Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Aston Black

Founded 2005 • With Angi since December 2009

4.4

(10) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

711 Hartman Station Rd

Lancaster, PA 17601

Description

Additional DBAs - Aston Black Cabinets Design and Woodworking, Aston Cabinets Design & Woodworking, Gutter Shutter of Central Pa, Nu Face Remodeling. Additional E-mail - info@astonblackcabinets.com....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

03/31/2016


Kay M.

Had difficulty getting project started at planned date and time. Some delays due to confused scheduling. However, kitchen was functional for Christmas, as promised. Contractors were all pleasant and professional. Punch list was executed as promised.

Description of Work
Totally remodeled kitchen( new cabinets, appliances, flooring, lighting), added staircase to second floor and refinished existing wood floor in three rooms and a hallway to match new kitchen floor.

Category custom cabinets, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, lighting, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

2.0

05/03/2015


Angie S.

I called Aston Black to discuss their services and get a quote for a kitchen remodel. We set up an appt for April 3rd but the gentleman who was to come to our house called that same morning and left a message that he was sick and couldn't make it. I called back and left a message asking for the following Monday appt and if not then we would have to wait awhile as we had a busy schedule over the next couple of weeks. I never heard back from them and we have moved on with other providers.

Description of Work
Attempted to get a quote for a kitchen remodel...cabinets, granite, etc

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We at Aston Black are very professional, we are responsive and punctual. We welcome anyone looking to have a remodeling consultation done to reach out, set up an appointment with us and judge for yourself. Once in a while something may come up that is out of our control such as an employee calling in sick in which they have to reschedule his or her appointments. All in all we follow up and we follow through sometimes it may not be within the desired time line of that client but we do try hard to make sure follow up is a priority and the main focus especially when an appointment has to be rescheduled because of an unforeseen unfortunate situation. Thank you for your trust and for the opportunity to earn your business. Mark A. Black President/ Owner Aston Black Cabinets & Design

5.0

09/24/2014


Linda E.

Category home remodeling

5.0

09/18/2014


Harry R.

The service went very well. Mark Black came out and was a very nice guy. We met twice for the service. They provided a design for the kitchen remodel. It was a great design. They are a high end outfit so we are still thinking about whether or not we will use them for the project. I had no problem scheduling the deal.

Description of Work
I purchased a deal for a Kitchen or Bathroom Design Consultation with 3-D Design.

Category home remodeling

5.0

09/17/2014


Jill K.

.

Description of Work
We have used Aston Black twice. The first time, they did a high-end kitchen remodel. We were so happy with their work and their cabinetry that we happily used them again for our master bath and laundry room renovations. Both times, Mark Black, the designer, was great to work with. He has good attention to detail and can come up with solutions to difficult design problems. The workmen were all prompt, neat and reliable. The cabinets are of excellent quality. Their customer service is top-notch - even after a job is completed, if a small problem arises, Aston Black will have someone out to fix it promptly. I would absolutely use Aston Black again, and I would highly recommend them.

Category custom cabinets, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

08/12/2014


Carol C.

Description of Work
Aston Black owner, Mark Black, came to my home several times to review remodeling options for a bathroom. He was very receptive to my ideas for the remodel, and helpful in determining what could be done in the space. He put together a great blueprint and showed it to me in 3D to help visualize the finished product. He spent several hours going over the design plan, answering questions and tweaking the design. I cannot yet commit to the remodel for monetary reasons and I greatly appreciated how understanding Mark was that I will have to put the project on hold for awhile. He was at all times very professional and never pushy about selling his services.

Category custom cabinets, home remodeling

5.0

01/26/2014


Susan P.

We met the Aston Black team at the Home Show in Oaks in Fall 2011. We loved their display but had some things come up (two weddings) and remodeling the kitchen got delayed. I kept their brochure because I was so impressed. We met the team again at the Home Show in Oaks in Fall 2012. We found that we really connected with Mark and Bob. We interviewed a number of contractors thoroughly and did our homework but there really wasn't any contest. In addition, we spoke with several people who had worked with A-B and actually visited one of the clients kitchen's and saw the quality of their work and got to speak with the homeowner about their experience. Mark had listened carefully to our vision for a beautiful, unique, yet functional kitchen. The design he sent me was as if he seen the picture in my mind. I have to say I really knew what I wanted so that helped, but Mark made suggestions that I hadn't thought of which really added character to the design. In addition to speaking with Mark a number of times and completing his questionnaire, I sent Mark photos of everything I had seen that I wanted. He managed to come up with a proposal that gave me everything I wanted and then some - WITHIN OUR PRICE RANGE! Mark even worked with us so that we would do the demolition and the painting. It felt so good to destroy those cheap old cabinets and swing a sledge hammer through the walls of the sunroom! Mark worked very closely with us on every detail until we had a final design that exceeded our expectations. We met with their engineer, architect, and project manager in advance of signing any paperwork due to the nature of the project. Our home is on a slope so the front of the house is ground level and the back is above ground. The sunroom was built on a deck. To combine the rooms, they had to put in new footers and support poles. They also had to install an I-beam so that it would support the second floor of the house when they took out the load-bearing wall between the kitchen and sun room. This also required temporary walls to be placed in two second floor bedrooms. As I said this was a huge project!! Aston Black even contacted our township to make sure we wouldn't have issues with permits! There are not many contractors out there who will go to these extremes before being paid and signing paperwork. I just can't thank Mark and his team enough for everything they have done for us. Mark even helped us to get a discount on our tile backsplash, flooring and copper farmhouse sink! Mark even took us to the cabinet factory where we could see how the cabinets were made. We were able to see sample doors in all the colors/finishes. We were really impressed with the manager there too. I now have a wonderful custom kitchen with some really unique pieces. For example: a cabinet for our dishes and glassware with retractable doors and roll out drawers. It is located right next to the dishwasher so that I can move everything directly from the dishwasher into the cabinet. No lifting or bending! I have an appliance garage hidden behind a lift up door that looks like 12 drawers! There is a stained glass door on my top corner cabinet that I designed and A-B worked with the craftswoman to be sure it fit the door perfectly! Oh and the 2 foot bamboo cutting board is fabulous! There are so many wonderful and functional features that I could go on and on! I can't say enough about the entire Aston Black team. After 3 months of planning and 3 of construction, we felt like they were family. They were clean, courteous, and always went the extra mile. And they always had time to answer questions or explain how something was done. Jim, our project manager is amazing! I must say that this was a huge and messy job! And big jobs like this always have a few glitches. But Jim and Mark were there for us every step of the way. We worked together to find solutions to an unforeseen electrical issue and a hidden return vent inside the wall where we wanted to widen the entrance to the dining room. There was also a bit of trouble with the granite which was no reflection on Aston Black at all. However, they advocated for us and saw to it that everything was done to our satisfaction. All during construction they protected our home and furnishings with plastic barriers and cleaned up every day to assure nothing would be tracked through the house or trod on by our dogs. They made friends with our two dogs and made sure they were kept safe during construction. I think they miss Jim and the crew! We were able to stay in the house throughout the whole project which included porcelain tile flooring, plumbing, electrical, drywall, cabinet install, etc. Aston Black have some really great contracting partners. They were all consummate professionals and very friendly too. A-B's service is so good that Jim stopped in last week (7 mos after project completion) to make some adjustments to a few cabinet doors and redo the grout between the backsplash and the granite countertop. I feel sure that they will always be there to support us. And when it comes time for our next big project they will be the only company we call. I would be happy to speak to anyone considering Aston Black for a remodeling project. I am also always thrilled to show off my fabulous new kitchen!

Description of Work
Transformed a tired 30 year old 12x20 kitchen and dysfunctional 12x24 sunroom into the 24x24' kitchen of our dreams! Aston Black also put a new floor and door in the laundry room, widened the entrance from Kitchen to Dining Room, and installed a custom Mantle in the Family room which is adjacent to the kitchen. This was a huge project!

Category contractors, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, doors

5.0

04/05/2013


Russell D.

The job went very well overall. There were challenges along the way that were all met professionally and with excellent outcomes. I believe the true measure of a good company is how they respond when faced with a problem and they definitely measured up. In fact, we hired Aston Black again a year later for the installation of custom built in cabinets and mantle surrounding our fireplace. The results were again outstanding.

Description of Work
We first hired Mark's company for a total kitchen remodeling job. This included gutting the room down to the studs. From there they coordinated all facets of the from the custom cabinetry to granite countertops and high grade applicances.

Category custom cabinets, countertops, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling

5.0

03/04/2013


Barry & Sherry G.

We met the Aston Black team at the Philadelphia Home Show in 2012. We liked the model kitchen they had at the show as well as the Quality of the cabinets they used. We saw four companies which we considered and then did our due diligence on each one of them before selecting Aston Black. We actually spoke with several people who had worked with them and actually visited one of the clients kitchen's and saw the Quality of their work and got to speak with them one on one about the experience. Once we selected Mark and his team we began the design process. The process they use includes a questionaire, pictures which they supplied of kitchens they had done. We supplemented this with our ideas and pictures we had accumulated from our own research. We found them willing to use a mix of their and our ideas to create our DREAM KITCHEN. Once we had the rough/semi final design they developed a floor plan and sized the cabinets which would be used. We then went through each cabinet to determine what features we wanted and how the cabinet would be used. We even developed a "charging" drawer to accomodate our cellphones, iPADS and assorted items and allow us to keep them out of site when being charged. Once we had the design fairly well finalized we discussed the style of the cabinets, trim pieces, and potential wood species which would be used. Then they developed a three dimensional layout to help visualize the finished kitchen. We picked out the appliances and all of those dimensions were incorporated into the final desiign. Once we had the design and scope developed we evaluated two potential shops which would build the cabinets. they arranged for us to visit the shops and we were able to see and evaluate the Quality of the build and the care of the cabinetmakers. I especially enjoyed this and got to see the cabinet makers at work and observe the care they took in theiir manufacture. Now that we had the scope of work, the cabinet design, and the shop picked, we got a final estimate of the kitchen. Part of the process involved having the different subs/trades complete estimates for their work in the kitchen. they also made some great suggestions on plumbing and electrical work which we had not considered. One example was to install a natural gas line out to the deck so I could hook up my grill and NEVER FILL ANOTHER TANK of propane. Another was to use a powerstrip under the granite top of the island to be able to place warning trays and appliances whereever we wanted on the surface. Prior to starting the demolition, they protected our home and furnishings from the work with plastic barriers and cleaned up every day to assure nothing would be tracked through the house. We were able to stay in the house throughout all of the operations except the final coat on the refinished floors. Following the demolition, they prepared the site by repairing drywall as needed, refinished the hardwood floors, and made ready the needed roughing in of plumbing and electrical work, and the HVAC duct for the relocated hood. The painting of the ceiling and walls also was completed prior to the cabinets being installed. When they started the installation of the cabinets the process began with an inspection of each cabinet by Aston Black at the shop prior to shipment. they then wrapped each and every piece to assure it arrived safely at our home. They installed all of the cabinets with a special crew who are specialists at doing just the cabinet install. the cabinetry was installed in about two days and was done very carefully including putting down dropcloths prior to moving them into the house so as not to disturb the newly refinished hardwood floors. They did a perfect match in color of the floors to the existing steps and worked with us to assure the colors were right before begining. Once the cabinets were installed, they installed the appliances and again made sure to protect our home during the staging of the appliances. Once the appliances were installed, the granite was placed which then allowed the final plumbing to be completed. The oversight of the subs was excellent and it worked together like a ballet company with each team doing its work in concert with the others. Their forman Jim even gave us tips to ask for such as a cutting board and lazy susan made from the granite cutouts for the sink and cooktop. We were able to work with the granite supplier/fabricator to bookmatch each seam which makes them essentially invisible. Then Jim installed the stone tile backsplash on the granite. His process is worth noting, in that he said he would protect the granite and then lay out all fo the tiles he would use and we could then reject any we didn't like since each stone tile is unique. That way he never installed one we didn't like. It was great and his expertise in crafting the backsplash was the best I have seen. Once all of this was done, they do a final POLISH and cleaning of each cabinet and then Mark (the owner) comes in again to do a final inspection of the work and make sure the client is HAPPY. Actually I think its an inspection to assure HE is happy. All in all a great process! Mark was there several times throughout the process and his team was always on top of unexpected events. Sometimes you find out the most when something doesn't go perfectly. We had one experience like this when someone inadvertently drilled a hole in a drawer front for a knob instead of a pull. Aston Black made it clear that WE had to be satisfied with the remedy and we were the ones to make the decision. The cabinet front was repaired to our satisfaction and Mark double checked with us that we were fine. The end of our journey came when we had a celebratory dinner for the team and their spouses to put the kitchen through its paces and we can say that the kitchen works as great as it looks. We all had a great dinner and made a lot of new friends in the process. I would recommend Aston Black to all and would use them again without hesitation. The kitchen looks so good that it is entered into a national competition and we are waiting to get the results. Barry & Sherry Garfinkle

Description of Work
The services provided included: Design Determination of Scope of Work Demolition Site Preparation for installation of the kitchen Electrical work Plumbing Stone Surfacing Tile Wood Floor Refinishing Painting HVAC for venting of the hood Do's: Do research to know what you want or don't want Do develop a Scope of Work to define what will be done or won't Do control scope during the job with change orders Do set high expectations for the work Do spend time on the design up front Don't: Accept things you are not happy with Don't accept an open budget project

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, hardwood floor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, interior designers, plumbing, remodeling, pavers, gravel, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

1.0

12/05/2009


Gary W B.

Aston Black is basically a marketing company. All manufacture and installation work is subcontracted but they do their best to keep the subcontractor and client separate and provide as little information as possible about who is doing the actual work. We were working with a salesman (Steve Simpson) who really had very little technical knowledge and was a poor communicator. Design details were changed without discussing them with us, costs increased when items that had been discussed at the start were treated as extras / changes, and we did not receive final drawings with measurements until our contract was assigned to another Aston Black representative - 11 weeks after the contract was signed. We had a particularly difficult time trying to actually see our cabinets as the company has no showroom, but after much persistence, we eventually did which was reassuring. But when their preferred supplier for the granite countertop was unable to source the particular granite we wanted, Aston Black's salesman went "balistic" at us. We are a mature couple who had both worked in marketing for much of our careers and had never before heard anyone speak to a customer in such a disrespectful manner. Needless to say, we came to an agreement with our new Aston Black representative to only complete on the cabinets which were made by Jason Darrenkamp of Jake's Furniture and are excellent quality - see separate report on Jake's Furniture. The experience with Aston Black's salesman took us from feeling excited at the anticipation of having our new kitchen to one of abject despair at ever having started the project. However, after almost 4 months of anxiety, we will have our dream kitchen soon. We are delighted with the cabinets (thanks to Jake's Furniture) and the other contractors we found and worked with directly. We would not recommend Aston Black to anyone.

Description of Work
In August 2009, we contracted with Aston Black Cabinets and Design for them to provide all the services required for a complete custom kitchen including cabinets, floor and backsplash tiling, granite countertop and electrics. After a series of difficulties, the agreement was reduced to the supply and installation of custom kitchen cabinets only.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We are aware of this Customers issues and take our Customers satisfaction very seriously. Our Vision is to be our Customer’s First Choice for all their fine cabinetry and remodeling needs by providing world class service and value, delivered by our Team of professionals. Although we are thrilled these clients are happy with their dream kitchen, it concerns us greatly to hear that their experience was less than they expected. Despite our best efforts to try and set realistic expectations regarding the construction process, many Homeowners just can't realize the challenges of such a complex process until they themselves go through it. We are constantly striving to improve in this area. We do not tolerate disrespect from our employees or our trade partners and have terminated those who have not lived up to our expectations of how a Customer should be valued. Our team has worked very diligently over the past decade, developing close relations with all of the professionals we partner with, to bring our clients dreams, goals, and visions into reality. Although in a growth and transition phase during the time of this valued customers project, Aston Black does in fact have a very nice office and showroom in beautiful Lancaster County, which we openly invite all of our present, past and potential clients to visit as appropriately scheduled. In addition, we offer a tour of the manufacturing facility in which all aspects of your fine custom cabinetry is produced from raw material. You are cordially invited to contact us to schedule a no obligation consultation, tour of the cabinet maker’s facility, and visit with us in our Lancaster office and showroom. Thank you for the opportunity to gain your business. Sincerely, Mark A. Black Owner and President Aston Black Cabinetry & Design

    Other local Pros in your area

     Gilanys Home Improvement

    Gilanys Home Improvement is a locally owned house painting company operating out of Lancaster PA. With over 20 years of experience in painting, repairing and transforming residential homes into your ideal place. Composed of highly skilled professionals who continue to strive to exceed our customers expectations. SERVICES -Painting Interior/ Exterior house painting Deck & Fence Painting -Drywalling & Drywall repair Baseboard & Crown molding Wood rot replacement... and more -Flooring Tile Vinyl Hardwood Carpet -Kitchen Backsplashes Cabinets OUR CUSTOMER GUARANTEE -At GHI we stand behind our work, and are fully committed to provide our costumers with a highly professional service. -Our goal is to always to provide you with the best experience as possible, while delivering quality results at reasonable prices. -Our team of professionals strive to better serve the needs of every single costumer in a timely and effective manner, with one goal in mind....your satisfaction!  

    Fullmer Home Finishing & Design

    Experience the difference at Fullmer Home Finishing & Design. We pride ourselves in taking care of every customer from start to finish and do so at affordable prices. Creating unique, inviting and fresh new spaces through accent walls, fresh paint, flooring, home projects or much more! You will enjoy our extraordinary customer experience from our first conversation to the "see you next time!". We look forward to delivering the highest standard of quality and service for your project. We aren't just here to put paint on the walls or to install a new bathroom, we're here to make sure you are satisfied during the entire process and to make your home comfortable and inviting. You have plenty of options to choose from, but Fullmer Home Finishing & Design prides ourselves on the customer experience, quality craftmanship and 100% transparency throughout the project.  

    Sergio's Painting

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Call or click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Sale of countertops, floors, appliances, hardware, faucets, sinks, kitchen & bathroom remodeling, custom remodeling, custom cabinet styles, door styles, drawer styles, custom handmade furniture, custom woodworking, countertops-granite, zodiaq, silestone, corian, meganite & wood finishes.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Aston Black

    How is Aston Black overall rated?

    Aston Black is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Aston Black open?

    Aston Black is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Aston Black provide

    Aston Black accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does Aston Black offer free estimates?

    Yes, Aston Black offers free project estimates.

    Does Aston Black offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Aston Black offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Aston Black offer a senior discount?

    No, Aston Black does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Aston Black?

    Yes, Aston Black offers warranties.

    What services does Aston Black offer?

    Aston Black offers the following services: Sale of countertops, floors, appliances, hardware, faucets, sinks, kitchen & bathroom remodeling, custom remodeling, custom cabinet styles, door styles, drawer styles, custom handmade furniture, custom woodworking, countertops-granite, zodiaq, silestone, corian, meganite & wood finishes.

    Are there any services Aston Black does not offer?

    Ask for details.