Wonderman Remodeling & Handyman Services

About

Founded 2006 • With Angi since June 2007

WE ARE OPEN FOR BUSINESS DURING THIS PANDEMIC Note: We have implemented new procedures to comply with government issued guidelines regarding the Corona virus. Please visit http://wondermanremodeling.com/corona-virus for more information Owner operated. Cost is determined by the job or hour. No

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

BeforeAfterbefore

Verified Reviews

4.8

(258) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

206

4

20

3

8

2

4

1

19

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

handyman (204)drywall (91)interior painting (37)woodworking (26)home remodeling (24)door installation (20)tile installation (18)plumbers (17)flooring (17)general contractors (12)basement remodeling (11)insulation (9)
Showing 1-25 of 258 reviews
5.0

07/06/2021


Caresse S.

Everyone on the team was so great to work with and they did such an amazing job and we love our new bathroom! I had never done any remodeling and Raoul and team were fantastic. They kind of felt like part of the family! Definitely will hire for future work.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel + misc

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, flooring contractor, picture framing, handyman service, plumbing, home remodeling, doors

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/14/2021

Images

Review for Wonderman Remodeling & Handyman Services - PO Box 1876, Tualatin, OR - 39393563

+4 More

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with you on your bathroom remodel! Hope yo and yours are inejoing it!
5.0

03/18/2021


Rosie D.

We're so happy to have found Raoul and Gustavo! We had 2 - 13x13 sections of drywall missing in our ceiling on the first floor and the second floor (it was leftover from the previous owner removing a wood-burning fireplace). We contacted a few different contractors and although Wonderman wasn't the least expensive option, Rauol's professionalism and thorough questions during the quote process, was ultimately what helped us make the (right) decision. We've already talked to him about some other major projects we'll be doing this Spring/Summer. Also, we were worried about the texturizing after the patching, because the previous homeowners had gotten some patchwork done and those spots are glaringly obvious - but Gustavo did an amazing job doing the patchwork and blending the texture into the current texture. Definite master of his craft! Looking forward to working with this team again soon.

Description of Work
Drywall repair (2 areas)

Category drywall

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/16/2021

5.0

09/06/2020


Susie N.

The project Wonderman completed for us was, at its core, a re-piping project for the 2nd floor of our home. Two years ago, we had a leak on the 1st floor that educated us about the fact that the pipes inside our walls were all PVC, a cheap option used in the 1990s that is doomed to fail. Our homeowner’s insurance covered the three-month remediation when the leak occurred but did not cover replacement of the PVC plumbing – that cost was ours alone. We didn’t have enough $$ to re-pipe the whole house then, and we didn’t want to extend the time we were in a hotel with our 2 cats. So, we only re-piped the 1st floor during the original remediation. Now, two years later, it was time to re-pipe the 2nd floor. We intended to re-hire the same company that our insurance adjuster hired 2 years ago to finish the re-pipe project and to add a couple of upgrades while the bathroom walls were open. But, when we got the bid estimate from that company (a general contractor), the re-piping project cost was so high that not only was there no way to pay for any upgrades, but also the bid cut corners on the re-piping method to meet our budget. For example, it proposed that some of the new plumbing run along the ceiling on the inside of our home, not between the walls, so that there was less destruction and repair of walls to do, and so that a tub/shower surround did not have to be replaced by a new tub and tile surround. That estimate was so disappointing that we decided to seek other bids in case we could at least get the re-piping done between the walls for a reasonable price. We thought about trying to be our own general contractor, by hiring a plumber and a construction repair guy separately and trying to organize their schedules ourselves. Although less expensive, that was too daunting. We wanted a hybrid between a subcontractor and a general contractor – more reasonably priced, still highly skilled, and able to coordinate with one other subcontractor (a plumber) to ensure that the project got done promptly. After combing through dozens of reviews on Angie’s List, and meeting with 3-4 possible options, we found what we wanted in Wonderman. Raoul came to bid the project, and my impression was that he is a strong combination of capable, no nonsense, knowledgeable and articulate. He offered to handle the project either way – as the construction subcontractor (and he would recommend a good plumber), or as the general contractor. He said it would cost more to act as the general contractor, because coordination takes time and time is money. But it was clear that we could save money if we bought any parts and hardware we wanted to have installed (other than the pex pipes that would be provided). His bid to complete the re-piping project as general contractor did not involve any corner-cutting and was substantially less than the other company’s bid. So much so that additional upgrades were affordable, which he was willing and able to do. For the same price the other company was charging to do the job halfway, Wonderman would do the job 100% right and also complete upgrades that would let us SEE some improvement, not just have invisible improvements inbetween the walls. Raoul was willing to restrict work days to the days my husband does not work his graveyard shifts – Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday -- so my husband could sleep days he had night shifts He and his workers and subcontractors were on time, clean and respectful. (One minor concern was that no one wore masks, but we never insisted on it, either.) The project lasted from July 14th through August 27th, with a total of 22 work days. Raoul, Gus, or the plumber or tile subcontractor (or a combination) were always reliably at our house between 7:30 – 8:30 AM. They took only a ½ hour lunch, always at noon. They typically left at 3pm, but on some days when they had to stay late to complete something so that the next thing could begin the next day, they stayed up until 6pm. They worked hard the whole time they were there. There were a few notable challenges that they met superbly. One was matching our hand-brocaded ceiling pattern when they repaired holes made to insert new pipes. Gus figured out how to match a pattern that even real estate appraisers in the past had said would be impossible to match. The company we had two years ago (that was so expensive…) couldn’t match it at all. It was like Gus was a “wonderman.” 😊 Another challenge was my request for a pass-through window in a partial wall in the master bathroom, to let the sun through to the vanity area from a real window on the other side of the partial wall. When the drywall was torn off, it was apparent that the partial wall was filled with closely placed studs, pipes, and electrical wiring. It appeared impossible to fit a pass-through in that would allow for any standard sized glass shelves. Raoul figured it out, though, and made it very beautiful. Another challenge was the 3/4” thick glass shower door I bought to have installed. Raoul had to add wood to studs in the wall to ensure it was installed in a way that would not be compromised over time, but he did it with a smile. Another challenge was creating a vent to the roof for a bathroom exhaust fan that had never originally been in the master. It took an extra day to figure out, but they did it very well. While I can’t say that communication was perfect, I can say that it was immensely better than the communication we’ve had with other contractors and subcontractors, both ourselves and on behalf of our parents. I got about 75 – 80% of my email and text questions answered, within 12-24 hours. Raoul was always professional and friendly, and accommodated add-on requests for work up to the very end. We are beyond thrilled with the final results. See the before and after pictures. I recommend Wonderman whole-heartedly. If you are seeking an honest, reasonably priced, skilled person for anything from handyman work to general contracting, I don’t think you can do better than Wonderman. We will absolutely hire him again for all of our future projects.

Description of Work
Re-piping of 2nd Floor & Upgrades to Bathrooms.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, flooring contractor, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/06/2020

Images

Review for Wonderman Remodeling & Handyman Services - PO Box 1876, Tualatin, OR - 38856541

+9 More

1.0

08/06/2020


KS A.

Contacted them, without receiving a response

Description of Work
No work provided

Category handyman service

Work Completed On 08/05/2020

5.0

06/10/2020


BRANDY W.

Great. They were very responsive to all communications and questions, took time to give us various options for the work, and most importantly, they do quality work at a fair price. They were very conscientious about leaving things clean and wearing protective gear, and getting the work done on time. I would most definitely recommend them and would be happy to hire them again myself.

Description of Work
Finished our basement (framing, drywall, painting, flooring, minor plumbing, shelving), repaired dry rot issues around windows and under porch

Category contractors, closet systems, decks, drywall, picture framing, handyman service, hardwood floor, remodeling, woodworking, house painters, interior painters, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/10/2020

Service Provider Response

Loved the finish look! Enjoy the new laundry room and bedroom!
5.0

01/14/2020


James R.

Work was excellent, they were happy to help with small jobs as well as the more substantial door repairs which required some innovative solutoin.

Description of Work
repair of sliding closet doors, replace some items in our bathroom. Fixed two doors that were sticking

Category handyman service, woodworking, doors

Cost $350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/02/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the opportunity to work with you!
5.0

01/02/2020


Jessica B.

Bathroom vanity removal and new vanity installed

Description of Work
Went great! Raoul and his crew were awesome to work with, communicated everything well and solved all the minor hiccups we ran into. Thankful for their services!

Category handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/07/1970

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with this family! Had to improvise when we discovered a few plumbing issues but it turned out great!
5.0

12/07/2019


Darcy B.

Fantastic! Raoul was very responsive to my inquiry and was able to fit us in right away. The Wonderman crew were punctual, efficient, and professional. They did excellent work and when they were finished, you would never know they were here aside from the amazing finished project. They exceeded our expectations and I look forward to hiring them again.

Description of Work
Frame and cover large space with drywall, texture, and paint.

Category drywall, handyman service, woodworking, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/02/2019

Service Provider Response

Glad we were able to help and get your project done before Christmas!
5.0

03/12/2019


Barbara G.

Our master bath needed an update. We had chipped wash basins, a stained counter, a testy toilet, badly tiled back splashes, garish wall paint, and poor lighting. How had I lived with this mess for seven years? I found Wonderman Remodeling Services on Angie’s List, soon nice men were spending their days here, and we now have, as one friend put it, “a very soothing bathroom. Like the ocean.” We appreciate their meticulous work and the way they have of making us feel special and cared for. No detail was too small, no job too hard. Raoul’s knowledge is impressive, and he made suggestions, gave us choices, and made sure we liked what was being done as the project progressed. This trusted team is friendly, professional, and hardworking. We recommend them highly.

Description of Work
Remodeling

Category ceramic tile, electrician, handyman service, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Images

Review for Wonderman Remodeling & Handyman Services - PO Box 1876, Tualatin, OR - 37757194

Service Provider Response

We definitely made some friends here! The bath refresh came out wonderful as did our new customers holiday cake (yum!)! Hope to work with you soon on your other smaller tasks!
5.0

12/18/2018


Jason N.

Wonderman Remodeling was a pleasure to work with. Raoul is courteous, professional and extremely talented. We had our living room and dining room ceilings demo'ed and redone with drywall. After the ceilings were replaced, we had both rooms painted. During the construction, Raoul and his crew were always on time and were efficient. We ended up needing additional insulation and new electrical boxes which was no problem for the crew to handle. When the project was completed, the rooms looked absolutely stunning. It was exactly how I hoped the rooms would turn out. The cost was affordable and fair. The project stayed on budget and we never encountered surprise costs. I would (and will) hire them back for the next project. One highlight is that Raoul gave an expected date to wrap the project and he actually finished on that day! Huge thumbs up, I'm a big fan of Wonderman.

Description of Work
Ceiling demo and replacement, Electrical, Insulation, Painting

Category drywall, electrician, handyman service, insulation, lighting, remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/14/2018

Service Provider Response

What an awesome family and project! This customer was very kind and motivational. Truly understood our goal to not only perform quality work but to build long lasting relationships with our clients. We truly wish you and your family the best in your home and life!
5.0

11/13/2018


Jamie S.

Extremely happy with our new kitchen. This was actually our second time using Wonderman. We had them remove a large closet to expand our family room and we were so happy with the result we contracted with them to do our kitchen. Raoul helped us through the whole process, finding the right cabinets and counters and helping to deal with surprises (like asbestos). In addition to new cabinets and counters, they removed soffits, updated the floor, plumbing and lighting. The crew maintained a clean workspace and treated our home with care. The job took a little longer than we would have liked but we understood the reasons for the delays and overall we would highly recommend Wonderman.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel

Category countertops, drywall, electrician, hardwood floor, lighting, plumbing, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/15/2019

Service Provider Response

As a previous customer, we were delighted to help and glad to provide guidance through this kitchen redesign and ultimate remodel. Such a pleasant family to work with! Hope you enjoy the high quality cabinets and countertop for years to come!
5.0

11/03/2018


Mark P.

Absolutely GREAT! A super job by Kelly with HANDYMAN MATTERS! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Description of Work
Repaired 2 outside door jams, some siding had to be pulled back to clean out dry-rot. Installed new bottoms of door jams, re-caulked/ sealed.

Category handyman service

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/02/2018

5.0

10/31/2018


Ryan M.

Everything went excellent. We have been trying to find the right person for our study remodel for months now, everybody we talked to was unrealistic in pricing for one part of the job or another. Wonderman came in with a good budget and even suggested changes to make things cheaper or more manageable, no other contractor we talked to was willing to do that!

Description of Work
Study Remodel

Category drywall, handyman service, lighting, interior painters

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/31/2018

Service Provider Response

It was a sincere pleasure working with you! The final product worked out as planned and hope you can enjoy the new design for years to come.
5.0

10/13/2018


Robert T.

The whole project was excellent. We had drywall repair, texturing and painting done. The process throughout was well managed and communicated.

Description of Work
Wall and ceiling repair.

Category drywall, handyman service, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/04/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure working with your family and glad you are satisfied with the final product!
5.0

06/13/2018


Barbara C.

It went well for the most part. Raoul was always in contact to let us know what to expect next, timewise and moneywise. His crew was exceptional in their knowledge and professionalism-as well as being very pleasant to work with. Our one complaint-and I already mentioned this to Raoul-is that, based on previous jobs we'd had done to the house-is that we found out at the end that we, as homeowners, were responsible for hauling away the construction debris (excess wood, 2 patio doors with aluminum frames) which added another $250 to the project. I suggested that it be made very clear on the estimates he submits that this is the case so no one is surprised. In fairness to them, it was NOT spelled out on the invoice that it WOULD be removed by them-it was an assumption on our part.

Description of Work
For whatever reason, when our house was purchased, it had TWO patio doors in place-one outside the other. It appeared there had been water damage to the hardwood floor and so the previous owners simply decided to install a second sliding glass door instead of doing it correctly by removing the inside door, fixing the floor and re-installing a new patio door. Raoul and his guys removed both patio doors, installed a new door where they had been and tore out/repaired the floor where it had been damaged by water years ago. The new door was smaller than the previous ones so it also involved building a frame to support the new door.

Category contractors, picture framing, handyman service, doors

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/30/2018

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure helping you get this project completed. It was a bit of a challenge determining the scope of work until we removed the two doors with the vinyl siding covering the layers of siding hiding behind. Thank you for your feedback on the disposal fee. We normally communicate that on time and material projects disposal of any debris is not included as there is no way for us to add a fair amount to the hourly rate as each job has different amounts of debris. We will make an effort to be clear on this moving forward!
5.0

05/17/2018


Preston R.

Wonderman did a super job. When the started they found several problems hidden by the old siding and called me to find out what I wanted to do. They took the time to listen to my needs and the time to make sure that the job was correct. My home turned out beautiful and these guys will be first on my list if I need anything else done. I highly recommend Wonderman for remoldeling needs.

Description of Work
Replaced the siding, window moldings and skirting on home.

Category handyman service, siding, house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/17/2018

Service Provider Response

It was a sincere pleasure working with you sir! I'm sure your home will be the envy of the neighborhood now that you have durable materials and high quality installation in place! Enjoy your new home!
5.0

05/06/2018


MG B.

Service was professional and prompt. It was easy to set up the appointment for the estimate, the work went smoothly, and the final product is great. We plan on hiring this service for future projects on our house. This is a good firm to work with.

Description of Work
Cat door on exterior wall

Category handyman service, remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

02/12/2018


David B.

Raoul and his crew did an outstanding job and were always a pleasure to work with. Even though they had a busy schedule they kept me well informed when they would be available and always showed up when they said they would. Pricing matched what was quoted. He did a great job on communication through the whole process. I was impressed with the quality of workmanship from all the workers and very happy with the end result. He and his crew are all honest hardworking individuals, all were very professional and courteous and great at what they do!

Description of Work
The floor in the bathroom in the center of our home had water damage and had to be removed and replaced. We also decided to have the bathroom remodeled at the same time.

Category drywall, flooring contractor, handyman service, remodeling, water damage restoration, woodworking, home remodeling

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/15/2017

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with you on your project! Hope you are enjoying your bathroom!
5.0

10/12/2017


Bridget U.

The floors and walls both came out beautifully! Raoul was super helpful throughout, especially as the project evolved a few times and expanded to include the wall painting. Everything got done quickly and professionally, even down to paint touchups on a door that a bit of the floor stain got on. Super happy with the process and the outcome overall.

Description of Work
My unfinished basement had bare concrete floors and exposed foundation walls. I needed the floors stained and sealed, and the foundation walls painted with tinted Drylok both for looks and as a moisture barrier.

Category flooring contractor, handyman service, remodeling, interior painters, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/11/2017

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with you and happy that you are happy with the end results!
1.0

09/07/2017


Wendy R.

Never called me back after leaving a message that I wanted a job bid.

Description of Work
lots of things

Category handyman service

Work Completed On 09/07/2017

Service Provider Response

As our voicemail prompt specifically indicates, when requesting an estimate we request you go to our website to fill out our form which saves both our prospective customers and our staff time gathering basic information (e.g. name, address, phone number, scope of work etc) which is used to narrow down which projects fall under our scope of work and area.
1.0

08/30/2017


Shannon C.

Wonderman is getting an awful lot of F grades for not responding to bid requests. Well, I will add to those stinky grades with my own. Sent a request for a bid for multiple odd jobs around my home and received zero response. Again, I must say if you are too busy to take on new customers, at least let them know so they are not waiting to hear back! So sick of unresponsive contractors!

Description of Work
Odd jobs around the house (electrical, aesthetic, etc.)

Category handyman service

Work Completed On 08/26/2017

Service Provider Response

Unfortunately, we do not typically schedule estimates over the phone as we do not have enough resources at this time. As most companies that are in a growth phase, we wish we had enough funds to hire a dedicated staff member to answer all the calls we receive so for that we apologize. Reasonably, we do try to respond to all the calls and emails that come our way even when the projects do not fall under our scope of work. Hence, we ask that all requests for an estimate be done so through our website which is explicitly explained on our voicemail prompt. This process helps gather basic info (e.g. name, address, phone number, scope of work etc.) so we can determine if your property is in our service area and if so, if your scope of work falls under our services. The fact that you have access to the internet (the method you used to fill out this bad report against our company) tells us that you could have gone through the requested channel by filling out our form so that we could have helped expedite your request. Rather than work to help the local economy by contributing to small business owners you are one of the few that prefer to spike honest companies like ours. In all honesty, we prefer not to work with people like yourself so thank you for saving us the trouble!
5.0

08/08/2017


Dave and Jennifer M.

After much hassle, Lowes ended up hooking us up with a different subcontractor of theirs that could do both the repairs & finish the install of the patio doors. Really wish they had used that contractor in the first place. We ended up not having Wonderman do an estimate since it was easier to use the Lowe's sub since the install part of the work was already paid for. Next time we need a contractor, however, I will definitely call Raoul & Wonderman.

Description of Work
Long story short-we went through Lowes to get a couple new patio doors. We paid upfront for the materials & labor. The contractor who showed up to install the doors found carpenter ant damage on one door frame & some dry rot/mold on the other but didn't do repair work-just the install so they put our old doors back on temporarily & we had to find someone else for the repair. I left messages for 4 different contractors. Raoul with Wonderman was the only one to call me back. He was professional & helpful, offering to come provide an estimate. He also explained they were booked for several months out, but did set aside some time to fit in smaller jobs.

Category handyman service, woodworking

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/17/2017