Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

K9 Bed Bug Detection NW LLC

Founded 2013 • With Angi since April 2013

5.0

(9) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

11305 SW 121st Avenue

Tigard, OR 97223

Description

K9 Bed Bug Detection NW is a veteran owned business using highly trained and certified dogs. We have over 26 years of training and handling detection dogs. Prior clients inclued FBI, Oregon and Washington State Police, County & City police agencies and the Veteran's Administration. Our dogs can

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
theresa E.
5.0
10/27/2016
Great! We have a large home, so it cost us $250. Also Marty has a quickly responding service for when you return from a trip to check your luggage and decide whether you are bringing home any "new best friends." Marty is a veteran, and a very professional, experienced and thorough person.
Description of Work
Before you get exterminators out, hire this person, Marty and his canine, Maggie in this case. Save yourself a lot of stress over price, heating your house to 130 degrees, washing all your clothes, etc. Way too much stress involved in the question, "Do I have Bed bugs". The exterminators will exploit your panic, and if it is at all questionable as to whether you have them or not, you can guess which way the exterminators will want you to go. Marty Neiman is the only one in town on whom to depend. You need to find out for sure that you have them before you do expensive treatment.
Category
pest control, home inspection
jon K.
5.0
09/02/2016
Marty and Maggie spent a little less than an hour in our house. I got a demo of Maggie finding a bed bug in a sealed jar hidden in the couch, which she found easily. They went through our entire house, bedrooms, closets, everywhere. They also examined all the contents of the bags we had put outside, luggage from a recent trip, etc. Maggie did not find that the infestation had spread, and we're hopeful that we isolated all of them in the bed where we knew them to be. This aligned with the fact that we are not finding them in the ClimbUps and nobody in the house is getting bites. Marty was knowledgeable and professional, and in addition to having Maggie check our house, he discussed options for moving forward. We will continue to monitor for quite a while. While a dog can't guarantee that there are no bed bugs anywhere in the house, given that they like to be near the place where people sleep, we're hopeful that our issue has been addressed. Only time will tell. I'll post a follow up here if there are any changes in our situation. Marty also offered to come by again for free for a follow up if anything changes. Bed bugs are very stressful to deal with. Having Maggie check our house has been a good way for us to identify the scope of the problem, and feel more sure about how we are going to proceed.
Description of Work
Check our house for bed bugs. We had found a couple and done all the things we could think of to mitigate this ourselves - belongings in trash bags, bed wrapped in painter's plastic sheeting and sealed, ClimbUps on all beds in the house, all clothes and stuffed animals run through the dryer. We wanted to assess where we were before deciding next steps. Having a dog inspect the house seemed to be a sensible way of evaluating the extent of the problem.
Category
pest control
Nancy K.
5.0
11/06/2015
Marty (the owner) is professional, customer friendly and clearly experienced in dealing with bed bug problems. I employed his service after waking up with multiple red welts on my legs and torso, had no idea the source, and feared bed bugs. He and Maggie (K9 detector dog) explored every inch of my home quickly and efficiently. Maggie is extremely well trained, does her job and creates no disturbance. To my relief, they found no evidence of bed bugs. After the detection inspection, Marty took time to talk about other possible causes for the insect bites. He asked many questions about where I had been recently. Based on that info and the condition of my home, he concluded that the bites (or allergic reaction causing the welts) most likely came from outside the house. I would highly recommend his service to any homeowner. With stories on the news about increasing problems of bed bugs in the Portland area, it was a great relief to learn that I do not have that problem in my home. Thank you so much, Marty and Maggie!
Description of Work
Marty guided his trained dog (Maggie) through my house to detect if bed bugs were present. No indication of bed bugs was detected.
Category
home inspection
Sara S.
5.0
10/21/2015
Amazing to watch the dog in action and as suspected, he found traces in one room.
Description of Work
He brought in his wonderful and well-behaved dog to inspect for bed bugs.
Category
home inspection
Susan R.
5.0
10/11/2015
Because bedbugs had definitely been sighted in the hallway, we were so relieved that they had no spread. Marty and Maggie were both professional as could be. They arrived right on time, and were thorough in what they did. He also answered a lot of our questions and gave us much information about bedbugs, their spread, habits, prevention of spread, etc. The following day, the property management company brought in its own pest control person. I was there to watch him at work. His inspection was a "lick and a promise", compared to what Marty did. And I am speaking of just what Marty did. He turned over furniture and cushions and was slow and thorough in his inspection. The other service was way more perfunctory in their inspection. And then, with Marty, there was Maggie inspecting as well, giving us, essentially, a double inspection. As I mentioned, Maggie inspected two cars that had been possibly infected with bedbugs. Without Maggie,'s inspection, there is NO WAY that anyone could visually inspect all the cracks and crevices in a cars -- Maggie finding nothing in the two cars gave us total peace of mind. Lastly, Maggie inspected all our purses and backpacks: another area that it would have been impossible to fully inspect visually. I recommend this service HIGHLY!
Description of Work
Using his dog, Maggie, checked two suites, the hallway in a downtown office building, and two cars for bedbugs after there had been bedbugs seen in the area.
Category
home inspection
LYRA H.
5.0
11/09/2014
Marty and his lab, Maggie, came to our house to inspect for bed bugs. We were reassured that our home was bug free. Part of the fee is a return visit in one month if concerns continue. Marty is very knowledgeable about bed bugs, and Maggie is a delight.
Description of Work
Inspected for bed bugs
Category
home inspection
Helen H.
5.0
04/05/2014
same as above.
Description of Work
i wasn't sure that we had bedbugs, so didn't want to pay for a service or contact an exterminator, yet. Martie was by far the most knowledgable person I spoke with about bedbugs, and I called a lot of exterminators. He came to our house and provided us with traps, at no cost, which allowed me to catch one and see that indeed we did have a bedbug. Haven't seen another one since, so I didn't need Martie to bring his dog. However, after his tutoring I know what to look for so I can catch it early if our sole visitor was a female and left eggs. I would rate Marty highly for his professionalism, response time and knowledge. No-one else that I spoke with suggested I use traps that surround the bed legs. I had our bedbug caught in less than 24 hours. Fingers crossed we don't have babies. If we do, Martie is the one we will call.
Category
home inspection

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed],Thank you and let's hope you won't need our service.
Johnna V.
5.0
01/08/2014
After returning from NYC I suspected I had bed bugs. I was in a panic and called Marty to help me determine if I did in fact have them in my home. He scheduled to come to my home the next morning. He was incredibly knowledgeable, professional, thorough, and helpful. He and his dog inspected my home and he did a careful visual inspection, which gave me a clear answer. It is clear that he takes his work seriously and wants to give people the most reliable answer possible. I also appreciated his discreteness and the understanding he conveyed about how alarming it can be to think you have bed bugs. I would absolutely recommend him and would use him in the future, but I seriously hope that I NEVER have to again.
Description of Work
Marty and his dog inspected my home for bed bugs.
Category
home inspection
karen L.
5.0
12/27/2013
Provider was prompt, courteous, and efficient. Signage on truck was discrete, nothing to make homeowner or neighbors self-conscious about requiring bed bug services. Provider toured the house, pointed out likely areas of infestation, based on background provided by home owner. Provider explained the process of canine inspection, what to expect as the dog inspected. The dog, a very nice black German Shepard, was brought in from truck and examined various rooms and areas of the house with the provider, sometimes returning to double-check in areas that would be likely to be infested. The dog was well-behaved, and both the dog and provider were careful with personal possessions and furnishings. Provider returned dog to truck, and walked through the house with owner, reviewing the process and results. A written summary of the findings were provided. I was very impressed with Marty and his scope of knowledge. He was careful to explain bed bug life cycles, probably hiding places, areas of concern. He listened carefully to my concerns and fears (Basically "Yech, bed bugs in my house!!") and answered all my questions thoughtfully and thoroughly. I appreciate that this business does not have a stake in the outcome of the inspection, so there's no "up-selling." Based on my experience, I highly recommended K9 Bed Bug Detection NW LLC.
Description of Work
Provided canine inspection of home for bed bugs.
Category
pest control, home inspection

    Other local Pros in your area

    OutLook Pest Management

    OutLook Pest Management is a small family run business located in Canby, OR with 10 years of experience in the pest control industry. We offer pest management services to residential and commercial customers. We provide service to Canby and surrounding areas. We offer services for ants, spiders, boxelder/ stink bugs, rodents, stinging insects (yellow jackets, wasp, and hornets) fleas, cockroaches and more! We specialize in residential, apartments, restaurants, warehouses, vineyards, and other commercial businesses. We provide after hours and weekend services for businesses. we tailor our services to your property needs. We offer our OutLook Pest Free Guarantee which means if you choose us we offer warranty for most pests, exclusion work, free callbacks in between services and the confidence that your home or business is protected! Customer satisfaction is very important to us. Give us a call and let us protect your home or business so you can have "A better OutLook to your pest issues!"  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    BEAVERTON PEST CONTROL

    2 EMPLOYEES. NO SUBS. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. TRAVEL CHARGES MAY APPLY. ASK ABOUT ANGIE'S LIST DISCOUNT.  

    Angi Certified

    TRIGUARD PEST CONTROL PORTLAND

    Pest control services of all kinds, including ants, roaches, spiders, termites, bed bugs, ticks, fleas, mice, and more! -- Don't see your need on our list of services? Give us a call to further discuss your needs!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    We are not an extermination service, we have no vested interest in the outcome, Our service provides the best K9 detection available in the Northwest. If bed bugs are found we will offer several recommendations to elimate any bed bug problem.

    Services Not Offered

    We recommend Andy with Pure Environmental (503-893-9731) with their heat treatment process and Emil Georges with Orkin (503-267-7215). Both these companies provide excellent service.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about K9 Bed Bug Detection NW LLC

    How is K9 Bed Bug Detection NW LLC overall rated?

    K9 Bed Bug Detection NW LLC is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are K9 Bed Bug Detection NW LLC open?

    K9 Bed Bug Detection NW LLC is open:

    Sunday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does K9 Bed Bug Detection NW LLC provide

    K9 Bed Bug Detection NW LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express

    Does K9 Bed Bug Detection NW LLC offer free estimates?

    Ask K9 Bed Bug Detection NW LLC for details on free project estimates.

    Does K9 Bed Bug Detection NW LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, K9 Bed Bug Detection NW LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does K9 Bed Bug Detection NW LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, K9 Bed Bug Detection NW LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does K9 Bed Bug Detection NW LLC offer emergency services?

    Yes, K9 Bed Bug Detection NW LLC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by K9 Bed Bug Detection NW LLC?

    Yes, K9 Bed Bug Detection NW LLC offers warranties.

    What services does K9 Bed Bug Detection NW LLC offer?

    K9 Bed Bug Detection NW LLC offers the following services: We are not an extermination service, we have no vested interest in the outcome, Our service provides the best K9 detection available in the Northwest. If bed bugs are found we will offer several recommendations to elimate any bed bug problem.

    Are there any services K9 Bed Bug Detection NW LLC does not offer?

    We recommend Andy with Pure Environmental (503-893-9731) with their heat treatment process and Emil Georges with Orkin (503-267-7215). Both these companies provide excellent service.