Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Gerald Giel Garage Doors

Founded 1986 • With Angi since June 2010

4.9

(23) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

700 Pittsburgh Rd

Butler, PA 16002

Description

We are a leader in garage doors and related services in the greater Pittsburgh area. With more than 30 years of experience, you can be assured Gerald Giel Garage Doors can meet your garage door needs. Not only do we carry products from the finest manufacturers in the industry, our team of sales and service technicians can assure you are purchasing a reliable door or opener that fits your needs and your budget We welcome the opportunity to supply, install or repair your garage door and to answer all your garage door questions. ...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/18/2017


David S.

Better than expected. Would recommend them to anyone!!

Description of Work
Garage door spring broke. And installed keypad

Category garage doors

5.0

07/24/2017


Jacquelyn M.

I contacted one company who gave me an estimate over $1,000. Then, we called Giel. His response was immediate. He gave us an estimate for a new opener, installed it and now it runs smoothly and quietly.

Description of Work
Our garage door opener malfunctioned.

Category garage doors

5.0

06/20/2017


Tom M.

Jeff was very professional and new his product very well and easy to talk to this company is very highly recommended

Description of Work
Garage door cable replaced and new garage door opener

Category garage doors

5.0

04/17/2017


Thomas W.

Very well timely and done with care. Finished on time.

Description of Work
Replace old garage doors

Category garage doors,doors

5.0

08/13/2016


Kevin S.

Went very well. I wanted to add a few touches and Gerry was cognizant of the costs and made sure I knew what I was asking for.

Description of Work
Replaced double garage door. The old garage door was wood and I just got tired of painting it every 2 - 3 years.

Category garage doors

5.0

01/14/2016


Robert M.

We had a garage door opener that quit working after many years of service. Have had previous experience with the business so it was a no brainer to have them install a new opener. Called them late yesterday morning knowing it was too late for service that day. They were here at 8 am and in a little over one hour had the opener in place and operational. The business owners and the servicemen are responsive, professional and provide great service for a reasonable fee. Would strongly recommend them for garage doors, openers and entrance doors as well.

Description of Work
Replaced a broken garage door opener

Category garage doors

2.0

04/17/2015


jason G.

I came across this company at the home and garden show. I called later that week to schedule a estimate. This was the second company out of seven I contacted to provide a bid on replacing two garage doors. The bid was the lowest by $300 but I choose another company, here's why. Out of the 5 bids I received 4 of them measured my garage doors at 78 X 96. Giel measured it at 72 X 96. He gave me this big speech about why he needed to reframe my doors because of low headroom. Because of that I was going to lose 6 inches of Clarence at the entrance to my garage. I mentioned this to the rest of the companies that came out and they all said I just needed a double track and no framing was needed. Just guessing but he probably got stuck with 2 custom doors and tried to dump them off on me. Read his other reviews and look how often people say he did framing work for them.

Description of Work
Provided estimate.

Category garage doors,doors

5.0

06/02/2014


MARK Z.

Showed up on time to estimate. His price was $900 less than two other estimates for same premium quality doors. Scheduled install date the following week. Installer showed up on time, did the work, hauled away our very old garage doors, cleaned up. Professional from start to finish.

Description of Work
Installed two new garage doors.

Category garage doors

5.0

04/03/2013


Janet L.

Very high quality doors for a great price. They came to my home directly with samples and advice on what type of door would work for the house and at the price we were aiming to spend. I picked out the doors and they were able to come and install within a couple days. The front office and the installers were top notch and professional. Willing to listen and deliver.

Description of Work
Now I know why they are the leader in the garage door service / business. They reached and exceeded my expectations. Never pushy or try to upsell doors or services. The owner is amazing and extremely responsive. I wish all home services / contractors held to high standards.

Category garage doors

5.0

02/15/2013


JOY P.

Gerry was extremely responsive and professional. I contacted several other companies and the prices were outrageous. Some of the companies said they were going to send out guys to do an estimate and never got back to me. I live in another state and Jerry worked with me to get the job done. It took them two days. His guys came and did what they were supposed to my specifications. It happened faster than I expected and the work was impeccable. Any other work I need for that I called him back but he does not do that work , but he gave me an recommendation.

Description of Work
I purchased three Liftmaster Garage Doors (stock) in White with Garage Door Openers. GST+0WH... GARAGA STANDARD PLUS WHITE 8' X 7' SOLID GARAGE DOOR 3 LHR TORSION 680.00 2,040.00 3 FRAMING FRAMING WORK 250.00 750.00 There was framing work that needed to be done.

Category garage doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    Emergency Door Services

    Emergency Door Services is a locally owned business that has been in operation since 1996. We strive to provide the best customer service and provide our customers with the products that best meet their needs. We are licensed by the state of PA and fully insured. We accept all forms of payment including all major credit cards.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Emergency Door Services on Angi
    R W Cox Garage Doors

    R. W. Cox Garage Doors has been the resource for residential and commercial garage doors in Sharon, PA and the surrounding area including New Castle, Farrell and Greenville since 1975. Whether you are looking to improve your home’s exterior with installation of a new carriage door, need a garage door opener installed or need repairs on your commercial overhead door, our experienced and skilled technicians will provide prompt, professional service. With more than 35 years of experience, we provide professional installation and repair of all major brands and are a factory authorized wholesaler for Wayne-Dalton, Amarr and CHI doors as well as Liftmaster and Genie garage door openers. Need emergency repairs on your overhead door or garage door opener? We offer 24 hours a day – 7 days a week emergency service.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Installation and repair of garage doors, broken torsion springs, extension springs, damaged doors & broken garage door openers.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Gerald Giel Garage Doors

    How is Gerald Giel Garage Doors overall rated?

    Gerald Giel Garage Doors is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Gerald Giel Garage Doors open?

    Gerald Giel Garage Doors is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Gerald Giel Garage Doors provide

    Gerald Giel Garage Doors accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Gerald Giel Garage Doors offer free estimates?

    Yes, Gerald Giel Garage Doors offers free project estimates.

    Does Gerald Giel Garage Doors offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Gerald Giel Garage Doors does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Gerald Giel Garage Doors offer emergency services?

    Yes, Gerald Giel Garage Doors offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Gerald Giel Garage Doors?

    Yes, Gerald Giel Garage Doors offers warranties.

    What services does Gerald Giel Garage Doors offer?

    Gerald Giel Garage Doors offers the following services: Installation and repair of garage doors, broken torsion springs, extension springs, damaged doors & broken garage door openers.

    Are there any services Gerald Giel Garage Doors does not offer?

    Ask for details.