Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Roof Life of Oregon

Founded 1983 • With Angi since June 2005

4.0

(226) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

11445 SW Tiedeman Ave

Portland, OR 97223

Description

A roof maintenance & replacement company serving the greater Portland area since 1983. No subs used. Cost is determined by the job. License # CCB 125208....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/15/2019


Joe G.

I’ve been using Roof Life of Oregon regularly since I bought my house 12 years ago, I’m kind of surprised they haven’t won any Angie’s List awards yet, they really should be one of the highest rated companies in the area. I did try 2 other companies for moss treatment as well, but the jobs were noticeably poorly done, since moss grew back quite quickly. However, I’ve had consistently excellent work and maintenance done with Roof Life, and there have been several times where they’ve been honest, and did not try to sell me when they think work is unnecessary. I will keep hiring this company until they mess up, but so far they’ve been the best in my personal experience with them.

Description of Work
Roof maintenance, repair, cleaning, moss prevention treatment

Category roofing,roof cleaning

5.0

06/08/2019


Jason R.

Very prompt reply, when we initially asked for a quote. I really liked the video which was sent to us, where we could see the specific areas which needed repair. Versus taking their word for it. I have to admit that their bid was higher than I hoped. But after working to obtain other bids, we came back to Roof Life. I was surprised how difficult it was to find other companies who would do repair. Most others kept steering us towards full tear downs and a new roof. I know we will be due for that in the next 8-10 years, but was hoping that a deep clean and some small repairs could carry us into the next decade. That is what Roof Life did for us. Scheduling the work was easy. They were very clear with their communications, and how it would be a 3 step process (deep clean, repairs, then application of moss control). The first 2 steps were actually done on the same day. Again, the communication from Roof Life was very good, and they told us that step 3 would be done when the weather conditions were right and when they could combine with other applications in the neighborhood. So there was a gap, but we knew that in advance. So good value, great service (house wasn't a mess after the roof was cleaned), and prompt communications. I would recommend using Roof Life.

Description of Work
Roof inspection, cleaning, treatment, and small repairs

Category gutter cleaning,roofing,roof cleaning

5.0

06/07/2019


BILL M.

We didn't hire this firm for our project, but we encourage others to consider them. Their representative was very responsive and informative. He found some hidden issues and even solved one! He had good ideas for others. The bid was well prepared. Because this company has a wide range of services for roofs and more we suggest readers consider them.

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

3.0

07/01/2018


Michael H.

Actual work satisfactory. Initially contacted in January 2018, quick response to 'cleaning' the roof and promise to return to treat the roof 'as weather permits'. Roof treatment completed June 26th (5 months) but only after several follow-up emails 'requesting' information re: completing the work.

Description of Work
Clean/treat composition roof.

Category roofing

1.0

03/26/2018


Denise J.

I hired Roof Life to clean and treat my roof. They cleaned the roof but after 6 months still had not performed moss treatment. I called Roof Life once each month to see when the treatment would be performed and was told they would "get to it." At month 6, when I got a bit impatient, Patrick called me, was quite irritated and told me he would do the moss treatment when he chose. At that point, I cancelled. After a 6 month wait, I lost all confidence in Roof Life and Patrick and I was not going to be lectured by Patrick for calling once per month about when the roof would be treated. I ultimately hired a different contractor who promptly cleaned and treated the roof.

Description of Work
Roof clean and moss treatment.

Category roofing

4.0

11/20/2017


Harvey O.

Their work was was excellent as they kept us in the loop during all phases of what needed to be done. After they finished we questioned the sky light work as we had evidence that it might not be sealed and they returned to make sure it was properly sealed.

Description of Work
We moved into a house in June and during the purchase inspection it was noted that the flashings needed some work. The realtor asked one contractor to look at it before the purchase and we contacted another. We didn't trust the realtors contractor based upon reviews and the one we brought in gave us his thoughts, but failed to show to do the work. We found finding a roofing contractor in this market was a difficult thing, but then discovered Roof Life of Oregon on Angie's list. They were responsive with the most professional report. Based upon the pricing from the other contractors we felt their price was a little high, plus they didn't give us the 5% senior discount shown in Angie's list.

Category roofing,roof cleaning

1.0

09/22/2017


Denise J.

Cleaned roof promptly, but failed to apply moss treatment after 5 months had elapsed. Paid for the cleaning. Called 4 times, once each month to inquire about the moss treatment and was told rains had prevented the application, although as of my last call at the end of August 2017, it had not rained for 90 days. Received a rude call from some one telling me I should quit asking about the moss treatment and they would get to it when they could. You can see why I canceled the contract for the moss treatment after this delay and this explanation. Their ads on radio create a false picture of this company. Hired a different company, paid again for roof cleaning, but that company cleaned and treated the roof within two weeks of initial contact.

Description of Work
Clean roof in preparation for moss treatment and apply moss treatment.

Category roofing

5.0

09/14/2017


Joseph L.

I called 6 roofing companies in the Portland area to clean my roof and perform some repairs, only 2 picked up the phone. Roof Life was the only one who agreed to come out and give an estimate. Apparently there is more work in the Portland area for many roofing companies to even offer repair/cleaning services (I was told this by the other company I talked to.) I appreciated the prompt answering of the phone, and the thoroughness of their roof inspection. They were always polite, and while they might not have been the cheapest (I had nobody to compare them to), the cleaning was done well..and I was impressed by the clean-up job afterwards. Cleaning the moss and debris off our roof was a messy job, the man who spent all day on our roof worked into the evening to make sure things were all cleaned up, which I appreciated. When they came to repair our skylights, they ran into some issues with one of our old improperly installed, leaky skylight, which included dry rot, etc. Despite this extra work, the final bill didn't differ too much from the original estimate. I had extra tiles, which they recommended I allow them use to repair some of my tiles, which helped to lower the overall bill a little. Daniel was transparent and thorough with his inspection of our roof, and his explanation of the work. Did a great job communicating - including emailing videos and pics of the work being done, etc. I appreciated that. My only wish might be a little longer heads up about scheduling, I got a day or two max notice prior to them coming. Considering you have to arrange to park outside your driveway, etc, the more notice I can get the easier it is. I was quite surprised to see the negative reviews of them, frankly..I had a good experience. Now - should these skylights leak this winter, I might have to revise my review- but overall it was a good experience.

Description of Work
Our tile roof cleaned of moss, some tiles replaced .. and 3 old skylights replaced. They are returning to treat our roof for moss.

Category roofing,skylights,roof cleaning

1.0

06/14/2017


Randall W.

The bid was ridiculous and unneeded. The other roofer has been working with roofs for 30 years and I trusted their opinion. Even if the roof needed to be replaced, their bid was outrageously high.

Description of Work
Asked for a bid to clean the moss off the roof, Was told that half the roof was beyond it's lifespan and they wouldn't clean but rather replace it. I got a ridiculously high bid for a about 750 sq ft of the roof for $12,000. I then called my old roofer who I asked for a bid to replace, they said it didn't need to be replaced and they cleaned it.

Category roofing,roof cleaning

1.0

05/30/2017


PJ H.

Work contract was never done. Never got any response!!!!

Description of Work
Moss off roof. Came out and gave a price for service which was 1300.00 with a $800.00 required down. With a couple of weeks they came out and pre. washed moss off. Said would call when chemical would be put on. I waited - weather permitting. Month goes by weather was very nice. I called again same answer, I called at least 15 times same answer "weather permitting". In 3 months same answer! After talking to Managers etc. it has been almost a year. New did come out. So I paid $800.oo to get moss off. I msg them and ask for a refund and they said they don't do refunds. Still got weather permitting.. I gave up and sent them a letter telling them what had transpired. That I didn't want them near my house. I never got s response from phone calls or a manager. It still not resolved. I would tell everyone NOT to ever use them!! I

Category roofing,roof cleaning

1.0

05/25/2017


Tim A.

I have been a Roof Life of Oregon customer since 2009. In 2015, as part of their regular maintenance, they cleaned the moss from my roof and treated it to prevent further moss growth. This came with a 3-year guarantee. I noticed moss growing on the south side of my roof and contacted Roof Life to come out and take care of it. It took several weeks to get a return call. Patrick Morin, the CEO of Roof Life, finally returned my call and came by to take a look. He told me that there was no moss. I asked if he looked at the south side. He said no, that they have never treated the south side, only the north side, because 'nothing ever grows on the south side'. So it was not covered by the guarantee. I argued that the entire roof should be covered under the guarantee not just the part they decided to treat. The last time I asked them if they intended to honor the guarantee was on 5/5. Today is 5/24. Still no response. I believe that their advertising and business practices are misleading and deceptive and hope to caution others by sharing my experience.

Description of Work
Roof moss removal and treatment to prevent further moss growth.

Category roof cleaning

2.0

05/08/2017


MICHAEL R.

They refused to do it because I said we were planning to sell the house. I explained that I might be willing to put a $60K roof on the house because it could be a selling point, but was told that this is their policy. Must be nice to have more business than you can handle. My advice? Wait until the next recession.

Description of Work
Wanted an estimate for a new shake roof.

Category roofing

5.0

04/22/2017


Heather W.

The job went extremely well. Bid was done promptly. Crew arrived on schedule and completed the work in a timely manner. One of the skylights that was delivered was defective and had to be returned to the manufacturer. Roof life handled the situation and rushed the replacement. The work was finished within a few days. Crew cleaned up the job site as if they had never been there.

Description of Work
Purchased a home with a cedar shake roof that had been neglected. It needed to be cleaned and treated. 350+ shakes replaced, all ridge caps replaced/repaired/tightened. 2 skylights replaced.

Category roofing,skylights,roof cleaning

3.0

03/28/2017


Dan M.

They were very prompt in coming to look at my roof, but did it without anybody home, which didn't allow for me to ask any questions or clarifications at that time. They promptly emailed me to inform me that I would need a new roof in the near future and that was it. No further information, no possible future action, nothing.

Description of Work
I knew I needed something done with my roof, but not the extent of it.

Category roofing,roof cleaning

2.0

03/28/2017


LINDA E.

We have 1 or 2 years left on our second warranty but now they are saying we have to have them blow off the roof and do some repairs or the warranty will no longer be valid. Not how it was in the past. Won't be using them again. I rated them higher in some categories because the first time they were responsive and the quality was good. They just changed the rules after the fact. We had the roof blown but it didn't count because it wasn't their company!

Description of Work
As others have indicated, we had our roof treated and repairs done which came with a 5 year warranty. The first 5 years, everything worked well and we had a small leak. Roof Life was very responsive and came out and fixed it. So when it was time to treat our roof again, we didn't hesitate to use Roof Life to get another 5 year warranty.

Category roofing,roof cleaning

2.0

10/19/2016


John D L.

It turned out to be somewhat negative experience with them actually. I called them and that went fine and I made an appointment for him to come out and look at our roof and see and estimate for what needed to be done and as time gone and they said we didn't have to be here which was fine, but after he had come and gone he left note in the door saying that he had been here and that he would send an email with their estimate evaluation thing and what happened in the email was they have this really great forum it says they look after customers and they go through here or some sample pictures of the kind of thing that according to the forum they discovered wrong with your roof and none of those were marked at all and then on the last page where there was supposed to narrative about what they were going to do with the job was simply the sentence I believe we will pass on this job and they even didn't tell me why my roof wasn't in the right category to have them fix it. If you look at the forum it looks like it is all set up to be very informative and helpful even if you don't chose them to fix your roof, but whatever reason they did not want to work on our roof. I never heard anything again from them at all. No email. He had my email because that is how the first non estimate came through and he had my phone number at least at one time because he called to confirm that he was coming out and just say that we didn't have to be here that he would get up and look around so they had methodology to get a hold off me but they didn't follow it up.

Description of Work
Roof Life of Oregon came for an estimate.

Category roofing

1.0

09/13/2016


Bob D.

I have had 4 roofers I've worked with in my lifetime--these folks are the Worst by far. They are scam artists. They are only interested in billing clients and doing basic work. All they did is rearrange my gutter. Anybody could have done this job, even a kid! For me, they did a job that took 10m and charged me $560: that's their minimum call rate. The quote sounded much more involved when they initially gave a consultant. Big lie to book a job! I talked to the owner twice to voice my concerns and just heard a lot of sales rhetoric. These guys are unethical and don't really care about clients or work. If you hire these people, you will regret it. But don't take my word. On Yellpo they have 22 1-star reviews. How's that for social proof? Caveat emptor.

Description of Work
Fix gutters

Category gutter repair

5.0

10/03/2015


Lyle B.

We originally contracted with RoofLife of Oregon in 2006 for a complete tear off and re-roof of our house. RoofLife was very professional, although a little expensive for our first round of business with them, but in the end, we've been very happy with our roof. This time, I contacted RoofLife to find out how much it would be to de-moss our roof. After some internet research, I found their prices were very competitive with other roof cleaners and we felt that since we had an extended warranty on our roof through RoofLife, we should probably stick with the company that put this roof on. In all of our business dealings with RoofLife, they've been very friendly and easy to work with. Even though we didn't need terms for payment, they did offer a no interest 3 payment plan for the roof service. When I called the office to pay, they were very helpful. In our experience, RoofLife has been the company to base other companies on. If we ever change residences, I will certainly contract with them again for any of our roof needs.

Description of Work
RoofLife of Oregon cleaned the moss off our roof and treated it with a moss repellent.

Category roofing,roof cleaning

5.0

07/29/2015


Danny C.

Job was done on time. Good communications, very professional.

Description of Work
Cleaned the gutters and treated cedar shake roof.

Category gutter cleaning,gutter repair,roofing

5.0

05/28/2015


Steve G.

Thorough cleaning. Cleaning and treatment left almost zero traces on siding, windows, or landscape. High bidder by a lot. I'll decided the value of that over the years as I observe how fast moss returns. Responsive to all inquiries.

Description of Work
Cleaned moss from tile roof, repaired 4-5 broken tiles, and treated roof against regrowth.

Category roofing,replacement windows

5.0

05/26/2015


Michele H.

Roof Life of Oregon stopped by for an inspection and free estimate of a leak repair and roof maintenance / moss removal. I hired them for the roof leak. They did a great job, showed up when scheduled, communications were prompt and complete. They were professional and nice. I would use them again for similar repairs.

Description of Work
Free estimate and roof leak repair

Category roofing

4.0

04/15/2015


Bob T.

Overall well, though it took a couple of attempts to get the treatment completed due to weather.

Description of Work
moss removal and treatment

Category roofing

4.0

04/14/2015


Rachel F.

They were not very punctual - the first day they were to arrive we got a call that it was too hot and they would come another day. There were two parts to the work, the scraping and the treating. The treating part was supposed to take place about a week after the scraping, but we didn't hear anything from them for several weeks. They did a good job, and if you aren't in a rush or don't care about exact timing, I would definitely recommend these guys. I will probably use them again at some point, but I will have modified my expectations around the timing.

Description of Work
I cannot recall the exact date or the cost, except I know the cost was reasonable. They came to clean our roof - there was the usual Oregon crud on it - moss etc. They scraped it off and treated it, and it looks great.

Category roofing,roof cleaning

5.0

04/02/2015


Anthony H.

Roof Life installed our double sewn cedar shake roof two years ago. As part of the warranty they come out and clean off the roof each year. They have our name on their list and call when its time, usually in December after the leaves/pine needles have finished falling. The job is done on time and they always do a great job of taking care of gardens and pots around the house. They clean up afterwards. We have used them for nearly 8 years and have always been excellent.

Description of Work
Cleaned my Cedar Shake roof and also cleaned out the gutters.

Category gutter cleaning,gutter repair,roofing,roof cleaning

4.0

03/11/2015


Chris C.

They called before arrival to let me know what was expected so their work would go smoothly. The crew arrived on time and the major part of the job (the cleaning itself) was done properly. Staff was courteous and efficient. My yard and gutters were also left clean after the work. However, they did miss an important detail: The downspout screens weren't reinstalled, so the gutters could clog if it rained. I found this and fixed it myself. However, when paying upwards of $700 for this service, I do expect a detail such as this to be handled right.

Description of Work
Roof life did a compressed air cleaning of my cedar shake roof and installed safety anchors along the ridge for workers.

Category gutter cleaning,gutter repair,roofing,roof cleaning

    Other local Pros in your area

    BERNARD PAINTING INC

    Bernard Painting Inc has been in business for 46 years. With that kind of experience, we have fine-tuned our business to meet and exceed your needs in a very timely and cost-effective manner. Look us up on the web and read reviews from actual customers and see why we are chosen more often by home owners in the Portland Metro area. We primarily paint in Tigard, Tualatin, Sherwood, Lake Oswego, West Linn, Beaverton, King City, Rock Creek, Raleigh Hills, Cedar Hills. We specialize in Exterior/Interior painting as well as painting Kitchen /Bathroom Cabinet's. We are so humbled for all our clients wonderful feedback!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by BERNARD PAINTING INC on Angi
    Velazquez Painting & Construction LLC

    At Velazquez Painting & Construction we put quality and customer service first. Our highly trained and experienced craftsmen are dedicated to making sure that you, the Customer, are completely satisfied with your home or commercial project. It is our goal to gain you as a customer for life.  

    Cut No Corners Painting LLC

    Our honest and reliable employees are enjoyable and easy to work with. We are a Clean and Sober company with considerate and respectful workers who understand the investment that you are making in your home or business. You can directly reach us at 503-380-2347. No travel charges. Or license number: ccb178116. WA license number: cutnonc95oke.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    roof maintenance, roof replacement, gutter replacement

    Services Not Offered

    gutter cleaning, new construction

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Roof Life of Oregon

    How is Roof Life of Oregon overall rated?

    Roof Life of Oregon is currently rated 4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Roof Life of Oregon open?

    Roof Life of Oregon is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does Roof Life of Oregon provide

    Roof Life of Oregon accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Roof Life of Oregon offer free estimates?

    Yes, Roof Life of Oregon offers free project estimates.

    Does Roof Life of Oregon offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Roof Life of Oregon does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Roof Life of Oregon offer a senior discount?

    No, Roof Life of Oregon does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Roof Life of Oregon?

    Yes, Roof Life of Oregon offers warranties.

    What services does Roof Life of Oregon offer?

    Roof Life of Oregon offers the following services: roof maintenance, roof replacement, gutter replacement

    Are there any services Roof Life of Oregon does not offer?

    gutter cleaning, new construction