Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Rod's Plumbing

Founded 2009 • With Angi since October 2009

4.9

(90) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

580 Rees Hill Rd SE

Salem, OR 97306

Description

After over 25 years of plumbing experience working for others in the Salem/Porltand area and beyond, Rod was ready to bring his knowledge and experience to contractors and customers directly. His attention to detail, honest, direct approach and expertise has proved to serve him well in his own

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

04/21/2015


mike H.

It didn't go anywhere . he just wasted my time and never showed up .

Description of Work
nothing he never showed up at all and didn't even call to tell me he wasn't coming out to do the estimate .I contacted him well over a month ago and we spoke over the phone and he explained that he was in the middle of a job and would call me back at the end of the week . Three weeks went by I contacted him again and he apologized and told me he would be out the following Monday or Tuesday afternoon to preform the estimate. I am also a busy business owner so my time is valuable he never showed up or called to explain his action for a second time and wasted 8 hours of me time sitting and waiting on him to show up . I wouldn't recommend or use his services

Category plumbing

1.0

03/31/2015


Lynn T.

There are no details to report. No phone call, no text message, no email in response to my message.

Description of Work
No reply at all to my message. Nothing.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

We did respond, but unfortunately not soon enough. I'm sorry we weren't able to help you. ~Rod
5.0

09/15/2014


Dorothy P.

Amazing service for extremely reasonable price! I recently purchased a home and the two toilets were older and not flushing well. I had RotoRooter out thinking I would have them snaked but when the guy told me it would be $265 to snake two toilets I hopped on Angie's list and started calling plumbers. I spoke to Rod who is so nice and knowledgeable! He promised to work me into the schedule ASAP and even recommended a mid range toilet. He also picked them up at no extra cost. The toilets cost around $240 each and the labor was only $100 to installed BOTH. The plumber who came to do the install was GREAT and even took the old toilets away for me.

Description of Work
Installation of two new toilets. They bought and picked up the new ones and also took old ones away.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the wonderful review [member name removed]. I am so glad we were able to take care of all of your plumbing needs and look forward to working with you in the future! ~Rod
5.0

09/02/2014


Kurt L.

An on-demand water heater that I had in a rental house froze solid and cracked a leak in the heat exchanger on a night when temperatures dipped into single digits in the Valley. I found out about it Sunday morning, and on Monday morning I called around to see if anyone would be available to fix it. Rod's Plumbing was very busy, as everyone was, but they said that they might be able to get to it late on Monday. To my surprise, they were able to replace it that day, which earned them a very grateful response.

Description of Work
Removed an on-demand water heater that had frozen and cracked, replaced with a standard gas water heater.

Category plumbing, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your nice review [member name removed] - so glad we could fit you in! ~Rod
5.0

08/01/2014


Pola P.

Rod's Plumbing responded quickly to my request and installed the new outdoor faucet within a couple of days. Plumber was courteous and professional.

Description of Work
Installed a new outdoor faucet

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review and your business [member name remove], we are happy we could get to you and help you with your plumbing needs. ~Rod
5.0

07/15/2014


Deborah L.

Job went very well. Rod gave us a clear and reasonable estimate which the work was completed with no surprises in costs. The system has worked perfectly and we would definitely use this contractor again.

Description of Work
Replaced garbage disposal and installed hot water circulating system.

Category plumbing, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the review (member name removed), we really appreciate your business! ~Rod
5.0

07/02/2014


Christine K.

Friendly, did a good job, no prob since

Description of Work
Fixed old leaky pipe in bathroom

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review {removed member name}. We love to hear that you were happy and we fixed the problem! ~Rod
4.0

06/18/2014


Robert J.

He responded quickly to my call. He was fine to work with. He came, did the work and left.

Description of Work
They fixed a faucet valve.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

I am glad that we completed your plumbing needs in a timely fashion. Thank you for your review. ~Rod
5.0

06/16/2014


Barb B.

Rod came out after another plumbing service had come out, did not have the part and said they could not come for another week after initially waiting two weeks for them to come out and not hearing back for a week after they did. Rod, on the other hand, understood our plight not being able to water in our back yard, said if we did not mind someone stopping by on the way to or from other jobs, would get right to it. And Gene was out the next afternoon, fixed it right away and it works great now.

Description of Work
Replaced a broken outdoor faucet

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the wonderful review [removed member name]. We are so happy we could help you quickly and appreciate your business. ~Rod
5.0

04/23/2014


Joseph D.

easy to schedule. arrived on time. Could have charged me for a new flush kit but reworked / adjust existing kit and swiftly completed repair. I dont have the invoice yet but expect it to be reasonable. We plan to continue to use them for a number of projects we have coming up.

Description of Work
repair toilet that did not flush correctly

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to working with you again! ~Rod
5.0

04/02/2014


Kathy M.

I had used Rod's plumbing before, so they were my first call. Rod was very helpful on the phone and suggested that I check my toilets to be sure they weren't running before I had them come out. The toilets were fine, so I called back and Glenn arrived that same afternoon. I thought I had an idea of where the leak might be, so Glenn dug up that area, including disassembling part of my loose-stacked rock wall, to no avail. However, in that excavation, he learned the direction of the main water line and followed it to its connection to the house. He could hear the water through a hose bib and checked under the house to see if it was leaking there (he was very careful to protect my new carpet as my under-house access is through a bedroom closet). No luck. Back outside, he discovered that the ground was wet about a foot or so from the hose bib. In digging, he discovered that the fitting from the PVC pipe to the copper house line had cracked. Problem solved! Glenn put my rock wall back together and cleaned up both areas where he had dug. He was very professional and it was a pleasure having him solve my problem. Thanks, Rod's Plumbing and Glenn!

Description of Work
I had learned from the City of Salem that my higher-than-usual water/sewer bill was due to a leak somewhere past the meter. The location of the leak meant it was my responsibility.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. So glad we could help you with your plumbing problem and we will thank Glen too! We appreciate your business. ~Rod
5.0

03/31/2014


Richard P.

The owner Rod came over to estimate the job 4 days prior to the work being done. He was very nice in explaining what his guys were going to do and how long it was going to take them to do it and how much the job was going to cost us as well as what day they could do the work if we decided to go with them. Based on our conversation, we went with Rod's Plumbing. The complete job was done in under 3 hours! The shutoff valve was very high quality brass which replaced the cheap pvc valve which was broken. The two spigots were placed exactly where we wanted them. They also put together the stand alone sink and hooked up the hot and cold lines they installed earlier as well as the drain. The two guys on the job were very friendly, professional and efficient! Not only did they perform the job when they said they would, they cleaned up after themselves when the job was done. I would hire these guys again in a heartbeat! EXCELLENT WORK!! Thank you very much Rod and your crew!!

Description of Work
Installed two spigots, replaced a shutoff valve, and a complete stand alone sink installation in the garage with hot and cold water.

Category plumbing, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the nice review [member name removed], so happy we could help! We appreciate your business and look forward to working with you in the future.
5.0

03/29/2014


michael C.

I've used several Salem plumbers over the years and have generally less than pleased for one reason or another. I found Rod's Plumbing via Angies list and was more than satisfied with the entire experience.

Description of Work
.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the wonderful review [removed member name]- glad we worked out for you and we appreciate your business. ~Rod
5.0

03/23/2014


JD B.

The first plumber we called showed up after over 8 hours and clearly didn't want to do the job. He wouldn't look for the leak or provide an estimate. Rod Plumbing showed up within a couple of hours, found three leaks and just took care of it.

Description of Work
Found and repaired leaks

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the opportunity to work with you [remove member name]. Glad we could fix the problem for you and thank you for your business! ~Rod
2.0

01/19/2014


Sharon S.

Called to schedule an appointment to have a leak looked at and was told they were too busy for my business.

Description of Work
Nothing.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

[removed member name] I am so sorry we were too busy to meet your needs. We truly would like to service each member, but sometimes our wait time is just too long. We try to be extremely conscientious and refer to another plumber or offer free advice to each caller. Again, I hope you found someone to meet your needs. -Rod
5.0

12/06/2013


edward L.

In the process found and fixed a small leak and possible future problem with my garbage disposal. I was very pleased with the service.

Description of Work
Fixed kitchen sink leak - replaced pipes.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the nice review [member name removed]. We appreciate your business! -Rod
5.0

09/26/2013


PATRICK C.

We had gate valves that failed and needed to be replaced. Rod's correctly recommended replacing them with ball valves and scheduled a time to do the work. They arrived as promised, completed the work to our satisfaction, and removed the refuse from the job site.

Description of Work
Replace 2 shutoff valves for main waterlines in crawl space for our duplex

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your review [member name removed] and your business! Thank you, Rod
5.0

09/24/2013


ervan S.

Great service. Fast same day service. Very nice worker. I don't know the cost they will bill later. They put in a water heater in April and I had great service so that's why I used them again.

Description of Work
They fixed a leak under the house.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for using us again [member name removed] and for leaving a good review. We appreciate your business and look forward to working with you in the future! Rod
5.0

08/12/2013


WILLIAM A.

Fine.

Description of Work
Fix kitchen sink drain

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your response [removed member name], we appreciate your business and comments! Rod
3.0

07/31/2013


Len O.

They were unable to fix the issue with the drains. I had them install a new kitchen faucet set and they did a good job with that work. Regular plumbing seems to be their area of expertise. They did come out promptly and they were very courteous. I would use them for regular plumbing in the future.

Description of Work
We had them unclog some toilet drains. They came out again to adjust the toilet valves a second time for the same issue.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review [removed member name], we appreciate your feedback. We are happy to work on any problem concerning you and our company and am glad to hear you will use us in the future. -Rod
5.0

07/01/2013


Nancy J.

It went very well. They were very professional. Worked very clean. Had to go get some extra parts, but everything was accomplished in a timely manner. After nearly a year, everything still works perfectly.

Description of Work
Fixed a leak in the pipes of a bathroom sink. Fixed a clogged drain in another bathroom sink. Replaced pipe in a third bathroom tub that was preventing the tub from draining properly. Checked underneath the house to see if an outside faucet was leaking.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Hi [member name removed], Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and ee hope everything continues to work well for you! Rod
5.0

06/18/2013


Richard M N.

I called Rod's Plumbing because I had been out of hot water all weekend and needed a new water heater. I called early Monday because I knew things would get busy with the plumber as the day went on. Rod answered the phone and I went over the situation. What I had now, what I thought I wanted and what recommendations he might have based on his experience. He confirmed all of my research on water heaters ( I had all weekend to look up things online) and even called me back to give me updated electrical usage on the two models I was considering. I made my decision and he called a guy off of his first job that morning to get my water heater installed. Jason, the plumber, came over and did all the work quickly, cleaned up all of his work area and was out of there in no time. Very personable and very professional. He could not connect the electrical because a wire from the junction box was too short so he called Rod and Rod called some electricians he knew to see if any could swing by and fix the problem. I took care of it by finding an electrician on Angie's List. I would recommend Rod's Plumbing again in a heartbeat as well as Code Electric, the electrician I called. Hot water and a shower that evening. So far, Angie's List reviewer have been spot on in their recommendations for me.

Description of Work
Remove old water heater and install new water heater.

Category plumbing, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the wonderful review [member name removed]. We appreciate your business and hope to work with you in the future. Rod
2.0

06/10/2013


charles B.

All this plumber wanted to do was sell an appliance. All questions about making improvements required telephone calls to someone with experience.

Description of Work
Wanted a hot water tank repair. Sent out an installer who brought a new tank to install and no repair equipment. Would have charged $600. Hired another service who did the repairs for $100. We removed our subscription to Angies List and will find our own recommendations.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

(Member name removed) I am very sorry you feel as though we did not try to resolve your plumbing problem, yes my employee brought a new water heater with him as well as the new repair kit that I spent over an hour trying to get the right part information from the factory - to try and save you money due to the drive time from are shop. I was then asked to provide a quote for a new water heater and recirculation pump. I called the next day to talk to you and never got a response back . I am sorry you did not have a good experience with our company.
5.0

04/29/2013


Joshua M.

I called and spoke with one of the employees before they were even open. They gave me advice over the phone on how I can attempt to fix the problem myself. I took the advice and it seems to have taken care of the problem. Didn't cost me a dime (except for my angieslist membership). Highly recommend!

Description of Work
Phone consultation

Category plumbing, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. You spoke to me, and I am glad I could help! Rod
5.0

04/22/2013


ervan S.

Great job. Very fast Same day service.

Description of Work
Install a new Water heater.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your review (member name removed), we really appreciate it. It was a pleasure working with you! Rod

    Other local Pros in your area

    Shiloh Water Systems

    **South Willamette Valley Branch NOW OPEN** Shiloh Water Systems is a family business specializing in residential and commercial well systems and water quality company with over 35 years’ experience specializing in well and water system design, service and installation of pumps, pressure tanks, storage systems, water treatment and filtration systems, including drinking water stations. With the opening of our new southern branch, we can better serve the Southern Willamette Valley for filtration needs. We provide 24/7 emergency service and are committed to providing innovative products and exceptional customer service at a competitive price. Shiloh Water Systems is a State of Oregon certified small public water systems operator, and the authorized independent Kinetico dealer for the Willamette Valley. CCB# 164951  

    Angi Certified

    PDX Custom Woodwork LLC

    PDX Custom Woodwork is a family owned business. We have been building custom cabinets for 17 years here in Oregon. We are all about the quality of our work and making our customers happy. We design your future kitchen cabinets and make it a reality. We are very competitive. PDX Custom Woodwork has been building cabinets for Residential and Commercial. Stop by and check out our showroom! Feel free to give us a call and we can come out for a free estimate. Thank you!  

    Angi Certified

    Hartmann Construction

    In Business Since 2010 Welcome to Hartmann Holdings, LLC! We take pride in the quality of work and customer satisfaction that we give every customer! We are known to pay exquisite attention to detail while making customer satisfaction our top priority. Call us today to learn more about how we can help you!  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Repair, remodels & new construction for residential and commercial plumbing. Gas lines, water heaters, fix leaks, install new fixtures, minor drain clogs, change faucets, hook up water service, re-pipe homes, change location of existing fixtures, install new pluming and repair existing plumbing. Call for a free bid.

    Services Not Offered

    Major drain clogs extending beyond the foundation of the house. Locating drain lines.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Rod's Plumbing

    How is Rod's Plumbing overall rated?

    Rod's Plumbing is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Rod's Plumbing open?

    Rod's Plumbing is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Rod's Plumbing provide

    Rod's Plumbing accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal

    Does Rod's Plumbing offer free estimates?

    Yes, Rod's Plumbing offers free project estimates.

    Does Rod's Plumbing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Rod's Plumbing offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Rod's Plumbing offer a senior discount?

    No, Rod's Plumbing does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Rod's Plumbing?

    Yes, Rod's Plumbing offers warranties.

    What services does Rod's Plumbing offer?

    Rod's Plumbing offers the following services: Repair, remodels & new construction for residential and commercial plumbing. Gas lines, water heaters, fix leaks, install new fixtures, minor drain clogs, change faucets, hook up water service, re-pipe homes, change location of existing fixtures, install new pluming and repair existing plumbing. Call for a free bid.

    Are there any services Rod's Plumbing does not offer?

    Major drain clogs extending beyond the foundation of the house. Locating drain lines.