Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

MAY AWNING AND PATIO

Founded 1967 • With Angi since September 2006

5.0

(28) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5220 NE COLUMBIA BLVD

Portland, OR 97218

Description

OFFICE OPEN BY APPOINTMENT, CALL FIRST; FULL SERVICE AWNING, PATIO COVER AND SUNROOM COMPANY. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. SPECIALIZING IN CUSTOM WORK AND REPAIRS. VIRTUAL SHOWROOM AT www.mayawning.com

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/16/2019


Karleen C.

The work was done nicely and I'm very happy...It looks sharp and it's SO nice to stay dry again when getting out of the car and walking into the house! The only thing that could have been better was the time it took from the initial order to the installation. I was expecting installation to begin before Thanksgiving and that was postponed to the second week in December. The owner said there were some supplier issues that caused the delay.

Description of Work
I needed a carport installed on my new manufactured home and front/back porch awnings.

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]! We appreciate your business.
5.0

04/27/2017


Larry A.

It has been almost 2 years now and we still love it! The installer was a hard worker and polite. We have an alcove and a lot of angles on our roof, so he made adjustments to make it fit just right. The owner made a lot of good recommendations which we went with without any regrets.

Description of Work
Old patio roof torn down and new one installed

Category awnings

5.0

04/19/2016


Victoria G.

The owner of the company installed the awning. In order to cover the 18 foot span we had to have a 3 foot dog leg on one end which necessitated some additional measuring and thoughtfulness. It was not a straight forward installation. It came out beautifully and the added piece looks just like the main installation. Their product is guaranteed to not rust or chip, etc. Aluminum and very heavy duty. The owner installs all of the awnings that have odd configurations otherwise they have their own installers for the more straightforward requirements. He was personable and even went to Home Depot to buy a large piece of wood to slide into one of the end pieces so we could install a blind on one side. He really knew what he was doing. Family owned company and they have been in business for 49 years. We highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Installed an 18'x12' aluminum patio awning which had four skylight strips included.

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed]! I hope your paver job turned out nicely to complete your back yard.
5.0

04/06/2016


LARRY R.

Description of Work
.

Category awnings

5.0

12/16/2015


ranee W.

.

Description of Work
William worked in the most horrible weather and did a wonderful job. He went the extra mile to accommodate my wishes. I love the sun-room they built for me..

Category decks, sunrooms

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] It was a pleasure to work with you on your project!
5.0

01/17/2015


CHERYL N.

Work went well and very professioal

Description of Work
Fixed our furnace.

Category awnings

5.0

10/28/2014


Barbra I.

Everything went perfect! Dee came out and explained everything to me. I couldn't have asked for better! I was also having gutter problems. Dee referred me to a great gutter company as well.

Description of Work
Install a new permanent awning over my front porch.

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Thank you [removed members name]!
5.0

07/01/2014


Cheryl M.

I really liked the lady that came out. She came out the day I called and gave us an estimate and placed the order. It was supposed to take 6 weeks and we were prepared for that. But 6 weeks came and went and so we called. They apparently had some other order in that was really large and they weren't quite finished with that before they started our one awning. So that upset us a little bit but when they actually come out to install it, they took I forget how much percent off the cost of the awning! So it was made more than fair. So they really stood by what they offered. And it was a legitimate reason, they didn't just blow us off because we only had one awning. But they really made it fair to us. They are nice people. I really liked them and I would absolutely use them again.

Description of Work
They made us an aluminum awning for a window on the west side of our house.

Category awnings

5.0

06/16/2014


Rob B.

The work was very professionally done.

Description of Work
Installed a awning over our ex isting deck.

Category awnings

5.0

05/14/2014


BRETT B.

it whent excelent. they were very clean and efficient. and the coer looks better than we expected, An all around good experience, they were very good to work with and will definately recommend them to others

Description of Work
they built a beautiful 16 35' aluminum patio cover for our patio

Category awnings

5.0

02/28/2014


Danielle B.

He was friendly and the job was well done.

Description of Work
They repaired mold damage done to the inside sheetrock along the floor of our sunroom. They installed flashing on the outside to prevent further leaks as well as replaced the sheetrock inside. We also had them replace four pieces of glass in the sunroom.

Category sunrooms

5.0

09/21/2013


LOUISE B.

Everything went fine. The installer arrived on time. He was very polite and professional and did an excellent job.

Description of Work
The installer from May Awning installed an aurora doorhood over the front porch.

Category awnings

5.0

08/11/2013


Richard H.

Very well. A single worker installed both in one day. Laid things out perfectly, did all work by himself and cleaned up afterwards. No cat was harmed in the process.

Description of Work
Measured and erected two aluminum awnings, suggested alternatives that were better than our initial thoughts

Category awnings

5.0

08/01/2012


Carolyn P.

One of the owners came out and took measurements and was really professional. I was really impressed with her and her product. The product would last and longer than most because it is more permanent. We need a roof on the house next year, so we have decided to wait and do it at the same time our roof is done. We are putting off the project for a year. They were excellent. Regarding her responsiveness she was excellent. When I called she was able to come out that very day.

Description of Work
I got a quote from May Awning And Patio to do a patio

Category decks, patios

5.0

06/21/2012


Robert M.

I would not recommend May Awning and Patio. They were prompt about coming out for estimate. They were not as good about getting back to us later, when we called back with questions, and that sort of thing. Their prices were average. I will not use them in the future.

Description of Work
They came out and did and estimate on how much it would cost to replace my back patio cover.

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

I am sorry but we have had no contact with a Member nor does that address show up on our data base. Not sure what to think about this one...We care about all our customers and potential customers!
5.0

05/10/2012


Pat M.

Everything was great, they built a pretty large awming for us- about 20'x24'. The showed up on time, were professional and curtious. I would hire them again.

Description of Work
Complete awning.

Category awnings

5.0

01/19/2012


William H.

They were very prompt and professional in coming out and taking measurements and suggesting options. We had to wait a few weeks for the awning to be made, and they returned punctually to do the installation. They were very efficient and pleasant to deal with. I would recommend them to friends.

Description of Work
Install custom awning over sliding glass door.

Category awnings

5.0

01/07/2012


Elizabeth G.

meet salesman @ home show....we scheduled a home appointment, she came on time,very informative..not pushy. We agreed on new cover. Work went exactly as described,workers stayed late even working past dark outside.....deck cover performs perfectly and as described.....AAAA+++ I WISH ALL CONTRACTORS WERE LIKE THIS...Thanks

Description of Work
May company installed a permanent cover over our 24x18 deck,complete with gutter & downspout

Category decks

5.0

12/29/2011


Karen C.

I spent quite a bit on their services. It was probably $4000. I like their honesty and they did a good job. I was very pleased with it. The customer service that they provided was excellent. They did what they said they were going to do. I will use their services again in the future.

Description of Work
I used May Awning and Patio. I last used their services last month. They installed some awnings.

Category awnings

5.0

07/18/2011


MONICA P.

I have a difficult space and needed shade to cover a large stone patio in the back yard. I had contacted another Angie's List top rated awning company (Waagmeester) that promised to work up a solution and failed with even basic communication. Three other companies saw the space and didn't even want to try. Bill was honest and knowledgeable. I had read about Sea Shell awnings online and hoped they might fit the space. Bill is the first in the area to carry these and my space is the first he has installed. I think it might be the first in Oregon. There were two surprises that were not avoidable. Given what they had to work with, they found the best solutions. The first was the mounting was higher than originally discussed. The product would not fit lower without risking rubbing the roof. The second was a slight depression (about one inch) that resulted along the eve of the roof line in one location from the installation process. Jerry was quick to return to deal with it and was able to work around my difficult schedule to do so. He came out very late in the evening as it was the only time I had available. He has promised to monitor this issue ongoing. The product is pretty cool. It is held open by magnets. If a stiff wind comes along it breaks the seal and the awning automatically retracts. This prevents damage to the roof in an unexpected storm comes along. This is standard. Other awnings will charge quite a bit extra for self retracting features. It's easy to open and close. It was the best possible solution for my difficult space. I would recommend it and May Awning to friends. Bill and Jerry were wonderful to work with.

Description of Work
Installed a 90 degree 5 meter Seashell Awning over my patio. The space is large and very awkward. It took two years to find a solution and I am very pleased with what I have.

Category awnings

5.0

11/21/2010


PATTY D.

CR Tile and Remodeling installed a thermal patio roof. They subcontracted (and lied about it) and the whole thing was such a mess that CCB ordered them to pay me to have it fixed properly as they themselves don't do these patio roofs and the company they subcontracted to do the job lost their CCB license and vanished without trace. Bill from May Awning and Patio did a great job. Flashing was needed to prevent water being blown behind and between the 4" thermal roof panels at the back. This was much harder to do after the fact. The caulking used for seams and around the skylights was the wrong kind and leaks had started after the first rain. Bill took off the old caulking where already peeling and redid every seam and every skylight with good marine caulking, which was labor intensive. Now the patio roof looks great and no leaks. Bill did a terrific job, cleaned up nicely and put a big towel between his ladder and the patio gutter to prevent damage. My biggest regret is that I didn't know about May Awnings and Patio, who do install these roofs, before I signed up with CR Tile and Remodeling.

Description of Work
Flashing installed where patio roof hits house roof at the back and one side. Fix and reseal all skylights and all seams.

Category awnings

5.0

10/26/2009


JOANNE C.

They were a little expensive, but they really are a great group.

Description of Work
I used May Awning and Patio to install a new awning, which is not retractable. It covers the deck and keeps off the rain.

Category awnings

5.0

06/07/2009


Kathy D.

My boyfriend set up an interview with May's Awning. The visit with the rep giving the estimate went very well. He answered all of our questions and knew alot about the products his company sells. He submitted the order and when it came in they called to schedule the install. They were right on time and did a great job at the price the quoted.

Description of Work
Took down entire old patio, took it away, and installed a new awning cover.

Category awnings

5.0

10/16/2008


Barbara H.

They installed a Four Seasons pre-fabricated sunroom which we like very much. Unfortunately, the designer who wrote up the contract had surgery while the job was carried out, so we were disappointed in some aspects, and slow to receive satisfaction in others.

Description of Work
Changed our unused patio into a sunroom.

Category sunrooms

5.0

09/11/2006


JUDY P.

Salesperson arrived on time, knew the product well, easy to talk to. Installers were friendly, worked well, took care with surrounding area, asked questions when needed. Cleaned up when done. Did everything as contracted in the time agreed upon.

Description of Work
Installed 17 X 19 patio covering.

Category awnings

    Other local Pros in your area

    Eric's All Trades Construction llc

    Providing quality services and affordable prices since 1996. Workmanship guaranteed for one full year at no costs to homeowner. Half down to start then balance due upon completion and your satisfaction.  

    Offers by Eric's All Trades Construction llc on Angi
    Ed Gause Construction

    Owner-operated. Uses subs for electrical & plumbing. Charges hourly rate of $55 (2/11/09). No travel charges. Only build/repair decks up to 10 feet high. License # 82643. Ask about Angie's List discount. I would prefer that you call me instead of using the Angie's List Message Center.  

    Red Diamond Family Constructions

    Fences, Decks, Remodels and More! Licensed, Insured and Bonded! CCB Lic. #232503 We are small family company providing quality services at affordable prices with over 15 years of experience in construction work. Contact us today for a free estimate on your home construction projects.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    Oregon #127345, Washington #mayawpc052c3
    Trade License Locale
    Oregon-Washington
    Trade License Authority
    Oregon-Washington
    Trade License Expiration
    12/31/2017
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    FOUR SEASONS SUNROOMS, PATIO ENCLOSURES, SCREENROOMS, SOLID ROOF PATIO COVERS, INSULATED ROOF PATIO COVERS, LATTICE ROOF PATIO COVERS, WINDOW AWNINGS, ACRYLIC PATIO COVERS, RETRACTABLE FABRIC PATIO COVERS

    Services Not Offered

    Fiberglass sheeting covers, cloth window awnings,

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about MAY AWNING AND PATIO

    How is MAY AWNING AND PATIO overall rated?

    MAY AWNING AND PATIO is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are MAY AWNING AND PATIO open?

    MAY AWNING AND PATIO is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does MAY AWNING AND PATIO provide

    MAY AWNING AND PATIO accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does MAY AWNING AND PATIO offer free estimates?

    Yes, MAY AWNING AND PATIO offers free project estimates.

    Does MAY AWNING AND PATIO offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, MAY AWNING AND PATIO offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does MAY AWNING AND PATIO offer emergency services?

    Yes, MAY AWNING AND PATIO offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by MAY AWNING AND PATIO?

    Yes, MAY AWNING AND PATIO offers warranties.

    What services does MAY AWNING AND PATIO offer?

    MAY AWNING AND PATIO offers the following services: FOUR SEASONS SUNROOMS, PATIO ENCLOSURES, SCREENROOMS, SOLID ROOF PATIO COVERS, INSULATED ROOF PATIO COVERS, LATTICE ROOF PATIO COVERS, WINDOW AWNINGS, ACRYLIC PATIO COVERS, RETRACTABLE FABRIC PATIO COVERS

    Are there any services MAY AWNING AND PATIO does not offer?

    Fiberglass sheeting covers, cloth window awnings,