew was barely noticeable. They worked quietly and thoroughly. They were very kind and courteous. Completion Follow-up I received an email back from Michael asking if we were satisfied with the work. That was the finishing touch. We were glad to hear back, and in the end, we were very happy. Pictures As you can see I went up on the roof to check out the work at closer detail. Even though most of the work was already visible, I decided to get up on a ladder and inspect the inside of the gutters. As you can see, matching caulking fills all the holes perfectly and the end caps are nicely sealed. I would have been satisfied with just white, but they went the extra mile. Also, all the gutters have a perfect overhang that captures rain that would fall off from the corners. If I would have shopped the estimate, I may have received a little better price. But Michael and his gang hit all the important areas. So, when you get a winner, you stick with it. I expect that my next project will have Michael involved. GREAT JOB GUYS!!!

Description of Work
Remove existing gutters and downspouts and replace with Alcoa seamless gutter system and down spouts. Clean all job debris. Around 60 feet of gutter was installed. Multiple end pieces and downspouts made up the front of the house.

Category gutter cleaning, gutter repair, roofing, siding, replacement windows

5.0

10/18/2014


Joseph G.

Everything went very well. The job has been completed in one day and everything looks great. I would recommend them for all contracting work.

Description of Work
Remodeled front porch and cleaned gutters.

Category decks, gutter cleaning, remodeling

2.0

09/27/2014


james K.

Trim pieces around the arched windows were installed using two different finishes and did not match after we specifically reviewed this detail. Contract specified that 2-3 additional panels were to be replaced on the rear of the house and only 1 was replaced because the workers had stated that they had to finish today and wouldn't be returning. Paint spots were splattered on the trek decking. when I mentioned to the contractor he told me they'll come off with soap and water, not true...Contractor used two different materials for base trim on rear of house, Contractor stated that he was getting too old for this business and didn't need to hear my issues. That he had lost money on the job even though he finished within the time frame he quoted. Be careful when a contractor states that he wants to make sure your happy with his work, then when issues arise he comes back and states that it's impossible to make you happy...

Description of Work
replaced wood siding and trim

Category decks, roofing, siding

Service Provider Response

When job was completed home owner shook hands with us and said GREAT JOB glad I hired you. Then a day later he called and said that we used different trim, we used the same cedar trim everywhere and he is well aware of that, that statement is false. As far as the amount of sheets used, the contract states that no more than 40 sheets were to be used and we used 41, and that statement from the home owner is also false. The contract also states that the T-111 was to receive 2 coats of primer and 1 top coat, and then he insisted that he wanted another top coat which was not agreed too and then another one three in total and there was no difference in appearance after three coats than there was after one. The labor and materials was at the contractors expense. 10 extra gallons of paint at $45.00 per gallon and 2 extra days of labor at no cost to home owner. The job went 3.5 days longer than expected. He stated at the end of the job after he stated we did a GREAT JOB that he would have other work for us, and we stated that we were not interested, that is what prompted all these FALSE allegations. As far as the paint spots he claims, we performed all painting at our warehouse, he had old spots from a previous contractor, they were not from us. We went out of our way in a grand manner to try to please him and could not, and that because he cannot be pleased. He was well aware of all the extra money for labor and materials and offered nothing. After reading this review of one false statement after another, I checked the history of our services to Angie's list members and we have a total of 22 member reviews and many non member reviews all at an A rating. That should say something to the validity of these accusations. Sincerely, Michael F. Whalen.
5.0

09/17/2014


Rachel M.

Went very well. Workers were on time and completed job in 2 days. Did a good job cleaning up too.

Description of Work
Replace roof, install ridge vent and ice guard. Also replaced small roof as well.

Category roofing

5.0

07/10/2014


Laurie S.

This is my second review of this contractor and I can't say enough. They came a month ago to install a sliding glass door onto a deck that wasn't built yet. They are finishing the deck as I type and it is gorgeous! The guys were polite and thorough and did a fantastic job. Thanks again Mike. You will be our contractor of choice for our next project!

Description of Work
Deck

Category roofing

5.0

07/03/2014


Daniel D.

Highly recommend...see comments

Description of Work
This group of workers were amazing. We've never been able to compliment a contractor like this...they were responsive ( I know!!), professional, punctual ,with excellent communication and a work ethic that is unfortunately rare.. 7:00am arrival, 7:05am plans being implemented. And the best part!!!, the results were more than we could have ever hoped for, Michael and his son Sean compliment one and other. We would highly recommend

Category roofing

5.0

06/09/2014


Laurie S.

I called Mike on Tuesday and he came out that Saturday to give us a bid. He was very honest with his quote - gave us a ballpark figure and followed up with a quote via email. He has been in constant contact and ask if they could install the sliding glass doors prior to the deck installation. (we can't have the deck installed until the A/C unit is moved) We agreed. Mike's son and crew worked last Thursday and Friday, removing an existing window and installing a slider with vertical blinds built into the door. The crew was extremely professional and did a fantastic job. I am thrilled! We are anxiously waiting for the deck to be built and if it goes as smoothly as the door I know I will love it.

Description of Work
Install sliding glass door to go to a new deck.

Category decks, doors

5.0

04/16/2014


Gerald C.

It went very well They are very efficient and cleaned up great after work I would use them again in the future

Description of Work
New Roof

Category roofing

5.0

12/22/2013


Christina D.

Excellent. Easy to work with, always on time, daily contact with us. Helpful, excellent workmen, good quality work. Would hire him again.

Description of Work
Total remodel, deck, sliding doors, Windows, dry wall, powder room, addition, floors.

Category decks, drywall, picture framing, remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows, doors

5.0

12/03/2013


deborah C.

We were very pleased with the work & would highly recommend them. They were prompt & very neat. Mike was also very helpful with suggestions of sub-contractors on other work we were having done that they didn't do (I.e. - stone work, railings. & cement work). I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Replaced cedar shingles on front of house with vinyl shingles, replaced soffit & facia & installed new front door.

Category remodeling

5.0

10/18/2013


TOM J.

Work started promptly each day and progressed until completed. Never left the job to go elsewhere. Did a great job on the roof. I have contacted them to do other work on my home. Very professional.

Description of Work
All shingles on large home roof were replaced. Ridge vents installed and other necessary roof repairs done. Service was from 9/30/13 - 10/5/13.

Category roofing

5.0

09/06/2013


Lisa R.

I had a deck that was quite literally falling down. It was built at the time the house was built, in 1996. The bottom of the deck posts were slipping out from under the deck and toward the hillside at the rear of my house, and I was concerned that the hillside itself might be slipping. I knew several years ago that the deck would have to be demolished, and a new one put in it's place. I saved for three years, and the posts kept slipping further and further out away from the house (see the before pictures). I found Michael Whalen's company on Angie's List. He reviewed what I was looking for, and made some useful suggestions. When they demolished the old deck, they discovered that the original home builder (who I would gladly name were it not for Angie's List Dos and Dont's) did not put concrete footers under the original posts. The post were simply buried in the dirt. One of the posts was not a 6x6, but simply 1x6's that were tacked/glued together to give the appearance of a 6x6. The Whalens discovered all of this upon destruction of the old deck, which they did quickly and efficiently. Michael was in daily contact with me via phone, which was important because I was away from home much of the time that week. He was always polite, concerned and responsive. As for the cost of the deck, I did have a couple of other estimates, which were a bit lower. However, I simply had a good feeling about Michael, and he did not let me down. His crew was professional and very efficient. The did a great job of cleaning up the site after the fact, and I am left with a sturdy, well made and beautiful deck after three days of work. The posts, beams and joists were pressure treated wood, the decking material was Trex Transcend (a fantastic product - the Rope Swing color) and the railing white vinyl. You can see that the end result is fantastic. I fully and completely endorse Michael Whalen Contracting!

Description of Work
Deck replacement

Category roofing

5.0

08/01/2013


Deb D.

They did exactly what was promised. Crew was efficient and prompt. I was very happy with their work.

Description of Work
New gutters and door spouts.

Category gutter cleaning

5.0

06/21/2013


Francis T.

He was very good. He was very responsive. They came on time and they put the deck together in three days. It was a pretty good experience. Excellent. A very good staff. They did a good job. They didn't play around I mean there was very little conversation between them. They knew what they had to do and they did it. They did everything right. It is solid. they put extra beams in there. They paid attention to the construction of the deck and the quality is good, but you have to spend time to pay attention to detail.

Description of Work
They installed a deck.

Category decks

    Other local Pros in your area

    Gutter Pro

    Gutter Pro is fully insured and licensed specializing in professional installation or repair of seamless gutters and downspouts. We have wide range of colors to choose from. Commercial and residential gutters. We strive to provide fast service, high quality, and complete satisfaction. We provide free estimates serving Pittsburgh and the surrounding areas.  

    Offers by Gutter Pro on Angi
    Home Genius Exteriors

    ***NOW OFFERING VIRTUAL / NO-TOUCH INSPECTIONS AND ESTIMATES. We’re open for business! Home Genius Exteriors remains dedicated to our mission to give our customers A DIFFERENT EXPERIENCE. Give our team of professionals a chance to WOW you with our hassle-free inspection process, transparent pricing, perfect communication and top-rated installations. We’re not just a sales and marketing company like some of our competitors, we stand behind every project we do with a warranty you can trust! We are home improvement experts and can be your one-stop-shop solution! Home Genius also offers some of the most FLEXIBLE payment plans in the industry. Give us a chance and we’ll do everything we can to earn the right to become your CONTRACTOR FOR LIFE.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Home Genius Exteriors on Angi
    J&N Interiors

    We specialize in drywall and sheet rock installs, repairs, finishing, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today! We offer interior framing, drywall, and trim or mill work!  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    PA0034738
    Trade License Authority
    Pennsylvania Attorney General
    Trade License Expiration
    07/30/2021
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available, Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    roof replacement, siding installation, gutters, soffit and fascia

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Michael F Whalen Contracting

    How is Michael F Whalen Contracting overall rated?

    Michael F Whalen Contracting is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Michael F Whalen Contracting open?

    Michael F Whalen Contracting is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Michael F Whalen Contracting provide

    Michael F Whalen Contracting accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available, Check

    Does Michael F Whalen Contracting offer free estimates?

    Yes, Michael F Whalen Contracting offers free project estimates.

    Does Michael F Whalen Contracting offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Michael F Whalen Contracting does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Michael F Whalen Contracting offer a senior discount?

    No, Michael F Whalen Contracting does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Michael F Whalen Contracting offer emergency services?

    Yes, Michael F Whalen Contracting offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Michael F Whalen Contracting?

    Yes, Michael F Whalen Contracting offers warranties.

    What services does Michael F Whalen Contracting offer?

    Michael F Whalen Contracting offers the following services: roof replacement, siding installation, gutters, soffit and fascia