Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

The Wallologist

Founded 1984 • With Angi since April 2007

4.8

(110) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

810 Wyandotte St

Catasauqua, PA 18032

Description

Fully licensed and insured general and/or subcontractor. Over 25 years of experience in residential and commercial drywall. Main scope of business is finished basements and drywall installations and repairs....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/30/2018


Annet G.

Brian's guys were great. I needed the length of the garage drywalled after a flood in the garage forced me to remove all the wet drywall. He put in mold/water resistant green drywall in less than a day. He was working several large jobs and I expected that he would make me wait, but he didn't. He fit me in almost right away, did the work on a Saturday so I wouldn't have to miss work, and did a great job. He made me feel like my project was just as important as any huge job. I would hire him again for any other renovation at the house. Thanks Brian and Steve.

Description of Work
Drywall garage

Category drywall

5.0

10/16/2017


Becki K.

Brian was great! He went above and beyond the repair. He evened out my entire ceiling and fixed some cracks. I mentioned where a toilet had leaked and he replaced that as well. He was very professional, personable, and very detail oreiented!

Description of Work
Ceiling repair from a roof leak

Category drywall,plastering

5.0

05/15/2016


jason L.

Brian does great work; he is fair, reasonable and a pleasure to deal with. I strongly recommend him.

Description of Work
This time around Brian came in and hung a drop ceiling for us. We have used Brian several times over the years at the two houses we have owned in the area. In our last home he skim coated plaster walls to fill crakcs etc. In out current home he framed the basement, insulated, dry-walled and spackled.

Category contractors,drywall,woodworking,basement remodeling

5.0

04/11/2016


Cynthia G.

We are very happy with the work in both rooms. Brian is a very busy guy - but he manages his business well. He was always quick to reply to a phone call or a text message. The work was done within timeframe discussed. Price was reasonable and comparable to other quotes. One of the nice things was that he removed all of the unused drywall and swept up after working each day. We have had other vendors who leave their mess and excess materials behind - so this was a great plus. we will definitely use Brian & Wallologist in the future. Five Stars.

Description of Work
Brian and his crew did 2 drywall projects for us - a bathroom and a basement room.

Category drywall,basement remodeling

5.0

02/11/2016


Melodie V.

Best job of spackling we ever saw. all went well

Description of Work
removed old drop ceiling and took all waste away. Put up support for new wallboard ceiling no longer drop. spackled same, painted and finished.

Category plastering

1.0

02/09/2016


Holly E.

Brian came out to look at work to be done and we discussed the issues we needed addressed. He stated he would email an estimate over the weekend. The weekend came and went, no estimate. Never heard from him via email or otherwise. We texted and emailed him mid-week and he never responded. This contractor handled this unprofessionally and didn't follow through. Basically wasted everyone's time.

Description of Work
Came out to look at work to be done.

Category drywall

Service Provider Response

Ok I was called to look at an attic that someone else had started and walked out of. It went from being a drywall job to removing insulation, adding baffling, electrical, as well as egress and ceiling height issues, etc. I had discussed some code issues like ceiling being under 7' and some solutions to it. This is in an attic in which drywall would need to be cut in small pieces to get up there and then try to spackle.. Anyhow, I had discussed permits, etc and told them they could even pull their own if they wanted. I was putting together a quote for the work and have a call into the township regarding the egress and inspection requirements. As soon as I got that I could give an accurate estimate as to the work. These people obviously couldn't wait and I am fine with that. Seems like I wasted my own time. Oh well, back to work.
1.0

01/05/2016


John F.

First time using Angie's List. Called and made an appointment with one of your "highly rated contractors" for an estimate. The contractor did not show up while I waited home all day or even call to say he could not make it. Three days later I sent an email to the contractor using Angies List service and never got a reply. I went out on my own and got a contractor that did the work I needed. Strike one for Angie's List.

Description of Work
Lied about saying he was coming to do an estimate.

Category drywall

Service Provider Response

Never set up an actual appointment time and date with this person. I get 30 calls and emails a day for new work. I can't do them all and sometimes I am in the middle of working when called. Asked him to send me a text or email with his info. I told him to send it to me personally because when busy I do not check messages on Angie's list. I may not get to every new customer, but I will let my reputation speak for itself as far as work actually done. If this person sat home all day waiting for an appointment never actually confirmed then I can't do anything about that. Again, when I am busy I do not check messages through Angie's list regularly. This is one of those occasions.
5.0

10/30/2015


Karen & Bruce M.

we are quite done but then we should be good. there is some trash promised to be removed, some imperfections that i am pointing out. I believe Brian will stand behind the work and make it nearly perfect.

Description of Work
hung and spackled a house with new drywall

Category drywall

5.0

09/03/2015


John M.

Everything was done to my satisfaction.

Description of Work
Repaired damaged cieling due to a leak in the shower above.

Category drywall

5.0

07/07/2015


Joseph B.

He was very good/excellent at every point during the job. Could be relied upon and came up with solutions to problems as they arose with very good results. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Framing, dry walling, acted as general contractor, sound insulating, and much more.

Category drywall

5.0

04/15/2015


John M.

Brian is professional and very reasonable. I look forward to using his services in the future.

Description of Work
Repaired ceiling.

Category drywall

5.0

03/13/2015


Bob B.

All went smooth and at price quoted. Would use again and have another renovation planned.

Description of Work
Rewalled 2 baths and a kitchen

Category drywall,remodeling

5.0

02/18/2015


Russell L.

He was great. He did a lot of things that he did not charge for. We would use him in the future. He doesn't charge for an estimate. He was very punctual. He was very nice and polite.

Description of Work
He primed and painted our walls. He also plastered the walls. He fixed our windowsill. He also fixed part of the ceiling.

Category plastering,interior painters

3.0

12/17/2014


Mark S.

It started out well and they did an excellent job with the dry wall. We have not found such a store as covered and satisfactory as this. The time frame was much longer than they estimated.

Description of Work
My daughter used the services of The Wallologist for her house.

Category drywall

5.0

10/08/2014


James L.

Went pretty good. in middle of project the guy who does the spackling injured wrist (not on my job) and I had to wait until he sufficiently healed which was about 2 weeks. Obviously it wasn't due to lack of effort. Just one of those unforeseeable things. However, I absolutely would hire them again and I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
installed drywall, spackle...

Category drywall

5.0

06/30/2014


Lynne K.

Our 30+ year old drop ceilings needed to be replaced throughout the first floor. Of the 3 contractors who bid the job, Brain Yocum?s estimate came right in at the middle of the range. My husband and I are delighted with the finished work, and feel we certainly got what we paid for. Brian and his crew removed 525 sq ft of drop ceilings and installed drywall over the old ceiling. The new ceilings were taped and spackled a couple of times before they were painted. New drop tiles were installed in our off-kilter kitchen grid. Additionally, our stairwell ceiling was painted. If The Wallologist ever needs a slogan, I would suggest ?Committed to Quality?. That quality extends to customer service as well as the actual physical work. On those rare days when we were told someone would be here to do work and it had to be delayed, Brian always called to let us know that the schedule changed, and told us when it would resume. No doubt?I recommend you hire this guy!

Description of Work
Replace drop ceilings with drywall ceilings in two rooms; replaced drop ceiling tiles in one room, painted stairwell ceiling.

Category ceramic tile,drywall,flooring contractor,interior painters

5.0

06/24/2014


Theresa P.

The spackling job he did a wonderful job. My advice to anyone that may use him, to make sure that he is the one doing the work as he brought someone else along with him and the person he brought wasn't as good. The painter I used ended up having to do extra work in those spots in order to paint.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for $111 for 3 Man Hours of Drywall/Plaster Repair!

Category drywall

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review, I agree and if I could clone myself that would be great. I do have some good guys and try and weed out the bad to keep the same quality every time. Consistency is a huge issue with spacklers and I try and do the same job every time regardless of the budget or type of work. The guys I use that are good I take care of and if they have a good attitude I can work with them on the quality I expect. I do apologize for any extra sanding that needed to be done. Anyone that has worked with me knows that if I had known I would have been happy to swing by and take care of it for you so that the painter wouldn't have had to. Especially because you live 5 minutes from my house ;-) Thanks for the great review. I still spackle, but also do the carpentry, flooring, framing, etc so I must rely on quality guys for some of the work. I stand by my guys though and for the most part my customers love them. I do have to crack the whip every now and then. Blessings, Brian
5.0

05/28/2014


Henry R.

I gave brian an idea of what i wanted and he just went beyond what i expected. Pantry came off of the wall utilizing the space provided as best as he could. My floor was off level and brian worked his magic and leveled everything off. I'm booking him for more jobs in the future.

Description of Work
Pantry in mud room was built.

Category drywall,remodeling

5.0

04/19/2014


Scott L.

He did a great job on the walls, flooring, and the trim. I went away on business and when I came home it was complete. I am very pleased.

Description of Work
Did the drywall and trim in my new kitchen, along with installing the flooring.

Category drywall

2.0

04/01/2014


David W.

I need a drywall ceiling repaired and other walls fixed, so I called Brian Yocum. He promptly told me to email him what I need so I did on January 30th and also included pictures. Brian emailed me back and said he could fix it and I told him to call me to set something up. It has now been over 2 months and I've never heard back from Brian.

Description of Work
Nothing

Category drywall

Service Provider Response

I get between 5-15 new calls and emails per day 7 days a week. There is no way I could do every job I try but it is not possible. Customers need to followup to exactly one job "theirs". I on the other hand try my best to followup to every lead. Keep in mind in any given week this can be as many as 70 leads. I work 12-15 hours 7 days a week and sometimes a simple followup on the customers end goes a long. way. Again, I do try to followup but after a day or 2 you are buried. It is not intentional it is just a huge undertaking. Someday I look forward to just bidding and running workers, but until then I work. I can also control the quality which is vital to me. Good thing is that those who I actually do work for are happy and to me that is important than the select few who may slip through the cracks. I take a lot of pride in doing my best for the customers. Apologies to any I have missed. If you do contact me and feel like I am blowing you off please understand it is not my intention. Please followup with me and I will do my best to work you in. If after 4 months you have not heard from me and have not tried to followup with me either then I would say life is too short and you need to move on. Again, I do apologize to those who I may not have responded too. Good thing is I am very busy. The bad thing is....I am very busy. Please understand that when contacting me. If you call me I will usually answer right away. If I have you email me it is because I may be driving or on site and email is a better way to keep track of things as far as addresses, leads, etc. It is not perfect but with the volume I get I do a pretty good job coordinating. Not perfect, but I do try my best. Blessings, Brian
5.0

03/09/2014


paul S.

they went out of their way to help me. they are very busy, but I explained that I was moving due to job relocation and was under tight timeframe to get my house on the market. Brian came out the next day to see the job and they started within 3 days...........worked weekends to help me out with no time off and they did not overcharge me. Polite, prompt, clean, great workmanship. Would use them exclusively in the future for drywall repairs and paint.

Description of Work
repaired substantial stresscracks in drywall and painted

Category drywall,interior painters

5.0

02/27/2014


William S.

He took care of use very well and did an A+ job. The only issue (and this is nitpicking) was that he was a bit unorganized as far as remembering when our appointment was. He initially came out and wrote our appointment info on a scrap of paper in his pocket. I told myself "he's gonna forget" and he did. But Brian also made up for it and came out on a Saturday. The quality of work he performed more than made up for the missed date. We would definitely use him again, when we do I'm buying him a calendar. :)

Description of Work
Brian Yocum was extremely good at patching up our ceiling.

Category drywall

Service Provider Response

Thanks, [member name removed] I am glad you werre happy with the job. Read the posts above and you can see. yes I am disorganized. Well swamped is more like it. I do try to keep all jobs going and followup on leads, estimates, etc. It is a bit overwhelming at times but I am glad that once I actually do work for someone they are happy. Thanks for the great review. As for those who I can't get to....I am gopuing to see if anyone on Angie's List does human cloning. Now that would be sweet!
5.0

02/23/2014


Henry R.

Brian and his brother were super. They were punctual and worked two full days just like they said it would take. I would highly recommend them for any other job. As a matter of fact i have contacted them again for a new job.

Description of Work
Spackled ceiling and replaced it with a better quality drywall.

Category drywall,plastering

5.0

02/11/2014


Scott S.

I did contact him and got a quote from him, just didn't wind up using him. They came out to do the assessment almost a year ago, hopefully they still will do a basement remodel. They quoted me between ten and twelve thousand, that was with everything but flooring and electrical plus the basement escape route. OK, I will not delete the next part but boys and girls, take this as a lesson, do not give any phone interviews while driving home from work. First, the work was not done so I changed that status, not because of Brian but because a new heat pump decided to become a priority. And the work was performed at our house, not "nowhere". Anyway, I was just chatting with the person so this comes a bit out of context. The implication was that it was not a salesman that came out like other companies did (hence the suit part), it was the guy who would be doing the work. The clean shirt part, yeah, that was me, but heck I installed pools and my boss would make us have a white shirt for estimates. Regardless, enjoy the rest of the review. (edited) The owner himself came out himself in between jobs, which I totally expected. He was not in a suit and tie but his mannerisms were professional, he had the appearance of a man doing his job. There was a little bit of rescheduling that needed to be done, not that they weren't responsive but the rescheduling especially when you're trying to work around your own work schedule, can be a little rough. I used to be in the trade so I know schedules change, but just something so that if he is looking at his own reviews he would know to try a bit harder. He may want to just slap on a change a shirt or something. We know you get dirty but at least something clean sitting in your truck, so when you go to a new house you don't look like you are coming from the next job.

Description of Work
The Wallologist came out an gave me a quote on a basement remodelling.

Category basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Wow...lol I wore a tux for my wedding and I think I wore a suit once when someone died. If I wear a suit for estimates does that mean I can charge people more? Maybe I can do 30% higher if I wear a suit and tie and 50% higher if I wear a tux. Boy 30 years and I have been doing this all wrong. I absolutely still do basement remodels and other remodeling as well as lots of drywall. Some day when I put the tools away and make my living off the profit margin and mark ups alone I guess I can wear suits to work other than that I guess I have to keep working. in my work jeans, boots and tee shirts All of you out there in Realville, give me the heads up before our appointment as to my attire and I will estimate accordingly. I may even take the whole day off just for you Yeah I know the suit does make the job come out better when remodeling especially when the tie gets caught in the table saw. In all seriousness, I am just kidding. Just found this one amusing. If you want quality work at a fair price from an honest and hard working person let me know.
5.0

01/14/2014


Jeff C.

Great job. wall and ceiling repairs went well, and look great! I have additional work, and planning to schedule with The Walloligist in the future. A+ job!

Description of Work
drywall repair

Category drywall

    Other local Pros in your area

    The Blue Easel

    We specialize in custom picture framing. We also have framed art, prints, antiques, collectables, and decorative gifts. We also offer archival framing,shadow boxing, and frame restoration.Also all work is done on site, nothing is sent out. We are a family owned and operated business open since 1955. We accept visa, MasterCard, and discover. We offer lay away and we also have gift certificates available.  

    AfterCare Restoration

    A Local Family and Veteran owned business offering 24/7 Emergency Water Damage cleanup, Fire board-up and fire, smoke & soot restoration. We are also a full service company with in house carpenters, builders and project managers. We service Montgomery, Bucks, Lehigh, and Northampton Counties 24/7. As a local Veteran owned company we pride ourselves in our reputation for integrity, customer service and quality work. Our technicians are IICRC certified and our company is an IICRC Certified Firm meeting the highest restoration industry standards. We stand 100% behind our work and are committed to earning your complete satisfaction!  

    Scott Sarau Home Improvements and Remodeling

    In business 20 years, 90% word of mouth advertising.I have 35 years exp.in all types construction.Specialize in finish basements and bathrooms from average to very high end.All work performed by owner,no subcontractors.This allows quality control and best pricing you'll find  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Finished Basements, Drywall, repairs, patchwork, remodeling, spackling, framing, carpentry, water damage, touch-ups, & flooring.

    Services Not Offered

    Just ask and if I can't do it I may know someone who can. I network with and work for several top notch contractors.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about The Wallologist

    How is The Wallologist overall rated?

    The Wallologist is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are The Wallologist open?

    The Wallologist is open:

    Sunday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Monday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Tuesday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Wednesday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Thursday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Friday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Saturday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    What payment options does The Wallologist provide

    The Wallologist accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal

    Does The Wallologist offer free estimates?

    Yes, The Wallologist offers free project estimates.

    Does The Wallologist offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, The Wallologist does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does The Wallologist offer a senior discount?

    No, The Wallologist does not offer a senior discount.

    Does The Wallologist offer emergency services?

    Yes, The Wallologist offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by The Wallologist?

    Yes, The Wallologist offers warranties.

    What services does The Wallologist offer?

    The Wallologist offers the following services: Finished Basements, Drywall, repairs, patchwork, remodeling, spackling, framing, carpentry, water damage, touch-ups, & flooring.

    Are there any services The Wallologist does not offer?

    Just ask and if I can't do it I may know someone who can. I network with and work for several top notch contractors.