Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Blue Haven Pools & Spas by Calvitti- Hatfield

Founded 1954 • With Angi since December 2012

2.8

(12) Verified Reviews

Description

Additional phone - (610) 363-8007, (800) 219-2141. Additional email - ddicesare@bluehavenpoolsne.com. Additional DBA - Blue Haven Pools & Spas by Calvitti, Inc. Additional Addresses - 791 Bethlehem Pike Colmar, PA 18915, 838 N Pottstown Pike #D Exton, PA 19341.State of New Jersey & State of Delaware...

Other local Pros in your area

Anthony & Sylvan Pools

FREE 3D Design Consultation for Angie's List Members Call Now! For over 70 years, Anthony & Sylvan has been your trusted swimming pool builder. Our experienced design consultants understand the area’s climate and terrain and can help build the pool of your dreams or turn your backyard into the retreat that it once was. Whether it’s a natural rock waterfall, a hydrotherapy spa or free-form pool, we are so confident in the quality of our work that we offer the Anthony & Sylvan Lifetime Structural Warranty with each pool and spa we build. Arrange for a free, no-obligation consultation and estimate today. Don’t forget! Anthony & Sylvan can also help you maintain your beautiful oasis with regular pool service, or visit our retail store for all of your pool supply needs.  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Offers by Anthony & Sylvan Pools on Angi

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/10/2020


Nathan R.

Great experience from start to finish and even after the fact with any concerns or maintenance. Very highly recommended!!

Description of Work
Pool design/build/installation

Category pool cleaners,swimming pools

5.0

11/05/2020


Robert B.

On time and on budget with top notch professionals. Blue Haven by Calvitti did an absolutely amazing job and exceeded our expectations for sure.

Description of Work
Pool Instalation

Category pool cleaners,swimming pools

1.0

07/18/2018


Cheryl A.

Stay far away from this company! They lie, nickel and dime, perform substandard work, and never return phone calls. We paid over $50,000 for a pool renovation and a year later the pool still leaked. Only after beginning legal action did the finally, sloppily fix the leak. 2 full seasons of adding water to the pool daily...

Description of Work
Pool Renovation

Category swimming pools

2.0

10/05/2017


Ruth K.

Vince was on time on his arrival to my house (hence the B grade in that category.). He was personable and friendly. He seemed to know his industry quite well. Blue Haven was the first pool company out to my home. At the time that I’m writing this review, I have still not received the proposal. I called Vince and was told that I would have the price at the end of the night (which has been one week since his initial visit. I was then told that he would give me the proposal only if I promised to meet with him in person after he gave it to me, I could smell the hard close coming. Well, it never got that far. After hearing that “no other pool contractor could do the work that he does” and how “everyone else sub-contracts their work”, I had about enough. I predicted to my wife that I would never received his quote. I have since hired another company and anticipate being very happy with their work. The shame is that Blue Haven started at the top of my list and quickly fell to the bottom. Oh, after almost three weeks, still no price was given to us. I just felt that their customer service stinks, especially when they should have put their best foot forward when trying to earn my business.

Description of Work
I had Blue Haven our for an estimate to have an inground pool installed in my backyard. They built a pool for my Aunt & Uncle, so they were high on my list.

Category swimming pools

2.0

08/28/2017


Keith S.

Construction on the pool started in June of 2016. We requests a salt water pool at first, but a chlorine pool with UV and Ozone was recommended. We also made it VERY clear that we had well water and so could not fill the pool. We were told that wouldn't be a problem and that they could bring water in. There was no construction manager overseeing the project, which we were told there would be. And the trouble started when they started the cement work. They didn't bring water and ran our well dry. They apologized and assured us this wouldn't happen again. It did... They hadn't organized for water to brought in for plastering and ran the well dry when they tried to start filling the pool. Had to spend $1800 on an emergency water order. The response from the builder was. "We never told you it was free" Next issue was a pool leak. I was losing 500 gallons per day. After more than a week of them not showing up or sending the wrong person. I found the leak myself. They finally sent somebody to repair the leak which was with an underground pipe that had cracked. They installed the Ozone equipment based on an old installation method that the manufacturer recommended not doing anymore. They argued with me constantly and finally corrected that earlier this year. (Almost a year after installation) They forgot to install the deep heat circulation system claiming that it wasn't on the plans, which it wasn't, but it was on the contract that we signed. They forgot to install the inline chlorinator too.... That was installed months after the pool was in operation. They had electrical work and plumbing work completed prior to rough grading which meant that during excavation for the patio area, both plumbing lines and electrical lines were found to be in the way and had to be relocated. Zero communication throughout the project. I would ask when the next step was happening and if they responded, the day they told me would always come and go without any notification. Finally, I should never have been sold a chlorine setup like the one they sold me. (I probably should have done more research, but I trusted them). If you use chlorine tablets, the Cyanuric Acid builds up in the pool. This means you need to add more Chlorine than normal. They only way to remove Cyanuric Acid is to drain the pool (Typically half of it) and refill it. Not a problem if you have city water, but not good for people with a well. The recommendation for people with well water is Salt Water or liquid chlorine...... Overall, I love my pool, but the process with my experience with Blue Haven was not a good one. I would not recommend Blue Haven to anyone based on my experience. .

Description of Work
Brand New InGround Pool Installation

Category swimming pools

1.0

08/28/2017


Marianne N.

We hired Blue Haven Pools for a pool renovation. If we could take back the day that we signed the initial contract and paid the required deposit, we would. Phone calls go unreturned, not showing up to do a scheduled particular project on our pool occurred without even a phone call to let us know they weren't coming, sub-contractors who did sloppy tile work (and we are still trying to clean their mess), a "salesperson" who when asked a question about delays told us that we need to call the office not him. That's customer service?? When we finally were able to speak to the contact person at Blue Haven he would tell us there are so many people ahead of us. Too bad they weren't smart enough to not take in as many contracts before they had the manpower to do the projects. At one point we had a "sloppy" contractor come back to our home and try to get money from us. He claimed that he was not paid what he was due from Blue Haven. Shame on Blue Haven for hiring unprofessional subcontractors. IF YOU WANT TO BEG BLUE HAVEN EVERY STEP OF THE WAY FOR EVERYTHING YOU HAVE ALREADY PAID FOR then call them. Be smart and don't. Save yourself undue stress and aggravation.

Description of Work
Inground pool renovation

Category pool cleaners,swimming pools

1.0

07/07/2017


Alexander D.

Absolutely terrible. Never hire this team. They sub contact everything and take no part in supervision. I had multiple disputes about pricing and timing. Absolutely no project management despite me asking multiple times for a plan. I had terrible experiences with Ray the owner, Jeff the operations manager, Jack the salesperson and Lynn the scheduler. They try to hide behind the contract until they are in breach. I have never dealt with such an unprofessional company. They installed the wron color tile and paving.

Description of Work
They were contracted to renovate our pool

Category pool cleaners,swimming pools

5.0

04/09/2017


chris D.

When you embark on a major construction project it is in your best interest to hire the most knowledgeable and experienced builder available. I made the right decision by hiring Blue Haven Pools by Calvitti for my custom in-ground pool. Every aspect of the process was clearly communicated and executed professionally. Once the design and permit process was complete, the various phases of construction were completed by skilled craftsmen resulting in a beautiful final product that will provide enjoyment for our family and friends for years to come. The company staff and on-site supervisors were engaged and guided us through the entire process, educating us about pools along the way. This organization is highly recommended.

Description of Work
The existing liner pool had reached the end of its useful life. After conversations and meetings with several established in-ground pool builders in the area, it became clear that Blue Haven Pools by Calvitti was the only choice.

Category swimming pools

5.0

03/29/2017


Keith S.

Blue Haven Pools by Calvitti installed an in-ground gunite swimming pool at my residence in Berwyn, Pennsylvania in 2011. It was a comprehensive project that was coordinated in conjunction with a large home addition. The pool project turned out great and transformed my entire backyard. My wife, kids, and even our dogs love the pool! Blue Haven Pools by Calvitti installed a beautiful 1,250 sq. ft. pool with travertine coping, decking, and a 60 sq. ft. elevated spa with glass tile. The pool also has a large sun-shelf for our lounge chairs and several led laminar fountains, led bubblers, and a raised bond beam with stone facing and sheer descent waterfall. At night time the LED lights and water features are really impressive and reflect off of the Water Blue Beadcrete pool finish. They also coordinated the installation of a stone fireplace, cooking station with granite countertops, and expansive brown stone patio with stone sitting walls. The pool was complimented by an extensive landscape and low voltage lighting package. I would highly recommend Blue Haven Pools by Calvitti for those who want a swimming pool company that delivers a superior product and unparalleled customer service.

Description of Work
Installed an in-ground gunite swimming pool.

Category swimming pools

1.0

02/17/2016


William D.

I have been a landscape designer / contractor for 35 years. For all those years I have subcontracted work outside of my field regularly, so have vast experience working closely with all kinds of contractors. I have never in my entire life experienced such poor service from any contractor as I did with Blue Haven Pools by Calvitti. In 2015 I contacted with them to install one pool and perform an extensive renovation of a second pool for two of my customers. To get my business, during the initial sales call by Dominic, he lied to me about the design of the pool they could build. I discovered that lie the day we signed the contract and he collected a large deposit check from the homeowner. Unfortunately by that date we were so anxious to get started on the pool I gave Dominic the benefit of the doubt and accepted that lie as a misunderstanding so proceeded to the next step. IT WAS DOWNHILL FROM THERE! After they had our non-refundable $10,000 deposit and they knew we wanted this pool done by early June, they knew we would not turn back and hire a different pool contractor. They would return one phone call for every five messages I left for them no matter how urgent my message was. They absolutely refused to respond to questions I asked them in emails because that would document their word (that they knew they would break) in writing. Every bit of information they would give me about the progress of the pool (or should I say lack of progress) would be vague, non-committal, and by phone only. Not one step of the construction was done even close to the schedule they told me. They use subcontractors for every part of the pool construction, but by contract they were supposed to have a supervisor from their staff on-site during every day they have a sub on site. I met Bill, their so-called supervisor the first day of construction, and he said to my face he would be there for each step per contract. I was on site every day after that initial day performing our landscaping and can tell you he NEVER set foot on that property again except for one. That one day was to make a correction to a major mistake I found a crew had made to the pool wall, and boy was he angry with me for making him be there. It was apparently a huge imposition. He literally turned away from me in silence when I asked him questions to let me know how angry he was and that I (the customer) was a pain in his back-side. THAT's Blue Haven's supervisor! Blue haven's role is only to coordinate / schedule the subcontractors, which they did not do. After they totally screwed up coordinating the first couple months worth of subcontractors, out of necessity and since I have experience (apparently more than they do) managing projects I stepped in and began calling the sub's directly to coordinate them. NOT to my surprise, I was told that Blue Haven treats all of their customers with the same poor service. Every conversation with Eddy (the project coordinator and main contact) at Blue Haven ended with him promising me a date the next contractor will show up to work. Never, even once was that date accurate. Every date was off by many days. When I called on each day they were promised, to confront him about yet another broken promise, he would either make up a story like "the materials arrived broken so it's not his fault", or as his defense mechanism he would begin yelling at me and threaten to pull off the job completely claiming I'm being an unreasonable customer. On at least five occasions when Eddy was not returning my calls, or I was fed up with yet another lie, I would call the company owner, Ray Calvitti. A couple conversations included him too threatening to pull off the job "since I was dissatisfied with them" but of course he would "need to keep the portion of the deposits" he felt "they had earned". What they bank on is the fact that we both know that it is impossible to find another pool contractor to step in to finish a pool someone else started, so I was locked into finishing with them, and on their terms... take it or leave it. By the end of each 30-45 minute conversation with Ray I felt assured he would take better care of things. But the following day was business as usual... more broken promises and lies coming from Eddy. It would take way too much space here to list the problems I had with Blue Haven, although it's tempting because my blood boils each time I think of their name and want so much to save others from making the same mistake I made. I'll conclude by saying the pool was completed a month after the promised deadline, but ONLY that soon because I stepped in to manage the subcontractors myself. In fact, two of the later subcontractors on the job were arranged and managed by me alone and Blue Haven was completely out of the loop. The staff at Blue Haven is so oblivious to their poor customer service that to this day I don't think they have a clue they were left out of the loop. The last communication with Blue Haven was when the pool was ready for plaster application and then it must get filled with water on the same day. Eddie was extremely angry with me on the phone because I asked him to coordinate the two. He insisted that should be the customers job and was flabbergasted that I expected him to "be in the middle of that"! Neither I or the homeowner have heard a word from any representative of Blue Haven since that day. Never any visit or phone call to be sure the pool was completed properly and to their satisfaction. Never a visit from that "Supervisor" who was supposed to be there for each step. Never any contact with the homeowner to be sure the pools system is operating properly or that they know how to operate it. Never a thank you for their $ 105,000 pool. If you hire Blue Haven for your pool install after reading this you are foolish. If you have already contacted them... RUN REAL FAST IN THE OPPOSITE DIRECTION!!! It's not going to end well.

Description of Work
Swimming Pool Installation

Category swimming pools

    Services Offered

    Pool building, installation & remodeling.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes