Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Kemp's Windows Inc

Founded 1979 • With Angi since June 2005

4.8

(47) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

16107 SE Mcloughlin Blvd

Portland, OR 97267

Description

Kemp's Windows, Inc. is a family-owned business serving Portland, OR, and the surrounding region since 1979. We always take pride in our work, offering the best customer service and quality workmanship available within the window industry. You will love your experience with Kemp's Windows. Do you

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/15/2017


shirley V.

Bid was low for better quality windows than other bids. Installers did good job and install was on day scheduled.

Description of Work
Replaced 7 windows.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you! It was a pleasure working for you.
3.0

10/10/2016


Judi M.

Gentleman was very nice but their prices are very high and he didn't seem real excited to get my business. Never called back.

Description of Work
I needed about 17 windows replaced.

Category replacement windows

5.0

09/27/2015


Ruth W.

Dave was really good, professional, and went above and beyond. The window opens. It closes. Looks really good. !

Description of Work
I wanted just one window replaced so I would be able to open and close it. So many companies brushed me off when I told them that I only needed one window. Kemps came out and assessed the situation. I felt that they knew what they were doing. Special ordered my window and Dave installed it.

Category replacement windows

5.0

08/08/2015


Dennis S.

I am writing the review because of the excellent service that this vendor provided. This was a situation where I had obtained several estimates including two excellent vendors from Angie's list. Kemp's office took my call and set up the appt. Mr Kemp came to the house with information about what would be the best windows for my house. He was prompt and called before he came. I always appreciate sales staff who are on time and check in to let you know they are coming. This demonstrates both good service and respect. He was quite thorough in his explanations. He provided written information about the product. I had originally decided on another product but he gave sound reasoning why I should go with another product. His prices were within the overall ball park. Within several days it came down to two excellent vendors with comparable products and services. I went with the person who provided the first estimation, although Kemp's also offered a similar product and service which was quite good. If Kemp's had been the first vendor to provide the estimate, I would have gone with them. They were both that good. There were no negatives with this company and I would recommend them.

Description of Work
Came and provided an estimate and went over what would be needed for this job.

Category replacement windows

5.0

03/23/2015


Carla and Bob P.

Brett first came to our home on 11/25/2014. He showed us various window types, explained the differences, and made recommendations. He also informed us of energy rebates which would accompany different types of windows. In all, we had 3 installers make their bids, and Kemp's was the only one which informed us of the rebates. In addition, Kemp's performed almost all of the rebate paperwork, making the process very easy. Brett also explained in detail the process which Kemp's goes through to install replacement windows. We researched and discovered that some local companies take shortcuts in their installation making the windows less resistant to weather and aging. The entire process went very well even with unforeseen issues along the way. Brooks and his team were very skilled, friendly and professional. The windows look wonderful! The only issue which we encountered concerned the date on which the installation would begin. The start date was changed twice, making our preparation more difficult.

Description of Work
Replaced 11 windows.

Category replacement windows

5.0

11/04/2014


SANDRA W.

We are very pleased and happy we had Kemp do this. We interviewed 5 contractors. Mr Kemp was on time very nice and did not play deal games as the others did. He presented a fair price on a great product and delivered. We will definitely have Kemp do the rest of the windows as soon as we can afford them. I would recommend Kemp windows to all my friends and relatives.

Description of Work
Replaced all the windows in the front if the house

Category replacement windows

5.0

06/17/2014


Jim W.

We thought we had a leaky window but turned out it was the siding. We had Kemp's come out and they gave us a good estimate of the cost and explained why they recommended what they did. I appreciated getting all the info so I had a better idea what was going on. The leak was coming from a smaller section of siding above our garage. We were given estimates to just replace a little of the siding to hopefully fix the problem, or to replace all of it in that area. Again, we were given an explanation as to the pros and cons of both. The work went smoothly. They were able to color match the replacement siding to our existing siding. We were told there'd be some touch up painting needed but we can't tell there was ever work done. They did the work when we were both out of the house and I almost had to call them to make sure they replaced the siding because it looked like it matched everything so well. We haven't had a leaking issue since the repair. Staff was friendly and helpful throughout; on the phone, in person, etc. We had another issue in another part of the house and called Kemp's first. Turned out we needed a roofer, but we still got a good explanation of what was likely going on. Will definitely use them again for any window/siding issues we have.

Description of Work
Replaced siding

Category siding, replacement windows

5.0

05/28/2014


Larry M.

The price was competitive and they were good quality windows. I got them from Angie's List, went there and they made them to my specifications. They were factory made, delivered to their store and I picked them up from there. It was an easy transaction. They are willing to accommodate any need that you might present to them. They handle not only windows but doors as well. They took my order and we basically took a look at several different levels of widows. I picked the one that matched the existing windows that I had. So everything worked out great.

Description of Work
I purchased windows from Kemp's Windows Inc. They made them for me and I installed them myself.

Category replacement windows

5.0

05/13/2014


Jennifer I.

We were very happy with the price and the knowledge of the salesman and the installers. They were on time and finished within 2 days. We love the look of the windows! We would definately recommend them and use them in the future.

Description of Work
Replaced all 8 windows in our house

Category replacement windows

5.0

05/03/2014


Helen V.

The owner came to my home and spent a great deal of time (as long as I wanted) explaining in detail how the process would go if I chose to go with them. He explained day one through day 3 (I had 14 windows) to replace. The workers arrived as I was told, started right to work, explained where they were going to start and why and left at 5pm and returned day two and three at 9am and started right to work. They did a magnificent job and they are so air/water/wind tight. It is wonderful. I have referred them to a relative and would not hesitate to refer them to anyone. They are a great crew and will return at any time if I feel there is a problem. They are family based and with the best overall prices and performance.

Description of Work
Replace all of the old windows and metal frames as well as the old screens.

Category replacement windows

5.0

02/09/2014


George R.

It went great and I should have written this earlier. This week's 18 degree temperatures have shown how much difference the new windows make. Our entry-way has a 12' archtop window and a 6x4' picture window facing into the Columbia gorge winds. It was always cold there, but not any more. So give high marks to Milgard for the quality of their product. Choosing the installer. Many companies sell and install Milgard windows. Finding the best installer is not easy especially if you are not an experienced window installer yourself - and I'm not. We shopped 3 Angie's list recommended installers. The key question for me was about the details of how the 12' arch top window would be installed and trimmed. If Henderson and Daughter's representative wasn't sure but said she would send her construction man to check it out. This lady did give excellent advice about the decorator considerations but was weak technically. We did not proceed far enough with them to have their construction man look at the window so I can't fault them at all. We also considered Clear Choice Windows and Doors. Discussing the outside of the 12' window they said they would remove some of the cedar siding and save it so it could be put back after the window was installed. Later, after I told them that Kemp would replace all of the siding with new, Clear Choice said that was what they had always planned to do. Clear Choice also told me they were the only Milgard Essence dealer in the area. Every authorized Milgard dealer has the Essence series. I'm not going to draw any conclusion here. Kemp's representative, Brett Kemp, knew every technical detail and explained every step in great detail. When it came to the front window he looked at it briefly and told me a long list of things to be done and how they would do them: For example: all the siding in this should be removed and replaced in this section so it looks uniform when finished; the sills are deeper than Milgard's standard so we'd have to ask them to do this as a custom job. He explained how the multiple layers of flashing and sealing would be applied, how the interior moldings would be made and installed. The he pulled up a slide show on his iPad and walked through every step of removing and installing a typical window or patio door. At times I thought it was too much information but I felt very strongly that he knew what he was doing and the job would be done right. When work started I met Brooks, the crew chief. He and the rest of the crew were extremely careful about keeping our home clean and minimizing their impact on our lives. Brooks was quick to answer any question I had. As should be expected on a project like this, some things came up that we hadn't considered. Brooks would always explain the situation and suggest a couple ways to resolve it, leaving the choice to me. Even though it was a fixed price contract he was not concerned with what it would cost to do something but what would make me the most happy. Once I said I didn't like a particular piece of trim he looked at it, said 'your right, it looks bad', took it down and replaced it. I know they spent a lot more money on inter trim materials than we had planned. Kemp's concern was to do it right and make everyone happy with the end result. Cost. Kemp's bid was higher than Henderson's or Clear Choice. By more than 25%. I swallowed h****** that one but have never regretted my choice. If that is too much then Henderson and Daughter deserve some consideration.

Description of Work
Kemp helped us pick the particular style of Milgard windows to replace our 1985 aluminum framed thermo-pane windows. They had custom sills and framing made to go around a 12' high radius (arch top) window. They replaced 12 windows and 4 sliding patio doors. I have helped build a couple houses, am NOT an expert about windows, but have some grasp of the basics.

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

02/08/2014


Gregory G.

Brett had the job right after his pitch. He is amazingly knowledgeable and went through every part of the job. He even discussed the framing materials used on my windows so that he could match it completely. The men came on time the date scheduled and removed the windows. It took them a little longer than we had planned, but a lot of that had to do with the fact that we discovered we had double walls upstairs. The crew who did the reframing did a great job. Even when there was an error in the size of wood used on a few windows, Brett came, inspected and his finish carpenter graciously removed the wood and replaced it so that it matched all our other windows perfectly. Everyone was friendly and professional. I would recommend them to anyone needing new windows or replacements.

Description of Work
Removed eight windows that were installed incorrectly years ago. Replaced with new windows. Reconstructed interior and exterior framing for all windows to match existing.

Category replacement windows

5.0

01/10/2014


Larry M.

I was very pleased with them. I got exactly the windows that I wanted with the measurements that I gave them and so forth in a timely delivery schedule. Their prices were the most competitive and they were A rated which was one of the reasons why I sought them up. My connection with them was totally positive. I picked up the windows after they were manufactured and prepared for me. I would most definitely use them again in the future and recommend them. In talking to them, they had mentioned that they had gotten at least one or maybe more negative reviews and they suspect that it was submitted by competitors just to tarnish their A rating. But my experience was totally positive with them so I would not hesitate in going back and ordering windows or other products from them.

Description of Work
I ordered and picked up three windows from Kemp's Windows Inc. probably a month or a month and a half ago.

Category replacement windows

5.0

01/10/2014


Brittany M.

Brooks & Joel were very professional and had positive attitudes throughout the 2-day process. Brooks explained thoroughly what to expect re: care and maintenance of the new windows. We're very happy with the new windows and already notice the improvements, temperature-wise. Very positive experience overall.

Description of Work
They replaced 5 windows and 1 sliding glass door with vinyl, double paned Milgard windows/door.

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

12/22/2013


Jon S.

Kemp's came out and removed the siding and windows, replaced the windows, installed new moisture barrier, and replaced the siding. The contractors did an excellent job, cleaned up their mess as would be expected, and answered any questions we had. Kemp's Windows exceeded my expectations and is a great example how a job should be done.

Description of Work
Replaced two windows and the glass in a third window. Also, replaced siding and moisture barrier on portion of the house due to a faulty installation by a different contractor which led to a leak in the window.

Category glass repair, siding, replacement windows

5.0

11/03/2013


Stephen G.

Kemp's Windows were recommended by an acquaintance who was very happy with the job they did for her. Brett, who provided the quote, was very thorough in explaining our options and was willing to stay as long as needed to be assured that we understood what we would be getting. Dave, who did the installation, was on time and made sure that everything was to our satisfaction. When he wasn't satisfied with the 'dinged-up' interior trim available at the nearby lumber yard he offered to go somewhere else to get trim of decent quality and come back in the evening to finish up the job properly. We are very happy with our new windows and would wholeheartedly recommend Kemp's.

Description of Work
Removed one casement window and two flanking stationary windows from 2nd story bedroom at front of house. They were replaced with new Milgard (vinyl) casement and double hung windows.

Category replacement windows

5.0

08/27/2013


Karen A.

Joel and Donny were excellent. They worked hard all day long for 4 days in a row. My windows and doors are awesome. Would use them again

Description of Work
He put in all new triple payne windows and a new front door. Did all the trim.

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

05/20/2013


Diane S.

They did an excellent job -- were very thorough. It was our impression that they took extra steps to see that the windows were installed well -- plenty of insulation, flashing where needed. They built up the exterior wall in our living room so that we could reduce the size of the windows there, and did a good job with the drywall and matching the exterior siding on the house. Mr. Kemp is very detail oriented and obviously knows his business.

Description of Work
Removed old windows and installed Milgard fiberglass windows in the living room, dining room, and family room.

Category drywall, insulation, siding, replacement windows

5.0

07/12/2011


Dean L.

.Fortunately the glasses on these windows were covered by Home Insurance. They are very prompt and personable. They are easy to work with. They do the whole line from vinyl to high end wood modelled windows. Anybody who is looking at windows for a new construction or a re-model it would be good to consider them. On the day that the glass was broken I called them they send somebody to take measurement, to advice on cleaning up, and to get the process started. I will use them in the future.

Description of Work
. I had KEMP'S WINDOWS to replace a lot of glass on windows that were broken. They had installed these windows earlier for me as I had upgraded all them. They are also doing the huge front picture window.

Category glass repair, replacement windows

5.0

05/02/2011


geri M.

Recommended by an acquaintance after getting 3 other bids the sales call was timely, informative and to the point. I did not have to sit through a demonstration of the window with heat lamps or brochures and folders of the company history; just straight forward information on the Milgard windows, the efficiency factors, and the price. Due to unforseen knee surgery I had to delay the installation; the company was understanding and worked with me to reschedule. The installers, Joel Hoffman and Trevor Scott were here on time every morning, worked through all kinds of weather for a long day (nearly 10 hours one day!) cleaned up the premises, and were professional and courteous. The windows look great; the price was fair, and I would recommend Kemp's Windows to anyone needing this work done.

Description of Work
All new windows (9) new sliding patio door and replacement siding on the side of the house.

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

12/27/2010


Steve T.

I interviewed 5 separate companies and Brett Kemp (of Kemps Windows) was the one that stood out. He accentuated the installation and how important it was versus the other companies just pushing their windows. The bid was not the cheapest, but I believe we got the best value for what we paid for.....by far. Kemps crew was fabulous and they kept the disruptions down to a mininum. Very professional and after 18 months the windows have worked flawlessly. I even had them do my in laws house and the same treatment. Just got done with an insulation job and between the windows and the insulation our house is providing great comfort and the energy bills continue to drop. Great job!!!

Description of Work
Had all windows replaced in our house. Added a window seat in the front of the house as well.

Category replacement windows

5.0

12/17/2010


KAREN W.

We've used Kemp's Windows in the past. They are very quick, clean, and keep every thing nice and neat. They had the window on time and installed it right on schedule.

Description of Work
Kemp's Windows did siding and a complete window package

Category siding, replacement windows

5.0

01/23/2009


ANNE C.

The person that came out and did the bid knew about the different windows and the prices. He was very knowledgable and helpfull on helping us keep in our price range. They we very timely and on schedule. It is not a real big deal but the sliding glass door latch does not latch and the guy said he would come back but has not.

Description of Work
Kemps Windows replaced all the windows in my house.

Category replacement windows

5.0

07/29/2008


BARBARA G.

Overall everything was very good. From the office people to the sales people to the installers. They even did a followup call about a week after they had installed them.

Description of Work
Kemp Windows came out and installed some replacement windows in my house.

Category replacement windows

4.0

02/28/2008


CHRIS T.

Brett Kemp did a good job in the estimate process. Very friendly and knows what they are talking about and providing good advice. Estimate came in on time but surprisingly higher on a detail of the job (French doors). After talking to Brett he admitted a mistake in the quote of the French doors. The competition came with a comparable estimate without mistakes what ultimately tipped the decision to the competition. ($10,000)

Description of Work
Replacing 7 aluminum windows with Milgard woodclad windows.

Category replacement windows

    Other local Pros in your area

    Pacific Construction Solutions, Inc.

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Joe's Painting and Remodeling LLC

    ​ Is a locally owned and operated company established in Northern Oregon. We are a fully licensed, Bonded And Insured Business that is ready to take your property to new heights of beauty and value. We count with an incredible 16 years of experience in the painting and remodeling field. Although there are thousands of companies in the area, none of them measure up to our quality, affordability, and effectiveness. In fact, we are the ones under which others measure their quality standards. Our commitment towards customer satisfaction has been the key to our success. Through the years we’ve earned a large list of satisfied clients who don’t hesitate to recommend us to their co-workers, family, and friends. Our clients choose us over other contractors as they feel 100% satisfied with the services that we provide. We plan on maintaining the excellence, dedication, and skill that make us unmatched.  

    Portland Construction LLC

    *** ATTENTION CORONAVIRUS PANDEMIC*** WHAT IS PORTLAND CONSTRUCTION IS DOING? To all of our Clients we would like to let u know that you can be sure to contract us without any pending and with the confidence that we are taking all the necessary precautions to give you all the Safety to your family that due to the CoronaVirus, we will be disinfecting all our Tools before entering your home,of course takes time consuming but Portland Construction's priority is your safety and your Family,also we will have a Water Station with Soap outside to wash our hands before entering your home.We will treat your house like if is our house . Please stay safe and Healthy! PORTLAND CONSTRUCTION LLC is a full ser­vice DRYWALL COMPANY and REMODEL with 20 Years Experience Building Nike, INTEL, OHSU, Legacy Hospitals,Providence Hospitals and Schools over the years (Commercial and Residential). We are de­voted to ful­fill­ing the needs of our lo­cal clients. Our goal is to cre­ate a level of trust with our cus­tomers, so that they are com­fort­able know­ing that our pric­ing struc­ture will be money well spent on their dry­wall projects. It’s im­por­tant for us to dif­fer­en­ti­ate our­selves from fly-by-night con­trac­tors and de­serve the rep­u­ta­tion in the com­mu­nity. Portland Construction is here to bring a fair bid to acomplish our Quality. If u need a free Estimate call us: ‭(971) 732-6475‬ CCB# 217861 Chuy Pay with Crypto and get 10% off: Bitcoin Ethereum Cardano Dogecoin  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Windows, siding (including James Hardie products)

    Services Not Offered

    not offering mirrors, car glass, insulation, drywall, roofing

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Kemp's Windows Inc

    How is Kemp's Windows Inc overall rated?

    Kemp's Windows Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Kemp's Windows Inc open?

    Kemp's Windows Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Kemp's Windows Inc provide

    Kemp's Windows Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Kemp's Windows Inc offer free estimates?

    Ask Kemp's Windows Inc for details on free project estimates.

    Does Kemp's Windows Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Kemp's Windows Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Kemp's Windows Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Kemp's Windows Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Kemp's Windows Inc?

    No, Kemp's Windows Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Kemp's Windows Inc offer?

    Kemp's Windows Inc offers the following services: Windows, siding (including James Hardie products)

    Are there any services Kemp's Windows Inc does not offer?

    not offering mirrors, car glass, insulation, drywall, roofing