Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Rose City Heating & Air

Founded 1995 • With Angi since October 2007

4.8

(229) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8946 SW Barbur Blvd

Portland, OR 97219

Description

We have been a family owned business since 1995, we are proud to provide service to our customers, providing complete sales, service and installation of high quality heating and air conditioning systems in both homes and businesses. We enjoy what we do and it shows. We take pride in each and every

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

03/01/2022


Erin S.

"We did everything right." You can be the judge of that. Here's the story: After my heat was out for five days in early January, Columbia Heating came and fixed the pilot light. Three days later, an estimator from Rose City Heating came to give my landlord a quote. When he left, the pilot light (which had been recently fixed) was no longer working. I had no luck fixing it myself. A Rose City Heating repair person (named Paul) came that night and didn't look at the pilot light. He came to give me a space heater. I was then without heat for another several days of winter, and I was told to block out 8-11am plus 4-6 hours for installation of a new unit. That was rescheduled, I believe it was the same day, to closer to noon. When they arrived, I asked: can you first check to see if you can fix the pilot light? Repairperson Paul (who was doing the installation) said "that's not what the landlord authorized." Even though, when I spoke to the Landlord the next day, he said "did they even try to fix the pilot light, first?" No they didn't...not during the night Paul came over, nor the day he came back for install. **On installation day, it took barely 2-3 hours to 'complete' the installation job. That should've been the first hint of something being wrong. Sorry I can't attached the pictures, look on YELP or Google -bottom door of the unit wasn't able to close because Repairperson Paul said we would need to cut the floor (not true) -shows the cover on top of the unit, which was about to fall off The pilot light was making noises several times an hour (7-9 click click click click click click 'light') and I asked Repairperson Paul about this. He said it was going to happen now since I don't have a constant pilot light any more. I asked if he could make it happen less, and he said no. Over the course of the next five days, the heater made hundreds of loud noises at all hours. EVERY 18 minutes, the following noises ensued: (Sample Timeframe) 10:33 pilot light clicks on (this is a series of 7-8 clicks before it lights) 10:37 “wahh” noise 10:39 ‘whirring’ noise 20 seconds 10:41 ‘whirring’ noise for 15 seconds 10:43 ‘whirring’ noise for20 seconds 10:43 – 10:46 “clanking and whirring noise’ 10:52 pilot light clicks on (7-8 series of clicks) Whole cycle repeats 11:10 Pilot light clicks on (7-8 clicks) Whole cycle repeats And on and on. This is hundreds of noises per day, emanating from the middle of my apartment, there is no escaping. The unit looks very similar to the previous unit, which only made noise while heating the air. It did not make any other noises. These noises were extraordinarily disruptive from a brand new unit. Rose City Heating then wisely sent Repair & Installation person Pat over and he spent 3.5 hours fixing the job that his colleague had done on the install (Note: The electric is still very messy, they said that would take a month to fix) Pat even adjusted the thermostat so that the pilot light only clicks on less than a dozen times per day, instead of 3-5x an hour (96+ times per day) HOWEVER, as soon as Pat left, the heating unit no longer worked and I was without heat another 1/2 day and night. Turns out, Pat had accidentally flicked the switch to "off" when re-caulking the left side of the unit. He fixed it and said "wasn't this great customer service?" True, he and Paul are super nice guys. But the best customer service would be to not have lost heat again after hours and hours (and days) were spent on this unit by your team. My landlord and I have had to cancel countless commitments to be available for huge time windows and noise in my home. The reason he opted for the new unit was to avoid the headache that dealing with the old unit may have caused. Due to the installation procedures, significantly more headaches and hours of time investment have been incurred by us both. ***No discount was given, in fact, the 'accidentally' added a cost they hadn't mentioned during the original quote. I do not recommend Rose City Heating.

Description of Work
My pilot light went out and they sold my landlord on replacing the entire heater

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/26/2018


Gregory S.

Have used Rose City several times at different properties. Always on time, priced right, great job!

Description of Work
Did service on heater and AC

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/01/2017


Janice C.

I have been quite happy with the AC

Description of Work
Air conditioner installation

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/18/2017


Aaron C.

Perfect - quick diagnosis which was correct, parts ordered an replaced within a week.

Description of Work
Troubleshoot and repair 3 zone HVAC systems

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/08/2017


Edward S.

Great. He actually performed more service than I felt I had paid for, and he was a most pleasant fellow to deal with.

Description of Work
Diagnostic AC inspection

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/01/2017


Ray W.

It's been working fine its with a boiler system.

Description of Work
They did a maintenance.

Category heating oil companies

5.0

08/09/2017


Scott C.

Rose City always communicated with me clearly and promptly. At the initial visit to my place, the estimator provided good answers to questions I had and explained several options for the installation. The installers were efficient and professional and friendly and left the workplace clean.

Description of Work
Added AC to my house.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/31/2017


Shea H.

It went well from start to finish, very professional and friendly. Would recommend to anyone in the Portland area.

Description of Work
Our AC unit wasn't blowing air, or even kicking on so we had Rose City out to diagnose the problem. Turned out to be a mouse or rat that had chewed through the wires and shorted the system. Our tech found the problem and was able to rewire and get the system back up and running in the matter of a couple hours.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/28/2017


Karina B.

The technician was knowledgeable and gave me lots of information about my system. The part that was a bit clunky was scheduling the service and identifying exactly what the specific service components were.

Description of Work
Check my heat pump and central air conditioning unit for functionality and efficiency.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

07/13/2017


Pavel S.

Did a good work in estimating and installing my AC Unit. However, response to an issue took more time to resolve; could have been much better.

Description of Work
Estimating and installing my AC Unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/05/2017


Marianne R.

Excellent! Showed up on time, did the work efficiently and everything works! Glad to have a heating/cooling system that works!

Description of Work
Motherboard in furnace replaced

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/03/2017


Virginia S.

It's usually before spring. They're very good. They're reliable. They seem to fix what's wrong. If not, they just look everything over and say it's okay. They're punctual. They give me a time and they are there.

Description of Work
They came out and checked the furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/27/2017


Chester N.

Everything went very well. Dave and Chris were on time, they were professional, friendly, and efficient. The work was done with minimal disruption of our schedules and they cleaned up after themselves. The only evidence we had of their being in our home was a new, and well functioning air conditioner, which was really appreciated during a recent heat wave.

Description of Work
New central air conditioner. Our existing air conditioner had developed a coolant leak. The coolant is no longer manufactured. They were able to send someone to estimate the cost of a replacement unit. They gave us estimates for a cheaper and a more expensive (American made) unit. They answered questions about both units with pluses and negatives for both. We chose the American made unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/31/2017


francis S.

Prompt service very competent technician

Description of Work
Furnace repair.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/02/2017


Whitney A.

I can't say enough how impressed I've been with Rose City Heating & Air. Everyone that I dealt with was friendly and professional, and they were very easy to work with. Dave, who did the work at my house, was so nice and pleasant. He was even really good with my dog (who's pretty big and tends to scare people - not Dave, he was amazing!) I really loved that Dave walked us through lighting the pilot light on the water heater so we know how to do it if it ever goes out. The work was done quickly, and it looks like they did a great job. He really went above and beyond. I would highly recommend Rose City to anyone looking for HVAC work.

Description of Work
Replaced furnace, water heater, thermostat, added new A/C unit and gas line to kitchen

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

5.0

04/05/2017


PATRICK M.

It was excellent, we're very happy with the equipment, the install and the professionalism of the whole team at Rose City.

Description of Work
We had central AC installed and our furnace tuned up.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/01/2017


Theresa R.

Very friendly, professional and prompt. Everything was explained to me and they cleaned up after themselves. Would hire again for any HVAC issues in the future.

Description of Work
Ductwork repairs

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/01/2017


Linda K.

Great! Dave was very knowledgable and professional.

Description of Work
The gas fire place didn't work. Also looked at furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/15/2017


Julia P.

They were reasonable for the unusual circumstance. Eventually, they quit doing the evaluations because the owner said that they had a big project and they could not continue to do the evaluations. For being HVAC they were professional. They were not particularly literate but I guess you cant expect to much. I wanted them to write a report and when I saw how ungrammatical their first attempt were, I just told them to tell me and I will write it down but that is not what a HVAC person is trained to do or paid to do.

Description of Work
They came out and inspected work done by another company.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

1.0

02/10/2017


Andreas G.

Company is not reliable at all regarding communication.

Description of Work
I requested an inspection of my gas furnace and repair work to furnace and water heater. Rose City promised a call back for scheduling but even after 2 weeks and two calls from my side I never received any feedback. At that time I stopped trying to work with Rose City Heating.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Our records indicate we returned your calls and were waiting for you to return ours. Sorry for the inconvenience.
5.0

01/10/2017


Peter E.

I was told that an estimate would be $99. Dave and his daughter/apprentice arrived on time, took a look at things... and next thing I knew, they were finished, the stove worked beautifully, and ... they only charged me $149! THAT was customer service, since they could have left an estimate, went through the whole process of scheduling another appointment.... Both were very polite, and open about explaining what the issues had been. I would definitely recommend this company!

Description of Work
Gas fireplace was nonfunctional, having been disused for 6-7 years, while the house was rented - which I will never do again....

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, gas logs

5.0

12/14/2016


Marleen W.

I did not choose Rose City Heating and Air to perform the service. The estimator was very professional.

Description of Work
Install a furnace and air conditioner

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/05/2016


Lindsey R.

Very well. Professional, helpful, and straightforward.

Description of Work
Furnace diagnosis

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/31/2016


Keith B.

Quickly determined the problem and fixed it, with out using any new parts, or suggesting an expensive repair.

Description of Work
Trouble shoot furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/25/2016


Rebecca O.

The representative was clear, and patient. He followed through. He gave specific advice on the type of filter to use in the future, how to keep the ducts cleaned going forward, cleaned the blockages from the dryer and animal hair, and came twice to ensure all was working properly.

Description of Work
The air conditioner did not work - the cause turned out to be that the dryer vent (previous owner) was directly pointed at the air conditioner. Who knew? In addition, there are two dogs and a cat in the house, so you can imagine.

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

    Other local Pros in your area

    Aire Serv of the Willamette

    Aire Serv Heating and Air Conditioning, serving the Greater Portland Metro, including the Greater Salem, Albany, and Corvallis areas, never charges overtime, we offer financing for general repairs up to new heating and cooling products. We have won Angie's List's Super Service Award 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, & 2016. Our technicians are well trained on everything from the latest technology to old school products. We have same day service available and same & next day installation of central heating and cooling systems at no additional cost. We will not charge you the diagnostic or trip charge to come out to your home or office with any repair. Please ask when you call or one of our technicians how to get 15% off your service call. Award winning. Additional DBA - A Team Heating & Cooling LLC. OR Lic#188791  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Cloud 9 Professional Cleaning Services

    Cloud 9 provides professional carpet and upholstery cleaning services, window washing services, and house cleaning and housekeeping services. We have been an Better Business Bureau A+ Accredited company and have maintained our Angie's List Super Service Awards.  

    Angi Certified

    Euro Masonry LLC

    Euro Masonry LLC is a company backed by 10+ years experience. We offer competitive rates and have very excellent references with very satisfied customers. Free estimates. Our work is always high quality, clean, and done in a timely manner. Additional contact name - Kiana Karlovic. Award winning. Additional phone number - (503) 333-0133.  

    Angi Certified

    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Heating & AC Installation, Maintenance & Repair, Gas Fireplaces, Duct Work, Gas Lines, Venting, Chimney Liners, Water Heates, Energy Recovery, Dehumidifiers, Thermostats, Heat Pumps.

    Services Not Offered

    Oil furnaces.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Rose City Heating & Air

    How is Rose City Heating & Air overall rated?

    Rose City Heating & Air is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Rose City Heating & Air open?

    Rose City Heating & Air is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Rose City Heating & Air provide

    Rose City Heating & Air accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Rose City Heating & Air offer free estimates?

    No, Rose City Heating & Air does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Rose City Heating & Air offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Rose City Heating & Air offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Rose City Heating & Air offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Rose City Heating & Air offers a 5% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Rose City Heating & Air?

    Yes, Rose City Heating & Air offers warranties.

    What services does Rose City Heating & Air offer?

    Rose City Heating & Air offers the following services: Heating & AC Installation, Maintenance & Repair, Gas Fireplaces, Duct Work, Gas Lines, Venting, Chimney Liners, Water Heates, Energy Recovery, Dehumidifiers, Thermostats, Heat Pumps.

    Are there any services Rose City Heating & Air does not offer?

    Oil furnaces.