Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Lou Curley's Chimney Service

Founded 2009 • With Angi since August 2010

20 years experience. Member of the National Chimney Sweep Guild, member of the Pennsylvania Guild of Professional Chimney Sweeps, member of the Hearth, Barbecue, Patio Association. Certified by the Chimney Safety Institute of America, F.I.R.E. Certified Fireplace and Chimney Inspector, F.I.R.E. Certified Technician, F.I.R.E. Registered Hearth Advisor, Certified Dryer Vent Technician, National Fireplace Institute Certified Woodburning, Gas and Pellet Specialist, NFI Master Hearth Professional.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
No
Warranties
No
Senior Discount
5%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Licensed
Trade License Number
PA057475
Trade License Locale
Pennsylvania
Trade License Authority
Commonwealth of PA
Trade License Expiration
10/28/2017
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

5.0

(63) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 63 reviews
Larry B.
5.0
03/06/2021
Lou Curley did a perfect job of cleaning out my very clogged-up vents. Everything went well and I will have them in for my next cleaning.
Description of Work
Dryer Vent Cleaning
Category
chimney sweep, dryer vent cleaning
Rob D.
5.0
12/30/2019
I’ve had Lou of Lou Curley’s Chimney Service work on two of my homes in the last decade and have been very happy with the results each time. I appreciate contractors that are reliable, do things right the first time, and treat my home as if it were their own. Lou definitely checks off all of those boxes. Not only was he able to re-line my aging furnace chimney quickly and efficiently (in the rain no less), he also took the time to educate me on and discuss some suggestions for my wood burning fireplace. Lou and his staff are skilled, friendly and total pros. I highly recommend them if you are looking for a certified chimney sweep!
Description of Work
Chimney relining
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair
John E.
5.0
07/23/2018
We had our chimney cleaned by another company due to a strong smell but the cleaning did not get rid of the problem. I called Lou to get a second opinion and he did an extremely thorough inspection and identified an area of the chimney that the first company had missed. He cleaned that area for a reduced price and even called a couple days later to make sure the smell was still gone. He is definitely my go-to for any future chimney issues and cleaning.
Description of Work
Chimney Cleaning
Category
chimney sweep
JUAN T.
5.0
06/01/2018
Lou stands by his work. During the cleaning process a piece of parging came lose and Lou came out within hours to repair it. Lou also noticed a another gap while here and sealed it free of charge. I look forward to working with Lou again... Highly recommended!
Description of Work
Chimney cleaning and inspection
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair
DAVID M.
5.0
02/15/2018
Lou and his staff were excellent. The scheduling was well handled, he was punctual, professional, obviously knowledgeable, and worked quietly and efficiently to clean and inspect the flue. Upon completion of the work he spent time describing the issues he observed and answering our questions. We really appreciated his low key approach and the quality of his work.
Description of Work
We recently experienced a problem with our heater and were advised by our HVAC company that the issue was related to inadequate updraft because of a problem with our chimney flue liner, which may need replacement. We contacted Lou Curley with the expectation of a very expensive chimney flue replacement. He came the next day, inspected the flue, and told us that it likely just needed cleaning. He subsequently returned, cleaned the flue, inspected it with a video camera, and reconfigured the connection from the heater to the flue. He assured us that the flue did not require replacement and advised us regarding regular periodic inspection.
Category
chimney sweep
deborah Y.
5.0
01/11/2018
It was a great experience. Just wanted to thank Dave and his assistant for doing a great job in cleaning my chimney so that I am able to enjoy my fires, once again! Professional, friendly, and considerate of my hardwood floors, with all the salt and snow that was outside. I would definitely recommend them and will use them in the future.
Description of Work
Chimmney inspection and cleaning
Category
chimney sweep
Yedida G.
5.0
10/25/2017
This was a second opinion as we had previously had another company comeback out and give us an estimate. That company told us that the chimney was in terrible shape and needed to be fixed immediately or we were at risk for a chimney fire. They tried to scare me into a job that was over $4000. I decided to get a second opinion. This company came and said that there was absolutely no emergency and no risk of chimney fire. They did a small repair that cost about $70 (they also did a cleaning for another $170 or so) and suggested yearly evaluations to make sure it wasn't deteriorating further. I really appreciated their honesty and thoroughness.
Description of Work
Chimney inspection and cleaning
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair
John C.
5.0
10/12/2017
arrived on time, crew of two people worked well together. finished the job promptly and cleaned up thoroughly. overall, a very good experience
Description of Work
installed stainless steel chimney flue liner
Category
chimney sweep
Stephen K.
5.0
11/03/2016
It was excellent. The woman, Kim, who answered the phone was very polite, got the service scheduled, and Lou showed up at the agreed-upon time window, cleaned the liner, inspected all of the stone/bricks within the wood stove, and kept my house clean in the process. Would definitely use him again.
Description of Work
Wood burning insert cleaning/inspection of the box, stone, and the liner.
Category
chimney sweep
Joseph B.
5.0
12/18/2015
Arrived promptly at set time. Fireplace was swept and scanned using a camera Gas heating flue was inspected from basement and did not need to be swept. Neither Flue has a cap and Lou recommended on for each. Since I don't know much about them he left a little pamphlet for me to think about. it/ No pressure to purchase caps. They put down a tarp in front of the fireplace before vacuuming and there was no mess.
Description of Work
Cleaned and Inspected. Chimney
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair, fireplaces
Liz B.
5.0
11/06/2015
Provider came out to look at my chimney twice and provided two estimates for the work after another contractor suggested a more elaborate job (relining the chimney as well as capping it). Provider did not try to upsell me on the more expensive option and explained why he didn't think it was necessary. Work was performed extremely promptly and looks good.
Description of Work
Installed a chimney cap.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair
paul C.
5.0
04/06/2015
Lou does a very thorough cleaning of the chimney and flue. He does a full inspection. I asked questions about what could be done to enhance the chimney's heating performance. He was very straightforward in not recommending certain products that are on the market. As described above, he identified an issue with the chimney between the fireplace and furnace flues. He came back to attempt a repair but was unable to complete the work. He did not charge us for the second visit because he said he could not complete the work.
Description of Work
Lou had a identified an issue with the chimney while he was sweeping it. He came back to attempt a repair but was not able to do it. He did not charge us for his time because he said he wasn't able to complete the work. He is a very fair and honest contractor.
Category
chimney sweep, masonry, chimney repair, fireplaces
Peter G.
5.0
04/03/2015
Excellent service and extremely knowledgable.
Description of Work
Cleaned chimney and mortar repair.
Category
chimney sweep, masonry, chimney repair
Barbara T.
5.0
12/23/2014
Called on the appointed day, then arrived on time. Job completed in 1/2 an hour, with no mess in living area. Provider claimed that he used a camera to inspect the chimney, thus avoiding going onto the roof.
Description of Work
Inspected and cleaned chimney.
Category
chimney sweep
Mike B.
5.0
10/07/2014
Lou did all of the above listed work in a timely and professional manner on 5/18/2012. The AMAZING thing is that when I called him on 9/17/2014 to look into why my chimney continues to deteriorate, his assessment was that the job he performed did not hold up as long as what was expected, thus he refunded a significent amount of my money. He told me that the scope of the repair was now beyond what he could do (bricks needed to be removed and reset) and thus he gave me a few names of contractors that could do the work. Lou is an honorable contractor.
Description of Work
spot repoint chimney install 2 stainless steel flue caps reseal existing crown apply water repellant to chimney pointing
Category
chimney sweep, masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair
edward H.
5.0
09/16/2014
He made a prompt appointment, showed up on time. Did a very through inspection and cleaning of the chimney system; and cleaned up any and all of the dirt and soot that was created. I would recommend him to anyone and I will be using him again next fall.
Description of Work
Cleaner chimney and inspected it for defects and /or repairs needed.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair
paul C.
5.0
08/27/2014
Lou Curley is an extremely professional worker. When he was finished cleaning the fireplace chimney there wasn't a trace of soot in the den where the fireplace is located. All surfaces were covered around the fireplace and he was extremely thorough in his work. During the inspection he identified a gap under the top tile of the fireplace flue. He could see the steel liner from the heater flue from the fireplace flue. He gave a detailed listing of the work that was needed and an estimated cost. When he came back out to do the repair he spent well over 90 minutes trying to repair the problem but with no success since there wasn't enough brick for him to secure the cement. He didn't charge us a penny for his visit despite all the time he spent trying to correct the problem. He identified other contractors who could do the major repair of relining the chimney since he felt this was beyond his resources. I will always employ Lou to clean and maintain our chimney. His professionalism and honesty is to be recognized.
Description of Work
Cleaned the fireplace and furnace flues.
Category
chimney sweep
Alyssa B.
5.0
08/12/2014
Lou was WONDERFUL. I would absolutely recommend him to ANYONE with a chimney issue! He was responsive through email and phone, and polite in person. He went through a LOT with our chimney, and behaved very professionally. We will 100% be using his services when the chimney swifts leave in Fall. He even took the time to find an article on the birds and emailed it to me, so I could understand what we are dealing with.
Description of Work
Came to install a chimney cap, but discovered we don't have a flue, so he can't install one. Since we don't use the chimney, we suggested he put a metal plate on top. He manufactured the plate, and came back to install it. Then he discovered we have federally protected chimney swift birds in our chimney & he cannot disturb them. It would be illegal to install the metal cover. We tried to pay him both times he came, but he would not accept payment. When the chimney swifts leave in the fall, he will come back and install the cover, at a cost of $150.00
Category
chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair
Larry B.
5.0
07/28/2014
All went well. As we want to install a gas fireplace, Mr. Curley suggested that we install a direct vent gas insert. He recommended two people who could accomplish this for us, and install the gas fireplace. We will definitely us Mr. Curley again in the future, and recommend him to others.
Description of Work
Mr. Curley inspected our chimney, and cleared our dryer vents.
Category
chimney sweep, dryer vent cleaning
Sylvia K.
5.0
05/16/2014
Everything went well, he inspected the chimney of the home I had just purchased and advised that I have the chimney repaired or sealed due to fire damage. He was very thorough and gave lots of details with images to show all the damage. I would definitely use him again.
Description of Work
Inspected fireplace chimney.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair, fireplaces
Ian B.
5.0
05/05/2014
They were good, great and fine. I would recommend them. They came on time. They were responsive clean and personable.
Description of Work
I've used the service of Lou Curley's Chimney Service for the cleaning of my chimney.
Category
chimney sweep
ROBERT & SUSAN S.
5.0
04/02/2014
Unfortunately, he couldn't clean the chimney due to its design. However, he did provide a lot of helpful information about the chimney and advised me of some design defects that would need to be addressed. In addition, scheduling the service was easy, he arrived on time for the appointment, and he did a professional job in all respects. I also appreciated that he didn't charge the full price since he couldn't do the cleaning. Ultimately, anyone would be happy to have this gentleman in his house.
Description of Work
I hired him to inspect my chimney and to clean it.
Category
chimney sweep
John C.
5.0
03/19/2014
. Called and made an appointment for a few days later. Lou showed up at 8:30 A.M., just like he said he would and was a pro the whole time during the estimate. We worked out a day around the weather to get the job done. Again, 8:30 was his start time, and showed exactly that time. He went straight to work and I could tell ( I worked construction) he knew his stuff. We talked sports a bit while he was inside, but that didn't put the brakes on the job. All I can say is hire Lou Curley's Chimney Service for a great job and great service.
Description of Work
Had new stainless chimney liner installed and some of the flu lines from the heater and hot water heater. New cement was troweled around the old holes in the basement wall.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair
Michael B.
5.0
03/17/2014
The wind blew the cap off. It was in good shape, so Lou securely put it back on. Great job. Thanks.
Description of Work
Re installed chimney cap
Category
chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair
Deb B.
5.0
03/07/2014
Owner (Lou) was very responsive and punctual. Was very clean and professional. We had confidence in his service. Provided photos of the flue problem areas for our action. Does not perform larger scale chimney repair himself.
Description of Work
Chimney sweep (mechanical w/vacuum) and inspection of flue. Used video inspect to identify condition.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair

Phone

Address

4012 State Rd

DREXEL HILL, PA 19026

Other Information

Services offered

Chimney sweeping, caps, dampers, waterproofing, liners, masonry, & dryer vent cleaning.

Payment options

Check
PayPal
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover

FAQ

Lou Curley's Chimney Service is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

Lou Curley's Chimney Service is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Lou Curley's Chimney Service accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

No, Lou Curley's Chimney Service does not offer free project estimates.

Yes, Lou Curley's Chimney Service offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Lou Curley's Chimney Service offers a 5% senior discount.

Yes, Lou Curley's Chimney Service offers emergency services.

No, Lou Curley's Chimney Service does not offer warranties.

Lou Curley's Chimney Service offers the following services: Chimney sweeping, caps, dampers, waterproofing, liners, masonry, & dryer vent cleaning.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

New Image Chimney Care

5.0

(10)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

New Image Chimney Care

We specialize in chimney services and repairs, chimney caps, chimney sweeps, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

Artistic Masonry Co

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Artistic Masonry Co

Trust your next masonry project to the professionals. Not only do we offer you an insured and licensed specialist to lay out your project, we also provide you with exclusive warranties on our products and services. Ask your masonry expert during your estimate about what warranties we can offer you. With over 24 years of experience in masonry, Artistic Masonry Company is the premiere authority on all stone and brickwork in Philadelphia and the surrounding areas. No travel charges. No service fees. Award winning. Additional DBA - Artistic Masonry Company.  

Warrington Chimney & Fireplace is a full service Chimney Cleaning, Inspection & Repair contractor. We service Philadelphia, Bucks, Montgomery Counties & South Jersey. *A Chimney Company You Can Trust* We are dedicated to providing our community with the most efficient and highest quality service to get their system up and running in no time! At Warrington Chimney & Fireplace - we are a local, skilled, and trustworthy company that is committed to keeping our customers up and running every day, every season. Keep your home and loved ones safe.