Pierce L Shallis Landscaping & Design

About

Founded 2008 • With Angi since September 2009

Pierce L. Shallis Landscaping & Design specializes in Design, Installation and Property Management. We are located in Edgemont, Pennsylvania and have been creating and managing Delaware County, Chester County, and The Mainline areas finest properties since 2008. Owner, Pierce L. Shallis, is a recent graduate of Philadelphia University and has earned us the reputation of the premier residential and commercial landscape service providers in the area. We operate on one simple principle to provide each customer with the highest quality personalized service. We understand that each of our clients have different needs and all of our designs and concepts are customized to satisfy each customer in a unique way. Our commitment to providing the best landscapes in a timely, cost effective and professional manner is what sets us apart from the competition. Our goal is to create and maintain excellent long-term client relationships, and to bring your landscape visions to life. No matter what your landscape needs, Pierce L. Shallis Landscaping & Design will provide you with the highest quality of service in the industry, while ensuring you are satisfied with the finished project. Contact us today and browse our website to learn more about how Pierce L. Shallis Landscaping & Design can exceed your expectations! ***We offer $25 off any invoice for Military or Senior Citizen****...

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+57 more images

Verified Reviews

4.9

(284) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

269

4

8

3

1

2

2

1

4

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

lawn & landscaping (261)lawn care (145)mulch delivering (129)hardscaping (50)excavating (29)stone & gravel (25)drain pipe installation (21)landscape lighting (19)Patios (11)tree service (54)leaf removal (35)lawn treatment (30)
Showing 1-25 of 284 reviews
5.0

06/17/2022


Mark C.

We have received several compliments regarding the landscaping just completed. Pierce and his team were an outstanding resource for renovation of what appeared to be a hopeless mess of weeds and stumps in the front of our home; resulting from overgrown shrubs and so-called "dwarf" evergreens removed previously. Pierce was a patient and eager landscaping contractor, listening carefully to our needs and budget and formulating a beautiful refurbishment of the area described above. Pierce's knowledge of plant selection appeared comprehensive and he helped us understand and select an attractive array of perennials and shrubs. Further, Pierce engineered a near weed-free planting area that made our curving flagstone walkway especially attractive. Pierce L. Shallis Landscaping & Design is not the cheapest but his prices are very reasonable for the thoughtfulness of design and the quality of their work.

Description of Work
Landscaping the front of our home that incorporated existing hardscaping.

Category excavators, landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/16/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our company! Our goal is always to be as transparent as possible, while offering the highest standard in quality, both in client care and in product and installation. We hope that you thoroughly enjoy your outdoor space and hope to hear from you in the future. Thank you, again! Pierce Shallis & The Team

5.0

06/15/2022


Michael W.

Stupendous work! Price charged was more than fair. Pierce and his team were communicative, thoughtful, and respectful of our property. Installation was fast and the lawn looks great! Would absolutely hire his team again!

Description of Work
Tilling and installation of sod in backyard.

Category excavators, lawn service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you, very much, for taking time to write a review of our company! We are thrilled that you are happy with the work and enjoyed working with our team. We look forward to hearing from you in the future! Thank you, Pierce & The Team

5.0

06/01/2022


Monica S.

Excellent work, helpful, responsive, knowledgeable.

Description of Work
Front garden design and set up

Category excavators, landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you, very much, for taking the time to write a review! We truly appreciated the opportunity to work with you and hope to hear from you in the future. Thank you, Pierce Shallis & Team

5.0

06/01/2022


Julie R.

We are incredibly happy with the service that Pierce and team provided! From the first meeting, Pierce listened to me and worked with our budget. He immediately shared his vision for the area. It's like this: when I go to the hairdresser, I share what I'm thinking, but I like to leave it to the expert about what would look good based on my hair type, age, lifestyle, etc. Pierce was able to describe what he was thinking and way, based on location, sun exposure, size of the area, etc. He walked me through the entire process from start to finish - he even offered to have me come to the nursery to participate in choosing plants. I received frequent email updates about the date of service, with a back-up plan for inclement weather. The service was done in less than one business day. The team checked in with me throughout the day and had me check plant placement and input on lighting. Barbie followed up to make sure we were completely satisfied with the project, and she provided me with detailed watering instructions and follow up for maintenance for upcoming seasons. We interviewed several companies and decided on Pierce - love the small business feel and personalized attention. We are thrilled with our landscaping!

Description of Work
Landscaping

Category excavators, mulch, outdoor lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/17/2022

Images

Review for Pierce L Shallis Landscaping & Design - PO Box 146, Edgmont, PA - 39751012

+1 More

Service Provider Response

We are so appreciative of your thorough review - thank you! We strive to ensure that all of our clients are well taken care of. We look forward to hearing from you in the future. We hope you enjoy your outdoor space! Thank You! Pierce Shallis & The Team

5.0

05/27/2022


Ryan W.

My wife and I hired Pierce Shallis Landscaping to cleanup our yard, install mulch and regrade the side of our house that was collecting water. Pierce and his team were all friendly and on time. They did an amazing job and were fast and efficient. The outside of our house looks like a model home thanks to Pierce and his team. Now we can sit back, relax and enjoy our beautiful outdoor space. I would highly recommend!!

Description of Work
Yard Cleanup, Grading, Grass Seed, Mulch

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you, very much, for taking the time to write a review! We enjoyed working with you and are thrilled that you are happy with the outcome. We look forward to hearing from you in the future! Thank you, Pierce Shallis & The Team

5.0

05/23/2022


CAROLYN P.

Pierce Shallis Landscaping re-did our back yard and put in a curtain drain along our new deck. The backyard job consisted of filling in a dip in the yard with several cubic yards of topsoil and regrading it, and planting new grass. I was a somewhat “picky” customer. I asked Mr. Shallis and company to do the job in two stages, putting down the topsoil first and then planting the grass after I’d had a chance to kill any weeds that had sprouted from seeds in the topsoil. I wanted them to use salt hay rather than field straw as a mulch/covering, and to use a grass-seed mix I’d selected. (I ordered and paid for the salt hay and grass seed.) Mr. Shallis was very helpful and accommodated my requests cheerfully. His crew worked together well and efficiently; he was involved in some of the work himself, and is obviously respected and liked by his employees. The crew was unfailingly cheerful, good-humored, and respectful. I very much enjoyed having them work on the property. The work was done very efficiently and very well. Mr. Shallis regularly checked with me to see that I was pleased. He made recommendations for follow-up care on our new lawn. I felt that the price for the work we had done was reasonable considering its high quality. I plan to ask Mr. Shallis to work on our property again, and recommend him to others with confidence and enthusiasm.

Description of Work
Back yard re-done, curtain drain installed

Category excavators, landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/22/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are so appreciative of your review! Our team continues to reach for higher standards. We look forward to hearing from you in the future and thank you in advance for your recommendation! Thank you! Pierce Shallis & Team

5.0

12/01/2021


Hoa M.

Pierce Landscaping and lawn service has maintained our lawn for the last six years or more. Pierce, the owner is very responsive and his crew professional. He knows his business and have advised us on what plants/ trees would do well in various areas of our yard. Highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Landscaping and lawn maintenance

Category landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, leaf removal, mulch, outdoor lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/01/2021

Images

Review for Pierce L Shallis Landscaping & Design - PO Box 146, Edgmont, PA - 39558524

+6 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a thorough review of our company. We do strive to ensure that our clients' properties are maintained to the best standards. We truly thank you for your continued business and look forward to continuing with the care of your property. Thank you, Pierce & Heather

5.0

10/25/2021


Matthew D.

It could not have turned out better. Pierce and his team were timely, fairly priced and the work turned out better than I thought possible. I would highly recommend them for any landscaping need or hardscaping job.

Description of Work
Front walk hardscaping

Category excavators, landscaping, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your very kind review! We do strive to provide the best quality workmanship possible - we are pleased to hear that we didn't disappoint in this field. We appreciate the opportunity to have worked with you and we hope to hear from you in the future. Thank you, Pierce & Heather

5.0

09/30/2021


Jonathan T.

Pierce’s team was very responsive and was at my house within a week of writing. I was looking for some specific trees and he searched for them in his network over the weekend immediately following our meeting. Ultimately I found the inventory elsewhere which is the only reason I didn’t hire his firm. They were very responsive and I appreciated the honesty at all points.

Description of Work
Tree planting and Landscaping

Category landscaping

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/30/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review! We are sorry that we were unable to locate the inventory you needed for this project, and greatly appreciate your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to be awarded your business in the future. Thank you, Pierce & Heather

5.0

08/17/2021


Cecilia A.

Pierce and his team are ultimate professionals. I had been contacting other landscapers who kept pushing the schedule, did not respond to questions. The communication and responsiveness of this company was very impressive from start to finish. Pierce walked me through a wholesale nursery to pick the plants I was interested in, explaining which would work best in the design. The on-site landscapers were amazing, working non-stop, polite and customer oriented. I am delighted with the whole experience and the finished product - my beautiful new garden!

Description of Work
Created new 40' garden in back of house, recreated garden with new shrubbery in the front of house

Category landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, mulch

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/17/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review! We are very happy that you had an enjoyable experience with our company. We appreciate having had the opportunity to work with you and we hope to be awarded your business in the future! Thank you, Pierce & Heather

5.0

07/22/2021


Sarah D.

Pierce did a wonderful job on the-doing my landscaping and taking down a deck and doing a patio. Piece’s crew is polite respectful. The come when they say they will and work is completed timely.

Description of Work
Landscaping and Hardscaping

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, mulch, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/22/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us! We appreciate your loyal business and look forward to working with you in the future. Thank you, Pierce & Heather

5.0

06/16/2021


Bob S.

Excellent service. The finished patio looks great, and the work was completed quickly. The crew was great. They were professional and friendly, and they made sure to ask for our input throughout the process. This company was somewhat more expensive than other bids we got, but the extra money proved to be worth it in this instance.

Description of Work
Excavation and Hardscaping (Patio)

Category excavators, hardscaping, patios

Cost $23,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/16/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our company. We enjoyed working with you and are thrilled that you're happy with the end result. We hope to be awarded with your business in the future. Thank you, Pierce & Heather

5.0

06/07/2021


Brett E.

They were great! From the estimate to the execution, great communication, great work, all as you'd hope for.

Description of Work
Landscaping (mulch, shrubs)

Category excavators, landscaping, lawn service, mulch

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/27/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review of our business. We enjoyed working with you and hope to do so again, in the future. Thank you, Pierce & Heather

5.0

06/02/2021


Karrie L.

The replacement of my retaining wall project went very well. I had a wood retaining wall removed and a stone wall built in its place with new landscaping above it. I could tell from the start, this was a very experienced, knowledgeable, and organized company. From initial conversations with Cody, to direct contact with the owner Pierce, to the mason expert Curtis, and detail oriented worker John, they completely made me feel at ease throughout the whole process. Project kicked off earlier than expected and finished a day sooner. I absolutely love the results of my new retaining wall!

Description of Work
Replace Retaining Wall

Category excavators, landscaping, mulch, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/13/2021

Images

Review for Pierce L Shallis Landscaping & Design - PO Box 146, Edgmont, PA - 39355037

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our company! We truly enjoyed working with you and are thrilled that you are happy with the outcome. We look forward to being awarded the opportunity of working with you on future projects. Thank you, Pierce & Heather

5.0

05/20/2021


Ronald M.

Excellent work. Pierce thoroughly evaluated what would be involved to accomplish our intended goals for the project. Cody and crew did an excellent job executing the work. They were thorough and respectful of our property. They did an outstanding job cleaning up after the work was done.

Description of Work
Downspout drains buried away from foundation, raise areas of lawn to stop ponding, edging installed to contain mulch, and rhododendron planted

Category excavators, landscaping, drain pipe, hardscaping

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/20/2021

Images

Review for Pierce L Shallis Landscaping & Design - PO Box 146, Edgmont, PA - 39339079

+3 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review our company! We enjoyed working with you and hope to be awarded your business again in the future. Thank you, Pierce & Heather

5.0

11/23/2020


Micki E.

We were very pleased with Pierce and his team's work on our landscaping project. We would use them again and highly recommend to others.

Description of Work
Landscaping

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/12/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your time in writing a review of our business. We are happy to know that you are satisfied with the completed work. We look forward to working with you again in the future! Thank you, Pierce & Heather

5.0

10/29/2020


Matthew A.

Start to finish it was an excellent experience. During the initial visit, Pierce took the time to hear what I was looking for, answer questions I had, and also ask his own questions and make suggestions where relevant. From that point on he was always very accessible and happy to answer any of the (many) questions that I had throughout the process. The team was able to complete the work efficiently and with minimal disruption to my family or my neighbors. His team members were all great representatives of the company as well, providing quality work and thoughtful suggestions. The end product is such a massive upgrade over what we previously had - it looks amazing, and we're so glad we chose Pierce Shallis for this work. To top it all off, Pierce has been very helpful after the fact in making himself available to answer any maintenance questions and offer guidance where needed. I will definitely work with Pierce Shallis again for any future landscaping needs and would highly recommend them to anyone looking to revamp their landscaping.

Description of Work
We had Pierce and his team do a complete overhaul of our exterior, including sod, a fence, new mulch and plants, and aeration/seeding where sod was not practical.

Category fencing, landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, mulch

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/29/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed a review on Angie's List! We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the quality and customer service provided. Thank you very much for your business. We look forward to working with you in the future. Thank you, Pierce & Heather

5.0

10/15/2020


Kevin C.

Pierce and team were an absolute pleasure to work with. He offered great ideas to achieve my main objective of low maintenance landscaping that also looks great. They were extremely thorough as well. They eliminated one existing bed and put grass seed down. I feel like most companies would simply tear it up, rake it out, and throw down seed. Pierce and team brough in additional topsoil and made sure everything was perfectly level before seeding. Additionally in one area near the end of my driveway, I wanted some river rock as a permanent weed barrier where I place my trashcans. They could have simply, ripped up existing weeds, put down fabric and stone and called it a day. They felt it would sit too high, so they dug out several inches of topsoil first so it sat lower. The process of choosing plants with them is great as they include you and let YOU make the decisions with their guidance. I will be coming back to Pierce when we are ready for our next project.

Description of Work
Landscape Design - removal of existing and new plants

Category landscaping

Cost $6,950

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/14/2020

Service Provider Response

We are absolutely thrilled that you were happy with the quality and care we try to give to every client. We truly appreciate your time in writing this thorough review, and thank you for it! We look forward to working with you again in the future, it was a true pleasure. Thank you, Pierce & Heather

5.0

10/14/2020


Caroline F.

redesigned my front planting beds, regraded side of house, cleaned up overgrowth in backyard

Description of Work
They were very professional, very easy to work with, and highly skilled at both design and labor involved in the project. Hiring again in the spring .

Category landscaping, lawn service

Cost $4,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/08/1970

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review our company. We appreciate having worked with you and look forward to working with you again this next spring. Thank you, Pierce & Heather

5.0

09/18/2020


John S.

A+ from the beginning to the end. Treated my property like it was their own. The entire scope of the project was such a pleasure. I’m someone who like to do things myself, but hiring Pierce Landscaping and getting such a great crew makes me want to look for additional projects to hire them again. Would highly recommend to friends and family for any landscaping projects. Thank you! Extremely happy customers!

Description of Work
Backyard makeover - patio pavers

Category excavators, landscaping, hardscaping, patios

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/18/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We work our hardest to provide the absolute best to each and every client that we speak with. We thoroughly enjoyed working with you and hope to hear from you, again, soon. Thank you, Pierce & Heather

5.0

09/02/2020


Pat L.

Awesomely. Very happy. The new and replacement plantings are very nice. Also, those concrete slabs have been there since house purchased over 30 years ago. Hadn't even planned to ask about that but since I wanted two of the bushes planted in that area I asked just for the heck of it . I was surprised when Pierce said they can get them out of there. Will definitely use again.

Description of Work
Trimmed way back as requested, a huge forsythia bush and a overhanging sidewalk rose of sharon; planted an azalea bush, a hydrangea and 2 coralberry bushes; replaced 1 of the earlier winterberry bushes that didn't make it; cleaned up more dead branches around yard; filled in a hole in front yard and most of all removed a lot of big cement slabs and old pressured wood pieces that were imbeded in ground.

Category landscaping, lawn service

Cost $1,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/02/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you are satisfied with the work completed. We hope to hear from you in the future! Thank you, Pierce & Heather

5.0

08/28/2020


Thomas E.

Pierce comes highly recommended: he has done multiple jobs for us, always with wonderful results. He installed a sod lawn which, a year later, is lush and beautiful. Recently, he solved a serious drainage issue by installing a French drain and river rock; he also accompanied us to the nursery to help select specimen trees and shrubs, which he installed. We are consistently impressed with his professionalism, attention to detail, and prompt/thoughtful responses to questions and requests. We will use him for all landscaping projects in the future!

Description of Work
Sod lawn installation; tree planting and landscaping

Category landscaping, lawn service, stamped concrete

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/28/2020