NW SURFACE CLEANER INC

About

Founded 1983 • With Angi since October 2005

We've specialized in cleaning, treating and repairing roofs and decks since 1983 by using only the best environment friendly products! Our services provide tremendous value to your home as well as enhance its curb appeal at an affordable price. Our superior knowledge, expertise and competitive

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly

Images

AfterPool Deck RestorationBEFORE

Deck refinish in Portland

deck cleaning

202097221
-Washed deck with a stripper and brightener to clean wood -Sanded decks with a 80-100grit paper to smooth out and remove old finish off of the decking -Stained decks by hand with a high quality oil based stain
View project

Verified Reviews

4.6

(140) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

111

4

12

3

8

2

5

1

4

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

roof cleaning (83)deck cleaning (66)gutter cleaning (37)decks & porches (36)pressure washing (35)roofing (15)woodworking (6)house painting (5)gutter repair (4)
Showing 1-25 of 140 reviews
5.0

04/21/2022


Alan D.

Kevin and his team did an excellent job. Kevin was great at returning calls, on time arrival and a skilled team that went above and beyond our expectations.

Description of Work
Old deck tear off and trex deck built.

Category decks, pressure washing

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/11/2022

5.0

07/31/2021


Fasil D.

Kevin and the team were very professional did an excellent job stripping and refinishing my back deck. Also power washed snd reapplied again to my whole fence after I requested that work be added on. Kevin came back himself to touchup any areas I pointed out.

Description of Work
Deck stripped and refinished +stained

Category decks, pressure washing

Cost $1,495

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/22/2021

Images

Review for NW SURFACE CLEANER INC - 8162 Southwest Durham Road, Tigard, OR - 39423876

+2 More

5.0

06/02/2021


Gregory H.

Absolutely great. They were timely, clean and neat. The workers were friendly and did more than what was required.

Description of Work
Repair and paint deck

Category decks, deck cleaning

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/21/2021

5.0

05/09/2021


Colin C.

Kevin was always on time, communicative and professional. He and his crew knew what they were doing, were flexible as the needs of the job changed, and finished with their high quality work on time and on budget. The deck looks great and it's ready for the summer now!

Description of Work
Restoration, repair, power washing and staining of cedar deck

Category decks, deck cleaning, pressure washing, woodworking

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/05/2021

5.0

11/09/2020


Linda H.

Kevin was very responsive in returning calls, providing an estimate and showing up when he said they would. Our single-story roof (plus 2 shed roofs) were heavily covered with moss so they had to pressure wash it off, followed by putting down zinc powder to keep the moss at bay. They were very conscientious with the prep work in covering all the shrubs and lawn below and when they were finished, they took care in removing tarps, debris and hosing down the sides of the house and walkways. We were very pleased with the their work. Kevin was very professional, friendly and we felt the cost was fair. We would definitely recommend Northwest Surface Cleaner to family and friends.

Description of Work
Pressure wash roof and 2 shed roofs.

Category woodworking, roof cleaning

Cost $1,495

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/23/2020

5.0

10/11/2020


Bruce T.

Ken Baumann started the process with a competitive quote followed by the replacement of cracked and aged wood shakes with 3 squares of new heavy shakes. After the shakes were replaced the entire roof was treated with Guardian roof cleaner which is a sprayer applied solution that cleans the roof and protects it from future moss growth. I have used NW Surface Cleaner several times to repair my shake roof and will use them in the future when my roof requires outstanding repair and service..

Description of Work
My wooden shake roof required a tune up, including shake replacement and cleaning. .

Category roofing, woodworking, roof cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/11/2020

5.0

10/10/2020


Peter T.

Top notch service, responsiveness, and value. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. They sanded and stained our deck and it looks beautiful. Also came out on short notice and cleaned our gutters and clogged downspouts. I'm a very happy customer.

Description of Work
Deck Maintenance and Roof Maintenance

Category gutter cleaning, deck cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/10/2020

5.0

09/21/2020


Doug W.

Kevin and his team did a great job! All of Kevin's team members working on our project were very knowledgable, professional and punctual. Our project was scheduled and completed in a very short period of time. We are very happy with the way our deck looks. This was our second time using NW Surface Cleaner and we plan to use them again for other home projects.

Description of Work
Deck cleaning, sanding and staining

Category deck cleaning

Cost $1,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2020

5.0

08/01/2020


Harley K.

Kevin and his team are great! He’s knowledgeable, gave us options by showing examples of stains and was happy to use our own product, although we chose to go with his for a better and longer lasting result. The decks look like new, we will definitely use his company again for any deck or roof maintenance.

Description of Work
Decks cleaned and stained

Category decks, deck cleaning, woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/29/2020

5.0

07/26/2020


Jessica T.

This was our second time using NW Surface Cleaner to refinish our wood deck. Just as Kevin described originally we got 3-4 years of performance out of the original coat of stain and the repeat work was a light wash and another coat. Looks fantastic and more importantly the wood is well protected so it won’t need replacing anytime soon! Kevin and his team were prompt, professional and knowledgeable. See you all in a few years!

Description of Work
Deck cleaning, sanding and staining

Category decks, deck cleaning, pressure washing

Cost $1,995

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2020

Images

Review for NW SURFACE CLEANER INC - 8162 Southwest Durham Road, Tigard, OR - 38748853
5.0

06/19/2020


Gary S.

Exceedingly well. Unlike some other contractors we contacted, Kevin actually visited our home. He carefully examined the coating condition , discussed his findings with us, and presented two options: a thorough cleaning and recoating with a similar product, or sanding and staining--which was far more expensive. We agreed to the first option but after beginning the pressure washing he commented that the old paint was coming off readily so sanding wouldn't be the problem he anticipated (and why he had bid it so high). We re-negotiated a lower price for the sanding and staining and proceeded with that. We were happy that he was able to squeeze our project in between others to have it completed early. The surface staining looked great, but I wasn't satisfied that the edges of the boards--the inside of the gaps--weren't evenly coated. Kevin broke away from a nearby job, came over and cheerfully spent another hour painstakingly re-staining between the boards. We liked the guy, and the fact that he quickly responded to our texts and phone calls. He is experienced and knowledgeable, answering our questions about maintenance and product types. We wholeheartedly recommend NW Surface Cleaners, Inc.

Description of Work
Our cedar porch/deck was peeling the previous paint job.

Category decks, deck cleaning, pressure washing

Cost $1,995

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/05/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for your great review!
5.0

05/14/2020


Linda C.

Kevin was very responsive. Estimate was reasonable and provided timely. Kevin was great about keeping us informed about scheduling and the process. His crew was extremely efficient and punctual. Thrilled with the results. See before and aftere photos.

Description of Work
Clean and restain old deck

Category deck cleaning

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/09/2020

Images

Review for NW SURFACE CLEANER INC - 8162 Southwest Durham Road, Tigard, OR - 38565864

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you! We are happy that you are happy!
5.0

03/18/2020


David K.

Kevin and his team make a great partner. He came to the house to inspect and give us a competitive quote to stain two decks and repaint deck railings. While we did have to wait for the weather, he and his team were prompt and efficient when the work could get started. He also was happy to come back out to touch up some areas after the work was completed. Will definitely use NW Surface Cleaners again.

Description of Work
Deck painting and staining

Category decks, deck cleaning, house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/18/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much! We look forward to future projects!
5.0

11/16/2019


Maria S.

I contacted Kevin to make an appointment to look at my 3 decks and an appointment was scheduled for a couple of days later. Kevin examined our decks and wrote an estimate. Kevin said he would be able to schedule the work in a few weeks and asked for a $300 deposit to hold the date. We paid the deposit on 6/30/19. On 8/23/19 Kevin, Marco, and Bernabe came to work on our decks as scheduled. They did a beautiful job. The decks look like new. After the first day's work we paid $1,395.00. The men returned to check on the decks and did some minor cleaning of the white fencing on the deck on 8/27/19 and we paid the final payment of $1,400.00. We were totally satisfied with their work. Total cost for this deck work was $3,095.00. My husband spoke to Kevin about cleaning moss from our roof and cleaning the gutters and treating the roof for moss prevention. An appointment was made and Kevin and Bernabe came and cleaned and treated the roof and cleaned the gutters. The roof was treated so it should not need to be cleaned for another couple of years. Again they did a beautiful job. The charge for this roof work was $1,195.00. Kevin and his team are hardworking professionals. I would highly recommend NW Surface Cleaners and we will use them agin in the future to maintain our three decks.

Description of Work
2 large decks and 1 smaller deck cleaned, sanded and stained.

Category gutter cleaning, deck cleaning, roof cleaning

Cost $4,290

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for an awesome review! Great working with you!
5.0

10/02/2019


Conde C.

i had a problem with the quality of the work and refusal to put on needed second application of sealant, and posted a negative review. the owners then called and personally came to my house and personally put on second sealant application. he was very responsive and fully corrected the problems with the original work

Description of Work
deck resurfacing

Category deck cleaning, roof cleaning

Cost $1,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2019

5.0

09/30/2019


Matthew B.

Excellent communications and quick to answer questions. Roof looks great.

Description of Work
Brushed roof of Miss growth. Cleaned out gutters/flushed downspouts. Applied roof treatment. Replaced damaged pipe jack.

Category gutter cleaning, roof cleaning

Cost $1,495

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/16/2019

5.0

08/04/2019


warren O.

The initial stain did not work well with my deck. Kevin was very attentive and came out, backed up his work and re-stained the deck with a heavier stain free of charge. Very happy with their responsiveness and commitment to customer satisfaction. Would definitely hire this company again.

Description of Work
Need a deck stained.

Category deck cleaning

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2019

5.0

07/30/2019


Penelope L.

Went very well. Pleased with how our deck looks now. Very responsive and answered all questions about care of our deck in the future as well.

Description of Work
Deck cleaning, sanding and painting/staining

Category decks, roof cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/30/2019

5.0

06/27/2019


Geri H.

We hired up Kevin Baumann & his crew to restore our 20 year old Western Red Cedar deck. NW Surface Cleaner did an outstanding job bringing our deck back to full glory! Totally pro work from start to finish. We have taken meticulous care of our deck over the years. I can honestly tell you it has never looked this good. Every call was returned every appointment kept. Kevin was here everyday making sure the job was being completed to our satisfaction. The entire crew took great pride in the job that they were doing. TOTALLY Professional company that will meet or exceed all expectations.....

Description of Work
Restore 20 year old Western Red Cedar Deck

Category decks, deck cleaning, pressure washing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/26/2019

5.0

06/20/2019


Erryn R.

The cleaning went great. They did awesome work. Our gutters were clogged and there was a lot of moss on the roof. It was nice to be able to have some reliable come do the project. They cleaned and treated all in one day. I would recommend them to anyone and will definitely have them come again if I need gutter or roof cleaning.

Description of Work
Gutter and roof cleaning

Category gutter cleaning, roof cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/20/2019

5.0

06/07/2019


Sarah G.

Awesome! Kevin is courteous, talented and professional. He gave me a bid that included several choices of service at my request (do the whole thing, have me do part, etc.). The work was done very well... the deck is beautiful. The last stain used (by another contractor) had oxidized or something, turning an ugly black... his cleaning and sanding (including a pergola) removed the residue and he used a stain that won't do the same thing as it gets weathered. We use this company for our annual roof cleaning and moss prevention and have used them for powerwashing our driveway and patio. Always excellent and dependable.

Description of Work
Powerwash, sand and stain cedar deck and pergola

Category decks, deck cleaning, pressure washing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/07/2019

5.0

05/30/2019


Troy L.

Kevin and his crew did an amazing job! We received a free quote, had the work completed in a timely fashion (despite the rain), and had a great experience. Kevin and his crew do quality work. I noticed their trucks say, “Decks done right,” and they mean it. We also appreciated Kevin’s knowledge and communication. Our deck looks like new again.

Description of Work
We needed our 12+ year old deck cleaned and stained.

Category deck cleaning

Cost $995

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/23/2019