Refined Restoration

About

Founded 2002 • With Angi since October 2006

Winner of Angie's List Super Service Award for 11 consecutive years. Old house remodeling & repair specialists. Owned & operated by our local family. Free estimates for homeowners, consultations available for non-homeowners.

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.9

(90) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

85

4

1

3

0

2

3

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (60)tile installation (41)general contractors (41)woodworking (39)flooring (22)countertop installation (22)plumbers (16)drywall (14)basement remodeling (12)window replacement (12)decks & porches (11)door installation (9)
Showing 1-25 of 90 reviews
5.0

09/07/2022


Taylor H.

Randy was an amazing find. We've worked with other contractors on prior remodel and addition projects, but Randy is by far the best to work with and I highly recommend him for any kitchen, bath, or similar remodel project.

Description of Work
Bathroom, Laundry room, Pantry remodel

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $70,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/07/2022

Images

Review for Refined Restoration - P.O. Box 83684, Portland, OR - 39863320
5.0

06/14/2022


Courtney J.

Randy does beautiful carpentry wood work and performed work on my front porch by adding a cedar railing and replaced my side porch steps with cedar. Both projects turned out beautiful. You can tell Randy loves old homes and puts love and care into his work to help bring old homes back to their original glory. All his work has beautiful craftsmanship. He also redid my kitchen after we had a horrid kitchen pipe situation that flooded the basement and kitchen. He did a beautiful job on that as well and went super smooth even though it was in the middle of covid. If you want to support local small businesses and have an old home you definitely want to use Refined Restoration. I had other bids for my kitchen remodel with bigger more corporate companies, but when I met Randy I knew he was the right one for the job. I have other projects I want to do in my 1928's bungalow and will only use Refined for all future projects!

Description of Work
I used Randy 2 years ago for a Kitchen Remodel and needed my side porch steps repaired. Randy specializes in older home restoration and fencing, railings, etc.

Category decks, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2022

Images

Review for Refined Restoration - P.O. Box 83684, Portland, OR - 39765652

+2 More

5.0

01/23/2022


Chidinma A.

Randy did such an excellent job. He was professional, on time, organized and detailed. He explained everything step by step and the contracts were clear. He delivered exactly on time as expected. All of his subcontractors were equally professional and high quality. I would enthusiastically recommend him to anyone and love my new kitchen and powder room refreshes.

Description of Work
Kitchen and bathroom remodel

Category countertops, flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling, cabinet refacing

Cost $55,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/15/2021

Images

Review for Refined Restoration - P.O. Box 83684, Portland, OR - 39606404

+4 More

5.0

03/01/2021


Jessica B.

We hired Randy to remodel our kitchen, including new cabinets, countertops, flooring, sink and dishwasher. We had a certain budget we were trying to hit and Randy was very helpful in thinking through our options and potential tradeoffs. He was also flexible in working with us on project scoping to incorporate some DIY elements to accommodate our budget (some of the other contractors I spoke with were very reticent to do this). In addition to being a helpful advisor on how to approach the project, the quality and timeliness of Randy's work was excellent. He was so well organized, provided regular communication and updates on our timelines, and completed the work on time and on budget. He always communicated in advance about which subcontractors were coming in and when, and supervised their work to ensure it was done accurately and well. The whole project took about 6-weeks and Randy worked with us to accommodate our work schedules (I was working from home and Randy was always very good about letting me know when he was arriving and leaving, coordinating on times the power or water had to be shutoff, etc.). He was also very respectful of our home, taking extra care to keep the dust out of the rest of the house, cleaning up each day, and taking appropriate Covid precautions. If you're looking for a contractor who will deliver high quality work on time and on budget, treat you honestly and fairly, and is organized and a great communicator -- then Randy is your guy! I would highly recommend him to anyone looking to update their older home.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $22,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/12/2021

5.0

01/20/2021


Courtney J.

It was a pleasure to work with Randy and his Son on my home project. Very friendly and personable and joy to have in the house. All subcontractors performed excellent work and the whole remodel process went completely smooth. I have heard the remodel horror stories but experienced none of that. Just good quality and loving craftsmanship. I really wanted to bring my kitchen out of the 70's but also retain the 20's bungalow vibe. Refined Restoration made it happen. Randy really listened to my ideas and he had some great ideas too, that I would have never even thought of. We had received bids from two other contractors that were big companies, we chose Refined Restoration because we felt we were getting a more personal experience. We love our new kitchen! Best Contractor in Portland if you have a historic home! *Just a reminder it's Covid so remodel projects take longer than normal (obtaining supplies, how many people can work in the home at a time, etc.) so just be patient it was worth the wait.

Description of Work
Complete tear out and remodel of our kitchen after a pipe leak, repair of water damaged sheetrock in the basement, and install new flooring in our basement bath.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, basement remodeling

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/07/2020

Images

Review for Refined Restoration - P.O. Box 83684, Portland, OR - 39146475

+2 More

5.0

10/20/2020


Kara G.

Randy is a great communicator, work was done in a timely matter, he stayed on budget and was a pleasure to interact with. When problems arose he always came up with a solution that left everyone happy.

Description of Work
Remodeled Kitchen, Bathroom and Front porch Rebuild

Category custom cabinets, contractors, ceramic tile, countertops, decks, home remodeling

Cost $80,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/31/2020

5.0

02/03/2020


Andrea B.

Randy and his crew are wonderful! Very pleasant, easy to work with. They do wonderful work. Randy has suppliers and craftsmen for any job. Listened to all detail and accommodated special requests. Attention to detail in the work performed and detailed estimates and invoices. Great job!

Description of Work
complete kitchen and basement remodel and garage gym structure work

Category bathtub refinishing, custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, basement remodeling

Cost $100,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2019

5.0

02/03/2020


Andrea B.

Randy of Refined Restoration and his crew handled all of our initial needs and did a great job! They also completed a number of other jobs that arose throughout the remodel. We bought a 1950's era house that needed a complete kitchen remodel as well as a basement remodel that included removal of an old kitchenette. The garage needed structural updates and new lam beams installed. Randy always had the resources to bring in knowledgeable and efficient tradespeople to handle anything that needed an update. We had some old plumbing replaced and and a tankless water heater installed, asbestos abatement and miscellaneous small items like locks and trim. The kitchen was completely reconfigured and needed new flooring. He was able to locate a vinyl flooring that exactly matches the oak floors in an adjacent room so they look seamlessly connected. Some windows needed to be raised to allow for new counter hight cabinets around the room. They redid the outside siding perfectly, matched and replaced the windows to accommodate the cabinet placement. They were always on time and on schedule with every project. Contracts were detailed and invoices referenced items as we went along. Both Randy and his office communicated clearly and responded quickly to any question or request. The kitchen remodel is amazing and beautiful! His custom cabinet maker provided a beautiful product with every convenience built in. Randy does all the tile work himself and did a great job with some intricate patterns we chose both in the kitchen and bathroom. We have decided to add some features in the basement and Randy will be tackling those this month. We are excited to start another project with Randy. I can't say enough about his work and the ease of working with Randy and Refined Restoration. We will definitely call Randy for any future projects.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel, basement remodel with bathroom remodel, garage beams structural work

Category remodeling, home remodeling, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/03/2020

5.0

07/26/2019


Jennifer M.

If you want quality work done from an honest contractor, look no further! We received several bids for our basement remodel and went with Refined Restoration due to this contractors high rating, quality and punctuality. An added convenience was the fact that he provided all services- from recommending a top rated architect to taking out all of the permits. Randy is very honest, punctual and is dedicated to quality and craftmanship. The project started and ended when promised. I would definitely recommend this contractor.

Description of Work
Basement remodel

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

Cost $68,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/17/2019

5.0

01/28/2019


William D.

Randy and his team were wonderful to work with on our complete bathroom remodel. They were always on time and prepared for the work that was to be done that day. Any changes or issues that came up were resolved quickly and professionally. They made great suggestions that enhanced the project. The remodel came in on time and budget. We would not hesitate using Refinded Restorations for our next project.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, flooring contractor, plumbing, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2018

5.0

01/24/2019


Marcelle C.

Randy was clear in the project proposal about the costs and process involved. He was punctual and professional, and the finished results look fantastic! Would definitely hire again for other projects.

Description of Work
Bathtub & shower tile surround replacement

Category ceramic tile, drywall, replacement windows, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/28/2018

5.0

08/14/2018


Larry M.

Randy and his crew at Refined Restorations set the standard for excellence in quality work, attention to detail, knowledge of older homes, listening to owner ideas and providing useful feedback, and taking pleasure in giving you a finished projected that more than meets expectations. We had remodel of an older kitchen, replacing the flooring, cabinets, countertops, tiling, replace window and building new soffits. Each day Randy give an itinerary of the days work. At the end of the day, a clean up took place and a progress report was given. He kept us involved at all times and always welcomed our endless questions with a smile and thorough explanations. Refined Restoration is very deserving off all the accoclades and excellent reviews posted on Angie’s List. We already have plans to use Randy’s company for future projects in our house. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, egress windows, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/14/2018

5.0

08/13/2018


Maria H.

We loved working with Randy and his crew on our kitchen remodel. From the very first meeting Randy was punctual, polite, knowledgeable and excited to start our project. The kitchen stayed on track both in timeliness and financially, which we obviously appreciated. The end result is lovely and we are super happy with the work.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Cost $85,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/09/2018

Images

Review for Refined Restoration - P.O. Box 83684, Portland, OR - 37315252

+4 More

5.0

06/02/2018


Diana S.

Excellent as always. This is our second project with Randy and his crew and we have nothing negative to say about their work. Responsible, experienced, friendly and fully knowledgeable. Randy treats his customers with great respect and keep us informed of every detail of the project. When we hit a minor issue, he always has a solution and fully consults us before he continues. His professional rapport is evident when he brings in subcontractors, consults with the City of Portland inspectors and refers us to businesses who speak highly of his integrity and professionalism. We recommend him to everyone we know starting a home remodel project.

Description of Work
Remodel of a bedroom space with egress window installation

Category drywall, egress windows, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/02/2018

5.0

05/08/2018


Joshua L.

Randy was amazingly punctual, responsive and professional. We called on him for a quote for a full bathroom remodel, and they were very communicative during the process. His quote had great attention to detail, and seemed to cover absolutely everything. Any questions we had were answered via email within a day or two. The price was perhaps just a bit higher than some, but we had full confidence this would be worth it, and reflected in the work once it was performed. We had in fact decided to go with his quote, but once we were ready to book, the timing didn't work out for us, and sadly we had to go another direction. However, we had full confidence that it would have been the right decision, and based on our experience can highly recommend for your bathroom remodel needs.

Description of Work
Full bathroom remodel

Category ceramic tile, drywall, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/08/2018

5.0

04/14/2018


Alison G.

Randy and his staff were stellar. Communication was frequent and clear, costs estimated were exact and they were reliable. Would hire again without question and recommend them for any house needs. Seriously, they were better than I could have imagined.

Description of Work
New subfloor, pergo install and new front door

Category contractors, flooring contractor, remodeling, woodworking, doors

Cost $5,990

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/12/2018

5.0

02/14/2018


Daisy L.

Working with Randy and his team was a great experience. We would (and have) recommended Refined Restoration to friends, and we will hire them again in the future if we want to make any more changes to our house. They were punctual, respectful, neat, and communicative. It was clear that Randy has experience; he was very knowledgeable about the process, inspections, permitting, costs, and the challenges of remodeling a 100+ year old house. Randy was also notably flexible, and it was easy to make changes to the plan as we went along. Randy and his team showed up on time every day. If they were going to be late, they would let us know ahead of time. Although I was ready for our construction to come to an end, I can actually say that I miss seeing Randy and Snow when I come home at the end of each day. We had a lovely relationship and that made the long process much less painful. In addition to being lovely to work with, the quality of the work was great and we are very happy with the outcome. Randy hired excellent subcontractors and worked closely with them to ensure that their work quality was up to his high standards. I have zero doubts that the work was done correctly. Our only small challenge along the way was that the job took much longer than predicted, but some of that was because we made changes that added time to the job. As always, communication around this was very good and it was worth it in the end to know that the job was done correctly and neatly. A trustworthy contractor is not easy to find. Randy and the team at Refined Restoration exceeded our expectations and made the arduous process of remodeling our old home as stress-free as one could hope for.

Description of Work
We hired Randy to turn an upstairs bedroom into a bathroom, and to remove a bathroom adjacent to our kitchen, remove a wall, and create a pantry and eating nook. We live in a 1913 bungalow-style house.

Category ceramic tile, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/26/2018

5.0

12/03/2017


Christopher S.

Had the absolute pleasure of working with Randy and Snow for a remodel of a 1920s bathroom. They were true professionals throughout the entire process. Randy's quote was competitive and he delivered an exceptional finished product. There were the anticipated but impossible to plan for delays that are part of virtually every remodel process, but Randy handled them with patience and flexibility. I am delighted with the new bathroom and will definitely be looking to Refined Restoration for any future remodelling of my 1920s home. Thanks Randy!

Description of Work
Remodel of 1920s bathroom including demo of flooring, plumbing fixtures, and some drywall; installation of new ceramic tile floor; rebuilding of original window and door trim; installation of new clawfoot tub, toilet, and pedestal sink; installation of new recessed medicine cabinet; and painting of ceiling, walls, and trim.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/23/2017

5.0

08/05/2017


Kate D.

I had some trouble finding a contractor willing to come out to look at the job. Several came but never sent the estimate. However, RR squeezed me into their schedule and Randy came as promised. He looked at the windows and described how he could replace the wood with cedar and trim it to match (more or less) the other windows. He sent a detailed estimate the very next day! I immediately accepted and sent 50% deposit. Again, RR squeezed me in to their very busy schedule, coming on a Saturday. First thing, of course, was giving me all the legally required paperwork Randy brought pre-primed cedar, cut and installed it, and caulked all the edges where they abutted the siding. He did very nice, neat work and after painting you would never notice the slight difference from the original windows. At the end of the day, Randy cleaned up thoroughly and we settled the bill. Throughout, Randy was a cheerful and easy person to deal with. I will definitely employ him again when I have any carpentry or general contracting work.

Description of Work
Refined Restoration replaced external casings on five windows. They had rotted and were removed by painters, who promised to come back and paint them once they were fixed.

Category contractors, replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/05/2017

5.0

06/06/2017


Ben B.

Like any project, there is always unexpected issues (like the city coming and saying we had to demo the basement which had been partially done without permits by previous owners before they would give us our final permits) but Randy handled these amazingly and was easily contacted. I have hired Randy again to work on our basement remodel which is in the process of being done.

Description of Work
I purchased an old Portland house in the summer of 2016 which was in dire need of a bathroom remodel before I moved in. I contacted multiple contractors, many of which did not even return my call. Randy at Refined Restoration was very prompt in returning calls and was very easy to work with. You can tell that he has worked with many old houses over the years and was able to anticipate issues. We moved the entire bathroom around and expanded into a small linen closet. Randy was good about giving his opinion on style and how to update but keep the spirit of the older house.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2016

5.0

05/03/2017


Kris K.

If I were to choose one word to describe the experience working with Randy and his Refined Restoration team, it would be 'thoughtful', and here are the reasons why: - Refined Restoration took the time to understand our needs and walk us through the remodel while keeping our budget and needs in mind - Refined Restoration respected our home as if it were their own. Job site was always organized - Every morning, Randy took the time to talk us through the plan for the day - Every evening, Randy took the time to summarize and walk us through what was completed for the day and when to expect him and his team the following day We have done a considerable amount of work on our home and we have worked with a TON of contractors and handymen. Randy and Refined Restoration, without hesitation, are head and shoulders above the rest. It's not even close. The absolute BEST experience we have had in ANY service capacity. If you have an upcoming job, please consider Randy and Refined Restoration.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel, which included: - new shower tile - new floor tile - new toilet - new shower fixture. Refined Restoration did an AMAZING job remodeling our bathroom!

Category plumbing, remodeling, water damage restoration, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/03/2017

5.0

11/28/2016


Graham T.

Randy and his small team were incredibly responsive from the first call to seek a bid. He was personally very engaged throughout the project, was very committed to ensuring these projects were exactly what we wanted while giving his perspective on constraints/challenges, and made sure we were satisfied both prior to and after completing portions of the projects. The total time for this project took right around the amount of time that was expected/projected, changes to the project were made with ease and transparency, and we were very satisfied with the end result for both projects.

Description of Work
We needed an entire stairway to our upstairs living area to be rebuilt, and for it to look really good given how much of a center piece it is to our house. We also needed an entire main floor bathroom gutted/remodeled.

Category remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

Cost $23,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/02/2016

5.0

08/06/2016


Melvin O.

Randy and the folks at Refined Restoration were amazing. I would and probably will use them again in t