Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Alan Conkling Garage Door Service

Founded 2000 • With Angi since November 2004

4.8

(256) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1700 Butler Pike

Conshohocken, PA 19428

Description

Family owned & operated Philadelphia since 2000. Alan answers all phone calls if you have a garage door problem give me a call. I might be able to fix it over the phone and save you a service call.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Joan K.
5.0
06/16/2022
Mike was fabulous. He initially did a great repair job with a challenging situation. Then he installed a new door. The work was dine professionally and I love the results. Mike is a lovely man and very easy to work with. He explains all the steps in a most professional manner. Thank you Mike.
Description of Work
repair and then install a new door
Category
garage doors
Peter H.
2.0
11/15/2021
We called on Friday to have a broken garage door fixed and was told someone would be out on Saturday to look at. Rep arrived as promised, took a quick look at garage door and told us we need full replacement as frame was broken and cost would be $3000. We contacted another vendor following Monday who came out, assessed the repair, and fixed it for $150.
Description of Work
Garage door repair
Category
garage doors
KC B.
5.0
10/07/2021
Excellent - thought I needed to buy a new one but Matt was able to just fix it.
Description of Work
Check garage door opener
Category
garage doors, doors
Peter H.
5.0
07/10/2020
Excellent service! Called Conklin and 30 minutes later Mike and AJ arrived. They quickly assessed the problem and 40 minutes later garage door working as good as new. Highly recommend.
Description of Work
Repair - large spring broke
Category
garage doors
Barry L.
5.0
07/04/2019
He immediately saw the problem, fixed the mechanism and left.
Description of Work
Garage door would not open
Category
garage doors, doors
Mary K.
5.0
06/11/2019
Great. Mike was the service man. He was knowledgeable and fixed it right away without any hesitation. The cost was very reasonable and Mike was very professional.
Description of Work
garage door sensors were not working
Category
garage doors
Kate M.
5.0
03/04/2019
I left a message after 6:00 on a weeknight after trying to get out of the garage. We needed them to come the next morning. We received a message back that evening and they were at our home by 9:00 the next morning. They diagnosed the problem- broken spring. Replaced it and examined everything to make sure it was good. Great job- thanks!
Description of Work
Spring replaced on Garage door
Category
garage doors
Augusto L.
5.0
10/19/2018
Alan Conkling called me right after I requested a service to fix the garage door, it opened but didn't close. He called me several times when i was away. We finally agreed on a date that fit my working schedule. A technician came to see what needed to be done and explained to me in detail that one of the sensors didn't function; he replaced it and lubricated the garage mechanism. He was knowledgeable, courteous and pleasant.
Description of Work
Garage door malfunction
Category
garage doors
Charles K.
5.0
09/29/2018
The service was excellent. All the local companies I called were unable to come out to service the garage door on a Saturday and short notice. They required that I schedule service one day next week. Alan Conkling offered to at least try to squiz me today, otherwise they would definitely service me on Monday. About 40 minutes later, I got a call from Alan Conkling stating that they would have someone over within 15 minutes to service the garage door. A service person came within 15 minutes and immediately accessed and resolved the problem. I cannot say enough good things about the service and the reasonable price.
Description of Work
My automatic two car garage door was unable to lift. The left side guard-rail used by the wheels of the door became dislodged from the garage, and the cable snapped. My car was stuck in the garage, because I was unable to manually lift the door.
Category
garage doors
Bob R.
5.0
09/20/2018
Alan was prompt, professional and attentive. Three weeks later, the doors work great. His pricing was fair and the work top notch. I highly recommend Alan Conkling!
Description of Work
Replace garage doors.
Category
garage doors
Anthony D.
5.0
09/10/2018
It was outstanding. These guys are tremendous. They gave me an estimate for just showing up which was very reasonable, they showed up within an hour, on time and the technician was tremendous pointing out suggestions and how to lubricate it, due to my request. I would definitely hire them again. Alan, the owner is the one who I communicated with and he was very professional and modest. Their competitors were very arrogant and unapologetic. A joke really. Thank God for competition. I wish the cable company or the airlines were this good.
Description of Work
Adjust and repair the garage door mechanism
Category
garage doors
Helen H.
5.0
08/22/2018
Great. The was on time, professional and did a great job.
Description of Work
Garage door replacement
Category
garage doors
John S.
5.0
08/06/2018
I can highly recommend Conklin Garage Door Repair. They answered the phone on a Sunday afternoon and arranged for Jay to come first thing the next morning. When I asked about coupons, I was told one was available on their website which reduced the bill by $40. Jay called shortly before 8 am and arrived by 8:15. The job took about 45 minutes and at no additional cost he also replaced some rollers with short shanks which had caused me trouble in the past. The work was professional and reasonable in cost. Much relief to be able to get my car out of the garage and I would have had no clue how to go about fixing it myself! Thanks, Jay!
Description of Work
replace broken garage door spring
Category
garage doors
David M.
5.0
04/23/2018
The installer did the job well and quickly. The new Liftmaster opener works great. He even got my door to open a few inches higher so that there is more clearance for my car with stuff on top to get into the garage. The only negative was that the installer had no idea how to connect the opener to the internet and to the Liftmaster app on my phone. In the end I had to call Liftmaster support because the manual is sketchy and leaves off some important info. The got me connected quickly. A knowledgeable installer should have known this. He was knowledgeable about the rest of the operation of the opener.
Description of Work
New garage door opener installed
Category
garage doors
FLORENCE Z.
5.0
03/28/2018
Mike was there within the hour. Fixed it promptly and said nothing was broken.
Description of Work
Our garage door came off its track.
Category
garage doors
Chris K.
5.0
03/22/2018
Great service. Called in the middle of a nor'easter, and they came at 8 the next morning. Jay was great. He was very professional and friendly, knew exactly what needed to be done, and was in and out in just over an hour. Would highly recommend.
Description of Work
Replacement of torsion unit with springs on garage door
Category
garage doors
Carolyn F.
5.0
02/09/2018
I was told he would be there in the afternoon but called me a little later to say he was able to come at 9:30 am. He was right on time. It was determined the problem was with the garage door opener. He had a garage door opener in his truck and installed it right away. The job was done quickly. I also had a new keypad for the garage door installed and he walked me through setting it up and we tested it before he left. I was pleased with what was done.
Description of Work
Checked to see if my problem was the actual garage door (it was not opening all the way) or if it was the garage door opener.
Category
garage doors
Richard T.
5.0
02/05/2018
My garage door springs snapped which meant that my garage door could not be opened at all. They were wonderful with coming out the same day I called and going above and beyond to obtain and install replacement springs that very same day.
Description of Work
Replacement of garage door springs
Category
garage doors
Bob M.
5.0
02/01/2018
Called Alan, he came out on a Saturday morning and replaced the spring, cables, reset the garage door opener all under an hour. Did a great job, could not have been happier with the service. Very nice guy and extremely responsive. We will use again when i have another automatic garage door opener installed in the spring.
Description of Work
Spring broke on my garage door causing it to jam shut and shearing off the cables.
Category
garage doors
Judith S.
5.0
10/23/2017
Rapid response to my phone call. I scheduled the project with Alan, who gave me a ballpark price estimate over the phone. We originally scheduled the door for the next day, then he called back to say they had time for me on a same day basis. Terrific! Mike arrived on time & fixed the problem quickly, so now the garage door works fine. Cost was as stated. Alan phoned afterwards to make sure I was pleased. All in all, a good experience. Thanks. Janet.
Description of Work
Manual garage door was broken. I think the cable or spring was the big problem as the door was nearly impossible to open & once open, it wanted to crash downwards.
Category
garage doors
Abby M.
4.0
10/19/2017
He did a good job. He did a good job for me. I liked him.
Description of Work
.
Category
garage doors
PK Y.
5.0
09/21/2017
Very well done. We're very satisfied and will definitely recommend them to anyone.
Description of Work
Garage door repair
Category
garage doors
Lynda C.
4.0
09/01/2017
As far as I can remember he did a good job and in fact, I didn't need to have it re-serviced until about 3 months ago. I would recommend him to others.
Description of Work
I purchased a big deal for $100 for $125 Worth of Garage Door Repairs
Category
garage doors
TERRY W.
5.0
08/14/2017
Went well. Never suggested I get a new door as some other garage door repair companies have done.
Description of Work
Fixing garage door pulley.
Category
garage doors
Leslie C.
5.0
08/08/2017
Great! Very fast and professional service
Description of Work
2 garage door replacements, tracks and lifters
Category
garage doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    Overhead Door Co of Allentown

    Overhead Door Co. of Allentown is a family owned business and has been serving the Greater Lehigh Valley since 1962. The main goals of our company are to serve each customer professionally and install the best product that we can supply all within a fair competitive price and timely manner. We strive to be the best and will try to accommodate our customer’s needs to make your purchase with us a totally pleasant experience. Angie's List Super Service Award winner 4 year in a row beginning in 2012.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Secure For Sure LLC

    With great workmanship and extensive experience, we have seen it all and are experts in our field. Licensed and insured, we will safely and securely ensure the job is done to your satisfaction. 24/7 emergency, nights, weekends and holidays at no extra charge! Call us today; (888) 691-4045. Additional email - info@secureforsurellc.com. Additional fax - (215) 394-8363.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    J & R Garage Door Company Inc

    J & R Garage Door Company, Inc. is a locally owned and operated company in Bensalem, Pennsylvania, is the area's premier destination for garage door services, including installation, maintenance, & repair. We look forward to hearing from you!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Check, Discover
    Senior Discount
    n/a
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Garage door & opener repair & installation. Repair & replace service on broken springs, rollers, cables, pulleys, receivers, & transmitters.

    Services Not Offered

    BARN DOORS WHICH SLIDE LEFT, RIGHT OR OPEN FROM THE CENTER, SERVICE ONE PIECE DOORS COMMONLY CALLED CALIFORNIA DOORS.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Alan Conkling Garage Door Service

    How is Alan Conkling Garage Door Service overall rated?

    Alan Conkling Garage Door Service is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Alan Conkling Garage Door Service provide

    Alan Conkling Garage Door Service accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Check, Discover

    Does Alan Conkling Garage Door Service offer free estimates?

    No, Alan Conkling Garage Door Service does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Alan Conkling Garage Door Service offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Alan Conkling Garage Door Service does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Alan Conkling Garage Door Service offer a senior discount?

    No, Alan Conkling Garage Door Service does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Alan Conkling Garage Door Service offer emergency services?

    Yes, Alan Conkling Garage Door Service offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Alan Conkling Garage Door Service?

    No, Alan Conkling Garage Door Service does not offer warranties.

    What services does Alan Conkling Garage Door Service offer?

    Alan Conkling Garage Door Service offers the following services: Garage door & opener repair & installation. Repair & replace service on broken springs, rollers, cables, pulleys, receivers, & transmitters.

    Are there any services Alan Conkling Garage Door Service does not offer?

    BARN DOORS WHICH SLIDE LEFT, RIGHT OR OPEN FROM THE CENTER, SERVICE ONE PIECE DOORS COMMONLY CALLED CALIFORNIA DOORS.