Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

American Heated Gutter Systems, Inc

Founded 2011 • With Angi since May 2012

3.9

(6) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8835 Perry Hwy

Erie, PA 16509

Description

American Heated Gutter Systems, Inc. Is a woman owned company since July 2011. We manufacture and install Leaf &Heater Hoodie. Eliminate climbing ladders and cleaning gutters with Leaf Hoodie. STOP BIG ICE with our thermostatically controlled Heater Hoodie. Our employees are trained professionals,

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/15/2018


Earl K.

Great job. Quality workmanship, professional and a great price

Description of Work
New heated leaf guard gutters

Category gutter repair

5.0

02/26/2018


Gretchen S.

I can't say enough about the professionalism, efficiency and workmanship of Jim and his crew. I would recommend American Heated Gutter Systems to anyone, without hesitation!

Description of Work
heated gutter over back door

Category gutter repair

1.0

02/13/2016


IRENE G.

The initial meeting was on Oct. 3, 2015, with Jim. It went as expected when you meet with a salesperson. We were shown several before and after photos of current installs and a short video of the product. The product is EXPENSIVE (initial estimate was almost $1,900 or nearly $40 a foot) but we have had large ice dams and giant icicles in the winter so it seemed worth the cost. We gave Jim a $500 deposit to get on the 6 to 8 week waiting list. He called 15 minutes or so later to tell us he couldn't find our check. We did a search throughout the house, found the check, and mailed it to the 8835 Perry Hwy address (along with a copy of a corrected estimate because someone at the company had written the wrong address on the form). Our deposit check was cashed quickly. Seven weeks later we received a call from Jim that our house was next for install and to expect them at 9am. Two men arrived in an unmarked box truck. I was working in the basement and didn't hear the knock (because they were early!). Once I realized they had arrived I went outside to greet them. They never introduced themselves, just mumbled something to the effect of, 'Where's the outlet...' I showed them the outlet they could use for install and went back inside. It look the day to install the front gutter and part of the small section in the back. I was home the entire time the gutters were going up. There was no communication between the two man installation crew and myself after I showed them the outlet location. No names, no noticeable identifying clothing that said who they worked for, and no, 'Ok we're done, goodbye.' I figured they must be from AHGS because who else would just show up and replace our gutters, LOL. I knew they were 'done' because I saw the truck driving away. I inspected the job immediately and discovered that the job was not complete. The back gutter was missing its leaf/heated hood. My husband called Jim and expressed our concern. Jim seemed a bit defensive and said - 'His guys told him they were done." and he would get back to us. Jim called some time later to informed us that the crew did not have the correct parts to finish the job and would be back at a later date. He also said that he would send out his electrician to complete the system but that he had been unable to get a hold him. At that time we asked about hiring our own electrician but Jim said that he'd take care of it. The gutter crew came back two weeks later with the correct parts. Once they left the gutters were in place but nonfunctional because the electrical outlets were still not installed. Jim's electrician was a no show for more than four weeks and we received zero communication from at anyone at American Heated Gutter Systems during this time. Late in the first week of January we received calls from two different electricians claiming to have been given our name and number by Jim and could they come out to survey the area in order to determine where and how to install the outlets required to complete the system. After adjusting my schedule to be home and meet with each electrician Bud from Cade Electric submitted an estimate to Jim. Jim approved the cost and Bud came out to the house the next day to install the outlets. Fast forward to the 1st snow storm. Not only did we have a sizable ice dam but icicles as large as two feet long growing on our hooded heated gutters. I called the company and left a couple messages. A few days later I finally received a call from an AHGS employee saying that they'd be over in a little while to investigate. After examining both outdoor outlets, confirming the downspouts were not clogged and removing the cover of the electrical box in the basement to verify that electricity was flowing it was determined that because it had been so windy the week before the system was overwhelmed and failed. The crew proceeded to bang, chip, hammer, and knock the ice dam off our gutters with a metal roof rake. Before the crew left I confirmed that when this happens again that we should call the office and schedule a time to have the gutters 'serviced'. After cleaning the chunks of ice off the front stoop I called AHGS. I was understandably dismayed. We were paying a lot for a product guaranteed to get rid of ice dams and icicles and I had just had someone at my home hammering away at my gutters. I expressed serious concern to Jim. I said that he never told us the system fails when it's very windy and this flaw is never mentioned on the company's website or facebook page. Every 'after' picture we were shown during the sales pitch had zero icicles or ice dams in it and that is not the product we received. Jim literally raised his voice at me and insisted that the gutters were working and that I needed to give the system time to catch up. I said I wanted a discount for false advertising. Jim again insisted the gutters were working (despite the pictures I have attached and the fact that his crew had just left after tearing down an ice dam and icicles). Jim also said he'd rather come over and rip my gutters down instead of give me a discount. I was very taken aback by the threat but my gutter system was failing and I felt the company needed to offer a remedy. I asked for the $150 discount his company was offering on their website and Jim eventually agreed. As I'm finishing this review I see that the company is now offering a $250 discount on their facebook page and added a video showing new before and after results. Still absolutely no ice dams or icicles on their 'after' shots. There is also no mention that the system will get overwhelmed and fail when it's windy. I can accept that the product is not perfect and that it will become overwhelmed when it's windy, or when there's a lot of snow on the roof, or when it's really cold outside. But what I can't accept is that you're not told about these shortcomings until AFTER you pay in full. That is incredibly disappointing and feels dishonest. If you live in Erie you know that it's windy a lot, and it snows a lot, and it stays very cold a lot. Had we been told everything upfront we might have made a different decision or we very well may have decided to get the gutters anyway. We're now several days into the second snow storm since the gutters were operational and we again have an ice dam and icicles. We will have to schedule and appointment to have the gutters 'serviced' if we want the build up removed... UPDATE 09/10/2018 The response from Suzanne is a complete and total lie and is an obvious attempt to cover up the horrible job they did. My husband and I spoke directly with Jim at American heated gutters MANY times. I attached pictures in this review of the unmarked box tuck, the giant icicles hanging off my house, and the American heated gutter employee banging the icicles off our gutters with a roof rake. I also have Facebook messages to AND A RESPONSE FROM American heated gutters in which I requested service and sent them pictures of the problems. Why are Suzanne's employees at my house with a roof rake if she never got a call for service from me? I'll gladly include print screens of the FB messages if Suzanne continues to lie. I have never received a phone call or voice message from AHG in regards to this review. Just thought my fellow Angie's List members should know the truth. *

Description of Work
We had the front gutter (40 feet) and a portion of the back gutter (7 feet) replaced with the leaf and heated hood gutter system.

Category gutter repair, roof snow removal

Service Provider Response

we are sorry you feel this way. i believe this customer is very wrong and i will say so we have thousands of systems in this area and gave you many customers in your neighbor hood to check out. you signed our contract and we installed it in one day. we have never received any phone calls for repairs or complaints. customer like this have buyer remorse when they received a great product in a timely fashion and works as is sold to them. our prices are not based on footage as was told to them. all of our men have our name on there shirts, coats, hoodies, and we have no trucks that are not lettered? this is the first we have ever heard of there dislike and have called them many times and no calls back. Suzanne Owner
3.0

04/30/2015


charles M.

Description of Work
I asked for references which they promised to provide. Still waiting

Category gutter repair

Service Provider Response

We called [Member name removed] and left message on voicemail with 3 referrals. Called to follow up and only got voicemail again. Requested a call back and still waiting
3.0

10/22/2013


Kevin G.

They seem to have a really terrific product, but the estimate was outrageous! When asked for an estimate with several options (what I had asked for originally) I received the same estimate (no options) with a slightly lower price.

Description of Work
Estimate only.

Category gutter repair

5.0

12/11/2012


John C.

We had a great experience with this company. Upon moving into our home one of the first things we elected to repair was the gutter system. we had quotes from several companies, and although American was slightly more expensive, I feel like they sold a superior product. The gutters are wider and have more capacity than our previous gutters, and we have not had any problems with clogging. The gentleman who came out for initial measurements and quotes was punctual and professional. The work crews were likewise very professional. When they discovered rotted fascia they presented me with several options, and worked quickly to find a matching (wood and color) material. The new gutters look fantastic and work well. Very happy with this company and would recommend them without hesitation.

Description of Work
Tore down old gutters, repaired fascia and installed new gutters and downspouts.

Category gutter repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Cutting Edge Landscaping

    We are your one stop shop for all your lawn care and landscaping needs. We have over 15+ years experience. Give us a call today for your FREE Quote! ...and Remember "OUR GRASS IS ALWAYS GREENER"  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Manufacture & Install Leaf & Heater Hoodie.We are a HEATED GUTTER company Install 5,6 and 7 inch seamless gutter systems and downspouts. Fascia and soffit repair. k-style, box and curved gutters. aluminum and copper. STOP CLEANING GUTTERS & STOP BIG ICE! Lifetime warranty and service with our system

    Services Not Offered

    We do not clean gutters or do repairs on our competitors gutters.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about American Heated Gutter Systems, Inc

    How is American Heated Gutter Systems, Inc overall rated?

    American Heated Gutter Systems, Inc is currently rated 3.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are American Heated Gutter Systems, Inc open?

    American Heated Gutter Systems, Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does American Heated Gutter Systems, Inc provide

    American Heated Gutter Systems, Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does American Heated Gutter Systems, Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, American Heated Gutter Systems, Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does American Heated Gutter Systems, Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, American Heated Gutter Systems, Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does American Heated Gutter Systems, Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, American Heated Gutter Systems, Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by American Heated Gutter Systems, Inc?

    Yes, American Heated Gutter Systems, Inc offers warranties.

    What services does American Heated Gutter Systems, Inc offer?

    American Heated Gutter Systems, Inc offers the following services: Manufacture & Install Leaf & Heater Hoodie.We are a HEATED GUTTER company Install 5,6 and 7 inch seamless gutter systems and downspouts. Fascia and soffit repair. k-style, box and curved gutters. aluminum and copper. STOP CLEANING GUTTERS & STOP BIG ICE! Lifetime warranty and service with our system

    Are there any services American Heated Gutter Systems, Inc does not offer?

    We do not clean gutters or do repairs on our competitors gutters.