Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Murphy's Fireplace & Stoves Inc

4.6

(422) Verified Reviews

Founded 1992 • With Angi since October 2007

Licensed
Trade License Number
206935
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Company Contact

1505 Front St. NE

Salem, OR 97301

Description

Murphy's Fireplace & Stove Inc. was started in 2000 when Paul Sanders saw there was a need for a certified and fully trained chimney service company in the Willamette Valley area. Paul noted that while there were chimney services in the area, none were certified in the service they were performing. Chimney Safety Institute of America Certified That’s why all the chimney sweeps at Murphy's Fireplace & Stoves are certified by the CSIA (Chimney Safety Institute of America) for chimney venting systems as well as dryer vent safety and cleaning. You never have to worry if the person that is entering your home and servicing your vent system or repairing your fireplace is trained and certified, because we guarantee it! Satisfaction Guaranteed CCB: 206435...

Verified Reviews

4.6

(422) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

331

4

43

3

13

2

14

1

19

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.6

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.6

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

chimney sweep (277)fireplace services (196)gas fireplace repair (99)chimney repair (67)chimney cap repair (29)masonry (22)gutter repair (17)roofing (7)roof cleaning (6)dryer vent cleaning (3)appliance repair (3)
Showing 1-10 of 422 reviews
5.0

01/15/2021

Showed up at 9:40 for 9:40 appointment. Job took 30 min. 2 workers. Nathan answered all my questions about the job and related fireplace issues. Happy to report that he stated when he didn't know the answer in depth, but suggested what may be the source of effects. The job was done quickly, professionally and cleanly. Quoted a list of optional improvements (chimney cap, brick cleaning/seal) and re...

Description of Work
Ceramic chimney flue cleaning

Category chimney sweep

Cost $199

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/15/2021

5.0

12/17/2020

Great. Everything professionally and neatly installed. Henry was installer. He took ample time with attention to detail and leaving the house clean. Explained the operation of the fireplace log insert. Very friendly I

Description of Work
Installed gas log in one fireplace and liner in chimney of other fireplace

Category appliance repair,chimney sweep,chimney caps,gas logs

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/17/2020

Images

5.0

12/01/2020

Great, was ahead of schedule, very professional. Will hire again.

Description of Work
Chimney sweep & Inspection

Category chimney sweep

Cost $129

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/01/2020

5.0

04/07/2020

Excellent work; Showed up right on time; called ahead so I knew arrival time. Best looking chimney on our street. Well done. I've started using them for all of my fireplace needs. Highly recommend their service and they also sell top of the line fire stoves. Family owned .Very friendly people. Price was reasonable.

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning; Repair work on chimney; waterproofing and moss removal.

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair

Cost $450

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/06/2020

5.0

03/17/2020

I was able to get the help I needed over the phone and the tech was curious and very helpful.

Description of Work
Stove would not feed pellets.

Category appliance repair

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/17/2020

5.0

03/11/2020

Paul came out and met us to see what the project entailed. He then provided us with a very reasonable quote. The office staff worked with us to help pick our choices (they have many fireplaces). After everything was ordered, they set up the installation. The technicians arrived at exactly the time they said they would. Paul accompanied them and they started the job on time. They were very respectf...

Description of Work
Installation of two gas fireplaces and gas piping of entire home

Category chimney caps,fireplaces

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/18/2020

Images

5.0

01/10/2020

Murphy's was awesome. showed up on time, very courteous. Concerned with keeping the area clean as well. I would definitely rehire.

Description of Work
wood stove cleaning and inspection

Category chimney sweep

Cost $189

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/10/2020

5.0

11/29/2019

Initial repair worked for a while then failed. When I contacted Murphy's and told them about it, they sent out a technician who evaluated the problem on the first visit, then returned with proper parts and did the replacement. Tech was competent, courteous, and worked quick. Highly recommend for honesty.

Description of Work
Replace pilot light assembly

Category fireplaces,gas logs

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/29/2019

1.0

10/29/2019

I called to make an appointment weeks ago and was given this date at 200pm. It is now 4pm and we havent gotten a call or had anyone show up.

Description of Work
Chimney inspection and sweep

Category chimney sweep

Work Completed On 10/29/2019

1.0

10/27/2019

Murphy's Fireplace / Santiam gutters did work for my mother. Here is her review: I felt there were many issues with the installation of gutters by this company. In my opinion the quality of their work was very poor. I would not recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
Gutter replacement, gutter guards installed, roof cleaning and moss treatment, chimney rebuilt, gas fireplace installation

Category gutter repair,masonry,fireplaces,roof cleaning

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/14/2018

Images

+3 More

Services Offered

- Chimney Cleaning & Service - Fireplace and Chimney Masonry - Gutter Cleaning - HVAC Filter Service - Gas, Wood, and Pellet Stove / Insert Cleaning, Service, and Repair. - New and Used Stoves and Inserts Sales - Chimney Caps - Hearth Pads - Gas Log Sets - Chimney Liners - HVAC Filter Service - Gutter Repair and/or Replacement.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes