Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Barrier Pest Control LLC

Founded 2002 • With Angi since April 2005

4.6

(161) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 1347

Sherwood, OR 97140

Description

Barrier Pest Control is family owned & operated with over 20 years of combined experience. We service the entire Portland area from Salem to Vancouver, Washington. Barrier Pest Control will work hard to earn your business and take care of your home as if it were our own. We use only the best and most effective products and equipment, and we are committed to the safety of our customers and our environment. Our technicians are prompt, courteous and well trained. Your expectations are sure to be exceeded as your pest problems disappear! Family owned & operated. Cost is determined by the job. Additional email - rykersmith@yahoo.com. Additional contact name - Travis Donaldson....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/02/2019


Claudia F.

They are very prompt. They come quickly if you ask for a problem. They have a quarterly inspection service but if you need them to come back they will do it for free.

Description of Work
Spray for ants and bugs and stuff.

Category pest control

5.0

03/19/2019


Phyllis R.

The technicians are good they are really good at what they do.

Description of Work
Pest control maintenance for the outside of the house.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your nice review, and thank you for your continued use of Barrier Pest Control. We really do appreciate your loyal business.!!! Thank again for choosing Barrier Pest Control as your pest control service provider. Providing an effective, responsible pest-control solution for your home/business is our objective. Please call us if you need anything in between your regular scheduled visits. We Value your business greatly!!! We will let the technicians know of your kind review. They take pride in receiving them.
2.0

07/23/2018


Adam C.

Barrier locks you into a 1 year contract with a cancelation penalty. I was expecting them to effectively control our mild ant problem in a clean house and an easy perimeter. Each of the 4 visits in 6 weeks was ineffective. Although they warranty, when we called to arrange follow up visits, they were booked up to 2 weeks out, meaning we had ants for almost the entire duration of the contract before we left. The next part is what really made me mad. We asked to cancel, because they weren't controlling the ants and were not responding within their "promised" warranty window. They charged us $100 additional to cancel, and the customer service person basically said it was my fault that we still had ants, and that 4 visits in 6 weeks was not giving Barrier a proper chance. In my view, Barrier broke their contract by not making a dent in our ant problem and not being as responsive as their contract stated. It is baffling to me that we now owe them an additional $100 because we had to seek another pest control company. There are other options out there, and I'd certainly recommend to a friend that they seek an alternative to Barrier.

Description of Work
Ant control

Category pest control

5.0

06/14/2018


Bev S.

Barrier always does a fantastic job. When I bought my home two years ago, I had a mouse and ant problem, inside and out, and trouble with gnats in a shower drain, and I couldn't get the problems under control. A friend recommended Barrier to me, and I called them. Within just a few months, they had the pest situation stopped. And if I had any kind of an issue between scheduled visits, all I had to do was call, and they came out immediately and took care of the problem. They will also allow you to request technicians, and I always ask for Salvador. He treats my house like it is his own, and I trust him implicitly. I no longer have any kind of a pest problem.

Description of Work
Monthly general pest control

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review, and thank you for your continued use of Barrier Pest Control. We really do appreciate your loyal business.!!! Thank again for choosing Barrier Pest Control as your pest control service provider. Providing an effective, responsible pest-control solution for your home/business is our objective. Please call us if you need anything in between your regular scheduled visits. We Value your business greatly!!! I will make sure I let Salvador know of your nice words & your appreciation for his customer service. Thanks again.
5.0

06/14/2018


Bev S.

This was my regular quarterly visit, and it went very well. I always look forward to Salvadore's caring for my home. He really listens to me if I have any special concerns, and he addresses the problem immediately. I don't worry about any future pest problems that might happen in the future, because I know if something comes up, he will be there to take care of them. He told me he will respect my home and treat it like his own, and that is exactly what he does. When I started with Barrier, I had other reliable technicians, but Salvadore quickly became my most trusted and favorite.

Description of Work
My quarterly pest control treatment inside and outside of my home.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you very much for your kind & thoughtful words, and for posting a positive review. I will be sure to let Salvador know. We at Barrier, & Salvador as well take pride in trying to provide great customer service. We very much appreciate your business relationship over the years. Thanks again for taking time to post. Have a Great week!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5.0

05/20/2018


ROBERT W N.

On 05/08/2018, Barrier Service Tech, Brian L, performed our regular semi-annual service. I pointed out that the several rodent baits I just recently checked were empty. I had not seen any dead rodents however. He was informative about rodent control and efficient as he replaced the baits and left 2 additional baits in areas where he thought rodents would travel next to house. He also treated for ants and spiders. He showed me where a new ant nest had started in shrub bed between our house and neighbor house and put extra spray treatment down. We have had good service from Barrier for several years and they are responsive to perform additional treatments whenever pesky ants or spiders show up between regular treatments.

Description of Work
We have a regular semi-annual service with Barrier for about 3 years now.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Mr. *** Thank you for your nice review, and thank you for your continued use of Barrier Pest Control over the last several years. We really do appreciate your loyal business.!!! Thank again for choosing Barrier Pest Control as your pest control service provider. Providing an effective, responsible pest-control solution for your home/business is our objective. Please call us if you need anything in between your regular scheduled visits. We Value your business greatly!!! I will let your tech know of you kind & positive review. Sincerely, Barrier Management
5.0

04/18/2018


Debra S.

Barrier Pest Control was very professional and Seth my technician took the time to listen and answer all my questions

Description of Work
Ant and flea

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for your nice review, and thank you for your continued use of Barrier Pest Control. We really do appreciate your loyal business.!!! Thank again for choosing Barrier Pest Control as your pest control service provider. Providing an effective, responsible pest-control solution for your home/business is our objective. Please call us if you need anything in between your regular scheduled visits. We Value your business greatly! Have a great summer!!!
5.0

11/13/2017


Teresa B.

I was skeptical about signing up for ongoing service because I have never had a pest problem before. However, the service has been worth every penny. They are very responsive, friendly and professional and have been to my house 2x week for a month now with no additional fee except the start up cost ($95 when you commit to a year of service) and the quarterly fees ($105 for a 3800 sq ft house)

Description of Work
I initially called them for rats in the backyard. Shortly after service started we had ants in the pantry.

Category pest control, animal removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your nice review, and thank you for your continued use of Barrier Pest Control. We really do appreciate your loyal business.!!! Thank again for choosing Barrier Pest Control as your pest control service provider. Providing an effective, responsible pest-control solution for your home/business is our objective. Please call us if you need anything in between your regular scheduled visits. We Value your business greatly!!!
1.0

10/17/2017


jerry W.

Barrier applied the pesticide to our property without carefully determining the correct address. We were quite alarmed as we do not use pesticides and herbicides.

Description of Work
One of our neighbors contracted with Barrier to have pesticides applied to their property.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Barrier Pest Control in response to the negative complaint and "F" rating by Mr. [Member Name Removed] Barrier was contacted by Mrs. [Member Name Removed] on Oct. 9,2017 about our service technician accidentally treating her house on 10/7/17. Barrier Pest Control'[Member Information Removed] Service Manager, Dusty, called her back that same day we were notified of the mistake. Barrier apologized for our honest mistake, and answered her questions about the products used on her home. Mrs. [Member Name Removed] was most concerned about the safety of her dog, and the effects the products would have. Dusty, Barrier Service Manager, assured Mrs. [Member Name Removed] that the dog would be ok with the treatment & products that were used, as thousands of our active Barrier customers over the years have dogs & pets, who are ok with treatments performed. Barrier also told Mrs. [Member Name Removed] to please contact us if she had anymore questions or concerns, and thus ended the 5+ minute conversation. Barrier again apologizes for the human error mistake and accidentally treating the [Member Name Removed]'[Member Information Removed] home. Barrier had assumed that the issue was resolved, and that the [Member Name Removed]'[Member Information Removed] were satisfied. Barrier has had no other contact from the [Member Name Removed]'[Member Information Removed] until this online complaint. Barrier would appreciate if Mr. or Mrs. [Member Name Removed] have any other questions or issues, that they would please contact Barrier Pest Control instead of posting multiple complaints on the internet, after they told Barrier Pest Control they were fine as long as the dog would be ok. Barrier apologizes to the [Member Name Removed]'[Member Information Removed] for our accidental mistake, which we take serious. Barrier assumes the dog & persons of residence are all ok!!!
1.0

09/28/2017


ROD C.

This company provides decent service on the first call. But after they lock you into there 12 month contract they just show up and supposedly treat the outside of the house without notifying you and giving you a decent chance to schedule a time for a more comprehensive service. If you are dissatisfied with the service they don't care and won't let you out of the contract. DO NOT SIGN UP for the recurring service.

Description of Work
Pest control.

Category pest control

5.0

09/26/2017


beverly S.

......................................................................

Description of Work
............................................................................

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Mrs. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for your nice review, and thank you for your continued use of Barrier Pest Control. We really do appreciate your loyal business.!!! Providing an effective, responsible pest-control solution for your home/business is our objective. Please call us if you need anything in between your regular scheduled visits. We Value your business greatly!!! Sincerely, Barrier Pest Control
5.0

09/14/2017


Brenda M.

They're very good. If you ever have any problems, they are very timely in coming out.

Description of Work
They provided pest control services.

Category pest control

5.0

05/23/2017


Bev S.

It went really well. Their Service Manager, Travis, and a trainee, Paul, treated all of the specific target areas. Travis was patient, calm and professional, and he answered all of my questions; and he also reassured me that if needed, they would return, free of charge, to take care of any pests that might return. I feel that with Barrier's help I've been able to get on top of the pest situation in and outside my home, and I feel confident in having Travis available to help me stay on top of any future problems.

Description of Work
I had a problem with wasps outside, ants in the house, and gnats in a bathroom drain. It was the perfect trifecta to make any home owner nervous.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Sextons, We are that we haven't responded earlier to this review. Not sure how we missed it. Thank you for your nice review, and thank you for your continued use of Barrier Pest Control. We really do appreciate your loyal business.!!! Thank again for choosing Barrier Pest Control as your pest control service provider. Providing an effective, responsible pest-control solution for your home/business is our objective. Please call us if you need anything in between your regular scheduled visits. We Value your business greatly!!! Sincerely, Barrier Pest Control
5.0

05/10/2017


Stephanie F.

Travis always gets the job done! He's the best! Thank you Travis K

Description of Work
Ants! Ants Ants!

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for your nice review. We let Travis know as well. We thank you for your continued use of Barrier Pest Control. Thanks as well for your multiple customer referrals as well. We really do appreciate your loyal business.!!! Thank again for choosing Barrier Pest Control as your pest control service provider. Providing an effective, responsible pest-control solution for your home/business is our objective. Please call us if you need anything in between your regular scheduled visits. We Value your business greatly!!! Sincerely, Barrier Pest Control LLC
5.0

05/02/2017


Roger P.

Barrier calls in advance to remind you of your appointment time and you can call back if you want to change the date. They always are very flexible. The techs always have arrived in the window of time they are supposed to and perform the service requested. We had them help us with spiders mainly but also ants and yellow jackets on occasion. I can tell you that with the quarterly service we have seen a 90% reduction of spiders and we've not seen any ants for a couple years. We live with large trees near the home and prior to their service we had a really big problem with spiders and other pests. We pay $89 per quarter which seems reasonable especially during the summer when we have them come out (for free) for a reservice if we have issues between services, like if the yellow jackets become an issue. Overall I'm happy with their service.

Description of Work
Quarterly Pest Control Service

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for your nice review, and thank you for your continued use of Barrier Pest Control. We really do appreciate your loyal business.!!! Thank again for choosing Barrier Pest Control as your pest control service provider. Providing an effective, responsible pest-control solution for your home/business is our objective. Please call us if you need anything in between your regular scheduled visits. We Value your business greatly!!!
5.0

04/23/2017


Ray H.

We have been very pleased with the service from Barrier. We have their annual protection program, they visit quarterly to spray inside and outside our home. Their response to urgent requests, i.e outbreak of ants has been excellent. They respond within 24 - 48 hrs and we have been extremely impressed with their technicians. Would recommend that you meet with Barrier if you have concerns with insects etc.

Description of Work
We have annual protection program

Category pest control

4.0

05/17/2016


Jason W.

They come here every quarter but I think I asked them to come and visit me a couple of months ago because of the ants in my home.

Description of Work
I used Barrier Pest Control.

Category pest control

1.0

05/06/2016


CHRIS P.

It appears that this family run operation is now at the service of a phone call center that wants to charge you $129 for what everyone else is paying 89$. In fact, if you tell the operator that calls you, but please do this only through the website as leaving a message netted me no phone calls for the entire week, you will get a quote of 129$ per visit versus the 89$ every single review shows. This family owned business doesn't feel so family owned, I am continuing to look for good services that are not so impersonal and require "Management Approval" for rates. Thanks, Chris

Description of Work
See "How'd it go"

Category pest control

4.0

11/18/2015


BRIAN H.

They come out once every three months.

Description of Work
For pest control, we used Barrier Pest Control.

Category pest control

1.0

08/21/2015


Jennifer L.

The company treat customers like criminals, it's absurd. I was a customer for years, but they have burned bridge after bridge with me. This last straw was when I had a bill due somehow right after I paid one. They bill quarterly, so I didn't understand and called for clarification. I didn't know what the total due was, so couldn't pay my bill online. I called and called. I left them five separate voicemails. No one calls back! Then, they sent me to a local collection agency - who I of course paid promptly as all I wanted to do WAS pay them. Now, in order to get service they are wanting me to pay ahead as if I'm some sort of delinquent when it was their negligence that caused the issue. I am taking our business elsewhere. I can't believe this is how they treat their longtime customers! I'm disgusted. I highly DO NOT recommend this company.

Description of Work
Bug spray.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Barrier Pest Control would like to respond to this twisted, and inaccurate review by {{Member's name}. The customer is leaving out multiple facts about her situation. {Member's name} first signed and agreed to a 1 year service agreement (copied below) in April of 2012. During the agreement Barrier charged her $0 (Usually $165) for her initial followed by 4 separate quarterly services of $89 each. Barrier also returned at the customer’s request for 3 FREE re services. This is customary per the barrier Service agreement, which would provide ample proof. But, per the Angies List response format, we are unable to attach. {Member's name} failed to recognize Barrier more than upheld our end of the agreement, in which {Member’s name} was late on payments more than once. {Member's name} then stopped service in February of 2013 stating she was happy with the service, but was moving. She stated “I will call after I move and I see spiders.” {Member's name} then signed her second 1 year service agreement 2 months later in April 2013. Barrier waived the $165 initial service charge in the name of customer service because {Member’s name} was restarting her service so soon. Barrier assumes the bills in question per {Member’s name}’s complaint are for her November 2014 quarterly service and her February 2015 services, both of which were not paid by June 2015 (270+ days past due). During this latest agreement, {Member’s name} was more than 70+days past due multiple months. In fact Barrier left 9 past due reminder messages listed below: LMBD 8/21/13 LMBD 2/21/2014 LMBD 08/21/2014 LMBD 9/18/14 LMBD 10/17/2014 LMBD 2/16/15 LMBD 3/17/15 LMBD 4/14/15 LMBD 5/12/2015, skipped due to bad debt LMBD 5/19/2015 Finally after multiple attempts to reach {Member’s name} via phone & monthly billing statements to pay her bills, Barrier finally sent {Member’s name}’s account of $178 to Asset Recovery Group. This is a bill recovery company that aids in getting companies past due monies owed, without effecting ones credit. The last payment Barrier received from {Member’s name} was 11/13/14 for {Member’s name}’s 5/2014 and 8/2014 services rendered. So, as you can see {Member’s name} was 2 services past due, and therefore her claim of not knowing what was going on and receiving a bill right after she paid one. Barrier sends out monthly billing statements to all customers who owe any money. So therefore, {Member’s name} had received at least 9 paper bills, to go along with her past due phone messages before filing this complaint. {Member’s name} obviously knows how the services work at Barrier, as well as the billing cycles. {Member’s name} has paid $178, the amount owed for 2 past dues services, multiple times during her 2 separate contracts. After signing & agreeing to 2 separate service agreements, there really is no clarification misunderstood as {Member’s name} stated. Barrier never demands customers to pay ahead. Barrier treats & bills per service as we go along. We continue services until a customer is 2 services past due, and then suspend service until a customer pays off 1 service, leaving 1 service still owed. If {Member’s name} had wanted to continue service after being sent to the collection agency after 270+ days past due, all we would ask is that she settle her bill with minimal interest added, and then Barrier would have happily continued service. Barrier Pest Control feels it has given {Member’s name} more than adequate time to settle her bill, and rectify any situations involving her account. Barrier returns every message daily, as well as any emails through our website. Barrier hopes {Member’s name} will take off her complaint and see that Barrier tried in good faith in a variety of ways to make the mutual business agreement work. Barrier would gladly attach the 2 service agreements, and {Member’s name}’s billing invoice history to better show all of the information at hand, if Angies list made it possible to attach the aforementioned documents. Barrier Pest Control hopes that it has responded and proved to its current and future customers, the honest business ethics attempted in this 1 misunderstanding review.
5.0

08/07/2015


Alissa C.

It went fine. They were very friendly and we have had no pest issues since.

Description of Work
Maintenance & prevention visit.

Category pest control

5.0

01/07/2015


Kimberly K.

They are really good. They call ahead of time or a couple of days before they come and ask if we have any specific problem. We never had anything done inside but they will if you’ve got some bugs in the house. If you have a problem between visits, you can call them and it’s free.

Description of Work
I got service from Barrier Pest Control. They come every three months or four times a year. They go around the perimeter of the house and spray on the foundation. If they see any specific bug, they will target that bug. They sweep the eves for spiders and bees nest. They also put yard bug killer.

Category pest control

5.0

01/03/2015


anne V.

I use Barrier Pest Control. I have not seen any negative effects of their sprays. They tend to do outdoor treatment whether you are there or not and that does not give me enough time to settle my schedule.

Description of Work
They do indoor and out door sprays; spray to kill the grass which the pests feed on. they helped treat and remove a wasp nest.

Category pest control

3.0

01/02/2015


Dana G.

We initially enlisted their help with a sugar ant problem that we had. The completed an initial spraying but a couple weeks later the ants returned. A serviceman came out and performed an additional service in which the spread some powder insecticide inside the house where the ants were entering. Two more services were performed within 6 months. I did some further research online and found that for half the cost of one treatment ($93.00) I could get the same or comparable chemicals that Barrier uses and treat my house for pests on my own. The reason for the lower overall grade has to do with the exorbitant 'early termination fee' that is was charge($100) for cancelling before the year was up. I feel for the inflated price that they charge for their services adding insult to injury with a especially high fee like this is paramount to extortion. Their services are great is you are elderly and have the disposable income to afford them. However, with minimal effort and greater savings, a homeowner can obtain the same materials and perform the very same services for effectively 1/10th the cost of using Barrier Pest control.

Description of Work
Barrier provided pest control services around my house for a quarterly charge of $93.00 every 3 months.

Category pest control

5.0

12/22/2014


Frank P.

It went really well. They did a fine job. Both of the people I spoke to are very nice and professional. They are very prompt.

Description of Work
They looked around the outside and inside of the house for ants. They removed a wasps nest.

Category pest control

    Other local Pros in your area

    Valley Pest Control

    Our response time is within 24-48 hours. Owner-operated business with nearly 20 years of experience in the pest control business. Here to meet all the pest control needs from general pest to wood destroying insects and rodents. We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

    BEAVERTON PEST CONTROL

    2 EMPLOYEES. NO SUBS. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. TRAVEL CHARGES MAY APPLY. ASK ABOUT ANGIE'S LIST DISCOUNT.  

    Tough Bug Solutions

    Tough Bug Solutions has been serving the Portland metro area with the highest quality pest control services for years. Call us today for all your exterminator needs. Our services include but are not limited to: the removal of termites, carpenter ants, small ants, spiders, roaches, fleas, silverfish, carpet beetles, boxelder bugs, bed bugs, rats, mice, yellow jackets, hornets, wasps, and bees. We handle wood destroying insects, bed bug control, general pest control, rodent control & stinging insects.  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Check
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential & commercial pest control.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Barrier Pest Control LLC

    How is Barrier Pest Control LLC overall rated?

    Barrier Pest Control LLC is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Barrier Pest Control LLC open?

    Barrier Pest Control LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Barrier Pest Control LLC provide

    Barrier Pest Control LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Check

    Does Barrier Pest Control LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Barrier Pest Control LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Barrier Pest Control LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Barrier Pest Control LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Barrier Pest Control LLC?

    Yes, Barrier Pest Control LLC offers warranties.

    What services does Barrier Pest Control LLC offer?

    Barrier Pest Control LLC offers the following services: Residential & commercial pest control.