Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

The Top Hatter

Founded 2001 • With Angi since June 2005

4.7

(571) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 230785

Portland, OR 97281

Description

Portland Metro Area (503) 639-1436 - The Top Hatter Air Duct Cleaning & Chimney Sweep Service. Locally owned & operated. In business since 2001. Licensed, bonded and insured. Super Service Award Winner - 9 times in multiple categories. Vancouver (360) 823-0501.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/04/2022


Bruce H.

They did what I have requested to do.

Description of Work
Chimney service/Chimney cleaning

Category chimney sweep

1.0

09/25/2018


Colleen S.

Everything went well in the beginning. Great friendly service. I left a message in early spring that there was leaking again. No return phone call. Summer came and fall was approaching. I called 3-4 times and left messages. Finally 2 weeks later I received a phone call and an apology. I told the woman what was happening and she said she would charge me full price to come out and evaluate the problem. I was having my roof and gutters cleaned and they noticed that the cap was completely missing. I called the company and left another message that they are partly responsible and to call me back. They never called me back. I don’t want something for free, I just want some customer service and for them to make this right. They won’t even return phone calls!

Description of Work
Cleaned 2 wood stoves and chimneys and replaced and installed stainless steel top for chimney due to leaking.

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps

5.0

02/21/2018


SID S.

Chris and his apprentice arrived an hour early which was fine. After introductions, they were shown to the laundry area which the owner had cleared so that they could work unobstructed. They set to work immediately, and showed me a trick for opening the dryer screen. They cleaned the dryer and the vent and were finished within one half hour. Then they packed up, present their bill, received a check with a 10% reduction, and they departed. From our point of view, it went very well.

Description of Work
The dryer tube and the exit pipe were full of lint and needed cleaning

Category dryer vent cleaning

5.0

02/12/2018


Robert T.

They arrived promptly and were thorough in their inspections of two gas fireplaces and chimney caps. One fireplace was found to have a rusted out starter and they shut off the gas until that is fixed. While on the roof for inspecting the caps, they collected construction debris left behind from a new gutter installation. Very professional and went beyond expectations.

Description of Work
Fireplace and chimney cap inspection.

Category chimney caps, fireplaces

5.0

01/11/2018


Cheree M.

Kind, competent, respectful and informative

Description of Work
Chimney clean and inspect

Category chimney sweep

5.0

12/27/2017


Holly S.

Great, I would certainly recommend them and us them again.

Description of Work
Chimney and dryer vent cleaned.

Category chimney sweep, dryer vent cleaning

5.0

12/12/2017


Marlene B.

They came during the 1 hour window I was given. Were very professional. I thought it was a bit pricey for the amount of time they were here ( about 30 mins. But they did the job I expected. They cleaned up, but there were a few minor things that made me give them a "good" rating vs a "excellent" as there were some minor ash smudges left on my fireplace brick that I had to clean up, and they didn't replace what had been unplugged for their vaccum. Like I said, just minor things. Otherwise the work was fine.

Description of Work
had chimney cleaned

Category chimney sweep

4.0

12/07/2017


Joy B.

Work was done and all is in working order

Description of Work
Duct cleaning and chimney inspection

Category chimney sweep, air duct cleaning

5.0

12/06/2017


Charlene R.

Great. Pointed out a couple of areas that need to be watched.

Description of Work
Neede our chimney swept, and fireplaces inspected.

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

3.0

12/05/2017


Sue L.

Tech's were very nice, but a little unprofessional.

Description of Work
Annual chimney cleaning which was very expensive compared to other company I used in past, along with they left insert area floor and stove feeling grimy and front step with black ash debris from bucket. In addition, they were an hour late. I had to call office before service tech notified me concerning their tardiness.

Category chimney sweep

2.0

11/21/2017


Charley Z.

The Top Hatter responded quickly to my initial request for a quote and said that they were tentatively available to work with me. They, however, stopped responding to my emails after I provided them with my address. I attempted to follow-up with them multiple times to confirm our appointment, but still received no response from them.

Description of Work
Chimney Sweep Chimney Repair Chimney caps

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

5.0

11/20/2017


Jeannie C.

Both were done well and efficiently. The two guys were very professional, easy to talk with and cleaned up the job very well. Since the work needed was less than projected they reduced the bill a bit. Much appreciated. Will definitely hire again

Description of Work
Clean chimney and find and fix blockage in the stove.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

10/25/2017


Rebekah H.

They were great. Answered my call right away, got me scheduled very quickly.The price for my type of insert was higher than other types and also disqualified the "$10 off coupon" from Angies list, which was kinda a let down. They were however upfront about this, and when I checked around at other places, the price was the going rate. For Punctuality - they were a little later than expected as they had trouble finding my place. They did call and ask for some clarifying directions when their GPS took them somewhere else, and arrived in a reasonable amount time after that, and did a fantastic job once there. I will definitely hire them again in the future.

Description of Work
Cleaning and inspection of Chimney with an old-style insert (no liner).

Category chimney sweep

5.0

10/18/2017


Brad C.

The crew arrived early (yay!) and were quick about doing the job. They worked cleanly and made sure the area was clean when leaving. Will hire again.

Description of Work
Cleaned and inspected the chimney

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

5.0

10/11/2017


Tami J.

I was so impressed with their service! Ashley and Aaron were very professional and took the time to answer all of my questions. I appreciated the thorough job that they did and that they cleaned up so well after. I would highly recommend this company and plan to use them again in the spring to do maintenance on the outside of my chimney that needs repair. Thank you so much!! :)

Description of Work
Chimney sweep and inspection

Category air duct cleaning, chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces

5.0

10/04/2017


Vicki J.

Vey well for both the cleaning and rebuilding. Very helpful an accomodating.

Description of Work
cleaned our chimney and completely rebuilt our chimney.

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces

5.0

10/04/2017


Barbara V.

Arrived promptly. Cleaned from outside trap, so no mess! Requested that they clean the soot off the top of the chimney, which they most willingly did, though the use of something other than just a dry rag would probably have had more pleasing results. Loved their promptness and friendliness!

Description of Work
Cleaning chimney

Category chimney sweep

5.0

09/18/2017


Rosalyn N.

Aaron arrived at the scheduled time. He cleaned the Dryer vent and air ducts. The air duct cleaning process had been explained to me when I scheduled the appointment. The cleaning was thorough. It did take some time to do all the work. The dryer now gets the clothes dried very quickly. I was not sure the air ducts needed to be cleaned but I was glad I did. I noticed a difference with less dust in the house now that the ducts have been cleaned.

Description of Work
my dryer vent needed to be cleaned. I also asked to have the air ducts cleaned at the same time.

Category air duct cleaning, dryer vent cleaning

5.0

08/14/2017


TONY M.

Successful, With helpful, good natured, informative techs.

Description of Work
Remove debris that had accumulated behind damper and free up damper action.

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

5.0

03/27/2017


Mary P.

The person who came was very tidy and explained clearly what he did and what needed doing.

Description of Work
chimney cleaned

Category chimney sweep

5.0

03/27/2017


Tina B.

It went well. They found some other issues and got our chimney tuned up and ready to use as described.

Description of Work
Chimney clean out and damper replaced.

Category chimney sweep, masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair

5.0

03/27/2017


Margaret R.

Very well. The ladies were efficient and knowledgeable. We had just completed a major remodeling project, so the house was a mess. This didn't phase them in the least. They worked around it and got the job done!

Description of Work
We needed the chimneys swept and evaluated. And, the duct work cleaned.

Category chimney sweep, air duct cleaning, fireplaces

5.0

03/13/2017


Ramon H.

Went great! I recommend and will rehire each year.

Description of Work
Chimney sweeping

Category chimney sweep

5.0

02/13/2017


Paul R.

All went well. Provider arrived on time, performed the services requested. The were friendly and cleaned up when they were done. I would use them again.

Description of Work
Chimney sweep

Category air duct cleaning

5.0

01/17/2017


Kitty M.

It went very well. The girls did a fabulous job. They thought they found where the odor was coming from which was not in the vents but in the crawl space. We did get a plumbing company to come in and check it out. They found a broken pipe which was causing the odor and it is being fixed. We never would have looked under the house if it were not for your vent cleaners. I thank them very much for their thoroughness.

Description of Work
We had a horrible smell and were trying to figure out where it was coming from. We started with the cleaning the air ducts to see if that would solve the problem.

Category air duct cleaning

    Other local Pros in your area

    Secure Pressure

    Secure Pressure is owner operated out of Beaverton, Oregon. We provide general Pressure Washing services and always ensure the best possible service for each of our clients. Please give us a call or click for an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Spruce Up Northwest

     

    Angi Certified

    Malle Painting, LLC.

    At MALLE PAINTING, LLC., our goal is to not only help you paint or refinish your dream home, but to make the process easy and the most enjoyable for you. We are a full-service painting company with a wide range of experience. We can help you with all phases of new home painting or repainting: finding/procuring the right shade for your preference. Our excellent reputation and long list of satisfied clients attest to our superior craftsmanship, attention to detail, clear communication, honesty and integrity. Let's discuss your ideas! Your free consultation is just a phone call away.  

    Angi Certified

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    149924
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Air duct cleaning, dryer vent cleaning, chimney sweep, chimney maintenance and repairs and caps, chimney caps, and chimney inspections.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about The Top Hatter

    How is The Top Hatter overall rated?

    The Top Hatter is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are The Top Hatter open?

    The Top Hatter is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does The Top Hatter provide

    The Top Hatter accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does The Top Hatter offer free estimates?

    No, The Top Hatter does not offer free project estimates.

    Does The Top Hatter offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, The Top Hatter offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does The Top Hatter offer a senior discount?

    Yes, The Top Hatter offers a 10% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by The Top Hatter?

    No, The Top Hatter does not offer warranties.

    What services does The Top Hatter offer?

    The Top Hatter offers the following services: Air duct cleaning, dryer vent cleaning, chimney sweep, chimney maintenance and repairs and caps, chimney caps, and chimney inspections.