Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Room Service Home Theatre Specialists

Founded 1992 • With Angi since August 2006

4.8

(28) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

10120 SW Nimbus Avenue Ste C1

Portland, OR 97223

Description

Room Service Audio Video has the experience, expertise and vision to customize your home with the finest custom home theaters, whole home music systems, home automation and control systems, lighting and motorized shading systems, and security and surveillance systems. Our team of designers and

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

06/26/2013


Martin M.

A simple repair that we are still struggling with. No return call.

Description of Work
Home theater repair

Category home theater design

5.0

11/30/2012


Wendy D.

Very busy company, took several weeks to tie down to a date to complete project, and I had to call back as they didn't return calls within time frame they had given. I had to be a little diligent but it was well worth my effort of picking up the phone. Worked well within my contraints and my wife's asthetic requirements :) He was very professional, cleaned up very well after his job was completed. My wife was worried this would mess up our recently painted ceiling... (as I bought this system after she had it painted) . However, his workmanship was outstanding and the speakers look like they have always been there. Very neat and precise work. He even saved me a little money by using some of my own stuff that I had purchased ahead of time on sale. Very professional, and did not waste his time... worked well within an exceptable time frame. Love my new system. and quot;Star Warsand quot; and and quot;Cars 2and quot; have never sounded better!!!! Thank you for your handiwork!

Description of Work
Install of 7.1 in ceiling theatre surround sound.

Category home theater design

5.0

08/15/2011


KATY S.

They were very responsive. We did have a discount through another company so we chose not to go with them but I would recommend them.

Description of Work
Set up for a home theatre system.

Category home theater design

5.0

08/15/2011


Dennis B.

It was fine and they have done our work for some time.

Description of Work
They did some trouble shooting on our home entertainment system, installed a new receiver and programmed our all-in-one remote.

Category home theater design

5.0

07/29/2010


Jeff A E.

They did a good job and they were very straight-forward and professional. There was a system here in the new house and they checked it out then came up with a couple of different plans to integrate our system in an efficient and cost-effective way. I really only dealt with one guy and he did all of the installation himself. He took about four hours which was what he estimated it would take. I got one other quote and they were less expensive than that other company.

Description of Work
Home Electronic Connect Team installed a home theater system.

Category home theater design

5.0

07/22/2010


KATHRYN C.

This company installed a home entertainment system in our home about three years ago. The reason I am writing this review is that I had to call them twice for assistance regarding two problems that turned out to be my error. This company is amazing! They stand by their work; responded to my email requests for assistance the very same day, and was ready to assist me in whatever way they could. I give this company the highest marks for not only doing a great job installing our entertainment system but also following up on any subsequent issues (which were not of their doing!)

Description of Work
Had two issues (of my doing, as it turned out) that I needed assistance with. I contacted them by email and got both a prompt email and phone call response. As it turns out they didn't need to come out and fix anything because both issues were owner's (my!) stupidity!

Category home theater design

5.0

04/19/2010


Robert P.

We went with one of their competitors because of the price. The gentleman that came out to give me the estimate was thorough and answered all my questions. He was very professional. He was quite clear on what they would recommend doing and listening to what I wanted done.

Description of Work
I got a quote from Home Electronic Connect Team to install a home theater system, wall mounting of a flat screen TV and wiring and connecting speakers.

Category home theater design

5.0

03/16/2010


HANAN D.

I was satisfied with their punctuality and professionalism. I would use them again. They did a good job.

Description of Work
They put in a home theater system in for us.

Category home theater design

5.0

11/04/2009


Charlie S.

I had been considering an overhaul of my 8-year-old analog A/V system with new HDMI-connected components for many months, but this year I decided it was finally time to get it done. I called Roger and asked him to take a look at what I had -- he came over within a day or two and spent about an hour for some general advice on how best to proceed. I initially handled the equipment ordering and delivery process on my own, but then it became apparent that my old receiver wasn't going to handle the new setup, so I called Roger to ask his help getting the new Integra DTR 9.9 (a complex receiver with a 100+ page user manual). Roger had the new receiver ordered, delivered and installed within about ten days, including assistance dealing with a troublesome ground loop hum. After the LCD display I had ordered from an online retailer finally arrived several weeks later, Roger brought over the MX-880 Universal Remote and programmed it to control all video and audio functions with a push of a button. Even with having to navigate a couple of difficult pieces of equipment, he was able to have the Universal Remote working flawlessly. Roger was friendly, courteous and knowledgeable about my new equipment and took the extra time to answer many technical questions that I had. He also charged a very reasonable amount for his labor time, something that many electronics installers will inflate as part of the cost of purchased equipment.

Description of Work
Supply and install Integra DTR 9.9 Home Theater Receiver and supply and program MX-880 Universal Remote. Also helped set up and adjust new audio - video system components. (Cost included $740 for 9 1/2 hrs. labor, the rest for new A/V equipment)

Category home theater design

5.0

08/17/2009


Stewart S.

Excellent! They did everything they could find to do at our house.

Description of Work
Installed two flat screen TVs and one stereo with surround sound all on one controller. Also included two DVD's with one of our own VCRs.

Category home theater design

5.0

10/15/2008


Kyle T.

Billy and his partner did and outstanding job. Billy listened to what I wanted done, originally estimated it would be a three hour job, and made recommendations for a receiver. They came out a week later, were on time, and got right to work. Wires (which they included!) were threaded through the crawl-space, and up the walls. TV was hung with precision, and is level. Billy gave a short demonstration of how everything worked, and they were gone in 4 hours. It took a bit longer than estimated (and cost slightly more, but not much), but is totally worth it! These guys were great. They even came out a week later to install some wires that I had forgotten to have them install...Super service.

Description of Work
Installed a 5 speaker surround system, with concealed wires, and re-hung a 40" TV

Category home theater design

5.0

10/06/2008


MARC F.

They were able to come out a few days earlier than planned. They called first to ask if I wanted the earlier slot. Since all the pieces had already arrived, I agreed. The installer came on time and completed the work quickly and competently. The price ended up being slightly less than estimated.

Description of Work
Mounted a 32" LCD TV on a wall with a customer-provided wall mount. I ordered the recommended wall mount and everything was there when the installer came out.

Category home theater design

5.0

09/03/2008


Marta S.

They made the arrangements for the electrician to come out a few hours before they were scheduled to. This insured that the wiring was ran and they would have any delay when they showed up to mount the TV and hook up the surround sound. They showed up right on schedule. The two of them had specific tasks they worked on. When the equipment was hooked up they made sure it was all working properly and tweaked a few things to make it sound even better. They finished the same day and there hasn't been any problems with it since. They were very professional, friendly, polite and diligent. We would most defiantly recommend them for your next job!!

Description of Work
Mounted a 50 inch plasma on the wall and hooked up the surround sound system.

Category home theater design

5.0

08/09/2008


KIM M.

They did a great job. They came out right away and started the work, only to find that one of the two speakers we purchased was broken. We had to re-order the speakers and reschedule the work, and then arranged for them to return. They were a couple of hours late the second time, but it wasn't a major problem and, more importantly, they didn't charge us for the second trip out, which was very nice since the speaker problem wasn't their fault. They were quick, professional and did a great job.

Description of Work
They connected, wired and installed two outdoor speakers that we purchased.

Category home theater design

5.0

03/12/2008


Helen V.

Two young men arrived on time, took extra care of the floor and mantel with blankets and coverings. They were quick, clean, professional and personable. They surprised me with how careful they were and how they were willing to do anything that pleased me. The work was clean and neat and although they did not have the second bracket for the second TV, they scheduled a second trip with no trip charge involved. I am so pleased with the outcome and the hidden wires, performance, respect for the job that they were doing. I almost wish I had more work for them to do.

Description of Work
Installed new TV on wall above the mantel and moved older TV to another room and mounted it on the wall.

Category home theater design

5.0

10/06/2007


KATHRYN C.

Mac and his team are absolutely the best! They were prompt, efficient problem solvers and very patient with my husband and me who are tech "illiterates". Mac suggested a universal remote that is absolutely amazing!! Simple to use!

Description of Work
Purchased and installed an entire home entertainment system: new TV, DVD/CD, wired outside for speakers on our patio. The work was arduous (they had to go under our house for wiring).

Category electrician, home theater design

5.0

08/07/2007


MIKE M.

The job was done very well. The conduit installation was clean and looks good. The cable was installed and they even helped us adjust our TV so we didn't have to scroll through extraneous inputs to switch between DVD and satellite. They were very knowledgeable and thorough and the job was done at the estimate I was give for both cost and time.

Description of Work
Mac and his assistant came and installed exterior conduit for HDMI and component video cables. Mac also fabricated a new component cable (25') to go in the conduit.

Category home theater design

5.0

07/11/2007


TROY T.

It didn't go the way they planned, but the problem solved and got the job done well.

Description of Work
Wired back surround speakers to an existing system.

Category home theater design

2.0

04/26/2007


K S.

Design and agreement on scope of work was tedious and choppy. They were slow to respond to questions and lacked thoroughness in proposing solutions to situations specified as needing to be addressed in the scope of work. They did not have notes or diagrams on original install which they had performed [prior to our purchase of the house]. Initial contact was in August, work finally began in Nov. There were a number of follow-up visits to address problems - the last in Feb. I had requested notes on the new work [wiring, connections, etc.], especially important since original install notes don't exist; we have nothing to-date after repeated assurances to follow-up calls and emails. Reluctantly I finally discussed the situation with the owner who came across as purposely obtuse, not understanding the request for "notes" putting the client on the defensive. I had a loyalty to the company since they did the original install but after this final contact our disappointment could not be higher.

Description of Work
Retrofitted an existing audio system [originally installed by them when the house was built]by adding keypad controls, speakers & installing a VIA!dj digital music server.

Category home theater design

Service Provider Response

WE ARE RELIEVED THAT ANGIE’S LIST ALLOWS US THE OPPORTUNITY TO GIVE A RESPONSE STATEMENT. A BIT ABOUT TIMELINE. THE ORIGINAL HOUSE SYSTEM WAS INSTALLED IN 1996, THIS PROJECT WAS 2007. WHEN WE FINISHED THE 1996 PROJECT, ALL INSTALLATION DOCUMENTS, MANUALS, AND “NOTES” WERE HANDED OVER TO THE ORIGINAL OWNERS AT THAT TIME. BECAUSE THIS WAS PRIOR TO THE TIME OF HANDING OVER DIGITAL FILES, THESE THINGS WERE NOT EASILY RE-PRINTED OR REPLACED. WE DID FINALLY RECREATE THEM FROM MEMORY TO GIVE THIS CLIENT A PORTION OF THIS HIGHLY UNUSUAL REQUEST. OUR RESPONSE TO THIS REVIEW: IN 2007, WE RECEIVED A SERVICE CALL, ASKING FOR HELP EXPANDING AN EXISTING SYSTEM. THE SALES PERSON THAT WAS ASSIGNED TO THIS CLIENT WAS ONE OF OUR MOST THOROUGH AND DETAIL-ORIENTED SALES PEOPLE. THERE IS NO DOUBT THAT HE WAS ATTENTIVE TO EVERY CALL. UPON CONTACT, SHE WAS INSTANTLY DEMANDING OF “INSTALLATION NOTES”. THIS IS A VERY UNUSUAL REQUEST IN OUR OFFICE, AS WE GIVE ALL OF THAT DOCUMENTATION TO THE HOMEOWNER UPON RECEIPT OF THE NEW SYSTEM (WITH ALL MANUALS, ETC.). WE CONTINUED TO EXPLAIN THAT WE'D GIVEN ALL THAT AWAY 11 YEARS AGO TO THE HOME-OWNER, BUT WE WORKED IN HER HOME WITH EXPERIENCE AND KNOWLEDGE OF WHERE ALL WIRES AND JACKS WERE PLACED. THIS WAS NEVER AN ISSUE, AS THE SAME TEAM WAS ON THE JOB THAT WORKED THERE 11 YEARS PRIOR. WHEN WE MET, THE CLIENT ASKED TO EXPAND HER AUDIO SYSTEM IN A WAY WE DID NOT RECOMMEND. THIS WAS BASED ON REVIEWS OF THE SPECIFIC PRODUCTS SHE REQUESTED, AND THE COMPATIBILITY WITH THE SYSTEM THAT EXISTED IN HER HOME. HOWEVER, WE DID ACCOMMODATE, AND WENT OUT FOR NUMEROUS SERVICE CALLS AFTER INSTALLATION AT NO ADDITIONAL CHARGE. HER HOME IS NOT LOCAL TO PORTLAND. THIS ISSUE OF THE “NOTES” NEVER WENT AWAY THROUGHOUT THE TIME WE WORKED TOGETHER. IN THE HOME AUDIO WORLD, SHE WAS DOING AN EXPANSION TO AN EXISTING SYSTEM. THIS WAS NOT A NEW SYSTEM, NOR WAS NEW WIRING NEEDED. WE HAD NO REASON TO RE-DOCUMENT THE EXISTING WIRING FOR THE NEW WORK BEING DONE. OUR TEAM DID FINALLY RECREATE A WIRING DIAGRAM FROM OUR MEMORY OF THE HOME IN 1996, TO SIMPLY GIVE HER SOMETHING. I WAS PROUD OF HOW MY TEAM HANDLED HER AS A CLIENT. THERE ARE MANY POINTS IN HER REVIEW THAT I DISAGREE WITH. HOWEVER, WE STUCK WITH HER UNTIL THE SYSTEM SHE CHOSE WORKED TO HER SATISFACTION, EVEN IN THE FACE OF KNOWN PROBLEMS WITH HER SELECTIONS AND DISRESPECTFUL VERBAL TREATMENT. WE NEVER CHARGED HER FOR THE ADDITIONAL SERVICE REQUIRED, AND UNDERSTAND THAT HER SYSTEM CONTINUES TO WORK WELL TODAY.
5.0

02/20/2007


BRAD S.

Mac was extremely helpful as I researched my system needs and his team performed the installation work just as estimated. No surprises, no messes; they just did what they promised. I would recommend them without reservation.

Description of Work
Install home stereo system, install remote zone speakers and volume controls, connect system to TV/DVR system.

Category home theater design

4.0

02/03/2007


GORDON H.

It went well - took 2 guys about 2 1/2 hours to complete...a little spendy, but it works.

Description of Work
Hook up stereo receiver to TV.

Category home theater design

5.0

12/11/2006


Steve D.

Two techs came out and were knowledgeable and thorough. I was impressed with their professionalism and expertise. I was very satisfied. They also left a concise chart indicating which remote went with which function (the manufacturer of my HD TV does not have remote compatible with DirecTV).

Description of Work
I bought a LCD HD TV and a surround sound system, without a clue on how to set it up. Home Electronic came out, on time and set everything up within two hours. They also improved the set up in another room and I only paid for an AV cable in that room.

Category home theater design

5.0

10/20/2006


JENNIFER P.

Home Electronics Connect did a GREAT job! As usual, I went right to Angie's List to find someone who could come run speaker wires through these very narrow walls and under the house. Home Electronics Connect was very professional and very experienced at what they were doing. They ran the wires under the house, and 7-feet up into a very narrow wall, then mounted the speakers where the wires came out. I was amazed that they were able to get the wires and speakers exactly where we wanted them. I would recommend them to others and hire them again in a heartbeat!

Description of Work
Route speaker wires under the house and up through the walls to mount speakers on opposite side of the room from the receiver.

Category home theater design

5.0

09/20/2006


RAMA V.

Excellent overall experience. Mac answered the phone right away and patiently listened to my work requirements and offered to get the work done on a Tand M basis. Rates were competitive. Got a confirmation phone call the day before from Steve and informed they will come 30 minutes later due to morning traffic. Arrived on time and got the job complete in 1:45 minutes, with an initial estimation of about 2 to 3 hours. They also cleaned up the place very nice and left no trace of dirt. Steve and Mark knew what they were doing and offered suggestions on the rear speaker wire routing as they knew how typical constructions would be. Great job over all @ a great price. Couple of minor issues are: 1) I don't remember Mac mentioning about a trip charge, but, the amount was small ($29 for my area) and I was OK with that. May be I had forgotten about it. 2) Mac rescheduled my appointment to a later date citing unavailability. I wish I got it done sooner on the previous date.

Description of Work
Completion of already started in wall home theater speaker wiring for 5 speakers through the crawl space. Both the front and rear walls were on foundation and had insulation inside. Drilled holes into the wall from the crawl space for the front speakers and drilled a hole into the floor and again into the wall just above the baseboard trim for the rear speakers to hide as much wire as possible.

Category home theater design

5.0

08/14/2006


JOE M.

Excellent job. Mac and the team were timely, professional and reasonable. I would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone!

Description of Work
Installed two plasma screen TV on the wall, attached all components.

Category home theater design

    Other local Pros in your area

    Brown Brothers Electric and Remodel

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime once you see our quality work. We're passionate about delivering an exceptional experience. When you hire us, you're hiring a team of professionals who are trained and skilled to deliver lasting value to your home. As a locally owned and operated business, we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    RK Electric Inc

    In 1993 Ron Kurtz started RK Electric, Inc. as he saw a need in the electrical industry for a company that took pride in its work with every customer experiencing what it is like to be treated fairly. RK Electric, Inc. has been offering electrical services to the Portland Metro area for over 28 years. We pride ourselves on providing the best customer service experience possible, and on our attention to every painstaking detail, because we believe that quality matters. Our knowledgeable team works hard to create a safe working environment, using all the latest technological advancements to quickly perform complicated tasks. RK Electric, Inc. is the premier choice for all your electrical needs! We're happy to help. Additional e-mails - info@rkelectric.biz, rob@rkelectric.biz.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Murphy Family Electric

    Sean Murphy comes from a large family and learned the trade from his dad in Oregon at the age of 14. Since then him and his team help homeowners with their electrical needs, everything from recessed lights to electric vehicle chargers. Murphy Family Electric strives for providing the customer valuable skilled trades at a good value for the customer.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers by Murphy Family Electric on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Professional design and installation of home theater, audio, video, lighting and shade control, home automation, security and surveillance.

    Services Not Offered

    High voltage electrical and TV repair.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Room Service Home Theatre Specialists

    How is Room Service Home Theatre Specialists overall rated?

    Room Service Home Theatre Specialists is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Room Service Home Theatre Specialists open?

    Room Service Home Theatre Specialists is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Room Service Home Theatre Specialists provide

    Room Service Home Theatre Specialists accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express

    Does Room Service Home Theatre Specialists offer free estimates?

    No, Room Service Home Theatre Specialists does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Room Service Home Theatre Specialists offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Room Service Home Theatre Specialists offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Room Service Home Theatre Specialists offer a senior discount?

    No, Room Service Home Theatre Specialists does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Room Service Home Theatre Specialists?

    No, Room Service Home Theatre Specialists does not offer warranties.

    What services does Room Service Home Theatre Specialists offer?

    Room Service Home Theatre Specialists offers the following services: Professional design and installation of home theater, audio, video, lighting and shade control, home automation, security and surveillance.

    Are there any services Room Service Home Theatre Specialists does not offer?

    High voltage electrical and TV repair.