Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Matthews Wall Anchor & Waterproofing Services

Founded 1989 • With Angi since May 2002

4.8

(102) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7250 Big Beaver Blvd .

Beaver Falls, PA 15010

Description

Matthews Wall Anchor Service has been serving homeowners in and around Pittsburgh, Youngstown and Cleveland for over 30 years. As a nationally recognized foundation repair and basement waterproofing contractor our services include basement waterproofing, foundation repair and basement wall repair. Matthews offers a variety of products and services to permanently correct basement and foundation problems. Award wining. Additional DBA - MWA Acquisition LLC ....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/08/2021


Tiffany Y.

The salesperson David was very honest and had no interest in upselling. He strongly advised against any interior drains for my basement, and he instead recommended an exterior drain called HydroBlox for my backyard. The estimate for the HydroBlox was $3,400. The installation occurred a few weeks later. Three employees used a machine to dig a trench in my backyard, and then because of utility lines, they hand-dug another trench in my side yard. They installed the pieces of HydroBlox and covered them with dirt. I expect the HydroBlox to properly drain the water from my yard, but if they do not, then I will update my review in the future.

Description of Work
Install an exterior drain (HydroBlox)

Category drain pipe

5.0

01/08/2021


Jennifer R.

It went very well. The quote was the best I received form several vendors. The salesperson was very knowledgeable. The work was done on time, and the results were good.

Description of Work
Porch piering

Category concrete repair, structural engineer

5.0

05/01/2018


Matthew N.

If you have foundation issues don’t waste your time calling anyone else! When the first gentleman came to look at the wall on a Saturday he was very professional. Two of my walls were in extremely poor condition and after talking to him he assured me that they can fix the walls after I had two other contractors in and they both told me I needed them rebuilt. I knew this was the contractor to get and I went into the office to sign the paperwork two days later. The crew came out a few weeks later and I cannot believe how professional and awesome the whole crew was! They showed up around 7 every morning and I cannot believe the work ethic they had, it completely went over my expectations! They talked to me every morning letting me know what was going to happen that day which I appreciated and if I ever had a question they would take time to answer it. I had wall anchors installed on four walls and waterproofing. I really feel that they went way above and beyond to get the job done CORRECTLY! I can’t speak highly enough for Matthews Wall Anchor! If I ever needed any type of this work done again I wouldn’t call anybody else. Please listen to my review and seriously consider them if you need any of their services. Matthews keep up the great work you are awesome!

Description of Work
Wall Anchors and Waterproofing

Category basement waterproofing, foundation repair

5.0

02/20/2018


Andrew S.

Dave came out and did an evaluation. It was determined that any repairs did not require immediate attention. Dave did a thorough check and was very professional.

Description of Work
Cracks in garage walls

Category foundation repair

4.0

02/12/2018


Lynda M.

The two young men were very capable and did a great job

Description of Work
damage to walls due to freezing temperatures

Category foundation repair

5.0

09/11/2017


Steve G.

They were good, they were reasonable, I ended up selling the house. They were able to get out to my house rather quickly and they didn't try to get me to sign that day or anything. I just ended up selling the house and didn't need to do the project.

Description of Work
I had them come out and give an estimate. The estimate was for wall anchors. It's for structural support for walls that are showing signs of shifting. Foundation support.

Category foundation repair

5.0

05/31/2017


Linda W.

We really liked the representative. He told us what needed to be done and how much it would cost. No hard selling or trying to sell us something we didn't need. Efficient and to the point.

Description of Work
They came out to give us an estimate.

Category foundation repair

5.0

02/27/2017


Jeffrey R.

Matthews Wall Anchor staff were very professional, showed up on time, and did exactly what was quoted. Cleanup was complete... couldn't ask for more.

Description of Work
Basement wall / foundation repair - 10 wall anchors installed

Category foundation repair

5.0

02/11/2017


George G.

The phone support staff, Kelly, is both very responsive and helpful. She helped coordinate the onsite estimate. Everything went smoothly. The sale representative, David, is very knowledgeable when communicating to us work that needs to be performed. Although we did not use them for actual work, we are still impressed with their responsiveness and professionalism.

Description of Work
Quoting a foundation repair job.

Category foundation repair

5.0

10/17/2016


DANIEL B.

Anchors were installed with no issues.

Description of Work
Anchor a bowing wall.

Category foundation repair

5.0

04/30/2016


Brendan B.

Estimate went great. One fellow came out to give the estimate, looked over the basement, and basically told me that he could see nothing wrong. He said that there were signs of repair from the past, but nothing new had developed over the last 15 years. He went out of his way to make sure that his assessment was correct and had one of his superiors come by a couple days later. I got an honest opinion from these guys and they told me that they would not do any repair. They could've raked me over the coals and told me I needed to spend on this but they didn't.

Description of Work
Came out and gave me an estimate as to whether or not my foundation needed repairing

Category basement waterproofing, foundation repair

5.0

04/14/2016


Donald L.

Outstanding work by the team. On time and within the budget. This job effort went way beyond what I was expecting. For an older home, they really made the basement look refreshed. This team from the time they got onsite at the work location, they didn't stop and were very focused. Prior to the job starting the foreman of the job reviewed the specification and supporting documentation that was created and walked the job site. During this walk through the team provided ongoing details on what they were going to execute over the 4 day period. The team did 2 parts of the basement. It is amazing with all the concrete that had to be removed and drainage system built there was very little dust in upper part of the home. They took all precautions to cover all major appliances, furnace and other furniture that was in the basement area. They used techniques that really kept the dust to a minimum. This required a lot of manual labor to execute this job and the men onsite were great workers. The site location was difficult to get to with heavy trucks and equipment, but they were excellent at maneuvering their vehicles. At the completion of the job we did a full walk through and they provided me a lifetime warranty for the work. Since I will be selling the property the lifetime warranty is transferrable to the new owners. Also, during the final inspection they did all the appropriate water test to make sure drainage and sump pump was in good working order. So the simulation of a water issues was done multiple time. Once the entire system - drainage, vapor barrier, sump pump and drain this was totally certified multiple times. Once certified the team completed the cement work and did the final clean-up of the location. Also, the 2nd part of the job was to dig (outside), and install 4 piers at each corner of the foundation. This correctly reset the blocks on the wall and reduced the overall spacing. I was amazed at the good condition of the wall once installed. After the entire testing and walk through with me they properly graded the dirt so that the water would drain away from the house. This job required them dig all this manual due to the limited working area between the hill side and the house foundation and the inability to get heavy equipment to the location.

Description of Work
Currently have a sandstone wall in my basement. Experienced water leakage and lots of flaking of the mortar and paint that was on for many years which was in the interior part of the basement. The inner part of the basement, the vendor installed a special floor drainage system on all outer wall (inside basement floor), install vapor barrier sheets and secured, and installed sump pump and drain system that pushed water to the outside of the house. The second part of the installation was to shore up the stone foundation on the outer section of basement and installed multiple piers. This was to stop the foundation from shifting and to realign the blocks that were misaligned. The team was very professional and thorough. They did a very outstanding/professional job with this work. This is a house that was built in 1908 and had very little foundation work done. This team was so knowledgeable and have done this type of work for many homes in the Pittsburgh area. The person who did the original estimate, spent considerable amount of time educating me on the type of sandstone, condition and repairs they typically recommend. The team worked very hard over a 4 day period. These guys are very hard workers and provided great customer service. They were always so accommodating. The foreman on the job continued to provide me updates throughout each day and did a walk through at the completion of each step.

Category basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe, structural engineer, foundation repair

5.0

03/28/2016


Dianne H.

The company's foundation specialist, Marty, arrived promptly and took time to examine the exterior and interior basement walls. He used a laser level to confirm his findings. Marty explained that my basement was not in need of repair. The blocks were level and the cracks were not significant. I value a company that does not try to sell services that are not needed. I will recommend this company to any of my friends if the need arises.

Description of Work
I was primarily concerned with a hairline vertical crack and a few minor cracks in my exterior basement wall. Based on reviews in Angie's List I contacted Matthews Wall Anchor for an estimate. Although some friends had suggested this might not be a major problem, I wanted a professional's opinion.

Category foundation repair

4.0

02/26/2016


Elizabeth S.

UPDATE and RATING CHANGE: While I do not feel full retraction is the way to go because Angie's List is designed for the general public to learn about businesses, and readers expect honesty and true opinions as well as facts, i write this: Social media was definitely the way to gain the attention of Mr. Brennan, Managing Director, who in turn presented Bud, the company owner, with my posting. I had a very pleasant conversation with Bud, who did, in fact, return the furnace moving/resetting fee as compensation. This is very much appreciated! Bud also spoke passionately of his commitment to his company, and especially to his customers, and he explained a change he is making so customers can reach him directly with concerns if they are (in Mr. Brennan's words) stonewalled by the call center staff. I hope, that along with measures Bud is undertaking for improvements, that the initial salesman (all salesmen) have had some additional training, reminding them that while they are salesmen, they ARE the EXPERTS and sometimes their product(s) may not be what truly is needed. A customer would greatly appreciate honest professional opinions, not a major project they don't need. (To date there has not been 1 drop of moisture in my sump pump!) No company likes to see it's reputation tarnished, and while I was quite angry and disappointed with Matthews Wall Anchor overall, Bud and Mr. Brennan have gone out of their way to do what they could to improve the situation. They have proved they DO take their customers seriously, and for that they get many kudos. The initial "F" is changed to a (Regarding Mr. Brennan's response, I was unaware there was a 'call center'. I have not driven to Beaver Falls to see their facility, but I spoke only ever to 1 secretary at the general number. Secondly, as I noted in my initial review, I had waited 4 months to write on Angie's List so I would be factual, not emotional. It then is likely true that, as Mr. Brennan notes, "Curiously, none of our Call Center Staff, the Owner, our Service Crew, or our Production Foreman, have any reccolection of having talked with [Member Name Removed] at any point over the last several months in regard to any sort of complaint." I had NOT called in several months.)

Description of Work
PLEASE READ THE UPDATE March 23, 2016! "An A-listed company that in my experience was awful. The salesman first misrepresented himself, then discussed a product, but priced out an inferior one on the contract, which the initial work crew installed. Even for an inferior product, the work was unacceptable. (Yes, the job supervisor and another employee eventually replaced with the correct product at the quoted price, so it would seem I came out ahead, however, none of the work needed done in the first place. The salesman, an ""expert"" for the most reputable company in the field, is the proverbial 'used car salesman.' He made the sale, but in hind sight, from comments of the foreman and the (2nd) HVAC my house did not need a sump pump, and if it did, the furnace did not need to be moved for the work to be completed (an extra $1000 fee). |In trying to contact the company owner, ""big boss"", I could not get past the secretary. The first few calls she did at least get me in touch with the job supervisor, but then, thankfully I had his number because she never passed further messages on to him or any one higher up. |While my frustration and anger with the company and the service overall is through the roof (and this is being written 4 months later as my 'cooling off period), I WILL acknowledge employees John and John were superb, and did their best to make a bad situation more tolerable. "

Category foundation repair

Service Provider Response

We were very suprised to have received this review the other day! Our company's long history does not include ANY responses to work performed by our customers like this on Angies, and or similar review review sites. This simply doesn't happen. We immediately started to investigate the job and have called the client twice to attempt to discuss what she said occured. Our process is to gather as much information as is possible so we can make sure that the proper resolution is established. That would would include some form of restitution if need be, and to insure that we did absolutely everything that we could to make the customer whole. We called her twice in two days with a friendly inquiry, and haven't heard back from her yet. Curiously, none of our Call Center Staff, the Owner, our Service Crew, or our Production Foreman, have any reccolection of having talked with [Member Name Removed] at any point over the last several months in regard to any sort of complaint. We would never stone wall a customer from being able to speak with the principals of our company if the client felt that they needed additional help with their install satisfaction. We will continue to attempt to establish exactly what happened with this situation, and we will be updating here when we find out what may, or may not have happened. Rest assured, our company amongst all others that perform foundation remediation in this region, will purse the matter fully, until we can find a resolution that would satisfy the accuser or verify the review at hand. Until we can get further information that this review is actual and factual, we won't be able to do anything to resolve the pronounced and critical statement. To date, the information rendered is incomplete. We would request that Angies List fully consider what was said to assist us in making this or any client 100% happy. Sincerely, Terry Brennan Managing Director Matthews Wall Anchor & Waterproofing Services
5.0

02/25/2016


Joan P.

It was not an issue that they needed to fix (issue was with downspout) but Max was very informative and nice. He was incredibly friendly and professional. I really appreciated his advice and help.

Description of Work
We had a leak during a very rainy night. The specialist (Max) came and took a look.

Category gutter repair, foundation repair

5.0

10/18/2015


Richard F.

The crew did an excellent job, cleaned up when finished, and were courteous.

Description of Work
Install 3 wall anchors on an exterior retaining wall, due to winter freeze-thaw movement in harsh 2015 winter.

Category foundation repair, hardscaping

5.0

08/27/2014


gene K.

They were excellent! We got about ten estimates in total and their bid came right in the middle. They were able to schedule the appointment within a month of deciding to choose them for the project. The work they did provided a fifty year warranty. They came in at 8:30am the morning of the appointment and were gone by 6:30pm at night. They dug up eleven total shafts into the ground to the side of the house. They used a hydraulic tamper. You can go outside now and look at the ground, unless you didn’t see the arrows where it points to the pipes, you wouldn’t know that anyone had been here. They used tarps outside so that when the filled up the hole, there was no mess. They were very neat and the technicians were very clean. I dealt closely with John, the foreman, who was outstanding! He explained things well and kept in great communication. They were excellent and it was a great experience!

Description of Work
They installed wall anchors in the basement where we had two walls that were bulging.

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

06/03/2014


Heather W.

the man that came to do my estimate was very professional and helpful. I had inquired about two walls but he said only one needed work,. I really appreciate his honesty. Two men came out to do the work, I was surprised how quickly the work was completed. My expectations were met , I would not hesitate to use them again.

Description of Work
Put in wall anchors across one wall.

Category foundation repair

5.0

05/12/2014


Peggy M.

Representative arrived early for appointment. Inspected the crack in the wall, the foundation and basement walls. Determined I did not have a foundation problem. Advised the wall crack was probably caused from the very wet, cold winter. Advised me to fix the dining room wall and watch for any further issues. I really appreciate his honesty and the fact that he didn't try to sell me something that I didn't really need. I would call them again if needed.

Description of Work
I had scheduled an appointment for an estimate. I have a crack in the corner of my dining room wall and was concerned that I may have foundation problems.

Category foundation repair

5.0

05/01/2014


Cindy K.

They did excellent work! They were punctual, and they were very professional. They explained everything that they were doing. We were given instructions on maintenance- couldn't be happier with the service! I would definitely use them again. (Price was also more reasonable than quotes I received from other businesses.) Their staff was excellent to work with- took care of any issues immediately.

Description of Work
Straighten an outside block wall.

Category foundation repair

4.0

04/16/2014


Lois & Thomas M.

I would recommend them to anybody. The guys who actually did the work were extremely professional.

Description of Work
We used Matthews Wall Anchor & Waterproofing Services for foundation repair services.

Category foundation repair

5.0

10/26/2013


Kevin O.

Marty Sosnoski was very professional. He explained the problem and how I could repair it myself. He said that it was not the type of work that they do. I would definitely call him again.

Description of Work
Examined an above ground bulging cement block garage foundation .

Category foundation repair

5.0

10/15/2013


John M.

Experience overall was good. Salesman came to the house, was professional and offered a reasonable price. We didn't sign that day, which I think caused some confusion later. a few days later we called and locked in the job. I don't remember getting much information beyond when they were going to be there. I didn't hear from them until a few days before the work and at that point I realized I was supposed submitt my financing paper work weeks ago. I'm sure they gave me instructions, but I didn't see them and didn't realize. I wish that had been spelled out. The office was not happy but rather than delay they allowed me to put a rush on the financing and still peform the work. This was a big exception b/c it delayed thier payment, but I do appreciate the concession. the workers came and did a great job.

Description of Work
Installed 3 wall anchors to correct a foundation crack.

Category foundation repair

5.0

10/14/2013


Jamie F.

They came in right on time and worked all day long to get the job done. They were able to bust up our concrete floor and punch weeping holes to help us alleviate our water issue in our basement. They put in a pump and french drain to pull all of the water outside of our house. Since they put this in we have had a lot of rain and we haven't had a drop of water inside our basement.

Description of Work
They put an interior french drain and sump pump in our basement to help fix our water problem in our basement.

Category concrete repair, basement waterproofing

5.0

10/03/2013


april C.

Would have liked to use their services.

Description of Work
They called me back within minutes and referred me to another company. I appreciated the fact they got back to me within minutes and provided me with the name of a company who is well-reviewed and could help. Nice service!

Category basement waterproofing, foundation repair, hardscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Gutter Pro

    Gutter Pro is fully insured and licensed specializing in professional installation or repair of seamless gutters and downspouts. We have wide range of colors to choose from. Commercial and residential gutters. We strive to provide fast service, high quality, and complete satisfaction. We provide free estimates serving Pittsburgh and the surrounding areas.  

    Offers by Gutter Pro on Angi
    Home Genius Exteriors

    ***NOW OFFERING VIRTUAL / NO-TOUCH INSPECTIONS AND ESTIMATES. We’re open for business! Home Genius Exteriors remains dedicated to our mission to give our customers A DIFFERENT EXPERIENCE. Give our team of professionals a chance to WOW you with our hassle-free inspection process, transparent pricing, perfect communication and top-rated installations. We’re not just a sales and marketing company like some of our competitors, we stand behind every project we do with a warranty you can trust! We are home improvement experts and can be your one-stop-shop solution! Home Genius also offers some of the most FLEXIBLE payment plans in the industry. Give us a chance and we’ll do everything we can to earn the right to become your CONTRACTOR FOR LIFE.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Home Genius Exteriors on Angi
    Haefner Drilling LLC

    For all of your water pump and well drilling needs, place your trust in the experienced team at Haefner Drilling LLC. For over 50 years, our family has helped keep your water flow consistent.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Foundation correction, stabilization, waterproofing, sump pumps, crack wall & basement repair, HVAC.

    Services Not Offered

    Bodywork, Concrete - Leveling/Mudjacking, Concrete - Pouring & Repair, Gutter Repair & Replacement, Home Staging, Septic Tank, Structural Engineering:

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Matthews Wall Anchor & Waterproofing Services

    How is Matthews Wall Anchor & Waterproofing Services overall rated?

    Matthews Wall Anchor & Waterproofing Services is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Matthews Wall Anchor & Waterproofing Services open?

    Matthews Wall Anchor & Waterproofing Services is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Matthews Wall Anchor & Waterproofing Services provide

    Matthews Wall Anchor & Waterproofing Services accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Matthews Wall Anchor & Waterproofing Services offer free estimates?

    Yes, Matthews Wall Anchor & Waterproofing Services offers free project estimates.

    Does Matthews Wall Anchor & Waterproofing Services offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Matthews Wall Anchor & Waterproofing Services offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Matthews Wall Anchor & Waterproofing Services offer a senior discount?

    No, Matthews Wall Anchor & Waterproofing Services does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Matthews Wall Anchor & Waterproofing Services?

    No, Matthews Wall Anchor & Waterproofing Services does not offer warranties.

    What services does Matthews Wall Anchor & Waterproofing Services offer?

    Matthews Wall Anchor & Waterproofing Services offers the following services: Foundation correction, stabilization, waterproofing, sump pumps, crack wall & basement repair, HVAC.

    Are there any services Matthews Wall Anchor & Waterproofing Services does not offer?

    Bodywork, Concrete - Leveling/Mudjacking, Concrete - Pouring & Repair, Gutter Repair & Replacement, Home Staging, Septic Tank, Structural Engineering: