Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

RJ Wright Design Build

Founded 2009 • With Angi since April 2010

4.5

(69) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

207 Walnut Alley

New Cumberland, PA 17070

Description

RJ Wright is a locally owned professional construction company offering design and construction services. RJ Wright has four full time employee (including owner). Several reliable, experienced, conscientious subcontractors are used on a regular basis. We are a certified renovator as required by

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
William B.
3.0
10/23/2017
Purchased a bathroom design package after ensuring on this site that it was available in my area. After the purchase, they notified me that I was about 10 miles outside of their area. They did refund my purchase amount.
Description of Work
Purchased a bathroom design package after ensuring on this site that it was available in my area. After the purchase, they notified me that I was about 10 miles outside of their area. They did refund my purchase amount.
Category
home remodeling
Paul H.
1.0
09/30/2017
The original appointment was scheduled for 8/16 and Mr. Wright showed up as promised. On 9/8 I called because I had not heard from him and "he was busy and forgot." We did receive an email that day with "apologies again for dropping the ball on this." The email included a proposal and contract information with no plans. On 9/20 my wife emailed Mr. Wright about the plans that were to be included and, to date, we have not heard anything. This was my first experience with Angie's List and it is definitely not a positive one.
Description of Work
We had a "consultation" - $39 for kitchen or bathroom design consultation with plans.
Category
home remodeling

Service Provider Response

some customers and projects are just not a good fit. I regret not trying harder to explain that. we have to focus our efforts on projects that better fit our company.
paul P.
3.0
07/23/2017
Not well, Had to ask to have some work redone, worker would leave early a lot , Owner was very nice however not on tops of things it was like his worker was told what needed to be done and that was it.
Description of Work
took bathrooms down to studs and re build them back with everything new.
Category
custom cabinets, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

The owner routinely stops by projects, including this one, several times a week. This customer would not know this because they both worked full time. The client can't expect perfectly straight lines with tile that has irregular edges. unrealistic expectations.
Todd W.
5.0
05/13/2017
Rob was fantastic throughout the entire process. From the design through the build, he offered suggestions and answered our many questions. His employees were all wonderful, and their work was outstanding. Their estimate was also on the lower end of the estimates we obtained. We even came to find that a few of our neighbors know Rob personally, and they all spoke very highly of him. I've already referred a few friends considering a remodel his way, and would certainly use his company for any future projects
Description of Work
Large kitchen remodel; New cabinets, countertops, and ceramic tile floor from the kitchen and through a laundry room. We also had an extra-large island installed that can seat up to eight.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Linda L.
5.0
05/09/2017
Mr. Wright did an excellent job of listening to what I want in the kitchen remodel, and his proposal was right on target. Next step will be choosing materials for project to start in the fall.
Description of Work
The offer was for a consultation and plans for kitchen remodeling.
Category
home remodeling
Sheila G.
5.0
04/15/2017
Rob was punctual and professional. He provided us with plans and a cost estimate. He offered to provide us with references and the ability to visit homes he has remodeled. He was very patient as he waited for us to meet with other contractors, but he stayed in touch throughout that process. We decided to use another contractor only because they were comparable and were referred by a friend; otherwise we would have chosen him.
Description of Work
Bedroom/bathroom expansion/remodel.
Category
remodeling
Judy C.
5.0
03/03/2017
The estimate included, new cement, posts and the roof needed replaced. He was very personal and knowledgeable. We decided to hold off on the project and will be getting a few other bids.
Description of Work
We called them out for a quote to have our front porch fixed up.
Category
concrete repair, decks, roofing
Jeff S.
5.0
02/17/2017
Very detailed work. Workers were very professional.
Description of Work
I used RJ Wright to remodel my kitchen.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
David G.
4.0
09/05/2016
Rob (owner) was very nice, however I requested design for kitchen at $39. price. reasonable, but simple 2 D was provided, but no measurements at all. Expected at that at the very least. Price offered to install new seemed above market value.
Description of Work
Purchased the $39 2D drawing for kitchen.
Category
custom cabinets, countertops, home remodeling
Emily R.
4.0
03/24/2016
Their bid was nearly twice what other companies bid. Obviously we didn't use their services
Description of Work
Provided an estimate for repairs to basement after water damage
Category
remodeling, home remodeling, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

I'm not sure what other companies were providing in their quotes, but I seriously doubt I was double every other providers price on an apples to apples bid.
Jeffrey D.
5.0
11/12/2015
We were thoroughly impressed with RJ Wright Design Build (Rob Wright, principal). We contacted half a dozen contractors to bid on a renovation of a first level in a 10-year old house. From the very start Rob was interested, attentive, prompt, professional, and courteous. We ended up refinishing the floors and stairs, doing new railings, and re-facing the kitchen cabinets (along with new sink/plumbing and countertops). We also had some light demo/drywall work done. Rob offered suggestions along the way (such as refinishing instead of replacing the floors, and re-facing instead of replacing the cabinets) to cut down on expense and waste, and Rob involved a flooring expert who was very knowledgeable about our options and possibilities. Rob is an EXCELLENT communicator and checked in early and often through-out the project, visiting frequently, and always returning calls/emails/texts the same day. He was very understanding and accommodating with the very few issues and ?punch list? items there were to work on, and was very receptive to our ideas and feedback. The workmanship of the final product was great. All in all, we were delighted with Rob and RJ Wright Design Build. The only thing is that Rob was not the cheapest bid we got, but . . . You get what you pay for, right? (Rob also worked with us before he started to whittle the bid down and reduce the scope of the project to our budget.) What we got was a professional, through and through, that we would highly recommend to others.
Description of Work
We ended up refinishing the floors and stairs, doing new railings, and re-facing the kitchen cabinets (along with new sink/plumbing and countertops). We also had some light demo/drywall work done.
Category
countertops, drywall, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, cabinet refacing
Shari G.
5.0
09/29/2015
Rob, Eli and the rest of the crew were an exceptional team. They worked with us from the initial design phase, changes in the middle of the remodel, to a completed kitchen with the note to call them for anything afterwords! I had a broken ankle at the time and they went above and beyond the contracted job. They even took out my garbage on garbage day! They were professional and willing to listen to my endless questions and explained everything in detail before they did any work. They were extremely conscientious about cleaning up at the end of the day and making sure to keep the dust to a minimum. They were very good at keeping in contact with me about who would be the workers expected at the house and what they would be doing daily. I would highly recommend them!!
Description of Work
Kitchen design and remodel
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Nancy R.
5.0
08/28/2015
I am in the middle of a major 2 month renovation. I have found Rob and his crew to be exceptional in their designs, actual work on site, punctuality and communication. All questions and concerns are addressed promptly. Suggestions are welcomed and discussed. I have made some changes as we've gone along, and they have been very accommodating. They allow as much or as little input as I want. Every member of the crew is polite and takes pride in his work.. Every vendor I've met with to make selections says the same thing: "You're working with the best." I would recommend Rob Wright and his crew to anyone.
Description of Work
Full kitchen and 2 bath renovation; new family room ceiling, flooring and lighting; new laundry area; reconfigure walls
Category
flooring contractor, lighting, remodeling, home remodeling
Janet A.
3.0
08/17/2015
The contractor seemed to be too business with other contract to 1. being responsive 2.did not realized that I purchased two service packages. Nothing wrong with the contractor, they are just taking on more than they could handle.
Description of Work
provided an estimate
Category
home remodeling
Mary W.
5.0
06/23/2015
Removed old appliances & cabinets & installed new ones. He was a delight to work with. Great job!
Description of Work
Small kitchen remodel.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Cindi M.
4.0
06/17/2015
It was a small project and the plans didn't have too much exciting in them. We looked elsewhere.
Description of Work
Drew up plans for a bathroom remodel.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Linda D.
5.0
05/08/2015
The consult went well. We needed more expertise on kitchen cabinet components such as those for increasing organization that are now utilized. We are continuing to research the specialty components thus we have gone no further.
Description of Work
A consult to remodel our kitchen.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Suzanne S.
5.0
11/04/2014
Workman showed up on time, was very pleasant and professional. He came prepared with tools, etc., and was able to complete the jobs in a timely manner. The shower leak is going to need more major work due to a badly botched job by a different contractor, but we were not pressured or frightened into purchasing their services. Even though there was a small problem with communication early on, Rob came through for us and went out of his way to see that we were satisfied. I would definitely work with this company again. Rob is honest and trustworthy, his workman Eli was very pleasant and professional, and I would highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Installed new ceiling fan/light fixture and sink faucet in bathroom. Also examined leaky shower (larger job to be done in the future) and repaired sliding doors that were off the track.
Category
lighting, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling
Michael H.
5.0
08/04/2014
Mr. Wright was very prompt in his quoting. We were very positive about doing work with him, but combined with another project.
Description of Work
I asked for a quotation on a bathroom remodel.
Category
home remodeling
richard S.
2.0
06/07/2014
He abruptly stated that he didn't make any money on it and that it took up his time. His demeanor made it clear that he was unhappy. We plan to be our own general contractors, we are more than capable of hiring our own sub-contractors, whom we already have worked with on other houses and are most satisfied with them. Had I known that Angie's List got the $55 and Crooked Stick got nothing but a sales lead, I would not have purchased the Big Deal. We wanted plans and ideas and for an experienced person to measure, go back to their computer, and work on a 3D plan for an hour or so would be well worth $55+. When Rob left 20 minutes later he made it clear that he wouldn't get to our plan for weeks because he doesn't have time to work for nothing.
Description of Work
Rob, the owner/salesman was quite "put out" that we wanted just a design plan for our basement.
Category
basement remodeling
Edward P.
5.0
06/07/2014
They did a great job and were very helpful. We would have used them for the remodel job if we had stayed in the area, but we moved to Texas so did not go forward with the remodel.
Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for custom kitchen, basement, or bath design with measurements and floor plans.
Category
home remodeling
Jennifer Y.
5.0
05/30/2014
Fabulous job! Added a bedroom to my basement, updated all trim and molding, re painted entire basement and cut additional exit for safety and security. Extremely pleased with finished product! Professionalism and timeliness a plus! Would highly recommend and use again.
Description of Work
Basement remodel
Category
remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, basement remodeling
Rene J. S.
5.0
05/19/2014
He stayed with us for about one hour. Gave us ideas on how to proceed in remodeling bathroom. Referred us to a store with equipment for bathroom remodeling.
Description of Work
Came to assess us on plans for bathroom remodeling
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Maureen L.
5.0
03/31/2014
Used Angie's List to pre-pay a kitchen remodel estimate. We initially used Angie's List to communicate, but found that caused confusion. Recommendation: Directly contact contractors vice using the messaging system on Angies List, until the process is streamlined by their web master. Recommendation for Angie's List: Add a notification feature to your messaging system. If someone leaves a note, notify by email the recipient that a message is waiting for them on the Angies List website. Once down to business, found Crooked Stick very congenial and experienced, with helpful ideas and examples. Review of proposals sked for near future, which we look forward to because Mr Wright is making the process thorough and pleasant.
Description of Work
Helped us get started with planning for a kitchen and bathroom remodel.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Cody S.
4.0
03/06/2014
I purchased an Angie's List Big Deal for this service and it worked out well. The person who came out gave me some basic ideas on layouts and he drew up a set of basic plans showing the basic layout of the bathroom. I wanted to get an idea from him for different options for laying out my bathroom and he helped me with that. The estimate that he came up with as far as doing the work was a little above what I was looking to pay for.
Description of Work
I got a design for a bathroom with measurements and a floor plan from Crooked Stick Remodeling.
Category
home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    H L Bowman

    HL Bowman has been in the same location for 38 years and owned by the same family for over 65 years. HL Bowman is a non commission based company. HL Bowman employees will never upsell you a product you don't need. Dennis and Bryan Enders and his family have deep roots in the Harrisburg community. After 65 years Dennis and family stay committed to giving the community the best possible service and product to fit their needs. HL Bowman has won Angie's List super service award every year.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Barbozas General Contracting

    Hello, my name is Nicholaus Barboza.I am a Specialist in drywall finishing & hanging. I have 5 years of experience in residential property work including services and repairs. My specific skills come from finishing and having the right set of eyes for the small details that go unnoticed.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    KRConstruct LLC

    My name is Keith and I have 15 years experience in drywall world.. I own KRConstruct llc and do everything drywall and more.. from framing/hanging/finishing drywall. I also enjoy doing vinyl flooring, trim, paint, tile work like back splashes and bathroom showers. I do it all, and I hope to help complete your projects. Get your free quote  

    Angi Certified

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Kitchen Remodeling. Bath Remodeling. Basement Remodeling. Additions. General Remodeling. Custom Cabinetry. Window Replacement.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about RJ Wright Design Build

    How is RJ Wright Design Build overall rated?

    RJ Wright Design Build is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are RJ Wright Design Build open?

    RJ Wright Design Build is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does RJ Wright Design Build provide

    RJ Wright Design Build accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available

    Does RJ Wright Design Build offer free estimates?

    Yes, RJ Wright Design Build offers free project estimates.

    Does RJ Wright Design Build offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, RJ Wright Design Build offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does RJ Wright Design Build offer a senior discount?

    No, RJ Wright Design Build does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by RJ Wright Design Build?

    Yes, RJ Wright Design Build offers warranties.

    What services does RJ Wright Design Build offer?

    RJ Wright Design Build offers the following services: Kitchen Remodeling. Bath Remodeling. Basement Remodeling. Additions. General Remodeling. Custom Cabinetry. Window Replacement.