Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Moss Rock Landscaping

Founded 2000 • With Angi since March 2006

4.7

(108) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

11140 SW Morgen Ct

Portland, OR 97223

Description

Full service landscaping company that services the entire Portland area....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

10/24/2016


LAURA S.

An estimator came out, discussed the project, took measurements and left. Not - said goodbye and left, not hey - I will get you the quote via email in a week and left. But and left.. After not hearing back from him for 3 weeks, we asked about the quote. He said he must have mis-keyed our email (rather than responding to the previous string) but that he had emailed us saying he could not do the work for some time. No signs of a well run business.

Description of Work
We requested a quote for pavers, leveling and new sod.

Category concrete repair

5.0

07/21/2016


Adam C.

Dave and his crew did a great job. They showed up on time for the bid, gave a reasonable bid (unlike a few others!), and Dave really knew what he was doing and took the time to ask and answer questions. I had other bids in the same price range, but Dave seemed the most knowledgeable about what he was doing. Dave gave me an estimated start date, and they started right on time. In about a week, they put down 600 square feet of gravel, sand, and pavers plus a 35 foot rock retaining wall with a French drain. They did a good job matching the existing landscaping in terms of the pavers and the rock. I didn't have to do much myself, they handled everything well. It's great to finally have a backyard again.

Description of Work
Paver patio, paver pathway, retaining wall

Category landscaping,pavers, gravel,drain pipe,hardscaping,patios

5.0

07/13/2016


Janis W.

We are very pleased with the landscaping provided by Dave Edson and his Moss Rock crew. Our home has a long and narrow backyard with a hillside that slopes to our back door. We were concerned about water issues and there had been some damage to the structure of the house before we moved in. Moss Rock removed an old deck, an out building with significant rot, some old concrete pavers and old rotten railroad ties that were holding back the hillside. Then he installed new concrete retaining wall, concrete interlocking pavers, a concrete seating wall and three sets of steps. Dave estimated that 100 tons of material was moved in or out of our backyard, all by wheelbarrow because the narrow access prevented using motorized equipment. Dave designed and installed a 15 x 16 foot pergola with single sheet of clear corrugated plastic roofing that has become our favorite “room” of the house. Moss Rock also installed three raised beds in the front of our house. Maybe the most important thing was installing new drains for the downspouts from the roof and perforated pipe across the entire backyard and down the side to the street to carry water away from the house. The work was started right away and the “construction site look” was kept to a minimum. We are thrilled with the results. Nearly as important, Dave kept the mess around our yard and disruptions to our neighbors on our narrow street to a minimum. Moss Rock always showed up when they said they would. I had concerns about the project because it was impossible to tell exactly what would be needed until the old material (railroad ties, building, pavers and decking) were removed. Dave not only kept me informed but worked with us on our suggestions so we understood what the options were and could decide how to proceed.

Description of Work
Remove old deck, patio, pergola and shed. Replace rotten railroad ties with new dry stack retaining wall. Install interlocking concrete paver patio and walkway. Build new pergola over outside dining area.

Category excavators,landscaping,drain pipe,sunrooms,hardscaping,patios

5.0

03/17/2015


DONALD R.

Asked for estimates from three different landscape outfits to address some drainage issues. Moss Rock's estimates were thorough and offered the most options, including lower cost ones. The work couldn't have gone more smoothly. Even though it was a small job, they sent a crew of four who worked quickly and efficiently. They even improved another part of the yard with the leftover soil, placing it carefully into the flowerbeds. Totally cleaned up before they finished and left the yard looking better. Very impressed.

Description of Work
Excavate for and install 3 vent wells on side of house, installed blended soil to improve drainage.

Category excavators,landscaping,mulch,drain pipe

5.0

01/06/2015


Justin N.

Very impressive. Easy to get in contact, fast to make bid, easy to schedule, left the areas (work area and staging area) as clean or cleaner so you didn't notice anyone had even been there. What more could you really ask for?

Description of Work
Contracted to build retaining wall.

Category landscaping,hardscaping

5.0

08/18/2014


Becky K.

I love this company. Dave of Moss Rock was referred to me by a neighbor. I had taken out an above ground pool and needed new pavers installed as well as rebuilding the portion of the deck. I had many bids regarding this area and lots of suggestions. However, after meeting Dave, I felt very comfortable working with him. I had originally had pavers around my above ground pool and did not want to toss them in the dump - he suggested building a path to my gate with these pavers. Once they started, they were there every day M-F until completion which was about 2 1/2 weeks. They ran into some sprinkler lines we didn't know were there when digging out for the path - they repaired them without issue. They made great suggestions about rebuilding my deck and adding stairs - craftmanship was excellent (thanks Jeff - (Dave's brother). The dry creek bed was also Jeff's suggestion and it really finishes off the space nicely. They did such a great job and were a pleasure to work with.

Description of Work
Took out old pavers that used to surround a pool - graded and installed new pavers, repurposed the old pavers into a path. Installed dry creek rock bed, built new stairs with lights where there was a cut out from my old pool. Installed stepping stones up the side of my yard. Also trenched for a gas line.

Category decks,excavators,landscaping,irrigation systems,lighting,hardscaping

5.0

06/19/2014


Warren C.

They came out but we haven't used them yet but we will use them. I like that they were family business and fair pricing.

Description of Work
.

Category landscaping

5.0

06/16/2014


TOM C.

They were very prompt in responding and doing the actual work. They prepared the area properly with excavation, ground compaction, stones and sand/gravel. They also lowered one side 1/4" to provide for proper drainage away from our home and deck. Their crew was very courteous and great to work with.

Description of Work
Installed patio stones for backyard patio

Category landscaping

5.0

06/04/2014


Taylor S.

Moss Rock was absolutely terrific, and we are extremely pleased with the work! From the start, Dave was very clear with us about the bid and the process, and what to expect. I had some early concerns that we hadn't made a lot of the specific decisions necessary around the exact lines of the new patio, as well as all the little things that come up along the way (how deep the stairs should be, specific materials, adding/changing scope). He assured me there would be no surprises from his end unless we drastically change something, and then he would walk us through the trade-offs. And that is exactly what happened. They stayed extremely close to their original bid, except for some of the changes that we made, which they discussed with us. They were very accommodating when we made adjustments, and very easy to work with! When the project began, the entire crew was really effective and productive every day. They arrived early each morning and moved through the project really quickly. They finished the entire project in 2 weeks! I was nervous a project like this could drag on for weeks, but they sent a great team every day and moved through it very quickly. When we made our material selection, he brought over some samples and we discussed some options for ways specific things could get laid (we had a brick border laid and brick stairs). I learned to ask lots of questions and make no assumptions (good lessons for a big first time project). Each time, they were incredibly accommodating, and also educated me on the trade-offs of specific things - including cost. The quality of work is fantastic - we had 2' x 2' architectural slabs laid with a brick boarder, and everything looks beautiful, and it's clear they were very thoughtful about drainage and ensuring everything is level and aligned. The thing I appreciated most was how detail oriented they were, they went the extra mile to make sure things were done correctly, and they didn't cut ANY corners, which I really appreciate. From a cost perspective, we received 4 bids and Moss Rock was the also the least expensive - which was a big bonus! They had actually come highly recommended from some other friends and then I validated their rating on Angie's List. We would absolutely hire them again, and recommend them to anyone looking to do a hardscaping/landscaping project. If you have an idea of what you want and are looking for awesome execution that is quality and well priced, this is definitely the group for you.

Description of Work
Excavated concrete under a 700 sq ft deck, laid a new patio for us (roughly 800 sq. ft.) as well as removed 2 trees and several bushes, then laid 2000 sq. ft. of new sod.

Category landscaping

5.0

05/27/2014


Rebecca S.

Excellent results! The team of workers were responsible and pleasant to work with and did the job very well. Almost 2 years later, we look down on our front hillside and see a lovely area with carefully chosen, colorful plantings. Thanks so much, Moss Rock for transforming a dull hillside into a thing of beauty.

Description of Work
Removed LARGE quantity of overgrown junipers on a steep hillside, installed a sprinkler system, landscaped the hillside with perennial shrubs and large rocks.

Category landscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Red Bark Inc

    Red Bark Inc. can help with any of your bark dust blowing needs. We have 25 years of experience, dependable, licensed drivers, and top of the line bark blowers to ensure a job well done, every single time.  

    J&J casta concrete

    J& J Casta Concrete specializes in commercial and residential concrete services in and around Tualatin, OR. We can provide concrete installation, repair, or removal, depending on your needs.If you are interested in concrete patios or retaining walls for your backyard, we are the contractor you can rely on. Our concrete services are top-notch, and we stand behind our work.  

    Pound4Pound Construction LLC

    We at pound4pound construction are here to assist you with your concrete needs, our workers been in concrete business for more than 10 years. We are specialize in many different finishing, stamped,aggregate, broom, sand finish and much more. Give us a call and we will make sure to do our best to help you.  

    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Landscape design, landscape consultation, landscape lighting, patios & walkways, decks, fences, water features, retaining walls, custom stone work, sod/seeding lawns, irrigation, plant installation & one time clean up renovation.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Moss Rock Landscaping

    How is Moss Rock Landscaping overall rated?

    Moss Rock Landscaping is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Moss Rock Landscaping open?

    Moss Rock Landscaping is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Moss Rock Landscaping provide

    Moss Rock Landscaping accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Moss Rock Landscaping offer free estimates?

    Yes, Moss Rock Landscaping offers free project estimates.

    Does Moss Rock Landscaping offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Moss Rock Landscaping does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Moss Rock Landscaping?

    Yes, Moss Rock Landscaping offers warranties.

    What services does Moss Rock Landscaping offer?

    Moss Rock Landscaping offers the following services: Landscape design, landscape consultation, landscape lighting, patios & walkways, decks, fences, water features, retaining walls, custom stone work, sod/seeding lawns, irrigation, plant installation & one time clean up renovation.