Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Sylvan Gardens Landscape Contractors

Founded 2012 • With Angi since September 2012

Sylvan Gardens is a full-service landscaping company based in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. We provide design and installation of new landscapes, as well as full-service commercial landscape maintenance for legacy properties in need of year-round grounds management.

Amenities

Free Estimates
No
Warranties
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Licensed
Trade License Number
PA120208
Trade License Locale
Pennsylvania
Trade License Authority
Pennsylvania: Home Improvement Contractors
Trade License Expiration
10/28/2023
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(40) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 40 reviews
Kim C.
5.0
11/05/2021
They were a wonderful group to work with. Their design idea was excellent, they came on time, got the job done well and finished on time. Their team was very nice and polite, they cleaned up any mess made and finished with extra efforts to make the job extra pleasing to my mom. She could not have been happier with this high quality company.
Description of Work
Walkway on side of house
Category
hardscaping
Tiffany Y.
5.0
09/07/2021
The manager James had very quick, friendly, and thorough communication with me and his workers. He gave me a reasonably priced estimate. His workers possessed a high level of technical skill and completed the work well. My new retaining wall and yard look really great! I will definitely hire this company again in the future for other landscaping, and I have recommended them to my family, friends, and neighbors.
Description of Work
Build retaining wall, remove planter boxes and shrubs, install turf and river rock
Category
landscaping
Ralph J.
5.0
07/24/2020
It went extremely well. Everything involved with this project ran on time and with an extremely high degree of professionalism. The ideas presented to us for the replacement plants were spot on and the work that was done by the crews was very well done. We would definitely endorse the use of Sylvan Gardens for any landscaping projects that are being considered and would also use them again in the future if the need arose.
Description of Work
Removal of old landscaping and installation of new, replacement shrubbery
Category
landscaping
Richard S.
5.0
05/25/2020
They were very professional throughout the process. They met their deadline, and communicated the whole time. They quoted a very fair price.
Description of Work
Spring cleaning and mulching is hard
Category
landscaping, lawn service, mulch
Damian L.
5.0
04/06/2018
Professional, hard-working, and quality-oriented.
Description of Work
French Drain and general landscaping
Category
landscaping, lawn service, drain pipe
marilyn j K.
5.0
07/22/2017
Professional from initial meeting to project completion. I will use them again. Hard working crew.
Description of Work
Ugly shrub removal and new tree planted.
Category
landscaping, mulch, tree service
Michael F.
5.0
06/25/2017
Had to schedule a few months out as it was mulching busy season, but once they were able to fit us in the job was excellent. High quality of work and attention to detail related to edging, weed treatment, prior mulch clean up, and mulching was appreciated. We have a lot of beds so it wasn't cheap but it was worth the cost. Would highly recommend.
Description of Work
Mulching, edging
Category
landscaping, mulch
Jeanne K.
5.0
06/17/2017
He came out last year. I asked him to put me on for the fall or spring. Whatever the next season was, because he was too busy, and he forgot. He didn't put my name down, and I forgot what his name was, until I was reminded when I saw a truck go by the other day, and you just mentioned it. I think he is properly good, but he forgot about me. I don't think he charged me for that consultation. My experience that day was very favorable, but he never got back to me. So, that was not favorable. I have no idea, because I did not pay anything. I would like to use them.
Description of Work
He was going to do cleaning up, and help me out with planting, and stuff like that.
Category
landscaping
Marilyn C.
5.0
06/03/2017
I was very satisfied with the work they did ! Brian was so easy to work with and very caring about what I wanted. His crew was very hard working and professional in their placement of flowers. I was impressed as to how well organized they were ! They cleaned up everything when they were finished.
Description of Work
My courtyard needed more flowers and I needed large potted trees with a border of flowers by my from entry.
Category
landscaping
Linda M.
5.0
05/06/2017
Brian at Sylvan Gardens provided a detailed cost estimate and highly professional sketches of his design recommendation. He was always prompt in responding to queries and questions. The men in his work crew were highly professional and competent, completing the work in a day and a half. The finished design and work is first class. I would definitely recommend them to anyone.
Description of Work
There is a steep hillside next to my home which was basically overgrown with weeds and moss. I wanted to have it landscaped to make it more visually appealing, but also to provide more growth to absorb water and prevent too much erosion. I also needed this to require very little maintenance.
Category
landscaping
lori M.
5.0
03/28/2017
They were neat, did exactly what I wanted them to do and the owner personally followed up when necessary.
Description of Work
Landscaping
Category
landscaping
Barbara T.
5.0
12/01/2016
Brian was timely in his response and follow up to my request for a bid. His design was returned for review when he said it would be, and was exactly what I was hoping to have. His knowledge about the plants and his design acumen physically implemented what I was trying to describe. The gentlemen working with him were neat and alert to detail, and this amazing change was all done in less than a full day. The plants are guaranteed for a year. I cannot wait to see how this grows to his vision and mine in years to come. I never would have been able to do this myself, and Brian was so easy to work with from start to finish!
Description of Work
I wanted a yard that would have something at bloom all season and that would attract birds and pollinators that my elderly mother would be able to watch.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, mulch
Stuart B.
5.0
11/09/2016
It went great, they were wonderful.
Description of Work
They renovated a lawn and did some drainage work.
Category
landscaping, drain pipe
Bruce C.
5.0
10/31/2016
They did a nice job. Besides the work we agreed on, I had a tree that was dead, and they removed it, and replaced it for a very reasonable price. I called them late in the spring, and they came when they said they would.
Description of Work
Edging, mulching and some planting.
Category
landscaping
Catherine J.
5.0
10/31/2016
The project went well. Brian Friend worked patiently with me over a period of time. He responded to my questions and suggestions quickly and effectively. He agreed to delay some of the planting until the springtime for a better chance of success, but went ahead with fall planting on the other materials. His crew was efficient, prompt and eager to please me with the placement of the shrubs and trees. I didn't get any other bids, so I can't comment on the fairness of the price. We are quite happy with the results.
Description of Work
We needed a landscape plan for both front and back yards that would be as deer and rabbit resistant as possible.
Category
landscaping
Kim G.
5.0
06/26/2016
Brian was a pleasure to work with. He took the time to come to our home multiple times to consult about the design and gave us multiple ideas to consider. Once the work was scheduled, Brian and his team did a a wonderful job and got a lot of work accomplished in only 2 days. The result is wonderful - looks beautiful and much easier to maintain. I think what impressed me most was the attention to detail Brian gave to this job. I highly recommend Sylvan Gardens.
Description of Work
Complete landscaping job. Included removing old shrubs around home and on hillside, installing river rock around front and side of home, and mulching hillside with new array of plants.
Category
landscaping
James H.
5.0
12/14/2015
Fantastic. Brian was always prompt and polite. He and is team brought energy and a highly professional attitude to a rather large task. The job was done efficiently and to a very high standard.
Description of Work
Brian came to my father's home and walked the property taking detailed notes about each garden and area of prospective work. He provided a fair and detailed proposal that addressed each project separately. These projects included significant pruning, trimming and deferred work. Several trees were also cut and removed.
Category
landscaping, tree service, greenhouses
Audrey B.
5.0
07/28/2015
Very pleased with service they provided.
Description of Work
Planted some plants in the front yard and did some weeding
Category
landscaping
MARK S.
5.0
07/13/2015
Brian is easy to deal with, always responsive (by phone or text) and cares about his profession and his customers and it comes through. When I was laid up for a year due to leg surgery it was Sylvan Gardens that kept the driveway and sidewalks clear in winter and took care of other landscaping odds and ends that I just couldn't get to. There's a reason he's one of the fastest growing landscapers in the Pittsburgh area!
Description of Work
Brian takes care of our snow removal in the winter and has done many different landscaping jobs for us. These include landscape design, creative solutions for planting moss on a shaded lot, and ideas for landscape improvement.
Category
hardscaping
Darbie W.
5.0
06/29/2015
Brian came to our home, did all his measurements, drew up a plan for us to review and sent us detailed pictures of every plant he was proposing to use. We were having trouble seeing his vision so he came out again and walked the plan with us in our yard, and showed us exactly where everything would go, made suggestions as to little changes we could do that would enhance the look and gave us detailed breakdown of the entire job. He and John, his supervisor and the crew showed up on the day promised, worked quickly, cleaned up after themselves, and within a few days transformed our yard into something special. They even provided some small services my wife wanted like removing some plants we wanted to keep and transplanting them in another area without charging extra. The work they did was top notch and we are enjoying the results now. I would hire Brian and his crew again without any hesitation. They are professional, friendly, listen to what you want, and are dependable. Their efforts to please us were without comparison. My wife and I had just completed over a year of remodeling on our home and were very displeased with the contractors we hired. Nothing but broken promises, missed deadlines, constant requests for money and poor quality. Brian did nothing but provide great service and we're very appreciative..
Description of Work
We hired Brian to provide landscaping services on our home, both in the front and rear yard. We contracted his company to tear out old bushes and plants, trim an out of control hedge, seed a large area that had been damaged by another contractors carelessness, plant new areas and install new sod in our back yard and mulch.,
Category
landscaping, lawn service, mulch
Clark O.
5.0
06/20/2015
Brian and his staff were very friendly and professional. Brian showed up multiple times throughout the day to assist and check progress. All work was completed in one day. We received 3 quotes before choosing Brian. Not only was he the cheapest , he also had the most knowledge regarding positive grading. My sister-in-law is a landscape architect. We showed her all 3 proposals/quotes, and she agreed that Brian's proposal made the most sense and didn't include unnecessary work.
Description of Work
Mulch removal (we had an excessive amount), addition of dirt for positive grading, replaced mulch, removed 3 tree stumps, removed and replaced dead holly shrubs, bed edging, cleanup.
Category
landscaping, mulch, tree service
Adrienne Y.
5.0
02/02/2015
They were very nice. They were very pleasant and they gave a very clear and illustrated estimate with pictures of the plants.
Description of Work
They are landscaping, replacing grass, and putting in trees.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping
Lauren G.
5.0
01/31/2015
Although they don't provide the residential snow removal services I contacted them about, Brian returned my call within an hour. He was friendly, professional, and willing to offer me a referral to someone who could help me. This speaks very highly of him, and I would contact him in the future for the landscaping services he does provide. Thanks!
Description of Work
Returned my call about residential snow removal - which they don't do
Category
landscaping, snow removal
Jennifer B.
5.0
11/11/2014
John and Brian were very professional and easy to work with. I am extremely pleased with the work and my lawn looks amazing. If I need further work done in the future, I will definitely be calling them again.
Description of Work
I had previously had six large trees cut down. Sylvan Gardens Landscaping leveled off these areas and seeded the lawn.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

[removed member name]- Thank you for the kind review. We appreciate your business! Sincerely, Brian Friend
Michelle B.
5.0
09/03/2014
Brian was a pleasure to work with. He contacted me promptly and came out to the house twice to discuss our plans. We wanted to cut back on the price and he was very willing to go over options to help us save money. He told us that he was extremely busy and it would be a month before he could get to our job. It was about 6 weeks before he started our landscaping but he was keeping us informed by emails. We pulled out most of our landscaping ourselves but he and his crew removed some stumps and cleaned up our existing flower beds. They planted all new scrubs and flowers in our front as well as pruning of an ornamental tree. The plants he brought were of nice size and extremely healthy. I was extremely pleased with his work and would use his company again.
Description of Work
All new landscaping in the front of our house and front trees pruned.
Category
landscaping, tree service

Phone

Address

PO Box 626

Ingomar, PA 15127

Other Information

Services offered

We specialize in residential & commercial landscape design, installation and maintenance, including || Landscape Design || Perennial Plantings & Garden Design || Annual Flowers & Seasonal Interest || Tree & Shrub Installation || Hardscaping Patios, Retaining Walls, Durable Landscape Elements || Lawn Aeration, Dethatching, Overseeding, Sod Installation || Seasonal Maintenance: Mowing, Mulch, Cleanups, Pruning, Plant Health || Sustainable Landscape Services || Water Management & Drainage

Services not offered

Irrigation

Payment options

Check

FAQ

Sylvan Gardens Landscape Contractors is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

Sylvan Gardens Landscape Contractors is open:

Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Sylvan Gardens Landscape Contractors accepts the following forms of payment: Check

No, Sylvan Gardens Landscape Contractors does not offer free project estimates.

Yes, Sylvan Gardens Landscape Contractors offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Sylvan Gardens Landscape Contractors offers warranties.

Sylvan Gardens Landscape Contractors offers the following services: We specialize in residential & commercial landscape design, installation and maintenance, including || Landscape Design || Perennial Plantings & Garden Design || Annual Flowers & Seasonal Interest || Tree & Shrub Installation || Hardscaping Patios, Retaining Walls, Durable Landscape Elements || Lawn Aeration, Dethatching, Overseeding, Sod Installation || Seasonal Maintenance: Mowing, Mulch, Cleanups, Pruning, Plant Health || Sustainable Landscape Services || Water Management & Drainage

Other Local Pros In Your Area

The Grounds Guys - Mt. Lebanon

5.0

(12)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

The Grounds Guys - Mt. Lebanon

The Grounds Guys is a full-service grounds care company. Our established systems allow us to deliver industry-leading lawn care and landscape solutions to commercial and residential clients.  

NaturaLawn of America - Pittsburgh North

5.0

(92)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

NaturaLawn of America - Pittsburgh North

Organic based lawn treatments.  

Bruzzese Landscape and Walls

4.0

(10)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Bruzzese Landscape and Walls

We pride our company on reliability, great communication, integrity, and quality work. We are experts in our trade and will do our best to keep you as educated as we can on your particular task or project. We look forward to earning your business! Book with us online or feel free to give us a call today!