Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Hershocks Inc

Founded 1935 • With Angi since June 2010

4.8

(105) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3501 N 6th St

Harrisburg, PA 17110

Description

Hershocks, Inc. is one of the largest specialty contractors in Pennsylvania serving residential and commercial customers with skill and integrity for over seven decades. We bring our vast experience base to the table when serving our residential customers as well. For home owners we specialize in Garage Doors, Glass, Mirrors, Glass Shower Enclosures, and Glass Shower Doors. Our expert technicians can help with all your installation, service and repair needs. 24 Hour Emergency Service is available....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

04/02/2018


James C.

Had a great experience with Hershocks. Had first contacted another company not realizing they were based a distance from my home and would have to pay mileage for the service call on top of parts and labor. Found local Hershocks here on Angie’s List. Great communication, thorough explanation, no pressured sales pitch, quick scheduling, on-time arrival, friendly technicians, quality job. Can’t ask for much better than that.

Description of Work
Replace torsion springs on garage door.

Category garage doors

5.0

10/13/2017


Antoinette M.

Great. There was an issue with the replacement window (manufacturer defect, not Hershocks' fault at all), but Hershocks handled the situation professionally and appropriately.

Description of Work
Replace a broken window.

Category glass repair,replacement windows

5.0

06/14/2017


Kirk S.

Installer called to set up time to do the work. He showed up a few minutes early, and finished early. He tested/adjusted the doors and opener while I was present. I'm (still) very satisfied with the work. My one issue is with the office. I was required to pay a deposit when I returned the signed contract. However, neither the bill presented by the installer nor sent from the office later reflected that payment. Frustrating. Hershock's previously replaced all my windows and back door. Good prices and great folks doing the installation.

Description of Work
Replacement of garage doors on 45+ year old house. Best price quote received for garage doors. Rep actually set up appointment to see the current garage doors and listened to my needs. He made several good suggestions (i.e., not the most expensive options). The bid was the amount discussed.

Category garage doors,replacement windows,doors

5.0

03/28/2017


William N.

Hershock's technician replaced both springs, tested them and checked the motor. Answered questions in simple layman's terms. Was prompt and courteous and said to call them back if there were any problems.

Description of Work
Spring on garage door broke.

Category garage doors

5.0

03/27/2017


Laurel A.

No issues. Service was prompt and friendly.

Description of Work
Window replacements in a 1924 built house during a major renovation project.

Category replacement windows

5.0

02/28/2017


Michael S.

They were prompt and did a great job.

Description of Work
Repair garage door

Category garage doors,replacement windows

5.0

01/10/2017


Thomas T.

Fine. We were very happy with the result, and would hire again.

Description of Work
Repaired garage door.

Category garage doors,replacement windows

5.0

12/08/2016


Rebecca H.

Hershocks was wonderful to deal with from start to finish. High heat and direct sunlight in late summer caused the non moving half of our sliding glass door to shatter. It is a custom size so we were hoping to repair it, rather than to replace the entire door. Hershocks knew what I was talking about right away and sent an estimator in only a few days. Tony was wonderful at providing a quick estimate and with answering my questions by email through the whole process. Hershocks had a new glass panel made to the exact size and installation was went quickly and easily. I look forward to dealing with them again!

Description of Work
Replacement of half of a sliding glass door.

Category glass repair,doors

5.0

07/23/2015


Rachel C.

We discovered damage to our garage door late on Sunday night that we thought would require replacement of the entire door/track. We were in a panic because of the potential cost and because our home was vulnerable due to the jammed-open garage door. First thing Monday morning I called other businesses but I was told that it would be a week before someone could take a look. I called Hershocks and within 2 hours Tom stopped by, announced that it could be fixed, and one hour later Gene and Randy were at our house. In less then 45 minutes they not only fixed the garage door but repaired several other damaged items unrelated to the previous call. Then the bill came to about $182 which was $40 UNDER their estimate! Whereas the night before we believed that we would be spending one to two thousand dollars and possibly not have a garage door for at least a week we suddenly found ourselves with the door fixed for less then 1/10 of that.....and all before lunch! Great job guys! Our family is very thankful for your help. God bless!

Description of Work
Responded promptly and repaired a jammed-open garage door in a short amount of time. They also made several non-related repairs as well. The final bill was about $40.00 under the estimated price. Simply outstanding service.

Category garage doors,replacement windows,doors

5.0

01/23/2015


Roger M.

We contacted three people from Angie's List and two of them came out and didn't spot two major problems that would need to be addressed by the installation. This company was able to spot the problem and come up with a plan to resolve the issue. They did a very good job and were also the only company that could offer color coordinated trim to match the paint work on the rest of the house, everyone else wanted to put in standard white flashing. Great knowledgeable company, I would highly recommend.

Description of Work
They put a 16x7 garage door in. It was a high-end steel door with top of the line insulation and decorative windows.

Category garage doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    Garrety Glass - Betterliving Patio & Sunrooms

    If you need glass for your home, come into our showroom and let us help. We'll help you find exactly what your looking for, and give you an iron-clad price right there on the spot. Turnaround time is fast and guaranteed, and our prices are GREAT. Let us help with mirrors, table tops, shower enclosures, windows, or any custom or unusual requirements you may have. If it can be done, WE CAN DO IT. We're also the area's premier sunroom company. Simply put, we build exceptional quality sunrooms... with a customer service experience to match. Construction projects can be tricky and sometimes frustrating - but not with Garrety. Regardless of your glass needs, there's an excellent chance we can help. From Sunrooms, Shade Products and Glass Showers to our outstanding Commercial & Residential departments, we don't just do glass. "We are your Glass Experts"  

    N.S. Johnson Inc

    N.S. Johnson, Inc, is a full service heating, air conditioning and plumbing company. We understand the necessity of getting a job done promptly and honestly. Our team of experienced technicians will ensure your heating and cooling systems are of the utmost quality and are operating at optimal levels.  

    AJ Window and Door Solutions Inc

    We are a unique, family owned home remodeling company with the rare combination of high quality products at affordable prices. All of our energy efficient products come with a Life of the Home Warranty. All our estimates are free with no obligation to buy. We are a full replacement window, roofing and do not undertake repairs.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details.
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential Garage Doors Sales, Installation and Service, Glass, Mirrors, Glass Shower Enclosures, Glass Shower Doors

    Services Not Offered

    Automobile Glass, Screen Repair

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Hershocks Inc

    How is Hershocks Inc overall rated?

    Hershocks Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Hershocks Inc open?

    Hershocks Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Hershocks Inc provide

    Hershocks Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Hershocks Inc offer free estimates?

    No, Hershocks Inc does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Hershocks Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Hershocks Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Hershocks Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Hershocks Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Hershocks Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Hershocks Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Hershocks Inc?

    Yes, Hershocks Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Hershocks Inc offer?

    Hershocks Inc offers the following services: Residential Garage Doors Sales, Installation and Service, Glass, Mirrors, Glass Shower Enclosures, Glass Shower Doors

    Are there any services Hershocks Inc does not offer?

    Automobile Glass, Screen Repair