Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Wolfer's Heating & AC - Woodburn

Founded 1901 • With Angi since July 2011

4.6

(142) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1365 N Front St

Woodburn, OR 97071

Description

At Wolfer's Heating & Air Conditioning, we are dedicated to putting the needs of our customers first. Our employees are experienced and professional, and are always ready to help fix whatever type of heating or cooling problem your home might be experiencing. Residents of Woodburn and Salem come to

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

06/25/2022


Becky Z.

Wolfer's installed two ductless airconditioning units in my home two summers ago August 12, 2020. Since then, we have been unable to get anyone out to take a look at the units. We have called and called for months, years now. We have been put on schedules and nobody shows up, on the day of the scheduled appointment. We get 1 person to show up, knowing it's a two-person job and leaving because there is only one of them. We have talked to managers. We just recently started calling again this season and have again had zero luck with getting scheduled. This is complete insanity and I have been speaking with an attorney on taking Wolfer's to small claims court. We have a 10-year warranty on these $15,000 newly installed units that have not been working properly since about 1-2 months after installation. Neither of the units cools the house down during the hot summer months. They both leak ice and water. One of them leaked water all over my partner's expensive computer table. I feel like no one cares in this business and it'd quite maddening if we paid this much money for nice units that do not work. I have animals that got sick last year because the heat in the house upstairs was so bad. I don't know what to do at this point because every time we call the business it is as if no one writes any notes down about our situation or even schedules us because no one calls us back to schedule. In addition, one of the units was somehow installed upside down.

Description of Work
ductless A/C installation

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

12/18/2021


Richard H.

Work was done okay, it was ridiculously expensive in the end, I got charged $600.00 for a $100 motor and then another $700 to install the fan over a week later, and the technician did not even make sure the external circuit breaker was reset when he was finished, I had to wait until the next morning to get that done. Overall, use this company if you want to be overcharged. When I had them do the maintenance on my system I discovered that I was being charged $65 for a part that I found online that I could get 10 of them for $5. The 65 was for the part, as the labor was included in the service.

Description of Work
Compressor fan for AC Compressor

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

03/13/2021


Dennis B.

NOT GOOD.Had an appt. with them, day of service they didn't show. Late that day "I" called them only to be told they had to push me out more than a MONTH due to lots of burst water pipes in Oregon. So, #1 they didn't even take the time to call me about all this, I had to call them. Secondly, I had a CONFIRMED appt, that they just decided to ignore as it's obvious the "other jobs" were more lucrative for them so to heck with my small project. Completely unprofessional, would not only never recommend them but will steer people away from these unreliable unprofessional , well I'll just say it, jerks.

Description of Work
Plumbing, leak in bathroom

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

2.0

03/04/2019


MELANIE & TIM D.

We experienced a pretty severe disconnect between the sales staff and the actual installation crews about what is required to install and operate a tankless water heater. We had agreed to purchase a tankless water heater after a salesperson visited our house, took a bunch of photos and measurements, and assured us it was the best, most energy efficient solution that would work in our house. The installation crew arrived on the scheduled date and immediately found a problem. There was no way they could see to vent the tankless water heater as required by code. After half an hour, after pitching tank water heaters as a better solution, they left. The salesperson did not contact me again for a while, but I called at least to make sure he knew what had happened. He then came out again and worked out a solution for venting that would require a pipe on the exterior of our house up through the roof. He dropped off the pipe and instructed us to paint it so it would match the color of our house. We bought fifty bucks worth of the paint and did so. He assured me that they had all talked this through at Wolfers and all were convinced this was going to work. He even picked out a better installation crew for me. The second installers came, told me this job had just been dropped on them (they were not the crew that the salesperson had lined up) and immediately spotted another problem. At this point, I started looking around to see if the TV show "Candid Camera" had been revived and I was the first victim. After measuring things and whipping out a calculator, the lead person determined there would be insufficient natural gas flow to the place we had planned to install the tankless water heater. This was something I had asked the salesperson directly on his visits. The installer suggested a model that sits on the exterior of the house. After half an hour, he left. I again heard nothing from the salesperson, but called him so that he could arrange to pick up the long pipe he had us paint. It was going to be of no use, and I had no way to dispose of it without incurring more expense. The salesperson tried to pitch me an option to rip through the drywall in our finished basement to install a new natural gas line to the water heater spot, with the drywall repair an addition expense for me, or, better yet, go with a tank water heater and buy a new furnace and air conditioner from Wolfer's. After I emailed and called him, telling him we would not move forward with Wolfer's and that we wanted someone to pick up this pipe, he ceased communication with me. I had to call the head office, convince them not to just transfer me to the salesperson's voice mail so I could leave another message, and tell them to send someone to pick this pipe up. After 15 minutes on hold, the head of installation came on the line to tell me they would send someone. And they did. Clearly in our case the salesperson did not know the requirements for the product or did not know how to measure whether our situation could meet the requirements to the satisfaction of two installation crews. All told, I took two days from work and bought a bunch of paint, and we still have our old water heaters. Given we found Wolfers through its partnership with Costco, we were very disappointed with the service. So I urge you to be leery of the salespersons until Wolfer's takes steps to improve their training.

Description of Work
purchase and install tankless water heater

Category water heater repair

5.0

07/10/2018


Brenda M.

Everyone we had contact with from Wolfer's was a delight to work with.

Description of Work
heat pump installation

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/22/2018


Susan L.

Things went well for the most part. Whether it was because we got an earlier appointment or the equipment was not in stock, Wolfers had to substitute a different air conditioner model, to a higher level model.(Did not upcharge me) Not a problem, except that it was too big for the originally planned site. The only other spot was where my husband stores compost barrels. So needed to clear that area. Other than these small problems, the installation went well and the technicians, Ben C. and Jose S, worked with good humor and carefully. It was a long process, all day. And as the temperature continued to climb during the day, they stayed cool, calm and collected . Thank you, Ben and Jose. A new thermostat was installed and Ben stayed to make sure we really did know how to use it. A good experience, all in all. A big thank you to Leon Becker, the estimator/saleman that I worked with. He was professional and exceedingly patient with my many texts, emails and calls, as I tried to make sense of the scope, costs, etc. We used Wolfer in part because we are members of Costco and were able to take advantage of costco discounts.

Description of Work
We had a new furnace and new airconditioaner installed

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

12/07/2017


Josh B.

They worked well with NW Natural to get gas installed at the street, and they were punctual and professional during the installation. We were very happy up to that point. During the estimate, we told the salesman, Ryan, that we wanted payments under $100. He gave us a very accurate estimate (not that we've seen the final total), and told us that our payments would be $89. We said that was great, because we'd love to pay extra each month, and since $100 a month was our budget, we could do that. We received the financial paperwork after the install, and looking back, there was no monthly payment amount quoted. That should have been a red flag, but we didn't notice until later. Then we get a bill for $135. Apparently, that is now our monthly payment. WE ARE VERY ANGRY. We called Wolfer and left messages for Ryan on four separate occasions. One month later, we finally got ahold of him, at which point he told us that his quote was just for the principal. THIS WAS NEVER DISCLOSED TO US. We have also had issues with the install afterward... the duct in our guest room was never attached, so they had to come back to do that, and they never zoned the house, so the bedrooms bake while the rest of the house stays cool. The install was in September, and they're finally coming back in December to zone after multiple calls to the business. If you choose to go with Wolfer, make sure you look at the finances VERY carefully in advance. Also, know that their customer service after installation is HORRIBLE. We are so disappointed, and we wish we had gone with someone else. They have not offered to make it right; they haven't even apologized for our frustration. After this review, I'll be getting in touch with the owner directly.

Description of Work
We hired Wolfer to run gas to our stove, furnace, back patio, and water heater. They also installed a new furnace and air conditioning unit. The price they quoted wasn't the lowest we'd heard, but they seemed to be the most professional of the businesses we had out to the house.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

10/09/2017


Geoffrey M.

Was told the Zoning system working as designed. and could not do what I thought it was installed to do. after waiting another year decided to contact another Provider for a second opinion. They found issues in the wiring, corrected those issue and the result was that the zoning system is working as desired.

Description of Work
After installing New AC and Heating system, with a zoning system, Called because zoning system was not working correctly

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

09/23/2017


Linda A.

We did not have a good experience. We were left without water after the service, and when we called the company to ask for help, we were told that when they left, the water was running.

Description of Work
Remove garbage disposal, replace p-trap and collars and install new handles on washing machine hot and cold valves.

Category plumbing

5.0

09/16/2017


J J.

No problem with the two guys who came out. My only problem was with the front office. (1) I wasn't told there was a $99 trip charge on top of any work; really, 5 miles from the office. The guys lobbied the office to apply a $35 repeat-customer credit. (2) The office hadn't updated my contact info from my late husband's cell phone), and even had a prior owner's phone number also listed for our address. So when nobody showed up on August 21, I had to get that straightened out. Sort of, with two new snags. First, the gal was giving me a new date but not listening (three times) when I said that wouldn't work; she was even going to sign off with a cheery "Okay we'll see you Wednesday" so I had to YELL no, I won't be home. Then when the new date came, the team was slightly early, and I was out of range of the doorbell. They still had the old numbers on their work order. *sigh*

Description of Work
Plumbing - replaced toiler shutoff valve which had snapped

Category plumbing

5.0

08/16/2017


Heidi P.

I thought they were very comparable in price.

Description of Work
They installed our new unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/10/2017


Jeanne A.

These guys are wonderful. I’m very satisfied, I’ve used them before and I’ll use them again.

Description of Work
They replaced the hot water heater. And they also fixed the faucet on the kitchen sick.

Category plumbing, water heater repair

4.0

05/23/2017


SUSAN M.

They have been in heating since 1921, and they are on tv all the time. I hadn't had anyone else do anything. I don't know if they came on time or not.

Description of Work
.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/02/2017


Randy D.

They sent one technician and it took well under an hour, maybe a half hour. He left the area as clean as it was when he came in.

Description of Work
They came out for a unit inspection.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/05/2017


Sonya N.

Excellent. Wonderful crew of Rick/Chris/Brian doing great work, with great attitude and always asking what else they could do to help!

Description of Work
Installation of completely new gas furnace/AC/Filter and all new necessary ductwork.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/07/2017


Robert T.

They were excellent. We got three bids and they were all comparable. They are very good. There were 2 people and it took a couple days.

Description of Work
We had a whole new heating system installed.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/26/2017


Dan K.

Great. Communication was excellent! Installation went smoothly. They left the area cleaner than they fowould be it. All In all an excellent experience.

Description of Work
Install. Ew furnace and air conditioner.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/13/2017


Tyler V.

Our original appointment was cancelled due to a massive storm and power outage to our house. Sean showed up at 8:00am on the first morning that we had power back. He was great, very knowledgeable and friendly. He let me hover over his shoulder as he worked and patiently answered all of my questions and explained each step of the diagnosis. He checked all of the components and determined the problem to be a frozen condensate trap, but he admitted that its possible for some things to occur intermittently and assured me that there would be no travel charge for them to come out again if the problem proved to be something not related to the condensate line. He definitely gained my trust, and I will call on Wolfer's for all future HVAC needs. Additionally, a few weeks ago, Tim came out from Wolfers to give us some quotes on fixing some work that a different company had done. He was great also. Very thorough, professional and friendly. He was the reason why we called Wolfers to have them troubleshoot our furnace problem. So, in all we have dealt with two different representatives from Wolfers and they both did a great job.

Description of Work
HVAC Diagnostic Evaluation. Furnace would shut off when it was really cold.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/12/2017


Lori C.

The only thing that we've dealt with, the unit was making a lot of noise and when we had them come out the last time, they did some fine tuning on it but the one technician had said you know we might think about this unit might want to be replaced in the future under the warranty time and he said I'm going to make sure that gets into the files, that's the only thing that we had to deal with them on, hopefully if that happens that we're on file that it's possible equipment change out.

Description of Work
Air condition installation.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

12/30/2016


Janel P.

I'd been trying to find a trim kit to change the brass handle to chrome without having to change the valve in the wall. I'd spent too much time trying to figure this out. I'd bought several trim kits I thought would work, but they didn't. So I called a local plumber to change the out valve. Instead of changing the valve, the 2 plumbers that came said it seemed I should be able to change the trim kit as I'd been trying to do. The plumber with 30 yrs experience said he'd check on parts when they got back to their shop in the afternoon, but they had to charge me $69 for a service call. The new tub tile surround waited while this was figured out. I didn't hear back. A week or so later I called. They had forgotten about this. They said they'd check on it and call back. They didn't. I called again about 2-3 weeks after their initial visit. Again they were going to check on it and get back to me. Again they did not. I needed to get the project done so I could sell the house. I called another plumber who was able to tell me over the phone that the valve was too old. Trim kits and parts are not available as they had changed the design. I scheduled the valve replacement. They came when they said they would. They charged a reasonable rate and I paid it. Pretty straightforward. On 11/28/16, I called Wolfer's and asked for a refund of the $69, as they were no help. I don't feel I should be charged a service charge for their being no help and for being so bad at following up. The office person said she was told she was not allowed to give a refund. She was going to leave a message for the office manager who would be back the next day. I did not receive a call back. I rarely leave bad feedback, and like to give ample opportunity for mistakes to be fixed. But Wolfer's has repeatedly disappointed me. I'm tired of trying to follow up with them. I'm lucky I only paid $69 to them, and glad I didn't end up hiring them for more service. I do not recommend them. On the flip side, I found another great plumber I will use for future projects, and I have plenty of business to give them.

Description of Work
I asked them to replace a tub valve.

Category plumbing

5.0

12/12/2016


wavell M.

It was straight forward and good. The workers were great! They were easy to talk to.

Description of Work
They did an evaluation of the system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/25/2016


Joel F.

I was very impressed with the professionalism of everyone involved. Salesman, installers, and office personnel were all a pleasure to work with.

Description of Work
Installation of central heating and cooling system including new ductwork, Lennox variable speed gas furnace and Lennox central air conditioning as well as conversion to natural gas.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

09/19/2016


anthony A.

The faucet installation was expertly done. The toilet wasn't tightened down all the way and the flushing issue was only partially fixed. They two guys were there for 1 1/2 hours, replaced two plastic components in the top of the toilet and charged us $519. Next time I'll just go back to Rods plumbing and get on his waiting list. But the two guys were very nice.

Description of Work
We neede a new kitchen faucet installed and our toilet was loose to the floor and didn't flush correctly.

Category plumbing

5.0

06/21/2016


Linza B.

Harley and Ben from Wolfer's Home Services came to install our new Lennox furnace and air conditioner. They was extremely polite, professional and proficient. They did a excellent installation of our equipment. Couldn't have been more pleased with their job. They did a very aesthetically pleasing install of everything. When they finished they cleaned up every little piece of debris. We had a area rug on the garage floor where they was working. They vacuumed that totally clean and other areas they didn't even go into. We had just cleaned out the garage a few days before and there was little bits of stuff all over the place. They cleaned it all up very nicely. These fellows are Champs in my book. Highly recommend them to everyone. Thank you Harley and Ben!

Description of Work
Remove old furnace and AC units and install a new Lennox SLP98DFV Furnace and a Elite Searies XC14 AC Unit with a iComfort WiFi Thermostat. Also new lines under the house for the AC unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/12/2016


Linza B.

Shaun came by and went right to work. He was very professional, courteous and attentive to detail. Hooked up some pressure gauges and quickly realized that there is a pretty good freon leak somewhere in the system. There was barely any freon left in the system. So he kindly explained to me that I could spend a lot of money on finding the leak, by showing me what he would have to charge me, or I could take that money and put it toward a new system and then I would have a great system with a great warranty. My system is 18 years old and no warranty of course and has other problems. So he called the main office for me to schedule a free quote for a new setup the next day. Thank you Shaun! We shall see how it all works out. Thanks again. Sincerely, Mr Linza Blankenbeckler

Description of Work
We are having AC issues. Our AC does not produce any cold air. A Technician was scheduled for 2:30 pm. The main office called and said they could have a Technician come by a little earlier than scheduled if I didn't mind. That was very courteous of them to call ahead first. Most don't. This is a big deal package for a diagnostic for $89.00.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Realistic Rooter LLC

    Realistic Rooter is a locally owned, family operated plumbing and drain cleaning company servicing the Portland Metropolitan area with 15 plus years experience. We also offer sewer location, sewer repair and excavation. Our dedication to quality customer service and professionalism will leave you more than satisfied with any and all of your drain clearing needs. Call us for any kitchen, bathroom, laundry, main sewer line, outside rain drains or toilet clogs. We offer cabling ( snaking ), jetting and camera services.  

    Angi Certified

    HVAC Minstries

    Locally owned and operated Salem based HVAC, Roofing, Siding and General Contractor company. Where comfort and cleanliness is our excellence providing DIVINE AIR!!! Whether you need HVAC maintenance check , new roofing, siding or a remodel done, we are available to handle all of your heating, cooling, roofing, siding and remodeling needs. We strive to exceed your expectations by ensuring that each of our clients receives individualized service. Call for a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Hajek Heating & Cooling, LLC

    Hajek Heating & Cooling, LLC is a small, family-run company that specializes in Emme Controls/Home Comfort Zoning. Whether your needs include a small repair or a full-system upgrade, we can work within any plan and any budget.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    3%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Heating & Air Conditioning – Installation & Maintenance. Plumbing - Drain Cleaning, Garbage Disposals, Sewer Cleaning, Water Heaters & Softeners. Water Treatment Systems. Walk In Coolers.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Wolfer's Heating & AC - Woodburn

    How is Wolfer's Heating & AC - Woodburn overall rated?

    Wolfer's Heating & AC - Woodburn is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Wolfer's Heating & AC - Woodburn open?

    Wolfer's Heating & AC - Woodburn is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Wolfer's Heating & AC - Woodburn provide

    Wolfer's Heating & AC - Woodburn accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does Wolfer's Heating & AC - Woodburn offer free estimates?

    Yes, Wolfer's Heating & AC - Woodburn offers free project estimates.

    Does Wolfer's Heating & AC - Woodburn offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Wolfer's Heating & AC - Woodburn offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Wolfer's Heating & AC - Woodburn offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Wolfer's Heating & AC - Woodburn offers a 3% senior discount.

    Does Wolfer's Heating & AC - Woodburn offer emergency services?

    Yes, Wolfer's Heating & AC - Woodburn offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Wolfer's Heating & AC - Woodburn?

    Yes, Wolfer's Heating & AC - Woodburn offers warranties.

    What services does Wolfer's Heating & AC - Woodburn offer?

    Wolfer's Heating & AC - Woodburn offers the following services: Heating & Air Conditioning – Installation & Maintenance. Plumbing - Drain Cleaning, Garbage Disposals, Sewer Cleaning, Water Heaters & Softeners. Water Treatment Systems. Walk In Coolers.