Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bruce Ruhnow Landscape & Design

Founded 1997 • With Angi since August 2010

4.9

(22) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2238 Debra Dr

Springfield, OR 97477

Description

We love to remodel existing landscapes. We do mostly residential landscaping. We design landscapes to scale.Our crew consists of one full time and 2 to 5 part time employees. It's great to have customers love our work. Most of our work comes by way of referrals from previous customers.I have a

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Leigh R.
1.0
05/09/2019
Bruce came and looked at our project and discussed it in-depth with me . He took measurements and promised a quote. I sent plans and links via email. When 3 weeks later, I never heard back, I emailed and called again to see what the problem was. No response at all. At least have the professionalism and decency to respond. It’s a childish, chickenshit way to do business.
Description of Work
Backyard landscape from my plans: deck, patio and retaining wall
Category
decks, landscaping, lawn service, masonry, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios
Cheryl G.
5.0
08/25/2017
It went well, work was done in a timely manner. Bruce was easy to communicate with. Since the job was just completed I will have to see how plants do and landscaping matures.
Description of Work
Shrubs and small tree removed from front yard. General cleanup . New rock walls built and plants put in.
Category
landscaping, pavers, gravel
john F.
5.0
09/14/2016
They did some work and then came a few weeks later to finish. The work was done over a period of 4 weeks but it was split up. My husband took care of the cost. I'm sure he was punctual. I would certainly use Bruce again.
Description of Work
They did some paver patio work. They finished up the paving and he put in a new lawn in the back. He treated the soil and got it ready for the new lawn and he put the new lawn in.
Category
landscaping
Janiece W.
5.0
04/25/2016
I liked Bruce from the start. You could tell that he knew what he was talking about and he started developing ideas and a "vision" early on. But, he also listened to us when we wanted something a bit different or had a preference as to the type of tree or location of a shrub. Bruce started by providing us with a detailed areal view of the overall design that he was proposing (after we walked the yard and discussed what we had in mind). We went over the design carefully and made some minor changes. We then discussed the budget based on the design and agreed to the overall scope. We needed a new retaining wall built in the back yard and the old wooden one removed. We wanted it actually terraced so that the full yard was usable, and we wanted new raised beds. We needed all new sod and a slew of new plants, shrubs and trees. Since we had a shed that would prevent the use of a backhoe or a front loader to cut in the new terrace, it would have to be done by hand. He then gave us a start date in March and started making arrangements. He and his crew showed up the first day - on time and ready to work. For the next month they worked...hard! We had a few rain days, but for the most part they were able keep things moving forward most days. Bruce and his crew are extremely professional. He insists on doing things the right way and do them ONCE. His crew understood that. They built the new stone retaining wall, built the terracing, hauled dirt, planted new plants, shrubs, trees, removed old sod and laid new. They were methodical in everything they did. Once the backyard was primarily done, they moved to the front and side yards. They then built a new patio for us and of course -throughout all of this, Bruce dealt with a home grown sprinkler system that was poorly executed by the previous owners. He pruned up shrubs that needed it and helped us make the difficult decisions on which ones to remove because they were beyond help. The new plants were larger than expected and extremely healthy. The last part was to have new soil blown in (for the raised beds he had built) and the mulch that went just about everywhere. To be totally honest, Bruce and his crew are the kind of contractors one prays for but rarely gets. The crew consisted of several young men, but unlike others we have had working for us, they truly rocked. Hard working, professional and very respectful. Each day they left the entire yard, driveway and side walks spotless. Not an easy task when you are working in mud! Their effort was always appreciated.
Description of Work
Total re-landscape of front, side and back yards. Built new retaining wall, created a new front patio, planted all new shrubs/trees, laid sod and updated/fixed existing sprinkler system.
Category
landscaping, irrigation systems, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios
Kathy M.
5.0
08/27/2015
unknown
Description of Work
They laid flat rock and moved sprinklers in several places in my yard......beautiful work!
Category
landscaping, irrigation systems
Germaine K.
5.0
08/18/2015
My previous contact with Bruce initially was not satisfactory. He did after seeing my post here responded quickly. He stated that he did not have access to my request. He then came out and gave a very reasonable estimate to do a large portion of my yard. I needed him to take out several bushes, small trees, and bramble bushes with blackberry bushes. I needed the grass removed and then to plant new grass in the back yard, put in 10-12 new bushes, put bark mulch down with 2 large planter boxes filled with new top soil. He also installed a stone walkway. I could not have been happier with the results. We knew then that we would use him again to finish the yard. He was quick, thorough, informative and easy to work with. He helped us with the design and what types of plants that would work best. I highly recommend him for your next landscape project.
Description of Work
Cleared area of dead grass and weeds. Replaced area with bark mulch and installed 3 planter boxes.
Category
landscaping
Bradley L.
5.0
08/12/2015
unknown
Description of Work
I would highly recommend Bruce Ruhnow Landscape design. Bruce did a wonderful job, was very pleasant to work with and his pricing is very reasonable. Our job came out better than we imagined it would. Everyone that see's our new yard loves it. Bruce has a lot of experience and made some great recommendations when we weren't sure which way to go. Give him a call, you won't be disappointed.
Category
landscaping, hardscaping
Nancy C.
5.0
06/09/2015
Bruce and his assistant Mike arrived the first day with a trailer load of gravel for leveling the first row of blocks. Bruce is in the process of training his assistant and he showed great patience and support to Mike. He also took time to answer my concerns and offered help with some issues that were not part of the contract. The whole process to 2 days. They left the site better than they found it. I love my new wall
Description of Work
Installed a 70 foot long 2 ft. high anchor block retaining wall with cap stones. The wall also included 4 steps to the next level of the driveway.
Category
landscaping, masonry, pavers, gravel
LINDA H.
5.0
04/20/2015
We had purchased a heavy piece of columnar stone with a hole drilled in it so that it could be a fountain, and we purchased the accompanying pond and pump. My husband struggled for hours to install the pump, succeeding only to have the flexible hose break free because the pump was too large for the pond it--and the stone--were to sit in. When the water flowed, the pressure on the too-sharp angle caused the piping to spring free. We decided to hire Bruce to help us out and it was the best money we ever spent. He exchanged the too-large pump for one of a more suitable size (which he went and got himself), installed the pump, buried the flexible hosing and the electrical wire leading to the fixture, and nicely landscaped the area around the fountain. We have enjoyed the fountain ever since and did not regret for a second paying Bruce to do a job we "should have" been able to do ourselves. The stone piece was so heavy and we are so unaccustomed to this type of work that it could have led to injury. Also.....We hired Bruce many years ago (probably 10 or so years ago) and he did an outstanding job rebuilding a fallen retaining wall in our front yard. It had two layers and Bruce restored the layers with new concrete blocks, and made them more attractive, suggesting curving walls. He also provided topsoil for the newly layered flower beds. We love Bruce. He's a good man, honest and pleasant to work with. If his bid on a project is slightly higher than someone else's, I would hire him anyway. You can count on his work and his professionalism.
Description of Work
Bruce installed an outdoor fountain for us.
Category
landscaping, masonry, pavers, gravel, lakefront landscaping, hardscaping
April R.
1.0
05/09/2014
I phoned him on 5/1 and told him that I needed an estimate on a sprinkler instalation & some other work that we wanted to have done in the yards. He asked me where I lived & where I told him, he said that it would a little further than he wanted to travel, but booked an appointment for an estimate with him on 5/7 at 7pm. At 7:25p.m. on the 7th of May he still had not shown up or called. When I phoned him I got his voicemail & I left a message asking him to call me. He called back around 5 minutes later & said he had forgotten about the appointment, but that he would come over then, if I wanted him to. I told him " no thank you", because as far as I was concerned, if he was not reliable enough to show up for the estimate or call to cancel or postpone, I couldn't rely on him to do the job.
Description of Work
Nothing....didn't show up for initial consultation or call to cancel
Category
landscaping, irrigation systems
Joe G.
1.0
03/24/2014
I left a message after hours asking for a return call. We were looking for a proposal and estimate for a backyard remodel. We never got a return call and subsequently used a different provider.
Description of Work
Did not respond to message so did not use.
Category
landscaping
robert B.
5.0
02/26/2014
Looks great.
Description of Work
Complete front yard re-landscape.
Category
landscaping
tawny D.
4.0
01/06/2014
Real nice guy. I was impressed with his knowledge and kind manner. I simply chose someone who was able to provide me with a better price. Bruce would have been my second choice :) The only reason for the overall grade of "B" was that his price quote was out of my range.
Description of Work
Kindly listened to my design ideas and submitted a quote a few days later.
Category
landscaping
Claudia R.
5.0
11/12/2013
Bruce is a hard-working guy. He'll go beyond what is expected and do it quickly, leave not a leaf to pick up and make everything look better than when you moved in. I'd definitely use him again.
Description of Work
made my yard fire-safe by removing overgrown bushes and blackberries,.
Category
landscaping
Barbara D.
5.0
07/14/2013
We contacted him in early June and he came over to see the existing landscape. We told him what we didn't like and talked over ideas.He and his crew spend only one day taking out most of the existing shrubs. He was careful to leave some vegetable plants I had put in. He worked from home mapping out a new landscape plan and then came over to discuss it with us. We had the option of looking at the new plants online and rejecting any we didn't like. We set a date when we would be home to begin the replanting. They brought over new soil to fill the holes and put in new pathways with upgraded paving stones. They dug a trench and installed large rubber drainage piping to correct a water pooling problem. Then they replanted new plants and checked the sprinkler system to make sure they would be watered correctly. In some cases he had to modify the irrigation system. This last phase took four days and it was completed the second week of July. We were very pleased with the results and were able to communicate easily with Bruce and his crew.
Description of Work
He reviewed our existing landscape, listened to our wants, removed most of the existing bushes, made a new landscape plan, and replanted with new plants.
Category
landscaping, hardscaping
Alicia L.
5.0
07/08/2013
Bruce was a stand-up guy! He lives very close to me and was always over in a flash. The staff he brought with him were polite, clean cut and hard working. His contract was short and to the point. I will gladly have Bruce (& his staff) back to do the things I can't. What a gentleman!
Description of Work
Bruce removed existing large shrubbery and some dead branches as well as removed other yard debris. He opted not to do the plantings immediately because of the heat, fearful that the plantings would not survive the shock and heat. He came back as promised, amended the soil and planted the trees.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, tree service
Debbie N.
5.0
03/20/2013
p
Description of Work
Bruce came to give us an estimate to re-landscape our front & back yard. He was professional, knowledgable and seemed to understand immediately what we had in mind, plus giving us some ideas for future improvements when we were ready. He worked within the budget that we gave to him, created a drawing of how our yards would look when the work was completed. We loved it!! Bruce & his son came to tear out our existing nightmare of a yard on time & with enthusiasm. This included digging out many circular brick flower beds, and a huge concrete planter box! As well as removal of a lot of that lovely bark ground cover (the kind that gives you splinters in your shoes!!). Then with the new design in hand, they quickly and efficiently put in new grass in place of the bark and built more appealing planters for my plants & flowers. They worked very hard from the time they got to our home until the time they left, putting in long hard days...some even in the rain! They cleaned up after themselves everyday and were very respectful to us and our neighbors. Overall, our experience with Bruce Ruhnow Landscaping was GREAT! We would (and do!) highly recommend them for any of your landscaping needs!
Category
landscaping, hardscaping
Ellen P.
5.0
02/06/2013
They are very, very good and we really like them. This was the second time we've used them. The first time in August he put up some big retaining earth walls and landscaped our backyard. He is very thorough in detail and made sure that it was done right. He did it in the least expensive way.
Description of Work
We used Bruce Ruhnow to put up a fence.
Category
fencing, landscaping, hardscaping
Ellen N.
5.0
02/06/2013
. I would recommend him. We are very happy with him, he has been available to us by phone instructions and things like that. He is very expression able. He did a great job.
Description of Work
.We hired him to do our landscaping plan. He just did a design for us, he didn't do the work.
Category
landscaping
Nick R.
5.0
02/06/2013
They were very good. We thought that it was a little expensive but they did excellent work. I would recommend them to other people. They were very professional.
Description of Work
Bruce Ruhnow Landscape & Design did a big landscaping job.
Category
landscaping
Lori W.
5.0
02/01/2012
He was thorough, conscientious, and his work was clean and timely. I would definitely hire him again!
Description of Work
Bruce installed a patio in our backyard.
Category
landscaping, hardscaping, patios
John W.
5.0
08/14/2011
Bruce was the first to respond for an estimate and promptly did a revision when asked.. He showed up when he said he would and did a wonderful job at a reasonable cost. He also added some landscaping plants at no extra charge, which enhanced the project.
Description of Work
Excavated an area which formerly contained a deck, removed a concrete sidewalk and installed pavers for a patio.
Category
landscaping, hardscaping, patios

    Other local Pros in your area

    The Recycler's, LLC.

    Since our establishment in 1989, The Recyclers are proud to have earned the trust of an ever growing number of Eugene residents and businesses who know they can call on us for all their junk removal and general clean up needs at extremely affordable prices. We always have trucks available, so we can be at your service promptly, usually within 24 hours. Or we can schedule a junk removal visit to fit into your calendar. Our experience and equipment make short work of any junk removal job or general clean up assignment, whether residential or commercial. Our teams are completely insured for your protection, and our personable team members are eager to help and willing to go the extra mile to guarantee your satisfaction.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Terrazas Yard Maintenance & Construction LLC

    We do remodeling and general Construction,Retaining Walls,Pavers,Concrete work and more.  

    Angi Certified

    PNW Landscapes

    Licensed and Insured PNW Landscapes provides landscaping services to residential and commercial properties in Eugene/Springfield area. The business is a sole proprietorship, operating under entrepreneur Cameron Jones.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Landscape Design, Installation, & Renovation. Shaped Lawns. Sod & Seed. Colorful Trees & Shrubs. Stone & Block Walls. Stone & Flagstone Patios & Walkways. Sprinkler Systems. Outdoor Lighting. Fountains.

    Services Not Offered

    maintenance, patio enclosures

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Bruce Ruhnow Landscape & Design

    How is Bruce Ruhnow Landscape & Design overall rated?

    Bruce Ruhnow Landscape & Design is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Bruce Ruhnow Landscape & Design open?

    Bruce Ruhnow Landscape & Design is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does Bruce Ruhnow Landscape & Design provide

    Bruce Ruhnow Landscape & Design accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Bruce Ruhnow Landscape & Design offer free estimates?

    Yes, Bruce Ruhnow Landscape & Design offers free project estimates.

    Does Bruce Ruhnow Landscape & Design offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Bruce Ruhnow Landscape & Design does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Bruce Ruhnow Landscape & Design offer a senior discount?

    No, Bruce Ruhnow Landscape & Design does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Bruce Ruhnow Landscape & Design offer emergency services?

    Yes, Bruce Ruhnow Landscape & Design offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Bruce Ruhnow Landscape & Design?

    Yes, Bruce Ruhnow Landscape & Design offers warranties.

    What services does Bruce Ruhnow Landscape & Design offer?

    Bruce Ruhnow Landscape & Design offers the following services: Landscape Design, Installation, & Renovation. Shaped Lawns. Sod & Seed. Colorful Trees & Shrubs. Stone & Block Walls. Stone & Flagstone Patios & Walkways. Sprinkler Systems. Outdoor Lighting. Fountains.

    Are there any services Bruce Ruhnow Landscape & Design does not offer?

    maintenance, patio enclosures