Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

DISCOUNT VACUUM & SEWING CTR

Founded 1992 • With Angi since June 2010

4.2

(7) Verified Reviews

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Sewing Machine Repair

Description

Shop over 20 brands of vacuum cleaners and sewing machines under one roof. Our prices beat ANY price from the big box stores, Internet, etc. Have your vacuum cleaner or sewing machine serviced by factory-trained technicians. In a rush? We have a FAST turnaround time for repairs! Our experts can recommend the right machine for you while staying within your budget. We have the standard machines you see in the big box stores PLUS the quality machines you won't find elsewhere! Learn to sew in our Sewing School!...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/02/2017

I took it in and had about a 10 min wait for a representative to finish up with another customer. He did a full diagnostic test right in front of me, explaining what he was doing while he was doing it. After about 10 minutes of this he explained that there was nothing wrong with the machine itself. The problem could be 1 to 3 things: 1. The machine could have been threaded incorrectly. And he showed me the proper way to thread it. (I ruled that out, as I've had this machine for a number of years and haven't had a problem before) 2. Cheap thread. 3. Old or worn out needle. He said the needle should be changed every 8 hours of sewing. I went home and handled everything he'd listed (I even took extra care when threading it) and it worked perfectly! I can love my sewing machine again! He said since he didn't really to more than an estimate, which they don't charge for, that I owed them nothing.

Description of Work
My sewing machine was giving me problems that I assumed to be a tension fix.

Category sewing machine repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you SO much for taking the time to post a review. We're glad you took advantage of our free on-the-spot estimates. We are thrilled that you were satisfied with the service you received. Your feedback means a lot to us and we VERY much appreciate your positive review. Thank you!
5.0

02/19/2015

Description of Work
I had a pin and some material get stuck in my sewing machine. I took the machine in. They looked at it immediately and fixed it.

Category sewing machine repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to write it. Customer service is very important to us and your straight A review means a lot to our staff. We're very happy that we met (or hopefully exceeded) your expectations. We're glad you were able to get your sewing machine back immediately and that there were no major issues. Thanks for keeping us in mind!
5.0

12/18/2014

Description of Work
They repaired the carpet sweeper extension on my Hoover vacuum, which was still under warranty, for free, as soon as parts arrived. I had previously taken it to another vacuum cleaner center who could not fix it, and did not check the warranty, although they didn't charge me either. I will probably go there to buy my next vacuum cleaner.

Category sewing machine repair,vacuum cleaners

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the time you took in writing your review. We are humbled by your straight “A” ratings. Thank you! We’re thrilled that you were very satisfied with your experience at our store.
5.0

12/18/2014

Description of Work
Fix my vacuum

Category sewing machine repair,vacuum cleaners

Service Provider Response

Thank you SO much for taking the time to write your review and for giving our store an overall “A”. We’re elated that you were satisfied enough with your experience to give us your highest rating!
5.0

03/30/2014

.

Description of Work
Repaired my vac and sold me an american made vac.

Category vacuum cleaners

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], thanks so much for coming into our store! Thanks also for your positive review. Your feedback is very much appreciated! We hope your repaired vacuum will provide you many additional years of good service. We trust you’ll be very happy with your new Riccar vacuum cleaner. Thanks again!
1.0

03/19/2014

Bureau. He did not even do diagnostics on it. He then said it would be at least 4 weeks to fix it. I decided to take it home to see if someone else could do it faster. While at home I happened upon a YouTube video on how to check your Dyson for suction issues. The one filter that the told me needed to be replaced turns out to be a LIFETIME filter that you can WASH. I did. The other filter needed to be replaced. I bought it on Amazon for $15 less than he was charging (even though he said they were the same price everywhere). I checked for suction, checked my tubes, no blockages. Fixed! No clutch needed. They were deceptive LIARS. I will never go there again and am planning on reporting them to the BBB. Do not go there.

Description of Work
I have brought my Dyson DC14 to this group twice. The first time was last year. They told me the clutch was bad and estimated it would cost approx $150 to fix. I paid it. A couple of weeks ago I brought it back in and the gentleman plugged it in, said I needed a new clutch and new filter.

Category sewing machine repair

Service Provider Response

We are so sorry you had a bad experience at our Centers. That is an extremely rare occurrence. We’ve been in business since 1992 and are the largest centers of our kind in central PA. Obviously, we could not have been in business for 21 years or have grown to the size we are if bad experiences were the norm. You did not mention the reason you brought in your Dyson. I am going to assume it was for a lack of cleaning effectiveness, based on our recommendations. Let’s break down each of your experiences. 1) “The gentleman plugged it in, said I needed a new clutch and new filter.” A vacuum cleaner cleans by suction and by the brushing action. Flat rubber belts stretch over time, thus decreasing the brush speed. Brushing action would be improved with a new belt, because a tight new belt increases brush speed. With any other vacuum, you can simply replace the belt to accomplish this. With your Dyson, the belt is integrated into the clutch. To replace the belt, you need to replace the clutch. Dyson’s flat rubber belt is nothing special. It will stretch as quickly and easily as most any other vacuum belt. With most any other vacuum, $4 gets you a new belt. With your Dyson, you would need to spend over $100 (with parts and labor) to replace the belt because you need to replace the clutch. A new filter would greatly improve airflow, thus increasing the suction. We recommended replacing the clutch and filter to solve your problem. 2) “He did not even do diagnostics on it.” Our stellar customer service record, coupled with our expert repair experience has led Dyson to entrust us as their ONLY service center in Dauphin and Cumberland counties. We have repaired well over 1,000 Dyson vacuums. We can tell what a Dyson needs by the sound of the vacuum and by a quick suction test. It may seem like all we’re doing is plugging in the vacuum. However, we are performing diagnostics to solve your problem. 3) “The one filter that the told me needed to be replaced turns out to be a LIFETIME filter that you can WASH. I did.” Dyson markets their filters to be “lifetime”. Our experience has shown that to not necessarily be the case. Dirt gets embedded into the filter media to the point where suction is compromised, even though the filter was thoroughly washed. When a thoroughly washed “lifetime” filter is compared to a new filter, one can clearly see a difference in color. The old one will be gray or black (from embedded dirt) and the new filter is white. The embedded dirt restricts airflow, which will decrease suction. If you remove the blue sponge portion from your holder and put the holder up to the light, chances are that no light will shine through it. Light will shine through a new filter. Most Dyson owners only look at the blue sponge portion, which is rarely the issue. We recommended replacing the filter to increase your airflow to solve your problem. 4) “The other filter needed to be replaced. I bought it on Amazon for $15 less than he was charging (even though he said they were the same price everywhere).” We guarantee the lowest prices on what we sell, whether it be machines or parts. Dyson filters are no different. Many Internet sellers are substituting low-grade generic Dyson filters to give the illusion of having a low price on a genuine Dyson filter. That may be why their price was substantially lower. We are extremely vigilant of competitors’ prices. That is why we can confidently state that we have the lowest prices…guaranteed. Our guarantee states that if you find a lower price, we will match it. It doesn’t matter if the price is from a store or the Internet. Also, the fact that you replaced your HEPA filter underscores our recommendation to replace your other filter. Dyson filters tend to get clogged with embedded dirt at the same rate. The lower filter price you found was never brought to our attention. If it was, we could have verified whether it was generic or genuine. If it was genuine, we would have matched the price. You wouldn’t have had to wait for it to be shipped to you. 5) “Fixed! No clutch needed.” We’re glad to hear your Dyson is working to your expectations. Washing your one filter and replacing the other increased your airflow, which increased your suction. However, your brush speed is most likely still slower than it should be because of the stretched belt that is built into your clutch. You may not be experiencing the maximum cleaning effectiveness your Dyson could be achieving. However, it sounds as if you are happy with its present state of effectiveness. Excellent! 6) “They were deceptive LIARS. I will never go there again and am planning on reporting them to the BBB. Do not go there.” We pride ourselves on our exemplary customer service. Obviously, we are disappointed that we fell short of your expectations. For that we apologize. I hope the above explanations shed light on why we made those recommendations. In this era of social media, bad experiences can be shared immediately and with the entire world. If a business were unethical and truly duping customers, the word would get out enough to where the business would greatly suffer or would cease to exist. The fact that we have been in business for over 21 years and do the volume that we do should convey the fact that we are meeting or exceeding the expectations of the great majority of our customers. If there is a complaint, we do our best to resolve the issue. We were never given that opportunity with you. If we were, we could have provided you the legitimate explanations above.
4.0

11/05/2012

We took the machine in, they looked it over, gave a general estimate, checked it in for service, did a more detailed check and called with a quote, approved, and picked up with in 2 weeks. Was pleased.

Description of Work
Took my mother's sewing machine for repair and cleaning. Shop was nice and clean, service was performed accurately and without a large delay. Was pleased and would return.

Category sewing machine repair

    Services Offered

    FREE estimates on the spot! Repairs on all makes of vacuum cleaners, shampooers, steamers, sewing machines, and sergers. Sharpening on scissors, pinking shears, and knives. Have your vacuum cleaner or sewing machine serviced by factory-trained technicians. In a rush? We have a FAST turnaround time for repairs! We also provide a full array of sewing classes and sewing instruction.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes