Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Penn Contractors Inc.

Founded 1990 • With Angi since December 2009

4.8

(32) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

419 Dalton St

Emmaus, PA 18049

Description

Celebrating our 25th anniversary in 2015, Penn Contractors, Inc. is the most experienced, client-focused Design/Build Residential Remodeling firm in the Lehigh Valley. We specialize in elegantly crafted, complex home remodeling projects. The quality of our work is unsurpassed. Our dedication to craftsmanship permeates every project. Penn Contractor's devotion to client satisfaction is legendary. We provide a concierge-level home remodeling experience for every client. Our meticulous Discovery Phase ensures that our Design/Build experts translate your remodeling goals into tangible remodeling outcomes. Our process ends with a 5-year guarantee and our lifetime commitment to serving your home remodeling needs. We encourage you to read our detailed positive reviews on Guild Quality, Houzz and Angie's List. We love our clients and our reviews reflect our unparalleled commitment to their satisfaction. If you're looking for a turn-key, masterfully managed approach to your home remodeling, and if you insist on the highest quality craftsmanship backed by legendary customer service, then the Penn Team is right for you. Give us a call: 610.965.4204....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/06/2015


Theresa G.

Awesome! Bruce met with us and we described what we were looking for. He asked questions and made suggestions. After the initial meeting, he came back to us with a plan and what the new structure would look like. He nailed it the first time. His crew is very knowledgeable, professional, kept the construction area clean, and very respectful of our property. I communicated with the crew everyday about what the next steps would be for the next day. The crew was great. The finished product is amazing and it looks like it has been here from the beginning. The work was completed on time. We couldn't be happier. We highly recommend Penn Contractors.

Description of Work
Installed a porch on the rear of the house

Category remodeling

5.0

08/25/2014


Angela C.

Appreciate how quickly they responded to my concerns. Very professional and friendly. Professional and prompt response

Description of Work
Response to concern on estimate pricing was immediate and informative.

Category remodeling

5.0

07/08/2014


Christopher P.

Based on my conversation with Abel, we determined they were not going to be the best fit for our project. Abel was kind enough to give me the names of some vendors in the area that could help me and even offered to email me if they think of someone else. What a wonderful way to run a business! When we are ready to do another project, we'll be calling Penn Contracting!!

Description of Work
Called Penn Contracting for a possible concrete leveling project.

Category remodeling

5.0

06/20/2014


anthony A.

Since I had never had any experience hiring a contractor in the past I was quite apprehensive about making the final decision on who would take the responsibility to put a brand new face on my home. After the ice & snow brought down my rear patio roof crushing my outdoor spa & furniture I was devestaed & thought I would never have that back to it's original glory. I could not be happier after the 8 week long dealings with Penn Contractors. It is not only back & beautiful, it's better then before. The 22 year old aluminum siding was removed & new vinyl siding was installed along with new plastic shutters & new door should in the front of my home. They even went above & beyond filling in some bare spots on my back lawn with soil & grass seed while fixing the areas that were originally disturbed by construction. Adjectives to describe my personal experience; -Professional -Courteous -Detailed -Friendly -Craftsman -Knowledgeable -Punctual -Last, they were very nice to my annoying Pomeranian.

Description of Work
Built a new patio roof structure in the rear of my home. Resided the entire exterior of my home.

Category remodeling, patios

5.0

04/29/2014


gene L.

Very professional, well-organized, straightforward. I think he had a very good business approach and some excellent workmanship in his projects. Pricing was competitive with the other contractors we talked to.

Description of Work
We had a couple of meetings with him and he gave me a quote for our remodeling job.

Category remodeling

5.0

03/15/2014


Jennifer K.

They were fabulous, and we liked them very much. They did both jobs really well, and got them done in less time, then they estimated. They had good office people, and the people they sent to do the work were also very good. I thought the prices were very good.

Description of Work
We used Penn Contractors Inc. We did electrical with them, and we also did finished carpentry with them for the kitchen. They finished an unfinished hole in the wall, they made it look great. They built a cabinet in finishing the window.

Category electrician, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

03/12/2014


Sarah K.

After reading reviews on Angie's List, I called to discuss our plans. Abel seemed genuinely interested in my job, and that very good first impression made me want to learn more about this company. Unfortunately, too many businesses don't realize how important that first voice is to a potential client. Abel patiently answered all my questions and explained their well-designed process, and I eagerly made an appointment to learn more for this company appeared to be very well-organized with years of experience doing just what I wanted. We enjoyed working with Ed on the design for he listened to our ideas then presented us with six different designs. He was patient and helpful as we worked out every detail of the project. By the time we got the estimate, we were so impressed with everyone we had encountered that our decision to choose Penn was easy for they rated far above anyone else! The pre-planning was carefully done and everything was ready to begin the construction, thus avoiding any delays while waiting for cabinets, flooring, etc. Their experience was evident from the beginning and communication was outstanding. No surprises! The job began on time, as promised, and was completed, as promised. Tom's skills in organizing all work teams cannot be easy, though he made it appear to be so. When Ron arrived each day, he was pleasant and ready to work, and gave a full day's work every day. He is an exceptional craftsman and communicator with a "sure, I can do that" attitude. He listened, accommodated, assisted in every possible way. One might have thought he was working on his own home. Nothing was done to meet a deadline, but with precision and to please his client. We cannot praise Ron enough for his excellence. HE IS THE BEST! Wetzel Enterprises, who did the electrical and plumbing, deserves the same high rating as Penn Contractors whose goal is to have a happy, satisfied customer at the end of the project. Equal praise goes to those who did the flooring and tile. Penn has chosen the best sub-contractors and provided a list of suppliers for all our materials which made shopping easier for us. Excellent quality comes with a price; we got top quality work, won't be looking at mediocre workmanship and wishing we'd hired someone else for we chose the best from the start and will now live with an excellent job with no regrets. I may not remember the final cost, but I will always see and enjoy the final project. I got what I paid for! Top quality! No regrets! In addition, every man who entered our home was pleasant, appeared to love his job, and was considerate of our every need. It was a pleasure to welcome them and to work with them. Finally, Penn has earned and deserves the awards they've received. I would not hesitate to recommend them to others, and in fact, have already done so.

Description of Work
Remodeled an existing bathroom and added half bath/laundry. An old tub, tile, flooring, counter top, shower doors in the existing bathroom were removed, Preparation of the room for the laundry included removing an old floor and installing a new, moving some furniture, moving the heat, removing and rebuilding a closet, installing a new vanity and water closet, moving washer and dryer as well as venting the dryer. They installed a new tub, tile, shower doors, flooring, counter top, cabinet doors, water closet with all the plumbing and electrical necessary. They were so efficient in removing the debris that we never noticed.

Category remodeling

5.0

03/05/2014


Tracey H.

They built an external patio structure for us, a covered patio structure. They are fantastic, I would recommend them highly to anyone. They were very professional, very conscientious of our time and our communication requests. They were very attentive. Although they were not inexpensive, the service was great for the cost. I would recommend their attention to quality. We had some issues with some of the things they did they have worked to correct those at no additional cost to us and also to make sure they are correct before they are done working with us. They were very good about making sure the things were done and they were done right and they weren't finished until they were done right.

Description of Work
I last used Penn Contractors in June. It is an ongoing project.

Category remodeling, home builders, sunrooms, patios

5.0

09/03/2013


Jennifer K.

We signed up for an Angie's List Deal to have an electrician come in and hang 8 lights and ceiling fan. Abel contacted us right away and communicated several times with both my husband and me. Very nice, professional, and treated both of us as equals. (As a woman, sometimes being treated as an equal is unfortunately hard to find when speaking with a contractor, and I really appreciated it.) When the two electricians showed up to work they were on time, professional, and completed the work in less time than I expected. Ed also came by to give us an estimate on some finish carpentry work that we need done in the kitchen and half bath. He gave an informal bid that was fair and reasonable and also understood that both my husband and I work so schedules are tight. I have high hopes that it will work out with Penn Contractors to finish the carpentry work that we need done in our home. Very happy.

Description of Work
Electrical work - hanging 8 lights and ceiling fan

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [member name removed], for sharing such a thoughtful review of your Penn Contractors experience. Ed was all smiles after his visit to your home. He relayed to me that it was a delight working with you and Greg, and Abel couldn’t say enough nice things about you both. I’d like to thank you personally for how carefully you documented your project needs. Your pre-project planning was essential to helping our team meet your objectives. And you’re flexibility allowed us to work you right into our production schedule. We work hard to establish trusting relationships built on honesty, communication and client satisfaction. We’re looking forward to our next project together and we're standing-by to schedule our team to complete any additional work you require. Please know that we’re here to help, whenever you need us. Your satisfaction is our highest priority. Warmly, Bruce Snyder Owner, Penn Contractors

5.0

08/09/2013


Jim E.

We had a plain ranch home. We contacted Penn Contractors regarding an addition (found them on Angie's List). Penn designed a 10 x 26 addition to include: vaulted ceilings, extensive windows, laundry room, and totally new kitchen. Penn Contractors are excellent people to work with. They are extremely considerate, very detail oriented, and are excellent craftsmen. The entire addition is SPECTACULAR !!! SO MANY THANKS TO : Shawn, Jeff, Ron, Tom, Ed, Cody, Zack, Gina, Karen, Bruce (owner), plus all of the subcontractors. The addition is worth every penny.. WE ARE SO HAPPY.... !

Description of Work
New addition, new kitchen, new laundry room. Total addition 10 X 26 .

Category remodeling, replacement windows, home builders, architect, home remodeling

5.0

07/18/2013


Tammy H.

We enjoyed working with Bruce and his crew. All the folks were very skilled & focused on their work. They left the job site clean and were very careful not to make a mess in the rest of the house as well. This was a complicated job. The house is over 200 yrs old and has had a number of additions and remodels. Early in the process Penn sent their crew out to remove a section of the kitchen to allow us to understand exactly what was happening behind one wall so that we could lock down the design. This allowed us to finish the design and got the cabinet maker moving. About 6 wk later, the real job began. Penn has a very structured process so that the work to be done is clearly documented. The contract spelled out exactly what items the home owner is to provide (appliances e.g.) and which are to be selected along with the allowance for these. They provide a list of suggested suppliers, which made the selection process easier. Penn assigns a "project development" guy who works up the estimates and assists with decisions. Ed came out a few times and looked at my photos to help figure out what we could and couldn't do to create the space in critical areas so he did more than just estimates. Once the project parameters are all nailed down, then a project manager was assigned. Tom would talk to me on the phone or come out in person to keep up with status and make sure every day was a productive one. He negotiated a few tradeoffs of work so that we could make some fine tuning type adjustments to the job and worked up a change order for some of the bigger changes to the scope of the job. Each day only as much of the kitchen that was in their way was removed so that we had function as long as possible. Clear progress was made every day. The guys were clear about what decisions they needed to keep them moving so that no time was wasted and no mistakes were made. The owner of the electrical/plumbing subcontractor (Wetzel Electric) was particularly helpful in assisting us with product options. The end result is a well lit kitchen/great room and closet areas with good switch locations. He suggested a heat mat under the tile. We are very excited to have this and would not have known that it was an option had he not mentioned it. We anticipate that this will make the kitchen (much of it built on top of a cement slap) comfortable in the winter. The lighting design was tricky due to all the restrictions placed on the installation due to old house constraints. He suggested a remote switch for a light so that the location makes sense for the flow but for which there was no way to bring power for a standard switch. The tile guys had a significant challenge with the very unlevel and uneven subfloor. They put down a number of layers of and the tile is perfect; its aligned with the wood flooring at both sides and was level enough for the cabinet maker to get his installation done w/o having to jump through too many hoops. (That was still a challenge 'cause its an old house). All of the sub contractors brought in by Penn were top notch and both friendly and trustworthy as well as very skilled and meticulous. This is the company to hire if you want very high quality and low hassle work.

Description of Work
Penn provided design ideas & collaboration to create the design of a new kitchen and reworked first floor and then implemented this design. The work list was significant and included the following: 1) Reduced closet footprint 2) Reworked bathroom - removed shower, leveled floor, removed a door, moved a closet entrance & moved toilet & sink locations. Reduced overall footprint (which also involved moving the plumbing, electrical & AC stacks in the wall that was moved) 3) Added a pantry 4) Deconstructed old kitchen / removed all elements 5) Removed a wall and rebuilt it to allow maximum space for the new kitchen 6) Installed new plumbing, lighting & electric in new kitchen, bar area, pantry & bathroom 7) Leveled the floor, added a heat mat & installed tile in kitchen and redid both the pine floor in dining area & maple floor in living room & bathroom areas 8) Added a new exterior water spigot for the deck 9) worked cooperatively with the local cabinet maker we brought in for this job 10) Worked up a proposal to remove a post in the old section of the house. This was a bit involved and we decided not to move forward with it but very much appreciated all the time & effort required to allow us to make an informed decision

Category custom cabinets, contractors, ceramic tile, closet systems, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, doors, mudjacking

5.0

02/20/2013


Kathryn S.

We had a really good experience with them. The guy who came out to do the estimate and look at everything was on time. He was a friendly guy and explained a lot to me. They set everything up really quick and got it done. That was done back in the summer and we haven't had a problem with anything. Everything seems to be running well and they do good work.

Description of Work
We had the box fans in our two bathrooms redone by Penn Contractors because they weren't vented and just going into the attic space. They also installed a new fan in one of the bathrooms.

Category electrician, handyman service, ceiling fans

5.0

02/03/2013


Matthew J.

Penn Contractors carried out the first phase of our kitchen enlargement/remodel about a year ago, and we were very pleased. Same for this final phase of the project--high quality work, minimal disruption, good communication, and they clean up every night. Bruce and the team were very helpful in planning. We wanted to add a wall of cabinets but were unable to match the existing ones. Bruce suggested that we consider having them custom-made, which was more expensive, but we got exactly what we wanted, including a drawer for my husband's pancake griddle. Jeff did a beautiful job--the cabinets are very well-built and make the most of the space. Jeff was also very accommodating about adjusting the shelves and roll-outs for us on site as well as making custom brackets. Penn also removed the old tile countertop and backsplash and installed a laminate top and a new sink. Matt did the same meticulous work as last year and kept the kitchen usable for us every night . This was a much shorter project than the first phase and it moved right along--about a week. Tom kept us well-informed and answered our emails right away. We would definitely recommend Penn Contractors after these two positive experiences.

Description of Work
This project included building custom cabinets to our specifications, removing tile counters and backsplash, and installing new counters.

Category custom cabinets, countertops, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

01/24/2013


Susan G.

The project was completed successfully. Penn Contractors was professional, capable, respectful, and responsible. The quality of their work is clear. My new door is beautiful. I highly recommend Penn Contractos and would use them again and again.

Description of Work
Replaced french door to deck due to leak damage with Pella sliding french door and Hanson window. Uncovered leak at roofline and repaired.

Category replacement windows, doors

2.0

09/18/2012


Jeffrey G.

The actual work went relatively well. However they broke more than they fixed. Bruce came in and gave us the estimate telling us that they work clean and the same stuff that all the other contractors told us. We trusted Bruce. Well we actually moved out for two weeks to a hotel not to get in the way. I would stop by periodically after work. All seemed well. I noticed that there was a light broken outside the house on the garage. Apparently the workmen smashed it with a latter carrying it in the house. They replaced it with a home depot special that looked like a prison light and did not have the functions our old light had. No motion sensor. They removed a ceiling fan and put it back up after the job. Well that fan came crashing down about a year after it was installed. Almost killed my wife. The finish drywall was never painted where they did some electric light changes. They also knocked a hole in the ceiling that was patched and never painted. This was not a great job and we were quite disappointed with Bruce and his guys. I would not hire Penn again. About a year later they called to see if we wanted some type of energy survey on our house. I told them to have Bruce call me to discuss with him. Never got a call. My experience was not good. Bruce spoke well and knew how to use a tape measure, but that was about it.

Description of Work
We had a leak in our roof many years ago that ruined our indoor ceiling over our kitchen and dining room. This was an insurance claim and in fairness it was several years ago. What we needed done was replace the ceiling. While they were up in the ceiling; they also added some new insulation at our cost not covered by insurance.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

We are very surprised by this review. The Penn Team does not work in the Doylestown area, nor did we complete any projects in the Lehigh Valley in 2009 that align with this project description. We have asked Angie’s List to ensure this report was intended for Penn Contractors. This review contradicts dozens of highly favorable reviews and awards the Penn Contractors Team has received from the Angie's List community, from our clients as reported on the Guild Quality website, and through hand-written notes and thank-you cards from our clients. In 2010, Penn Contractors was awarded Angie's List prestigious Super-Service Award. That same year, we won a national customer satisfaction award from Pella. We are a 12 year member of the Better Business Bureau and we are extremely proud of our A+ Rating. Penn has received more than 15 Awards for Excellence from the Lehigh Valley Builder's Association and the National Association of the Remodeling Industry (NARI). We have been recognized for outstanding Remodeling and Design in Hanley's Big50 Remodeling Magazine. In more than 22 years of dedicated service to the Lehigh Valley we have never received this kind of feedback. We have received professional recognition from, and actively participate in, the following Remodeling Industry organizations: 1) The National Association of Remodeling Industries (NARI) 2) The National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) 3) The Pennsylvania Builder’s Association (PBA) 4) The Lehigh Valley Builder’s Association (LVBA) The Penn Contractors Team has attained numerous high-level, industry-specific certifications: 1) Certified Green Professional (CGP) 2) Certified Aging-in-Place (CAPs) 3) Certified Graduate Remodeler (CGR) 4) Certified Pella Installer 5) Certified Velux Installer While we are deeply concerned about any negative review, we are more concerned about having a dissatisfied customer. We have built our stellar service reputation on our unique ability to find timely solutions to the inevitable challenges that arise on any construction project. In fact, we are most-often praised for exceeding customer expectations when challenges occur. Whenever possible we maintain close relationships with all of our customers and, for this reason, much of our work comes from our existing customers, their family members, relatives, friends and neighbors. We are keenly aware that the loyalty we enjoy from our customers stems directly from our loyalty to them. We’re simply not happy until they are. Our goal is, and always has been, to provide such outstanding customer service and such high quality craftsmanship, that customers allow us to continue serving them for years (and in some cases decades) to come. I make that commitment to you and I ask you to consider Penn Contractors for your next remodeling project.

5.0

08/29/2012


Barbara C.

In the Spring of 2012 I asked Penn Contractors of Emmaus to improve the curb appeal of my home by building a roofed front porch for it, with a pent roof across the remaining front of the house, and to also reframe the front door. I stressed that the new porch needed to blend into the existing house. Penn listened well to the description of what I wanted and designed an A-frame porch at the front door with a matching pent roof. When finished, the roofed porch and pent roof looked like they had always been part of the house, rather than add-ons. This was exactly the effect I wanted! Penn heeded my request to use today?s maintenance-free construction materials wherever possible and patiently answered all my questions. The workers were polite and knowledgeable, and took their time with their work. They did meticulous work with great precision, such as contouring building materials to conform with the fieldstone walls of the house. Many details of the construction are totally out of sight, but they were also done with great care. The work area was always well cleaned up at the end of each workday. I received several bids from various contractors to do this work. Penn?s bid was mid-range, but I certainly feel I received superior value for the money paid. The company is very easy to work with and also has an excellent guarantee policy. I would highly recommend Penn Contractors to anyone, and Penn will definitely be first on my list to call for any future renovations I need on my home.

Description of Work
Starting from only a verbal description and my very rough sketch, Penn Contractors designed and created a very attractive A-frame porch and pent roof across the front of my home. Learning that this porch was to include a 2-person swing, Penn immediately modified their building plans and doubled the ceiling support beam in the new roof to bear that extra anticipated weight. They replaced the old facing around the front door, as well as the lighting for the porch area, and also corrected the way the storm door was hung. The shingles on the new porch roof match the existing house shingles very well. In addition, they made a special effort to be sure the aluminum siding on the new porch face matched the rest of the siding on the house, and tied the new rain gutters and spouting into those already on the building.

Category decks, gutter repair, lighting, remodeling, roofing, siding, doors

5.0

08/21/2012


Charles S.

This is the second time we have used Penn for a major renovation. They are courteous, professional, and craftsman. They are not the cheapest, but I have never been unhappy. The only issue we had was waiting for their roof subcontractor to do the metal roof. Highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Raised the roof above a summer kitchen. Consisted of demolition of previous roof, framing, stucco, windows, interior, etc. Also custom tiled shower and new vanity in bathroom.

Category electrician, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, stucco, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

03/30/2012


Matthew J.

Bruce was very patient with the planning stages and a good listener. He met with us numerous times to talk about different options, and this helped us zero in on a plan that would fit our budget and accomplish our goals. Penn's bid may have been a little higher than the other one we were considering, but we felt they offered more. There were no surprises or delays (the project actually finished earlier than we expected) and any questions/concerns we had were addressed right away. Penn took care of everything--permits, inspections, scheduling subcontractors, matching the siding and flooring to what was already here. When we had to make a decision about something, they gave us plenty of notice. Everyone at Penn was a pleasure to work with and very professional. Matt and his team did beautiful, meticulous work and tried to minimize the disruption to our kitchen. Matt saw to it that the worksite was cleaned up at the end of the day--he removed a wall without us seeing any of the debris! Tom was also great--kept us well informed and was familiar with all the aspects of our project. The few times we had a concern (for example the placement of a heating vent) it was taken care of the next day with no stress on our part. At his last visit, Tom even saw to it that the outlet covers and switch plates would be adjusted so they were all level. Would definitely work with Penn Contractors again.

Description of Work
Our renovation project consisted of enclosing a porch next to our kitchen, removing the wall between the porch and the kitchen, and opening up part of the wall between the kitchen and the dining room.

Category decks, remodeling, home remodeling, sunrooms

4.0

03/29/2012


Marilyn M.

They are a little pricier than others, but other than that they were good. I would use them again if I needed to.

Description of Work
Penn Contractors did some minor renovations on my house about five years ago.

Category decks, hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Tough grader huh?

5.0

03/25/2012


kim G.

Excellent customer service. Always knew what to expect, they did a great job keeping us in the loop. Totally trusted them in the house, very pleasant group to work with. We got three bids from different contractors and Penn was in the middle. When Bruce came out to take measurements and give an estimate he presented himself as very organized. I felt confident he knew what he was doing. We even made changes along the way and he was very willing to accommodate us. Would definitely have them back again.

Description of Work
Bruce and his crew were very professional, courteous and clean. Penn Contractors remodeled our basement by moving and adding walls plus they built a custom cabinet for storage. They showed up everyday and only took a few weeks to complete. When they left in the afternoon they always left the basement clean from debris and trash.

Category custom cabinets, remodeling, woodworking, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

I think the B grade on our pricing is a theme. We don't think we are really that expensive, we are just very thorough and let people know the total cost of the project up front. This is opposed to bombarding people with change orders once we have half your home in a dumpster. Which would you prefer?

5.0

11/01/2011


Kristin E.

We loved loved loved working with Penn. Yes, problems arose. Yes, Penn fixed them in a heart beat. Every Penn employee was dedicated to this project as though it was his own house. That in itself made the project worth the cost!! Not once did we worry about being scammed, like the horror stories you hear about other contractors. And yes, Penn is expensive. But they are so so so worth the money. From the start, they guided us through the kitchen shopping experience, picking out cabinets, counters, flooring. Once the in-house part came closer, we had meetings to go over every aspect of the job to make sure we were all on the same page. Once the in-house job started, we were so impressed by the guys' attention to detail, neatness, and commitment to the job. Our carpenter Matt was so meticulous with his work, the plasterer and plumber Sean did seamless work, and Tom the project manager was at the house checking in and managing the project and keeping us in the loop. We gave up our entire first floor for 8 weeks, with our belongings in the garage and basement. When Hurricane Irene came, Tom actually brought us one of Penn's generators in case our basement flooded! Seriously! The one problem we had was with the flooring guy, Kevin. He was the one worker who did not put as much attention into his work. He was messy and seemed eager to brush me off. Getting him to do the right stain was a battle that really frustrated me, until I called Bruce, and Tom ran over to see what was going on. So once Tom started micro-managing Kevin, things got better. But I still hope they get a better floor guy. Every other sub - Berkholder for the HVAC, Steve Wetzel for the electric - was terrific! Incidentally, I was disappointed that Bruce only came by once. I really thought he'd want to see the finished project!! Oh, and as a salesman, his estimate was 6 weeks. Then Matt and Tom came over for a pre-construction meeting and Matt (lead carpenter) said 8-10 weeks. I liked him immediately for that honesty! And he was right, it was 8 weeks. And our house is AWESOME now!!! Bruce sold us an amazing job, and his guys did exceptional work to get the job done. We can't say enough great things about them, and we would definitely use them again!

Description of Work
This was an entire first-floor renovation! Penn demolished our existing kitchen, took the wall between the kitchen and family room to a 1/2 wall, and opened up the wall between our family room and living room. They pulled up our old floors and installed (old school) hardwood floors throughout, and then built us a new kitchen. They supervised electric, plumbing, and the installation of a second-floor of HVAC system. And then they did the finish work.

Category electrician, hardwood floor, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Dear Member- Although I did not stop by your home often after production began I am keenly interested in what is happening on your project. I trust my team completely and I am aware on a daily basis as to what is happening with each and every project. Also, to guarantee success, you had our most experienced lead carpenter running your project. Fortunately (or unfortunately depending on your perspective) our reputation and the service we provide has allowed our company to grow to the point that the days of me stopping by on a weekly basis are long gone. I hear you and the others that have given my this feedback. I am working on handing off more of my responsibilities so that I can focus more on our company and our customer's experience. On a positive note we are total stoked that you are so happy with your project that you feel comfortable recommending us to your friends, we thank you for that. Bruce

5.0

12/28/2010


Albert F.

Their work was excellent. They are very professional and did a good job. It went very well. They scheduled a day and came on time and finished on time. They did everything to my satisfaction. I always hope the price would be lower.

Description of Work
I used Penn Contractors to repair a porch railing that had rotted. They also repaired some doorjambs that were damaged.

Category decks, woodworking, doors

5.0

07/24/2010


Charles S.

VERY customer centric company. They are not the cheapest, but if you want the job done correctly and your and lifestyle respected, this is the company to choose. Bidding negotiation took several months to get the project within our budget. In the end, we did our own painting to keep the cost in our budget. They go above and beyond to ensure you are happy with their work. After a year, they have returned three times to repair minor items that needed attention. They do so promptly. They make it a point to clean up daily. This extends the job a little, because often the last hour or so of their day is cleaning up, but when you consider its affect on your day to day lifestyle, it is worth it.

Description of Work
Did a major kitchen renovation on a ~1870s colonial. Included brick wall knock down, new window in exterior brick wall, appliance location move, and some custom cabinetry. Unexpected work included complete non-code plumbing rework above kitchen.

Category remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

2.0

07/06/2010


Daisy M.

I called to set up an appointment for a quote and the secretary seemed confused?!? She could not get her month/date/times in order to make the appointment....Then, she calls me a day or two prior to the appointment and was unsure of the starting time. Finally, when the appointment came around, the guy never showed!!! He did call me approx. four hours later apologizing because he totally forgot about me. GEE, THANKS A LOT!!!!

Description of Work
None!

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

We are truly sorry that Ms. Marin was inconvenienced. Unfortunately we are human and sometimes life happens. We did offer to reschedule the appointment for a time that was convenient for Ms. Marin; however, this was not something she was interested in. As an organization we pride ourselves on being understanding and respectful of other people and their time. It is unfortunate that our representative missed the scheduled appointment; however, he did own up to it and he did try to make it right. Bruce Snyder, President Penn Contractors Inc.

5.0

06/27/2010


Gregory B.

We received a lot of help picking out the door, which we appreciated. They were able to bring our selection up on the PC to allow us to visualize what we selected exactly, down to the color and glass type. They were prompt and very nice to work with. Once the door arrived, they scheduled an appointment to install. The install was very neat and the installer cleaned up before he left. The installation went well. One of the inside slats were broken, so they reordered it and came back to install it as soon as it came in. It was a very good experience to work with this company and we would purchase from them again in the future. We love our new door, it has definitely added value to our home.

Description of Work
We purchased a metal front door with two full side lights. Custom glass in the side lights and fan window on the door. The door was installed along with the complete frame.

Category remodeling, doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    Jack Lehr Heating Cooling & Electric

    Family business providing residential and commercial heating cooling and electric services to the greater Lehigh Valley since 1973. Last year we helped our customers reduce their annual energy costs by over $250,000 per year while improving the comfort and health of their homes.  

    Tru Basement Waterproofing inc

    We can fix all types of Foundations, we install sump pumps replace sump pumps, remove mold, we also do professional waterproofing with materials that exceed and meet Code Compliance in all townships. From time to time we also remove unwanted items and in coincidentally we also do water damage cleanup. Homeowners can call today for a free estimate. Call 610-420-1721 and don't forget to mention you're an Angie's List member to take advantage of a 5% discount!  

    A+ Waterproofing & Foundation Repair LLC

    Choose A+ Waterproofing LLC for all of your foundation, basement, seal coating and waterproofing needs. We pride ourselves on our professionalism, high quality workmanship, and excellent customer service.Locally owned and operated, serving all of Lehigh Valley & surrounding areas.  

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Complimentary proposal or design consultation.
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    2.5
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Kitchen Remodeling, Master Bathroom Remodeling, Bathroom Remodeling, Glass Showers, Home Additions, Whole House Remodeling, Basement Remodeling, Interior Remodeling, Exterior Remodeling, Basement Remodeling, Three-Season Rooms, Covered Patios, Custom Decks, Doors and Covered Front Porches, Entrance-ways, Windows, Skylights, Custom New Home Construction.

    Services Not Offered

    Small Repairs. Handyman Services. Gutter Cleaning.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Penn Contractors Inc.

    How is Penn Contractors Inc. overall rated?

    Penn Contractors Inc. is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Penn Contractors Inc. open?

    Penn Contractors Inc. is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Penn Contractors Inc. provide

    Penn Contractors Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa

    Does Penn Contractors Inc. offer free estimates?

    No, Penn Contractors Inc. does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Penn Contractors Inc. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Penn Contractors Inc. offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Penn Contractors Inc. offer a senior discount?

    No, Penn Contractors Inc. does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Penn Contractors Inc.?

    Yes, Penn Contractors Inc. offers warranties.

    What services does Penn Contractors Inc. offer?

    Penn Contractors Inc. offers the following services: Kitchen Remodeling, Master Bathroom Remodeling, Bathroom Remodeling, Glass Showers, Home Additions, Whole House Remodeling, Basement Remodeling, Interior Remodeling, Exterior Remodeling, Basement Remodeling, Three-Season Rooms, Covered Patios, Custom Decks, Doors and Covered Front Porches, Entrance-ways, Windows, Skylights, Custom New Home Construction.

    Are there any services Penn Contractors Inc. does not offer?

    Small Repairs. Handyman Services. Gutter Cleaning.