Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

NW GAS LINES

With Angi since November 2005

4.5

(21) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

16731 NE WASCO ST

Portland, OR 97230

Description

No description has been provided for this pro.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

07/21/2019


Ray L.

Two years ago we purchased a replacement gas fireplace from NW Natural gas who contracted with NW Gas Lines for the install. Suffice it to say it was one problem after another. In the end we paid exponentially more that we expected for what was explained as a pretty straight forward job. We signed the deal at NW Natural and had the best expectations for a fireplace redo........ nightmare! We just accepted it as is just wanting it to be over, it was not what we wanted. TWO YEARS LATER we are having to replace the tile around the fireplace because NW Gas Line tiler used the wrong compound for a heat source. The tiles buckled and popped. Not surprised given all the problems we had with these people. Tony is a nice man but doesn't take responsibility for the mistakes his crew makes. Nor does NW Natural Gas take responsibility for the contractors they send. After spending 6,000.00 to replace the insert, retile and add a small corner mantle. We are having to redo the tile job. I fault both NW GAS LINES and NW Natural gas because I believe who you contract is a reflection of how you value your customers. NW Natural did make one concession to us. Since the fireplace was installed so that we couldn't turn it on at all, NW Natural gave us the remote controller free. 500.00 bid to fix another of their errors.

Description of Work
Replace gas fireplace insert, tile and mantle.

Category fireplaces, gas leak repair

2.0

09/20/2017


Raymond L.

We were excited to get started. We were told one thing in the showroom. Then when the first representative from NW gas lines came out (a week late) we were told the tile man would come out and tell the us how much and what type of tile we could use. We were also told the mantle guy would come out ahead of time. We were told our existing connection would work and the wall switch we used for the previous fireplace could be used. NONE of that happened. The day before the tile guy came out we were quickly choosing whatever tile we could find and filling holes the installers left. Because the new unit could not use the existing venting as we were told, they had to cut another hole in the side of our house and we are having to hire someone to repair that damage. I did not get to pick out the tile I wanted from the showroom because the tile and mantle guys never came out and of course only communicated by phone THE day of tiling. The mantle guy only called so of course the tile and mantle didn't fit, the tiles were too low and narrow so the mantle was jury rigged to fit. Not at all what I wanted even though it is a pretty piece of wood. No one communicated and several thousand dollars later we are stuck with it. We have to turn the fireplace ion /off inside the unit down on the florand we have a useless wall switch. When we complained we were told by Tony the manager that the original employee from NW Gas Lines was no longer with the company and had been giving customers mis-information. Calling the into the NW gas lines office the Receptionist was rude to us when we were trying to inquire on these many inconsistencies. Aside for telling us the employee who came out was fired, Tony offered no solutions. We paid more for the mantle to be built than any other services and it is not what we wanted. Although the mantle builder was very nice. There was no communication between office, NW Natural gas and contractors. If people had come out as was told us all of this would have been avoided. Our total project with the new fireplace was over 6000.00. We paid 2/3 of that to NW Gas lines for installation and build that took several weeks. Totally unsatisfactory, we will not recommend.

Description of Work
Fireplace install, mantle with tile build.

Category fireplaces, gas leak repair

5.0

06/14/2017


Pamela S.

We have a large rock fireplace that had an uneven opening requiring custom work. Tony fabricated a metal surround and cut the rocks to accommodate it. He did a beautiful job. The installation of the insert was done by his staff who did an excellent job as well. We could not be happier. The installation was rather expensive but we would rather pay a little more and have great results. Thanks so much to NW Gas Lines!

Description of Work
NW Gas Lines installed a new gas fireplace insert for us.

Category fireplaces

5.0

01/31/2017


Duncan P.

While getting a city inspector on site was a pain, the contractor end of this installation was very responsive and professional. We did have to wait a few weeks to get the installation done (winter is busy!), but on the planned install date contractors coordinated well and got everything ready for inspection on the first day (for instance, the electrical subcontractor was onsite early in the day, which sped things along nicely). We took a couple of bids for this project, and while prices were comparable, the estimator for NW Gas Lines noticed a subtle dimension problem with the fireplace opening, and included the cost of dealing with that in the initial estimate (he seemed very on top of things). Finally, we had a delay getting a city inspector to our house. The inspection finally happened on a Friday, and we had a potential ice storm forecast for the following Saturday afternoon. The owner (Tony) came out himself on the Saturday morning - on streets accumulating snow - and finished the post-inspection hookup so we could have a backup source of heat if the power went out. He was also patient and cheerful about it!

Description of Work
Installation of direct-vent gas fireplace insert, incl. gas and electrical hookup to fireplace and City permit.

Category fireplaces

5.0

11/11/2015


Sarah S.

When our Heat & Glow fireplace stopped working two years ago, I called Fireside Distributors where the set was purchased from. They sent out someone who said our remote was defective and no longer made by Heat & Glo. We were offered 10% off a new log set. How could someone stop making a remote for a fireplace that was just barely three years old? Emails to the the manufacturer (Heat & Glo) sent us back to the local distributor. A friend recommended NW Gas Lines who installed her fireplace set (purchased through NW Natural). Rod, the technician was able to fix the problem and restart the fireplace--saving us the cost of a new set of logs ($2,500).

Description of Work
Fixed a gas fireplace that has not worked in two years.

Category fireplaces, gas leak repair

5.0

12/23/2014


Daniel H.

Arrived on time and went right to work. Install mostly complete in one day including gas and electrical hookups. Inspection next morning passed and final work completed a few days later. Everything cleaned and final product was very nice.

Description of Work
Picked up and installed gas fireplace including gas connection, electrica, and inspection.

Category fireplaces

5.0

12/02/2013


Dennis S.

Tony exemplifies ethical business practices. He is prompt and if there are any delays he calls and lets you know what is occurring. He provided me with the most cost effective way of handling the problem. I had thought of a possible solution to the problem and he came up with a solution which was thousands of dollars less expensive. He comes up with the best solution for the customer not what is most profitable for him. He makes sure that the area where he is working is covered and protected so the rugs were not soiled. Very polite and answered all of my questions. He provides a stellar service. Exceptional business.

Description of Work
Tony Young repaired my fire place gas system that he had installed over 8 years ago. He also found replacement parts for my fireplace since the manufacturer had gone out of business 2 years ago. He went out of his way to help. Also gave me information on the best people to service my furnace.

Category fireplaces

5.0

07/25/2013


Thomas L.

Rod came out and inspected the existing fireplace and discussed what we should expect them to do during the installation process. He was extremely professional and prompt. When the work was performed they showed up on time, performed the work in a timely fashion and best of all left the living room clean and tidy.

Description of Work
Installed Gas Insert and vent system. Ran gas line to appliance

Category fireplaces

5.0

12/02/2012


Paul L.

Originally came out to provide estimate and determine best approach for running gas line, measure of fireplace, etc. Once contracted, they arrived day 1 to install gas line and electrical. Day 2 was install of fireplace after the picked up from retailer. Installed venting up through chimney, chimney cap, positioned and attempted to install fireplace. Turned out there was a need to remove some of the back of the fireplace brick to allow the new fireplace insert to fit...so they had to come back for a 3rd visit. Day 3 they came back to finish the install including the metal riser that was built. They showed me how to use the fireplace remote and were on their way. We have enjoyed the new insert for a couple of months now and thoroughly love the look and function...no troubles at all. I also recommended my father in law to use NW Gas Lines for a fireplace maintenance call based on my great experience.

Description of Work
NW Gas Lines installed a newly purchased gas fireplace into our old wood burning fireplace. - They ran a new gas line to the fireplace. - They provided guidance on how best to finish the fireplace (added a riser to bottom to fit opening) - Installed fireplace and associated equipment - Sub-contracted metal work for riser - Sub-contracted electrical work for outlet for fireplace - Provided connection to sheet rocker for any fixing in ceiling that needed to be done (none was needed) - Permitted new gas line

Category fireplaces

5.0

09/13/2010


Charles H.

Overall the experience was good. They came in, and got what needed to be done in a timely fashion. As indicated above it was a smooth install.

Description of Work
N.W. Gas Lines brought a cast iron free standing gas stove in and set it up. Ran the vent pipe up and through the roof, installed the needed piping for the vent. Attached the gas line, checked for leaks. Operated the stove, set up the remote controller for the stove. Cleaned up the area, and cleared out.

Category fireplaces

5.0

08/24/2010


Karolyn M.

The installation was done on two days. The first day was the removal of our old fireplace and the insert of the new one, including the vent. On the second day, all of the surrounding granite was replaced and finished. we felt they did a great job and We would hire them again.

Description of Work
Our ole gas fireplace was removed and a new one was installed. The granite around the fireplace was also replaced.

Category gas leak repair

5.0

03/14/2008


Murali K.

Tony is an absolutely fantastic guy to work with. He was always on time, and did a fabulous job. He gave me a quote that was on the money; he quoted me $899 and then finally charged $835 since the materials cost less. He came one day and after a thorough survey of the house gave us the quote. I accepted it. He came another day and did the gas line routing, called in the city inspector the next day. He finally came after the gas range was delivered and completed fixing it up in about 3 hours.

Description of Work
Ran a gas line from the basement to the upper level kitchen, and fitted the gas range after delivery.

Category gas leak repair

1.0

08/27/2007


BRIAN S.

Called 3 times and left 3 messages with 2 different contact numbers for me. They never responded.

Description of Work
None

Category gas leak repair

1.0

07/13/2007


GEORGE S.

Contacted office manager, with description of project, office manager said that Tony would call me to arrange for a quote. Called back on 3 different occasions several days apart, Tony never called.

Description of Work
Run gas lines to new tankless hot water heater; run gas lines to cooktop.

Category gas leak repair

5.0

01/10/2007


ROD R.

Excellent service. Although I didn't get any competitive bids, the cost seemed very reasonable for the work they performed. They couldn't arrive at the scheduled time due to unexpected delays at a previous job, but they called ahead and kept us informed. When they arrived later in the day, the work was performed quickly and professionally. The two workmen were very competent and pleasant to work with.

Description of Work
They re plumbed a leaking gas line to a remote part of the house. Also, I had them replace a damaged chimney cap.

Category chimney sweep, gas leak repair

5.0

12/11/2006


WEIFENG B.

The office lady picked up my call was very friendly. I need to do my project quicker, they helped find earlier time slot. Larry and Francisco came in. They are very friendly and very careful not to open more Sheetrock than must. The job is finished very quickly and cleanly.

Description of Work
Rewire my gas line.

Category gas leak repair

5.0

09/11/2006


JAMIE V.

Tony showed up early and did the work with ease. He was quick and polite. We needed someone to come out on a Saturday morning and he was more than willing to schedule us in. I would recommend and hire him in a heartbeat.

Description of Work
Run gas flex pipe from garage to kitchen to install gas range.

Category gas leak repair

1.0

08/11/2006


E N.

Contacted office manager, with description of project, office manager said that Tony would call me to arrange for a quote. Called back on 3 different occasions several days apart, Tony never called.

Description of Work
Run gas lines to new tankless hot water heater; run gas lines to cooktop

Category gas leak repair

5.0

04/26/2006


TIFFANY S.

Tony and Larry were both very nice, fast and efficient. They cleaned up after they were done and helped me set up the new stove. They were very judicious in making sure it was level, even though it was sitting on temporary flooring. Excellent service overall.

Description of Work
Plumbed a gas line from existing gas line in basement to a new gas range in the kitchen and set up new gas range.

Category gas leak repair

5.0

03/16/2006


GINNY K.

We were able to get an appointment within a couple days, and Tony called that morning to say he could come earlier. He was very friendly and the work was done in a timely manner. He appears very knowledgeable and excited about his industry. I would recommend him to anyone needing his services.

Description of Work
They relocated the gas line in our kitchen so we could move our free-standing range to another location.

Category gas leak repair

5.0

11/01/2005


HARSHA H.

GREAT SERVICE. PROVIDED A QUOTE AFTER VISITING AND REALLY LOOKING AT WHAT WORK HAS TO BE PERFORMED. ARRIVED ON TIME ON THE DAY OF SERVICE. CLEANED UP AFTER THE WORK IS DONE. ALSO CONNECTED THE NEW GAS RANGE TO THE LINE WITHOUT CHARGING EXTRA.

Description of Work
EXTENDED NATURAL GAS LINE FROM FURNACE (IN GARAGE) TO THE GAS STOVE/RANGE (IN KITCHEN).

Category gas leak repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Family Chimney Repair

    20 years plus experience 3 generation Mason. Employees have over 6 years in cleaning ,installing and inspections.We are A Family owned and operated business that brings a combined industry experience over 25 plus years. We are competitive and take our customers seriously. Like our name says family so are customers.  

    Angi Certified

    Chimney Sweep Specialist

    Chimney Sweep Specialist offers these professional services: Chimney and Fireplace Cleaning, Masonry Repair, Air Duct Cleaning & Dryer Vent Cleaning. We specialize in serving Residential Customers living in the Portland, Oregon metro. We have been providing excellent customer service for over 10 years. Our company also sells Chimney Caps in Stainless Steel or Copper, in standard or custom sizes. Please call us today to let us help with your needs.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    All Fuel Installation & Service

    Owner operated. Family business. Over 40 years of combined installation experience. Permits are always provided. Award winning.  

    Angi Certified

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No

    Services Offered

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about NW GAS LINES

    How is NW GAS LINES overall rated?

    NW GAS LINES is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    Does NW GAS LINES offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, NW GAS LINES does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.