Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Armstrong Home Improvements

Founded 1995 • With Angi since May 2010

4.7

(90) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

155 High St

Avonmore, PA 15618

Description

We are a 3 time winner of Angie’s Lists Super Service Award. We offer free estimates. We are family owned and operated. Customer service is our number priority. IF YOUR NOT HAPPY WE ARE NOT HAPPY. We do not use sub-contractors. Everyone is employed is by us. We are fully licensed and insured. At this time we do not offer repairs of any kind only replacement. We are so sorry for any inconvenience!...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/03/2020


Dara B.

Roger was amazing. He met with us, listened to our wants and needs and made sure t happened. His communication skills were superb, which is not the norm with contractors. His quote was accurate, there were no surprises and he started and ended on time! I am also a Realtor and can tell you tnat find all these qualities in a contractor is rare. I will definitely recommend Armstrong Home Improvement to others.

Description of Work
Builders - Garages/Barns/Sheds

Category garage builders

5.0

08/03/2020


Walter G.

Great company to deal with. Beautiful work and great customer service.

Description of Work
metal roof

Category roofing

5.0

11/16/2018


Philip M.

Extremely professional and courteous.

Description of Work
Repairs completed on roof of home.

Category roofing

5.0

06/01/2018


Robert J.

Excellent results by this professional crew in all aspects of this nearly $20K project. The best experience I've had with a contractor in my 40 year home ownership.

Description of Work
Metal roof installed on house and 3 car garage including new gutters/downspouts.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

05/14/2018


Ruthann M.

Dealing with Armstrong's employees was quite nice. They were completely courteous, on time as scheduled, and left things clean.

Description of Work
My roof was replaced.

Category roofing

5.0

11/01/2017


Tim L.

Everything turned out exactly how we wanted ! Quicker than we had imagined ! Roger and Sarah and all the guys were very professional and friendly. Very accommodating.

Description of Work
Removed back steps and most of porch. Constructed new back steps and large deck.

Category decks

5.0

10/19/2017


Jean R.

Excellent job. Great people to work with. Have hired them to put in a new patio door which is scheduled for the end of October.. This was an excellent experience. I wished I had found them when we put the new roof on last year. Would have no qualms recommending Roger and his crew.

Description of Work
Built a 14' x 20' wooden deck with railings.

Category decks, roofing

5.0

09/02/2017


Henry U.

We had a good roofer. They did a good job. They were easy to work with. The cost was reasonable. They cleaned up every day. They were very conscientious about making sure the roof was covered every night. It took about 7 days. There was other work they did for us in addition to the roof. It was a very big roof. It is a ranch house and the builder had area as 3600 sq feet so it's a pretty good size roof. We had 2 choices for shingles. We went with a 3 dimensional shingle. It sticks out a little bit. They had a couple days of rain that they couldn't come out but that wasn't their fault. The owner, Roger Brank and his wife Sarah were very professional.

Description of Work
We had a roof put on. We had 2 porch posts that held up our back porch. It extended out and there were 2-5 in square posts on each side and they were in the ground and they were rotting. I wanted them to install a concrete foundation and put aluminum posts in, which was part of their contract.

Category roofing

5.0

06/27/2017


Mitch N.

Workers were very professional and respectful. Project results look good. Some communication issues about timing of project completion; somewhat problematic because we had to kennel dogs. We talked through this with the owners to our satisfaction. One worker came on a Sunday afternoon so we could pick up the dogs on schedule.

Description of Work
Roofing, skylights, soffit/fascia, replace 2 interior doors, minor repairs

Category roofing, skylights, doors

5.0

12/05/2016


Julie Y.

Excellent. The roofing crew did a great job. Fast, quality work. Great job installing a great product.

Description of Work
Needed a new roof. Armstrong was responsive, fast and accurate. The roofing team was prompt, respectful, detail oriented. Worked with my schedule. Communication was spot on. I also needed a chimney repair and they took care of that ahead of time when their guy was in my area.

Category roofing, chimney repair

5.0

07/09/2016


Philipp S.

Roger and his team did an excellent professional job at a very reasonable price. The job was completed in only two days. The team was very courteous, efficient, and performed well. We are very pleased with the result and would recommend Armstrong for any one.

Description of Work
Remove old back deck and completely replace with new pressure treated wood deck and steps.

Category decks

5.0

05/17/2016


Jim L.

First, when you call you talk to Sarah: A real, live, professional person who is polite, informed, and attentive. I can't say enough great things about Sarah. They come to your home and you talk over the project. They deliver a bid along with a detailed list of what they are going to do. You review the list and come to an agreement. I made a mistake in reviewing the list. I missed an important detail. When I pointed out that the project was not going the way I planned, they politely showed me that the point of concern was not on the list. They then worked with me to correct the problem as inexpensively as possible. I was blown away by how far they were willing to go to meet my expectations! We have a great deck and a lovely porch!

Description of Work
The builder stripped off the old rotting deck, left and strengthened original supports, added additional supports, then covered supports with vinyl decking. Also removed a second deck and replaced it with a vinyl porch.

Category decks

5.0

03/12/2016


Michael Y.

Very happy with the result. Gutters and downspouts look great. I will use Armstrong Home Improvements for future home improvements.

Description of Work
Replaced gutters and downspouts with new seamless gutters and built a trench to divert water from downspouts to street level with piping included.

Category siding

5.0

01/13/2016


Kathy G.

The owner conducts business very professionally, and the crew is well qualified. We are very satisfied with the completed job.

Description of Work
Removed and replaced a roof in Westmoreland County

Category roofing

5.0

12/19/2015


Gary M.

I was in need of a new roof bad, I tried several different avenues before contacting Armstrong. Long story short I should have went there first. When I called to request an estimate Roger, who is the owner, came out to do the estimate. The price came in over $3,000 less than the next lowest price. We made the order and set the appointment. When the day came we ran into an issue and were unable to go with the original plan. Roger came up with an alternative plan which resulted in a much more expensive option, however because the problems incurred were unable to be seen or planned for Roger made up the difference to us and gave us the more expensive option for the quoted price. The crews came out and worked quickly and professionally. The job took three days to complete but that was due mostly in part to the unfavorable weather. During the job Roger was on site several times and continued to ask questions and made sure we were satisfied with the progress and the product. I am very pleased with the overall experience and will be calling Armstrong for additional projects in the spring.

Description of Work
Installation of a new roof

Category roofing

5.0

12/09/2015


Anita M.

They also agreed to come ahead of time to temporarily repair a leak in our existing roof without additional charge. Workers were skilled and efficient. Office was pleasant to deal with.

Description of Work
Installed new metal roof.

Category roofing

4.0

11/21/2015


Toby A.

Some errors were made - once pointed out they were fixed.

Description of Work
Rebuilt front porch, new roof, gutters & downspouts, leaf-guard, new metal patio roof.

Category gutter repair, roofing, patios

5.0

10/04/2015


David R.

It is a rare thing to find a contractor as easy to work with as Armstrong. There were two or three changes along the way regarding what we wanted Armstrong to do. Sarah, their POC, never got flustered and was always professional and kind. The work started promptly on the day promised and all went very smoothly. There has been one big rain since the job was finished and we have no reports of leaks. YEAH!!!

Description of Work
Tear-off and replace approximately 2200 sf roof, replacing plywood as required

Category roofing

3.0

09/30/2015


Bernard M.

We liked Armstrong because they were initially responsive and interested in doing "a new kind of work" for their company. They were small, personable and seemed to really want to make us happy. But in the end they got in over their heads and didn't seem to know how to actually carry out this type of custom interior work. Luckily we also agreed to use Acclaimed Kitchens to sub out the majority of the job. It's tough to know exactly who was with whom when people came and went, but i believe the demo, and coordination was all done by Armstrong. Our contracts and payments all went through Armstrong (we did find out later that Acclaimed had issues with payment vs scope on their part). Armstrong found us a great stair guy to put in the new steps, had a good plumber for basic rerouting and again, used Acclaimed which saved the job for us (see separate review). Sarah was good with us and handled most of the conversations. regarding progress, details and timing. Their people seemed to be respectful, if inexperienced. Lots of demo dirt/dust and debris worked its way into the rest of the home; the stairs were designed and cut by the stair guy, but installed (improperly) by Armstrong initially. Acclaimed actually fixed that issue even though it didn't appear to be in their scope. One Armstrong crew decided to kill some time by painting one day and painted sloppily around the windows causing us to have to change them out because it was so bad and slopped over the wood trim that we wanted to keep. They dropped and broke our radiator on the back porch which also broke the stoop. The replacement radiator (at their cost) was not the same style or quality of the original one. The job took from May 2012 till March 2013 to "partly complete" the kitchen. Armstrong essentially just stopped showing up to finish the last of the trim work, final painting and installation of the missing parts of our gas stove top (that they lost) somewhere around Thanksgiving 2012. We should have stopped there I suppose, but we offered to pay them the remainder of the retention money plus additional cost of windows if they replaced the windows (that were not in original scope). That went reasonably well and by mid summer 2013 we had a beautiful kitchen finally completed.

Description of Work
Complete demolition of existing kitchen followed by design and installation new remodeled kitchen in 125 year old Shadyside home; included removal of several walls and replacement of stairs to basement/garage as well as new windows throughout the kitchen; we also widened a door into the dining area and all wood trim, cabinets and windows were custom quarter-sawn white oak to match the rest of the home (causing the cost to be higher, but we knew that going in).

Category remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling, cabinet refacing, doors

5.0

09/23/2015


Jack W.

We decided to go with another company, as we din't anticipate how much the entire job would be and cut the scope to just the area where the skylights are.

Description of Work
Armstrong gave us a quote to replace our 2:12 pitch roof with new dimensional shingles and full ice and water shield. We also have 3 24"x96" skylights that are a custom size. Their price was within 5-10% of two other quotes we were given.

Category roofing, skylights

5.0

07/31/2015


rich F.

The techs showed up on time, went right to work, made certain all was in working order before leaving, cleaned up after themselves and were polite and responsive to my requests.

Description of Work
Put in breaker box and connected the water heater.

Category electrician, plumbing, water heater repair

5.0

05/20/2015


JODI F.

They are professional, and did amazing work. Respectful, courteous, prompt, hard working, honest. I would recommend them to anyone looking for construction, roofing, or home remodeling.

Description of Work
Completed roof over patio.

Category remodeling, roofing, patios

5.0

05/16/2015


David B.

What a tremendous experience! I sent a message very late on a Sunday night. At 9:00AM on Monday, Sarah called me to discuss my needs and schedule a visit to qoute a new roof install. She was very pleasant and informative. Roger arrived exactly on schedule. He did a survey of the roof and we discussed the job. Now, this is the good part! I had told him that I wanted a shingle roof. He asked why I did not want a metal. I told him that thru my research, metal was around double the cost of shingles. He said he could do a metal at the same cost as shingles! Ding, ding, ding - we have a winner! We signed a contract and set up an install date for around May 26th. Earlier this week, Sarah called me asking if they could do the install late this week. Heck yes, Im tired of putting buckets under the two leaking spots - no lie, buckets! She called me the next day to confirm the install day of Friday, the 15th. At exactly 8:00AM, Tony and his crew arrived. I went out to welcome them and Tony shook my hand. His crew got right to work. And work they did! My roof is not that large, a little over 1000sq.ft. They were done by 5:30PM! The only task that was not completed was hanging a new gutter on the back of the house. They did not have the proper hangers and would be back Saturday, the 16th to finish. The clean up was meticulous and you can't even tell that they were there! I told Tony that I have 3 dogs that will eat anything and to please make sure that there is no debris left. I can't find even a stamp size piece! I thanked Tony and his crew for a great job - the install is perfect and it looks great! Tony thanked me for the pleasure of putting a new roof on my house! Who says that these days! Unreal! I cannot thank Sarah, Roger , Tony and his crew enough! No more buckets! I will have a need to have my enclosed porch redone next year. I will only call this great company. I expect the best. They are the best! I would highly suggest that if you have a job that needs done, and they can do it, then call Sarah. If you don't, you will have spent your hard earned dollars foolishly! Many, many thanks! David Becker PS: And thank you Angie! :)

Description of Work
New metal roof and gutter hanging

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

05/02/2015


ADRIAN A.

Dealing with Armstrong Home Improvements was wonderful start to finish. Sarah is very nice to work with, understanding and she got us scheduled early in the season which was perfect! Roger is a great guy, very professional, knowledgeable and honest.The workers arrived on time, were polite and answered any questions or concerns I had. They were hard workers and tore off the old shingles, gutters, downspouts and skylight and installed the new under layment, shingles, skylight, ridge vent and seamless gutters and downspouts in 2 1/2 days, even with the weather being a bit uncooperative. They were neat and cleaned up each day before they left. I will definitely use Armstrong Home Improvements again and would recommend them in a heartbeat !

Description of Work
Removed old shingles/gutters/downspouts and skylight. Installed new shingles, seamless gutters, skylight and ridge vent.

Category gutter repair, roofing, skylights

5.0

03/11/2015


Adam H.

They were friendly, professional, and honest

Description of Work
Replaced kitchen vent cover and shingles around it.

Category remodeling, roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Gutter Pro

    Gutter Pro is fully insured and licensed specializing in professional installation or repair of seamless gutters and downspouts. We have wide range of colors to choose from. Commercial and residential gutters. We strive to provide fast service, high quality, and complete satisfaction. We provide free estimates serving Pittsburgh and the surrounding areas.  

    Offers by Gutter Pro on Angi
    Desirable Kitchens & Refacing

    "Don't you deserve a new kitchen?" Call for a FREE consultation Our mission at Desirable Kitchens and Refacing is to help our clients choose the correct options to meet all of their specific kitchen needs. Most of us don’t know where to start, what their best solution will be, or who to trust to get the job done correctly. Through our experience and dedication to customer satisfaction, we have the right solution for every customer—every time! Please contact us by telephone or through our website to discuss your needs.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Hoover Painting

    I have been in the residential painting industry for 28 years; I am a 4th generation painter. I opened up my own painting business in the fall of 2011. Myself and my employees take pride in what we do down to the smallest detail. We offer all aspects of interior and exterior painting; we also specialize in cabinet refinishing and faux finishes.  

    Business Highlights

    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    062748
    Trade License Locale
    Pennsylvania
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Home Remodeling. Deck Construction. Roofing

    Services Not Offered

    We do not do roof patching, Gutter Repair, Electrical, Deck Maintenance or Deck Repair.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Armstrong Home Improvements

    How is Armstrong Home Improvements overall rated?

    Armstrong Home Improvements is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Armstrong Home Improvements open?

    Armstrong Home Improvements is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does Armstrong Home Improvements provide

    Armstrong Home Improvements accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Armstrong Home Improvements offer free estimates?

    Yes, Armstrong Home Improvements offers free project estimates.

    Does Armstrong Home Improvements offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Armstrong Home Improvements offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Armstrong Home Improvements offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Armstrong Home Improvements offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does Armstrong Home Improvements offer emergency services?

    Yes, Armstrong Home Improvements offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Armstrong Home Improvements?

    Yes, Armstrong Home Improvements offers warranties.

    What services does Armstrong Home Improvements offer?

    Armstrong Home Improvements offers the following services: Home Remodeling. Deck Construction. Roofing

    Are there any services Armstrong Home Improvements does not offer?

    We do not do roof patching, Gutter Repair, Electrical, Deck Maintenance or Deck Repair.