Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

BASEMENT RX WATERPROOFING

Founded 1980 • With Angi since September 2006

2.6

(8) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2951 PHILMONT AVE

Huntingdon Valley, PA 19006

Description

No description has been provided for this pro.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

10/20/2011


Susan M.

They threw away items that were not damaged and cannot be replaced such as 40 years worth of family photos, albums, expensive silverware and stainless steel pieces that could just have been cleaned, and original artwork with out my permission. I had given them the keys so they could get in the house and they ended up breaking a window to get in. They used the cheapest material they could find and the drain and pump were a joke. The next time it rained, there was 8" of water in the basement. The whole experience lasted a year and I ended up taking them to court and having to hire another contractor to come in and fix all of their mistakes.

Description of Work
They were supposed to waterproof the basement. We had a flood and they were supposed to clean out the water, throw away items that needed to be discarded, install a french drain and sump pump.

Category basement waterproofing

4.0

06/23/2008


IRA W.

They did a good job, removing the mold and making basement waterproof. My only complaint is that wouldn't wait until I cleared my credit card. Instead, cashed my check, which I gave to them to show in good faith that my credit card was good. Also, they never even offered to pay me back for the fine for overdrawing in my checking account.

Description of Work
Did water proofing to my basement.

Category basement waterproofing

1.0

06/12/2008


JENNIFER A.

The estimator who came out to take a look used all sorts of high-pressure tactics to try to get me to book right away, telling me that it was an emergency situation, telling me that they had an opening for the next day and would give me a lower price if I had them come out then (their "lower price" was higher than the reputable company I ended up booking). The worst was that I told him that I had just bought the house, and might be submitting the receipt to the previous homeowners for reimbursement because they'd failed to disclose the water problem at settlement; he told me that because it might be a legal case, they required a deposit of $250 to do the estimate, and told me that was an industry standard. I learned my lesson afterwards that it was NOT an industry standard and that they ripped me off of $250 as an easy way of making some money in case I didn't use them. Never, EVER use this company, they're completely shady.

Description of Work
The lower level of my home was very damp, especially in my powder room, and I was looking for a contractor to install a French drain and sump pump to dry everything out.

Category basement waterproofing

1.0

08/20/2007


John A.

Their work was ineffective. We continued to get water seeping through the foundation, especially the foundation adjacent to the exterior basement door. They returned under the lifetime guarantee, but their efforts never significantly improved the problems. They eventually returned three separate times but never improved the problem and each time they completely ignored the problem around the door where the most water was coming in. They often did not return phone calls and on three additional appointments failed to show up at all. Ultimately I hired another contractor to address the problem as I could not count on them to show up or complete the work correctly. In the end, I took them to small claims court and was awarded the maximum amount, but have not been paid by them.

Description of Work
Basement Rx installed a french drain around the perimeter of our basement as well as a sump pump. They made "improvements" three separate times when they returned under the lifetime guarantee, but they never worked. They put rough coat patches on the wall which stick out like a sore thumb. They installed the sump pump exit pipe so that it is above the grade of the floor making it impossible to replace the floor tile.

Category basement waterproofing

2.0

07/31/2007


Eric B.

Steve was supposed to show up between 2 and 4 on Saturday afternoon. He called around 1-ish and said that he was probably going to be closer to 4. I greatly appreciated the call and was able to run some errands before 4. I ended up having to rush back to the house to get back around 3:45 to be sure I wasn't late for his arrival. 4:00...4:05...4:10, the phone rings...It's Steve, he's about 10 miles away and should be there shortly. 5:00, he pulls up. He apologizes when he gets there and we move on...Okay, so that started my frustration. He certainly is nice enough, however the scare tactics (he's surprised our walls haven't caved in yet) and price gouging - started at $16,000 - then lowered the price three times within three days - calling frequently to say how much they need the work. My opinion - if you need the work that bad, give an accurate price, don't try to get the most then lower it - be honest with your prices. I chose another firm to do a similar job.

Description of Work
The installation of an interior perimeter drainage system. In addition, Steve was going to have the installers place rebar within the cracks to provide additional support in our block wall.

Category basement waterproofing

1.0

04/30/2007


ROSE MARIE D.

He was about to lay out his papers and describe his system and give an estimate when he asked if my husband was ready to join us. I told him my husband wasn't home. He said for a free estimate, both parties needed to be present (something that was not communicated earlier). When I said I would notify Angie's List, he asked if I would like him to go over the information with me since he was already here.

Description of Work
He was to give an estimate for basement waterproofing. I called last week to make the appointment. When I spoke with Paige on April 23 @ 10:25 am, she said someone would call back within one hour to set up a date but no one did. A gentleman named Mark called later that evening and set up an appointment for April 30 between 10 am and 12 noon. I was away this weekend but he spoke to my brother-in-law and made an appointment for Monday morning. He called this morning to confirm and said he'd probably be here closer to 11 am. He arrived quarter after 12. Not a huge deal. He came in the house like gangbusters and I took him down to the basement to show him where the water was coming in. I gave him the story behind the house and the problem. There was already a hole for a sump pump from the previous homeowner. We were going to put carpeting in the basement and needed it dry.

Category basement waterproofing

4.0

03/15/2007


ROBERT B.

The work was harder than the contractor had anticipated, since the concrete floor was extremely thick in many areas. There were several delays, but overall the job went about as fast as we expected. They also cleaned up after themselves very thoroughly. There are no more wet spots on the floor, no efflorescent on the cinderblock walls, an unbroken and usable storage space where there had been a hole, and generally, a better crawlspace and reinforced underpinnings. We think we have a better, stronger house as a result.

Description of Work
Crawlspace with a concrete floor and cinderblock walls needed waterproofing to close up small leaks. Basement RX installed a patented moistureproofing system, sump pump, and moldproofing. They also extended a cleanout that was at the bottom of a hole cut out of the floor, and filled in the hole with gravel and concrete.

Category basement waterproofing

4.0

09/25/2006


LINDA M.

THEIR WORK WAS BEAUTIFUL. THE BASEMENT USED TO SMELL, BUT NOW I LOVE TO WALK THROUGH THAT PART. I AM THRILLED. MY ONLY COMPLAINT IS WITH THEIR FAILURE TO RETURN PHONE CALLS, OR TO FOLLOW UP WITH ME ABOUT SOME QUESTIONS I HAD.

Description of Work
THEY REMOVED MOLD FROM MY BASEMENT, WATERPROOFED ONE ENTIRE WALL, THE FLOOR, THE SUBSTRUCTURE UNDER THE FLOOR, INSTALLED A SUMP PUMP, AND PUT IN A DRAIN RIGHT INSIDE THE DOOR.

Category basement waterproofing, wells

    Other local Pros in your area

    J & A Environmental Services

    Our mission at J & A Environmental Services, LLC is to continue the growth of our business by doing right by all of our clients. We truly care about your health and environment, so we take our jobs very seriously. We offer Mold Remediation, Air Quality Testing, Basement Waterproofing, Odor Removal, and Water Damage Clean-up. J&A Environmental Services, LLC is a fair honest company with excellent customer service. J&A Environmental Services, LLC built the brand by helping one family at a time to eliminate the mold in their environment. Call us 24/7 for all your Environmental needs. We have 100+ five star ratings on Angi's Leads and 34 five star ratings on Angi's Ads.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Rhino Waterproofing Solutions

    We specialize in all types RESIDENTIAL ROOFING SERVICES. For an immediate response call Anita @ 484.996.3600  

    Offers by Rhino Waterproofing Solutions on Angi
    Basement Gurus

    We have over 30 years of combined experience. We are family owned and operated and certified. We aim to please we want 100% guaranteed satisfaction.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Lifetime

    Services Offered

    BASEMENT WATERPROOFING. FOUNDATION REPAIR. MOLD REMOVAL. BASEMENT SEALING. OUTSIDE DRAINAGE. GUTTER EXTENSIONS. SMB PUMPS. FRENCH DRAINS. GENERAL REMODELING.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about BASEMENT RX WATERPROOFING

    How is BASEMENT RX WATERPROOFING overall rated?

    BASEMENT RX WATERPROOFING is currently rated 2.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are BASEMENT RX WATERPROOFING open?

    BASEMENT RX WATERPROOFING is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 AM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 AM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 AM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 AM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 AM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 AM

    What payment options does BASEMENT RX WATERPROOFING provide

    BASEMENT RX WATERPROOFING accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does BASEMENT RX WATERPROOFING offer free estimates?

    Yes, BASEMENT RX WATERPROOFING offers free project estimates.

    Does BASEMENT RX WATERPROOFING offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, BASEMENT RX WATERPROOFING does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does BASEMENT RX WATERPROOFING offer a senior discount?

    No, BASEMENT RX WATERPROOFING does not offer a senior discount.

    Does BASEMENT RX WATERPROOFING offer emergency services?

    Yes, BASEMENT RX WATERPROOFING offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by BASEMENT RX WATERPROOFING?

    No, BASEMENT RX WATERPROOFING does not offer warranties.

    What services does BASEMENT RX WATERPROOFING offer?

    BASEMENT RX WATERPROOFING offers the following services: BASEMENT WATERPROOFING. FOUNDATION REPAIR. MOLD REMOVAL. BASEMENT SEALING. OUTSIDE DRAINAGE. GUTTER EXTENSIONS. SMB PUMPS. FRENCH DRAINS. GENERAL REMODELING.