Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

EcoLandscapes

Founded 2006 • With Angi since April 2009

4.9

(98) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

409 Bryn Mawr Ave

Bala Cynwyd, PA 19004

Description

We combine outstanding customer service with exceptional designs, specializing in sustainable designs featuring natives, edibles and pollinator plants. Our designer, Dan Cleary, has a degree in Sustainable Landscape Horticulture from the University of Vermont, and also has 10+ years experience honing his design skills. We strive to make sure every customer is 100% satisfied that they chose us for their project. We provide garden design and landscape design and installation along with planting design and installation...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/02/2021


Stephen B.

From start to finish, Ecolandscaping delivered courteous, timely, and well executed service, that exceeded all our expectations. I could not be happier with the work that was done, and would highly recommend Ecolandscaping to anyone interested in giving their front or backyard a major facelift. Thank you Ecolandscaping for your communication, professionalism, and for a job well done! 10/10

Description of Work
Landscaping

Category landscaping,lawn service,mulch,greenhouses

5.0

12/03/2019


Edward F.

Dan Cleary the owner, initially came to my home ( on time ) providing me with an estimate, which included a computerized image of my final landscape project. He was readily available by phone or email for any questions that I had and was always prompt with any replies His landscaping team were courteous and respectful. they did a great job, with Dan checking in during the completion of the work. I will definitely use them again!

Description of Work
I had my backyard landscaped including; laying of topsoil, sod, and having fertilizer and mulch for new plants, bushes, and 2 trees. Also, stones placed to create a walkway/path through gate entry into the yard.

Category landscaping,lawn service,mulch

4.0

09/04/2019


Erica L.

They did a great job but they are a little expensive.

Description of Work
They did a landscaping job.

Category landscaping

5.0

05/09/2019


Jeff T.

From the first call to the final completion of the work, we were impressed. They did what they said they would and when they said they would do it. They had a very competitive price and delivered with the work completed. We are very happy with the great changes that were made to make our house more maintenance free and we have a beautiful livable back yard that we can be proud of. We highly recommend them for your next landscaping project.

Description of Work
Removal of overgrown hedges and replacement with Arborvitaes, shrubs, and plants

Category landscaping,lawn service

5.0

04/21/2019


Stacey H.

Dan Cleary of EcoLandscapes inspired confidence from the moment I met him. I showed him a picture of the type of low maintenance, Asian-feel landscaping I wanted in my backyard. We discussed it, and he sent me his vision for it within a couple of days. I was very impressed with what I saw. After discussing benefits of different plants and making some adjustments, his crew of three came in. With Dan's direction, they transformed my backyard in just a week. It's absolutely beautiful. They first took out my existing lawn. Then they used flagstone paving stones, gravel and river rock for the hardscape areas; ornamental grasses, various shrubs, and a chartreuse japanese maple for planted areas. I have never had such a gorgeous yard. They also took out and replaced an Alberta spruce I had in my front yard with a crepe myrtle, and replaced the lawn with mulch so I can plant perennials. In addition, I have never had such a good experience with a contractor and crew. Dan did what he said he would do, responded to any questions I had very quickly, and clearly knew what he was doing. His crew - Mike, Matt and Jeff - were incredibly hard workers who were always a pleasure to talk with, and very patient and polite when I had questions or wanted small adjustments made. I recommend EcoLandscapes to anyone who wants a superb landscape design and installation job done.

Description of Work
Lawn removed from part of front yard, and existing tree replaced there. Backyard designed, then lawn removed, and mix of hardscape + plants with mulch installed.

Category landscaping,mulch,hardscaping

5.0

11/30/2018


Lauren S.

I found EcoLandscapes after a thorough search of reviews— and they lived up to the best of them. My twin needed landscaping in my small front, side, and back yards. I emailed with Dan about what I was looking for, my price range, and sent fotos. He dispatched Taney, who spent about an hour walking the yards with me, listening and making suggestions. I received the estimate within the promised time frame, signed the contract, and got a start date, which they held to. They finished the work in 1.5 days, after which Taney again walked the property with me, explaining what they had done and the care needed. I can’t recommend them any more highly and plan to use them for 2x yearly cleanup.

Description of Work
Landscaping

Category landscaping,lawn service,mulch,hardscaping

5.0

10/11/2018


Christine M.

Outstanding landscape design and installation! We showed Dan the plot, which was both steep and narrow. Some is in full sun, and some deep shade. He created a beautiful design using native plants that will attract pollinators, butterflies, and birds. The combination of small evergreens, bushes, and many different perennial flowering plants, bulbs and ornamental grasses looks just beautiful. He and his crew worked hard over several days to prepare the land, and put in mulch and stones to make a small rock garden and stepping stones, a walkway, and also river rocks under an overhanging deck. Then they carefully planted one hundred twelve different plants and bushes and two small trees. They installed a drip irrigation system on a timer placed to water the plants just enough, and placed rocks to make sure the runoff soaked in correctly. They waited and watched to see where the water went and adjusted as needed. It's clear that Dan's expertise comes from a thorough knowledge of horticulture and also years of experience. The crew also clearly takes pride in their work. We couldn't be more pleased. We will post pictures in the spring when the plants are in bloom.

Description of Work
Landscape design and installation

Category landscaping,hardscaping

5.0

08/15/2018


Anna E.

Daniel came over to scope it out. He is highly professional, exceedingly knowledgable and very well organized. He took pictures, jotted down notes, listened to everything my husband and I had to say and made recommendations on how to fix that mess. He followed up quickly and sent us a detailed breakdown of what to expect in terms of pricing (which, by the way, was more than reasonable, as these quotes go), and within a day, we had him scheduled for August. His project manager, Taney, and the entire team are a force to be reckoned with. They're also super professional and knowledgable and friendly (they're happy at work and that comes across... and as you know, that's rare). Here's the thing: they can pretty much do everything. I want to make sure it's clear that these guys can do everything from weeding and mulching, all the way to jackhammering a driveway, leveling land and designing for irrigation and water run-off. They're more like landscape engineers - and they have a **** good eye for design too. You'd be hard-pressed to find such a well rounded and talented group in one team anywhere else, if I'm being honest. They showed up early, worked in brutal heat, were thorough and clean and went over and above, when they saw things they just wanted to fix, because it bothered them. I could keep writing, but it wouldn't do these guys justice. Just call them and get the job done well.

Description of Work
We bought a house in Haverford that needed to be gut renovated - and the yard was no exception. It was overgrown, consumed by english ivy; there were random collections of stone/boulders everywhere; plants that aren't native to the area where causing problems... I had basically just given up on the outside, in favor of putting my budget into things like drywall and new electric. When spring came, we realized how important it was going to be to get that garden under control.

Category landscaping,lawn service,drain pipe,hardscaping

5.0

07/12/2018


Dmitriy F.

The team had to put in a lot of work due to many rocks in the ground. The result looks great.

Description of Work
Remove overgrown vegetation, level ground, remove rock, spread topsoil, plant arbors and grass, setup irrigation hoses

Category landscaping,lawn service

5.0

07/12/2018


Dmitriy F.

The work took more time due to hard ground/lots of stones, but the results was as promised.

Description of Work
Cleared plants, planted new ones, leveled & re-seeded

Category landscaping

5.0

06/28/2018


Nora C.

Terrific! Dan Cleary is excellent. First, he came out to see the property and discuss my likes and dislikes in plants and design. Then he emailed pictures of how various plants would look on my property, which was very helpful. What might look good in a larger or smaller property might not be right for my house. This gave me a view of how it look at my home. He is an expert and advised me about what would grow in full sun, low light and shade. We discussed all aspects of what I wanted done. His expertise and advice was excellent. As things grew and there a few changes I wanted to make in the placement of some plants, Dan was responsive and accommodating. I highly recommend him and his company.

Description of Work
Cleaning up a neglected yard, planting, mulching, weeding and design.

Category landscaping,lawn service,mulch,hardscaping

5.0

06/14/2018


Yma S.

Dan and his team are professionals, delivering high quality, friendly service at a reasonable price. They exceeded all of my expectations. I will be hiring them again! I love my new magical garden and I highly recommend EcoLandscapers. You can trust them to do excellent work, show up as promised and be pleasant and easy to work with throughout the entire process. A++++++

Description of Work
Designing a garden, selecting the plants and planting the garden. They also pruned my bushes and trees.

Category landscaping,lawn service,mulch

5.0

05/31/2018


Andrea D.

My experience with EcoLandscapes Design was great from start to finish. Dan responded promptly to all emails and provided professional service in person during our first meeting and during the landscaping job. Dan's 3 crew members were very respectful and efficient. The final product is amazing. I plan to use EcoLandscapes Design for other parts of our property in the future. Happy Customer in Plymouth Meeting!

Description of Work
Front yard taken from zero to hero!

Category landscaping

5.0

05/28/2018


Lauren Z.

Dan and his crew did an awesome job. They turned our backyard into the sanctuary we were looking for. From our initial visit, Dan understood the look we were going for and managed to come up with a plan within our budget. Unlike other estimates, he did not charge us for his design. It was a smooth process from scheduling the job to when it was completed! Thanks Ecoland Designs!!

Description of Work
Landscape Design

Category landscaping

5.0

05/11/2018


Deborah S.

Dan and his team were top notch. They were responsive, punctual, and hard-working. The price was excellent. At every step Dan checked in to make sure things were going as planned. The workers were terrific and went above and beyond. I wish I had called them sooner. My house now has the front yard it deserves. Thanks Dan!

Description of Work
Complete overhaul of front landscape

Category landscaping

5.0

08/14/2017


Karen P.

Don't think twice! Stop reading and call EcoLandscapes now! Dan was very responsive from the get go when others wouldn't even return my phone call. He offered great suggestions and was easy to work with. Work was completed on time for a fair price. Easy to reach and responded quickly to all my concerns once the work was completed . He doesn't forget about you once work is finished and that is so important. Will use again and highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Landscaping

Category landscaping

5.0

07/16/2017


Frank M.

Dan and his team were exceptional - from the first consultation through design and execution. They installed a french drain, stone pathways, planted several trees and a beautiful array of shade and sun-loving perennials. Here are just some the adjectives they earned: creative, environmentally conscientious, punctual, communicative, respectful, hard working, positive, responsive. I could go on. We are very, very happy with our new backyard and side yard.

Description of Work
We needed to correct water problems in our backyard, create privacy from neighbors, and wanted a porous gravel patio and shade garden plantings throughout.

Category landscaping,drain pipe

5.0

05/08/2017


Neil F.

Dan is a consummate professional. He responds when he says he will; showed up for the estimate on time, started and completed the job exactly as promised. After we described what we wanted, Dan gave us before and after pictures with his proposal. When the job was completed it looked exactly like the picture. I would hire Dan again in a heartbeat.

Description of Work
Turn an aging and neglected yard into something to be proud

Category landscaping

5.0

04/14/2017


Michael J.

Dan and his crew were punctual, hard working and thoughtful in thinking through solutions to problems in the drainage in our backyard. We would definitely call them again.

Description of Work
work on drainage issues, creating garden beds, transplanting trees, laying out a stone path

Category landscaping

5.0

12/15/2016


Linda P H.

Owner Dan Cleary and his crew were professional, polite and responsive. Dan answered my calls and emails immediately and took all of our requests into account when drawing up a plan. He was respectful of our budget and suggested cost-saving alternatives such as cleaning up a stone wall using what was already there (the result was better than I ever imagined it could be), keeping what was healthy and repositioning plants that might look better elsewhere. Dan's follow-up has been excellent -- replacing plants that didn't take (brutal heat and drought began right after our work was done), answering my questions about how to maintain the soaker hoses, and letting me know what plants he would have to assess in next spring.

Description of Work
Except for trees, which we left standing, we had the entire front and most of the side of our Narberth twin home relandscaped. This involved removing all vegetation in the front, including invasive vines and yucca plants that had engulfed the older, sickly bushes; resetting a low dry stone wall using existing materials; "repurposing" some bushes by replanting them elsewhere on our property; planting 94 new plants and shrubs; cleaning up edging; and putting down soaker hoses and mulch. The neighbors are very grateful!

Category landscaping,mulch

5.0

11/29/2016


Eric K.

From design to execution, Dan and his team did an amazing job on our front yard landscape renovation. Dan met with us to walk through exactly what we were looking for and created a detailed design plan that was responsive to all of our desires and that was budget-conscious. The job was done very quickly and professionally and we would definitely recommend Dan and his team for any landscape job you may have. We will be using EcoLandscapes again for our backyard landscape renovation and other jobs in the future.

Description of Work
Dan and his team designed and installed a new front yard landscape and stacked stone retaining wall.

Category landscaping,mulch,hardscaping

5.0

10/11/2016


Christian C.

Where to begin? Dan and his crew are awesome. Dan is a very thorough, energetic and passionate. He worked with us to come up with a plan that worked for us, made recommendations that fit our budget, and got really excited when he saw all the perennials that we wanted to save. His crew worked hard throughout the duration of the project and completed on time, including working on a Saturday to make up for a rain day. It was a pleasure to work with Dan and have recommended him to our friends and neighbors.

Description of Work
Landscaping in the front yard. Built short dry stack retaining wall, gravel patio and stairs, major clearing including 2 small trees and replanting existing perennials.

Category landscaping,hardscaping

5.0

09/06/2016


Christine M.

Dan and his crew did a fantastic job completely transforming my front yard into a perennial garden. Dan had great design ideas and was enthusiastic about the project. I especially appreciated his use of native plants and plants that are relatively low maintenance. He was prompt and punctual in all communication related to the project and and did exactly what we agreed on. His crew was pleasant and efficient and seemed like they take pride in their work. Dan has also been great about following up on a couple of small things that needed adjustment after the primary work was completed. It will take a little while until the plantings mature and fill in, but I look forward to watching this garden grow over time. I don't have a lot of comparison points for the price, but the costs seemed reasonable for the scope of the work, which fulfilled my expectations.

Description of Work
Removed existing ivy that had been overgrown with weeds and invasive vines and replanted front yard with a new perennial garden.

Category landscaping

5.0

07/27/2016


Kimberly J.

We are extremely happy with this company. Dan is responsive, professional, creative and really knows his stuff. His crew was professional, punctual and hardworking. I would recommend EcoLandscapes without hesitation and am already planning our next project with them.

Description of Work
Design and install large mixed border privacy screen along property line. Install stepping stone walkway.

Category landscaping,hardscaping

5.0

05/08/2016


Dylan D.

Great. I knew from the day I met Dan that he was diligent, committed and serious -- and when he showed us his designs, it was clear that he has a hugely creative side. He and his crew implemented the designs and went to work promptly, worked for several days, and finished quickly. They did great, great work.

Description of Work
Dan designed, and his crew implemented, a front and back-side lawn makeover of our landscaping with beautiful native plants.

Category landscaping,lawn service

    Other local Pros in your area

    Budget Waterproofing Inc

    Budget Waterproofing has more than 55 years of experience in servicing commercial and residential customers throughout Maryland. Our Maryland waterproofing services range from foundation crack repair to sump pump installation and crawlspace encapsulation. If you have moisture, humidity or mold problems in your basement, Budget Waterproofing is your solution. We have proven over the years that our waterproofing methods not only look good and do the job, but also last. Our technicians are well-trained and instructed to respect your home and make sure you are happy with their job. As one of the leading basement waterproofing companies in Maryland, we are confident that you will will be satisfied with our level of quality. Enjoy competitive pricing and state-of-the-art waterproofing – hundreds of satisfied homeowners already are!  

    Offers by Budget Waterproofing Inc on Angi
    Paradigm Home Solutions

    Proudly serving Pennsylvania, New Jersey & Delaware. A 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 and the 2020 Super Service Award winner, Paradigm Home Solutions is the company you've been looking for. Paradigm Home Solutions offers Basement Waterproofing, mold removal/remediation, plumbing and water heaters services. If you’re looking for a company who sets itself apart from the rest, one that truly stands behind its word, you’ll want to contact Paradigm Home Solutions. Unlike most companies, you will have the Owners, onsite, working alongside of our Foreman from start to finish. This will give you peace of mind, knowing the job will be done to the highest standards. Our existing plumbing Customers will never have to pay an emergency service fee. In addition, we will always extend additional discounts when our existing customers continue to use Paradigm Home Solutions for additional work. Owned and operated by Andrew Kevitch and Master Plumber, Ross Pressman, Paradigm Home Solutions is a family-run venture that has deep roots in the community. With decades of combined experience in basement waterproofing, plumbing and heating and mold remediation, these industry professionals are eager to demonstrate their outstanding services. 2014 - 2020 Super Service Award Winner Several consecutive Honor Roll months Angie's List "Certified" Contractor  

    Offers by Paradigm Home Solutions on Angi
    Greenstone Gardens

    Greenstone Gardens is a full service Landscaping and Hardscaping company. We are an authorized E.P. Henry contractor. We have over 30 years’ experience. We are family owned and operated. We offer our customers high quality, professional service. Our company goal is 100% customer satisfaction. Let Greenstone Gardens create your own private escape. Remember landscape is a growing investment.  

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    PA086467
    Trade License Locale
    Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
    Trade License Authority
    Office of Attorney General
    Trade License Expiration
    09/09/2021
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Landscape design, garden design, Ecological landscape design, sustainable landscape design, landscape installation, native gardens, wildflower gardens, butterfly gardens, storm water, stormwater, erosion, drainage, organic landscaping, organic lawn care, organic, landscape installation, permaculture, edible landscaping, organic gardening, gardening

    Services Not Offered

    Lawn Mowing.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about EcoLandscapes

    How is EcoLandscapes overall rated?

    EcoLandscapes is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are EcoLandscapes open?

    EcoLandscapes is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    What payment options does EcoLandscapes provide

    EcoLandscapes accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does EcoLandscapes offer free estimates?

    Yes, EcoLandscapes offers free project estimates.

    Does EcoLandscapes offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, EcoLandscapes offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by EcoLandscapes?

    Yes, EcoLandscapes offers warranties.

    What services does EcoLandscapes offer?

    EcoLandscapes offers the following services: Landscape design, garden design, Ecological landscape design, sustainable landscape design, landscape installation, native gardens, wildflower gardens, butterfly gardens, storm water, stormwater, erosion, drainage, organic landscaping, organic lawn care, organic, landscape installation, permaculture, edible landscaping, organic gardening, gardening

    Are there any services EcoLandscapes does not offer?

    Lawn Mowing.