Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

3Rs Construction & Remodeling

Founded 1995 • With Angi since April 2011

4.5

(102) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3629 Kashmir Way SE

Salem, OR 97317

Description

3R's Construction & Remodeling is a Family Owned, Local Full Service Construction and Remodeling Company serving the greater Salem area including Marion, Polk, Lincoln, and Yamhill Counties since 1995. Our specialty is full service. we want you, your family, your pets, and your neighbors happy about contracting our services. What you can expect when working with 3R's Construction. On Time Appointments On Budget Projects Courteous Staff in all of the trades Quality Work Our Teams are trained in all aspects of construction but we find most of our time is invested in Kitchen and Bath Remodels, Radon and Mold Remediation, Tenant Improvements, Real Estate Repairs, Additions, Roofing, Painting, and Siding. We love making our clients happy and make it our goal to care for all your construction related needs. Give us a call and relax knowing any home or building concerns are being handled by a professional that is looking out for you....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/18/2017


Shiela D.

Very well, easy to talk with, friendly and professional.

Description of Work
Drywall and cabinet replacement.

Category custom cabinets, carpet installation, drywall, handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind review, I know my team is so delighted to hear when our clients are happy with the work we have done!

4.0

06/28/2017


Michael G.

It was a bit high. They do good work, but their price was very expensive. The exhaust fan is to vent smoke and smells out of the kitchen.

Description of Work
I believe they installed an overhead, stove top, utility exhaust fan.

Category outdoor kitchens

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words, As the owner I would love to be able to be able to do all we do for less cost but after 25 years in this industry I have found that getting a job done right and standing behind it cost more and is definitely worth it in the long run. I know we always provide our estimate before we start, on the next job I want to be sure you are fully informed and then we can get all "A's"!

2.0

06/24/2017


Daryn J.

Casey wanted to charge me $500,00 to skim coat a 22 sq ft wall?!?!? And, I was the one who was supposed to scrape all the junk off the wall before hand. What a rip off. He told me that I should not remove the sheet rock because it was plaster that contained chicken wire and it was a real hassle and costly. Guess what? I pulled the sheetrock down myself and no chicken wire! I paid someone else to put up sheetrock.

Description of Work
Initially, I needed 22 sq ft wall skim coated.

Category plastering

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I was so disappointed to read your comment especially once I reviewed the notes on your file and realized this happened almost a year ago? I feel bad you have been upset for this long and never reached out to us. It appears my estimator came to your home and reviewed your project, you wanted to have tile put on an entire wall area between your upper and lower cabinets and needed the wall repaired. We contacted our sheet rock installer who provided a price and then sat down and prepared a professional estimate specifically for you. Had I known you were upset I would have taken the time to explain to you the costs associated with having work done for you as compared to what it costs to do it yourself. I am glad you were able to do it yourself and save some money too. It's hard to imagine why you would be upset with us for doing exactly what you asked for. All of my team here at 3Rs Construction Management LLC are decent people who would give you the shirt off their back if they thought you needed it. They work hard for our clients and for me to provide for their families. It is a real kick to the shins when someone is unsatisfied and frankly I feel it is unfair to post a negative review when you never even had us work for you. Please consider doing the right thing and removing this review. Perhaps one day we will do work for you and you will get to see how we received the existing 71 "A" reviews. Sincerely Duane West Owner 3Rs Construction Management LLC

5.0

03/06/2017


Krystine F.

3 R's construction did an amazing job on our bathroom and entryway remodel. They were invaluable with dealing with our home insurance company and helped us get through the difficult waters that the insurance company was putting us through. They were friendly, professional, and a pleasure to work with. I highly recommend them and will definitely use them for future home improvement.

Description of Work
Bathroom and entryway remodel

Category flooring contractor, handyman service, hardwood floor, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words, we were glad to have the opportunity to help you navigate the craziness of this insurance claim. We are all glad to see this job get finished and you and your family back to normal living again!

1.0

02/21/2017


John W Z.

poorly the company called never responded back.

Description of Work
I hired these people to measure for a large floor cover job.a person did show up to take the measurement and after the completing it he told me he would call back with an estimate in 2 to 3 days and never did. I called another company and they did a free estimate and offered free suggestions to help coordinate around existing entry tile I wanted to keep. I gave them the job and it's almost done and the quality is excellent.

Category flooring contractor, handyman service

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I was so surprised to see this review, I checked into it and found that that Angie's List had run this promotion with out our authorization and the entire fee you paid went to them. We came out to look at your floors because we committed to do that and my project manager told you at the time that he would not be able to get a quote back as quickly as we would like. I feel this review is unfair to our team and the families that are dependent on our good reputation. If you are unhappy with the service i suggest contacting Angie's List and asking for a refund. That seems only fair since they ran this promotion with out our permission and they are the ones who retain the fee they charged you.

5.0

11/29/2016


John S.

They were punctual and did a very good job in a reasonable amount of time.

Description of Work
They worked on my deck.

Category handyman service, deck cleaning

5.0

11/07/2016


Cherie T.

They did a great job, very professional.

Description of Work
Repair dry rot around french door

Category handyman service

5.0

08/17/2016


Maggie J.

They responded almost immediately when I asked for a quote and then exceeded my expectations. They were fast and friendly and did an amazing job. I highly recommend!

Description of Work
Gutter replacement

Category gutter repair

5.0

06/02/2016


Melissa H.

I have used 3Rs Construction before and was more than impressed with how polite and respectful the whole crew was. I told them at the end of the last project of installing new siding that when I was ready to move forward with my new bathroom I would give them a call and I did and to no surprise they were still great to work with. Like always the guys were on time and very professional. They kept the mess as contained as possible and finished the job on time as promised. Once again they exceeded my expectations. My bathroom turned out amazing; they improved everything just as I had hoped for, new tile, an amazing new walk in shower, new vanity, paint, and trim. They even took the time to point out several reasons the tile I originally had selected would not be a good fit for our lifestyle. (Thanks again you guys.) If you need any work done, I would happily recommend 3Rs.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category ceramic tile, drywall, flooring contractor, plumbing, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

05/31/2016


Anthony S.

I called 3rs Construction because my old dishwasher had flooded the kitchen, ruined the flooring, and flooded my basement below. We have heard so many terrible stories of insurance companies and bad contractors that we were nervous about how this would end up but when the representative from 3Rs came out he was so courteous and sympathetic for our loss that we knew we had found the right contractor. 3Rs had a crew here working on cleaning up the enormous mess and removing the water and damaged flooring. They were careful around our pets and went out of their way to keep things neat and tidy. The owner got involved to work with my insurance company and he managed to get them to increase the amount they were willing to pay so we could get this project done right. We are so happy with our new kitchen and flooring and happy to say we had a GREAT experience during a difficult time. One of the nice surprises was they would arrive when they said they were going to, stayed on budget not counting the things we added along the way, and were very professional. We couldn’t have been happier with how fast the work was done and the quality of the work. We are planning to have the deck re-build this summer and definitely will be calling 3Rs Construction to do the work. We would recommend 3Rs to anyone who is asking!

Description of Work
Water Damage cleanup, replaced floor, cabinets, drywall and painted.

Category custom cabinets, contractors, carpet installation, drywall, flooring contractor, handyman service, remodeling, water damage restoration, home remodeling, interior painters, mold removal

1.0

05/09/2016


Paul S.

Set an appointment for them to look at some dry rot issues under my floor from a water leak. We know there is damage to the post and beams and specified that in the call. We also want to do some basic remodel of the kitchen, floor, counters etc. But the estimator they send out has a known injury that prevents him from getting under the house. What? We are a hard-working household. Either my wife or I must take time away from work to be home for a repair person. So we do that and they send someone who can't do the most basic part of what we asked for. The good news (according to them) is that they can send someone else out...in the next week or two. Simply disrespectful.

Description of Work
It's what they didn't do. Never even got to an estimate. We specified that we needed somebody to look at a repair job under the house. So we get a guy who can't go under the house. Unfairly wasted our time and then want us to reset the appointment for another day a week or two from now.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

So sorry to hear you were inconvenienced, I wish you had picked up the phone to let me know we may have been able to salvage your time and ours, like you we also work hard for our pay and obviously it does not do us any good to pay someone to come to your home who can not accomplish the tasks that need done. I am not sure how the communication broke down to the point that we both wasted our time and resources. We certainly have no interest in disappointing you and no disrespect was ever intended. I can see if you felt you had been disrespected that you probably felt justified to post this review, I hope you will accept my apology for your inconvenience and know this has been addressed with the entire staff to remind them of the importance to get all of the information written down and communicated to the people on the front lines. Sincerely Duane West Owner 3Rs Construction Management LLC

5.0

04/29/2016


Susan P.

We have used 3 R's for a good amount of work when we bought the house in March, 2015: front and back yard fencing, a range of interior fixes and upgrades. Please refer back to our previous review. They were, and are, fabulous at what they do, so of course I called them again. The owner called me within 3 minutes of sending my email request for help! He showed up the next morning with another employee who assisted by immediately getting in the crawl space to check on the foundation and moisture barrier. Meanwhile, the owner assessed the problem further, checked all the other down spouts around the house, and talked my son through taking the drain pipe down, a neat trick to assess bolt sizes, and how to counter the problem for the future. All the while offering calming comments and assorted helpful hints. Really, Duane, the owner, all employees and sub-contractors we have had contact with have been professional, congenial, diligent workers, and produce the results we have asked for. Great consistency. I whole-heartedly give 3 R's the highest recommendation possible.

Description of Work
The original builder of our home left many, many problems, cut corners in many ways. In this instance, a poor or faulty installation of drain pipes (off gutter system) created wildly spraying copious amounts of water that was causing water to settle in various places by our foundation, and made it look like the siding and house wall had water gushing from it. My son and I had been out in the night in the rain digging trenches, in a failed attempt to get the water away from the foundation. It was sufficiently bad that as I described the problem to 3 R's, they originally thought possibly a pipe had burst in the wall and were going to give me instructions about shutting the water off for the house.

Category fencing, gutter repair, handyman service, remodeling, siding, water damage restoration, basement waterproofing, dog fence, doors

5.0

02/20/2016


Jeff K.

Yhey were very courteous and very fast at the work that they did it was all done in one day.

Description of Work
ceiling repair

Category handyman service

5.0

01/07/2016


Julie M.

Duane and his crew provided us with an excellent price and great new roof. Very easy to work with prompt attention to detail. Excellent workmanship- no leaks. I'm certain that if we did have any issues he would have taken care of them. Very Very happy that we called.

Description of Work
Large reroofing project

Category roofing, interior painters

2.0

10/16/2015


LINDA C.

Dissapointed. Realator recommended them very highly. Yet came out and looked at project, said would get back to me. Never heard from them again.

Description of Work
NothingI

Category handyman service

3.0

09/02/2015


Susan R.

They were nice, polite, no problem there. But when we got the estimate it was 3 times as much as our other estimates. We did not have them do the work.

Description of Work
Gave us a free estimate for plaster work in the kitchen.

Category handyman service

5.0

08/19/2015


Edward L.

The service was prompt and entirely as expected for an organization recommended by users of this website. We did not choose this service because of a better cost and more immediate start date alternative that became evident through the estimating process.

Description of Work
The firm provided a financial estimate of work to be completed per a scope-of work-outline list by the customer.

Category handyman service

1.0

07/29/2015


parker M.

The guy was there for about 5 minutes. He didn't ask about what we wanted, our budget, our style, or anything. He took some measurements and emailed an estimate the next day. Since when does a basic estimate cost $75??? He didn't seem at all interested in our project. I would have expected the estimate to be free if that was all he was going to do. Plus the estimate was outrageously high for a simple bathroom face-lift. Very disappointed and would never hire them.

Description of Work
I purchased the $75 bath remodel consultation through Angie's List. He came out and did an estimate, nothing more.

Category handyman service, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hi [Removed member name], I am so sorry to hear you were unhappy with the services we provided. your review was the first I have heard of any issue and would like the opportunity to make that right. Please feel free to contact me directly at 503-409-2627. That is a direct line to me the owner of 3Rs Construction Management LLC. I will be sure we have addressed your concerns and leave you satisfied. If you peruse the last several years of reviews you will see a vast majority of more then satisfied clients and a precious few who just could not be satisfied. We would like to have the opportunity to earn your positive follow-up. Duane West 3Rs Construction Management LLC

1.0

07/28/2015


Tim D.

The first rainstorm after their repairs (approx. 30 days) two windows failed and water penetrated into the house ruining the drywall around those windows. They came out the next day and did a half-a** job putting z-strip flashing above the top window trim on the two failing windows (which I had originally requested but was told was unnecessary by their foreman). They did a hack job on the siding, including failed to prime any of the new cut wood/siding/trim. A third window failed a few weeks later. When I contacted them about how their repairs had failed and the job they did to fix it left my house looking for worse (uneven cutting on the siding to add z-strip flashing, some windows with the flashing and others without, etc) they offered to come out and give me an estimate to make the rest of the windows match the work they did. Their crappy workmanship cost me $9k in repairs. I had to replace siding and trim on every window they worked on, which also led to me having to repaint the entire exterior/interior of the house. I will never hire them again. I do not recommend their services. They are a joke.

Description of Work
Originally hired to stop water penetration on east/west walls surrounding 4 windows and to fix drywall/interior damage from water penetration.

Category drywall, handyman service, roofing, siding, water damage restoration, replacement windows, woodworking, house painters, interior painters

2.0

07/16/2015


TODD Y.

He walked through the areas where my floor was squeaking and we talked about the options. It was during our conversation I mentioned that I would be chatting with the builder to get his opinion on what was happening with the floor. He didn't seem to happy with me getting another opinion about what was going on with the flooring. He then gave me a verbal quote of around $1200. He said if he need a carpet guy to come in and re stretch the carpets it would cost an additional $100 per area. I said I could do without a $500 charge on top of the $1200. He left and sent me an estimate for the $1203.50. I did have my meeting with the original builder (the house is 14 yrs old). He diagnosed the problem much differently than Casey. He went to his truck and grabbed a few tools, came in and fixed the problem in under 10 minutes. Casey had completely misdiagnosed the issue and charged an exorbitant amount of money. I have to ask myself how Casey was so wrong about the problem was it incompetence or was he just trying to make a lot of money on a deal with a customer. I do not know but I would recommend either not using this company or getting a few more bids before using them. Buyer beware!

Description of Work
I called 7/06/20015 to get an estimate and a person at the office took my name and said Casey would call for an appointment. I did not get a call for two days. I had to call again 07/08/2015 and finally got a call from Casey. Case showed up on time and looked over the areas where my floor squeaked.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor, handyman service

5.0

06/11/2015


Susan P.

Duane came out to do the initial bidding. Casey was our Site Manager. Jimmy did the inside work; and they subcontracted out the fence installation. Cathy of 3R's is their fencing specialist. Across the board, 3R's met and exceeded my expectations. Every person I worked with, including the subcontracted fence crew, was pleasant, VERY hard working, thoroughly professional (including highly skilled in their specialty), and very willing to do what was asked of them. One tiny communication snafu: it took more than one day to install the fence. We had the fence put in to coral our small dog and keep her safe. Before the gates went on (2nd visit), we walked her in the yard and there was small amount of metal debris. Having not worked with a contractor in this way previously, "I" did not understand that until the project was finished, our yard was considered a "construction site". Even as I adjusted my mind to this, Cathy had a crew member come out and police the yard for metal debris so our munchy little dog would be safe and not ingest metal pieces. When the posts were going in for the fence, one small piece of the sprinkler system was knicked and needed repair. Even before I became aware of these events (about half an hour), our site manager, Casey, was already on site (here, outside in his truck), hunting down a plumber to come out and make the repair. I don't know how he did it (magic?), but by about 5 p.m. on the eve of the Memorial Day weekend, Casey had a plumber out here and all was well. This level of proactive response, and before I even knew something had happened, is, quite frankly, amazing! 3R's is super lucky to have Casey in their employ. Jimmy....omgosh a beastly contracting machine! Even when I offered that he should break for lunch or rest, ever smiling, he absolutely *blazed* through every task inside the house. He picked up and brought a security screen door I had ordered, and Casey sourced a matching set of door locks for me (items not available through local Home Depot or other sources). Among other things, Jimmy installed a safety bar in my shower. He was concerned that the bar might ultimately rip out due to the design of the shower enclosure. We discussed it, and Jimmy spoke with Casey *and* a plumber to ensure that the install was do-able, and would hold over time. Thorough-ness, personified. I would totally use 3R's again. On budget. On time. Professional; pleasant to work with beyond "general" professionalism. I am a perfectionist and generally do not lavish praise, but these folks totally deserve it. If they are booked out, they are worth the wait. Not the cheapest, but fair and very high quality work.

Description of Work
We engaged 3R's after interviewing other full service general contractors. We had a chain link fence installed, and a range of small indoor projects (handyman type) to help make our home more comfortable and safe.

Category handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

06/07/2015


Sandy C.

My back deck caught on fire. The deck was completely gone, there was a very large hole cut in my roof, the side of my house was damaged. I had no clue who to call. The insurance adjustor gave me a couple of pointers and I got a couple of referrals from a coworker. I had set up interviews with 4 contractors. Then I remembered I had a membership with Angie's List. Only one of the four contractors was listed on Angie's List; 3 R's Construction. Duane, the owner of 3 R's was my 3rd interview. I hired him on the spot. He was very personable, extremely knowledgeable, and would act as liaison between me and the insurance company (one of the insurance adjustor's recommendations). And he has a great sense of humor. Duane's demeanor and professionalism immediately eliminated my anxiety. There is not enough room on this website to express my total and complete satisfaction with 3 R's. Fantastic workmanship. Duane's one concern was constructing the deck to my satisfaction. Any area that I was unsure of, he offered expert ideas, but let me make my own decisions. No matter how many times I called, I was NEVER made to feel as though I was a nuisance. And they stayed with budget. One week into the project, based solely on my experience up to that point and conversations that were overheard, a coworker asked for a business card so she could hire 3 R's as well. 3 R's is the only construction company I will ever hire to do any job. I would and have recommended them to anyone who is seeking a quality job. If you want expert workmanship and peace of mind knowing that you've hired a contractor who has your best interests in mind, then 3 R's is the construction company you're looking for. Duane goes beyond just being a contractor. His main concern is always his customer. Too much praise you say? Sounds too good to be true you say? Hire 3 R's Construction and see for yourself.

Description of Work
Replaced backyard deck that had burned down.

Category decks, handyman service, roofing, water damage restoration

1.0

08/30/2014


Linda R.

I called the business approx a week later and told the person that answered that I hadn't been contacted and was told that they were sorry and would have the person call me. Haven't heard from them at all and its been another 4 days. The least they could have done if they didn't want to do the job was to call and let me know. I will not use this company and will not recommend them.

Description of Work
Came to my house to look at the handy man items I needed taken care of and told me that I would be called with a bid probably the next day....never heard from anyone.

Category handyman service

2.0

08/29/2014


Heather S.

As always Duane and his crew came through for us. I called 3r's on a Friday evening and Duane answered the phone right away . He obviously had my name still in his phone after two years and called me by my first name when he answered, I was impressed! He had Sean come out on Monday to look at the damage I found. Unfortunately the window Victor had thought was not leaking two years ago had been in fact leaking at the sil and caused some rot inside the wall, it was still damp in a small area. We scheduled the job to be done 3 days later. I hung around and watched the majority of the time because I was interested in how they were going to tackle the issue and I wanted to see how bad the damage was. The guys were ok with that and took the time to work with my concerns and teach me a few things...they were very patient. I did feel that I had to push a little for them to investigate further which Im glad I did because some old rot extended down to the bottom of the wall, but they were good about ripping it all out and replacing it without an issue. The quality of work in my opinion wasn't as top notch as Victor's (sorry Duane but I have to be honest) but Victor is also a perfectionist....which I like. it helped a great deal to have Sean directing them, he didn't let anything go unnoticed. All in all I'm happy with the work. I'll post back this winter if I notice any leaking but I feel confident the problem has been fixed. **Update** Both Windows leaked and rotted cedar lap siding. Almost 2k later and this is what we got. The caulking they (both Victor and the two guys that worked on the second window) used was inexpensive indoor\outdoor caulking and failed within the first year on both windows. We didn't figure this out until I moved my son's bed and found major mold on the wall underneath his bedroom window. So much so that we had to completely rip out all the plaster and outside caulking and redo everything ourselves. This prompted us to check the second window they worked on. No wonder they advised us to actually replace the caulking every year on our windows. Really, who does that? You shouldn't have to remove and replace outside window caulking on your windows every year. In addition, we had to clean up and reinforce a nails, flashing etc. after the second window was worked on. I tried contacting the owner a couple times via cell and never heard back. All in all I would no longer advise using this company. It's unfortunate because I do believe the owner has good intentions and wants his customers happy. Unfortunately, his employees work is sub-par when it comes to bigger jobs and the amount he charges is not worth the headache. Nice guy but that doesn't get the job done.

Description of Work
Removed dry rot under south facing window.

Category contractors, handyman service

5.0

08/24/2014


Ann R.

They were very easy to get a hold of and did the work quickly. The crew came out and looked at everything and let me know what needed to be fixed and what was just cosmetic (giving me the choice to have the work done or not). I appreciated the excellent communication and quality work. I would definitely use them again!

Description of Work
3R's Construction took care of a big list of items that I wanted to have done from a recent home inspection/home purchase. The list included installing a new garbage disposal, adding two roof vents, putting up a gutter on the patio cover, trimming siding, cleaning the roof, gutters and dryer vent and more!

Category gutter cleaning, gutter repair, handyman service, plumbing, roofing, siding, roof cleaning

    Other local Pros in your area

    TNT Construction LLC

     

    Big Larry Designs

    We design and sell cabinets from a variety of different manufacturers, along with the sales of laminate, quartz & granite countertops. We also supply cabinet hardware options to complete your project.  

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    3R's Construction & Remodeling is a Full Service Construction Company offering everything from small Home Repairs to Full Home Additions, Remodeling of Kitchens and Bathrooms, We have a division that handles Commercial Repairs and Tenant Improvements and a specialty niche in Radon and Mold Removal.

    Services Not Offered

    There is nothing building related that we do not do.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about 3Rs Construction & Remodeling

    How is 3Rs Construction & Remodeling overall rated?

    3Rs Construction & Remodeling is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are 3Rs Construction & Remodeling open?

    3Rs Construction & Remodeling is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does 3Rs Construction & Remodeling provide

    3Rs Construction & Remodeling accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available

    Does 3Rs Construction & Remodeling offer free estimates?

    Yes, 3Rs Construction & Remodeling offers free project estimates.

    Does 3Rs Construction & Remodeling offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, 3Rs Construction & Remodeling offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does 3Rs Construction & Remodeling offer emergency services?

    Yes, 3Rs Construction & Remodeling offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by 3Rs Construction & Remodeling?

    Yes, 3Rs Construction & Remodeling offers warranties.

    What services does 3Rs Construction & Remodeling offer?

    3Rs Construction & Remodeling offers the following services: 3R's Construction & Remodeling is a Full Service Construction Company offering everything from small Home Repairs to Full Home Additions, Remodeling of Kitchens and Bathrooms, We have a division that handles Commercial Repairs and Tenant Improvements and a specialty niche in Radon and Mold Removal.

    Are there any services 3Rs Construction & Remodeling does not offer?

    There is nothing building related that we do not do.