Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Hector's Helping Hands

Founded 1996 • With Angi since November 2005

4.5

(65) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

930 NE 70th Ave

Portland, OR 97213

Description

hi im sandy and most likely im the one who will awnser the phone when you call. when you call we will set up a convienient time for hector to come to your property and walk through the yard with you. he will anwser any questions and give you a price for the work you need done. he is really great

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

05/16/2013


Denise M.

Initially, Hector's was great and we used them for 5+ years. Last Spring, however, they just stopped showing up, and even after several emails and phone calls we finally got a response they'd they'd be out "tomorrow". Then that happened again. And again. So we called and left a msg to cancel our service and hired another company to maintain our lawn. The day after our new service came out, someone from Hector's showed up during the day and re-mowed the the lawn leaving deep muddy ruts in our yard. There is a breakdown between the service crew and scheduling that seems irrepairable and very damaging to their business.

Description of Work
Weekly mowing and edging

Category lawn service

2.0

02/26/2013


H ROY S.

The first year, they came and did a good job. The next year, he didn’t return my call, but then they just showed up to do the work. He didn't have the follow through or show any inclination that he wanted to do the work, so I just found someone else.

Description of Work
I contacted Hector's about doing my lawn work.

Category lawn service

2.0

01/03/2012


Margaret M.

We hired them to perform biweekly maintenance work on the yard but the service started more like once every month and how its been over a month and I have not heard or seem them since.

Description of Work
Lawn and yard maintenance work.

Category lawn service

1.0

06/14/2011


Caroline K.

I had used Hector's Helping Hands previously for a major yard clean up. On the previous occasion the work was very good, quick and I wanted to hire them again. I called 3 times in May and no one ever returned my calls.

Description of Work
I

Category lawn service

Service Provider Response

im so sorry to have let you down we have rededicated ourselves to do a better job in the future im sorry that we let you down sincerely sandy r
1.0

05/10/2011


Sue B.

I called twice last year in June 2010 and was told twice that Hector would call me back to set up a time to come and look at the yard work I needed done and give me an estimate. Never got a return call. Then this year (May 2011) I decided to try one more time because of his close location to me and the overall recommendations submitted by others. I called and was told that Hector would be out at my place at 6pm that night to give me an estimate. Never showed, no phone call. I called the office at 7pm and was told by whoever answered the phone, "Didn't anyone call you to let you know he wouldn't be able to make it?" No.... Then I was rescheduled for the next evening at 6pm. He did not arrive on time but I did receive a call at 6:15pm that he was running late. He finally arrived at 6:45pm and walked thru the yard with me with clipboard in hand and told me he would call me in the morning with an estimate. That was a WEEK ago - still have not received a call from him. Needless to say, I contacted another yardman on Angie's List who is currently doing the work I needed done. He showed up on the day I called him to check out the work I wanted done, sent me an estimate that night, and showed up with his crew on time on the day we had scheduled. Would not recommend Hector to anyone.

Description of Work
No services done.

Category lawn service

Service Provider Response

m so sorry to have let you down we have rededicated ourselves to do a better job in the future I'm sorry that we let you down thank you for your feedback sincerely sandy r
5.0

12/31/2010


H ROY S.

I am so pleased that I have extended my contract for routine maintenance and more landscaping. I think Hector, and his crew are hard workers. Hector is also talented in making suggestions for more landscaping.

Description of Work
Following the great work and service Hector provided on winter clean up I awarded him a contract for a new lawn and underground irrigation system.

Category lawn service, irrigation systems, tree service

Service Provider Response

Member THANKS FOR CHOOSING US WE LOVED DOING ALL THE WORK FOR YOU AND SEEING YOUR VISION COME TO LIGHT HECTORS LIKE AN ARTIST I LOVE WHEN HE GETS TO MAKE SUCH BIG CHANGES IN A YARD HAVE A GREAT DAY SANDY
5.0

09/22/2010


KATHY Z.

Great job overall and I would not hesitate to hire again.

Description of Work
I was having three camillia bushes trimmed that had grown out of control. Hector came on time for the estimate, and gave me a very fair price for the work, and clean up. When they came on Saturday, they made sure that I was satisfied with their work. This was a great company to work with, and I was very happy with the results.

Category lawn service

Service Provider Response

thank you for calling us and for taking the time to wright a post about the work we did for you. it was a pleasure please feel free to call us again some time thank you hector and sandy big smile from us to you
5.0

09/08/2010


Patti and Dale L.

Have used Hector before for tree services and he did such a good job, I called him again for yard clean up. He came promptly, gave me an estimate. He was just a bit higher then another estimate so he agreed to split the difference with me. He did an excellent job. Very pleased with his work. Very professional and friendly. Will definitely use him again.

Description of Work
Cleaned out flower beds, trimmed bushes and shrubs and supplied and spread bark dust in beds and along parking strip.

Category lawn service

Service Provider Response

hi thanks for posting about us we really appriciate it and look forward to doing more work for you in the futre big smile from us to you
1.0

06/20/2010


Stephen B.

Sandy answered the phone and was prompt and friendly. Hecktor followed immediately up by coming over to look at the work we needed done. I noticed that, although we explained things in things in detail, he took no notes. He said he would follow up with an estimate, but it never came. Four days later I left a phone message of inquiry, but it was never returned. All I can conclude is that their follow-up is terrible, or they are homophobic and don't wish to work for us.

Description of Work
No services were performed.

Category lawn service

Service Provider Response

HI MEMBER, I AM SO SORRY THAT WE DROPPED THE BALL WITH YOU AND YOUR ESTIMATE. JUNE IS THE BUSIEST MONTH FOR LANDSCAPERS AND ALTHOUGH WE STRIVE FOR 100 PERCENT EXCELENCE SOME TIMES ADMITTLY WE FALL SHORT. I AM SO SORRY THAT WE DID THAT TO YOU AND EVEN MORE SO THAT YOU FEEL WE OFFENDED YOU BECAUSE YOU THINK WE DONT WANT TO DO WORK IN THE GAY AND LESBIAN COMMUNITY. WE HAVE MAY GAY AND LESBIAN CLIENTS AND ALSO ADVERTISE IN THE GAY YELLOW PAGES. ANYWAY IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO GIVE US ANOTHER CHANCE I WOULD LIKE TO TRY AND MAKE IT UP TO YOU. REGARDS SANDY
5.0

05/04/2010


Noelle A.

They are awesome. My yard looks beautiful. I would recommend to friends and family.

Description of Work
They come every two weeks. They do lawn maintenance. They cleaned out leaves and outgrown. They laid down bark and ensured everything was in order. They planted 20 rosebushes.

Category mulch

Service Provider Response

THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO WRITE SUCH AN AWESOME REVIEW FOR HECTOR'S HELPING HANDS. WE'VE BEEN DOING THIS FOR 14 YEARS BUT IT NEVER GETS OLD HEARING NICE THINGS I'M GLAD YOU LIKED YOUR CLEAN UP AND JUST CALL OR EMAIL ME IF YOU NEED ANYTHING IN THE FUTURE. BIG SMILE SANDY
5.0

10/20/2009


KENDRA K.

Hector came on Friday to give me the estimate - he called me to say he was running a few minutes late, which I appreciated. On Monday he and his crew arrived on time, and within the estimated time frame, had cleared out the area, leaving barely a twig to show that they had been through my property - all was left neat as a pin. In two hours, they took care of what I hadn't been able to take care of in 15 years! I am delighted.

Description of Work
The job was to clear about 15' x 30' of blackberry vines encroaching from a back lot, cut them to the ground and haul away the debris.

Category lawn service

4.0

10/08/2009


April M.

They are reliable and they have a good price. They always do quality work.

Description of Work
Hector's Helping Hands comes out to do my lawn and yard work. They come out to mow my lawn every other week.

Category lawn service

5.0

07/27/2009


CHERIE R.

They were very nice and efficient. They cleaned it up very nicely.

Description of Work
He and his helpers cleaned our front yard. There were a lot of weeds and trimmed bushes.

Category lawn service

4.0

05/17/2009


ROBIN S.

I called to get an estimate for aerating and dethatching my lawn. Hector came over at the end of the day which was great and gave me an estimate. I called at a later time to make an appointment. He did not show up so I called and left a message. I am not sure if they ever received my message because when I called back she profusely apologized and scheduled me first thing in the morning when I requested. Hector and his crew came on time, and he apologized for the mix-up. I had called back to give him a 2nd chance because I know stuff happens. When he and the crew came they were efficient and professional. My overall rating is not an A because of the no-show but I would hire them again due to the quality of his work and he was very nice to work with. He went over in detail all the steps I need to take to get my lawn in shape.

Description of Work
Aerate and dethatch a large lawn area.

Category lawn service

5.0

10/21/2008


BRANDY W.

Hector and his helping hands came to aerate and detach our entire lawn and trim a hedge. Everything looks fantastic and cleaned up very well. We are very happy!

Description of Work
Aerate front lawn and back yard. Detached front lawn and back yard. Trim a large hedge. Cleaned up yard waste after finished.

Category lawn treatment

5.0

10/06/2008


Charles R.

These are very nice folks, the owners and the workers. I have used them three years in a row. They are not very reliable about coming when they had agreed to come, but if you call them, they apologize and come as quickly as possible. They always do a good job. They know how to prune Laurel! And they are very nice to deal with. Clean up after themselves. Despite problems with scheduling, I like them and recommend them highly.

Description of Work
Pruning an extensive Laurel hedge. Some parts of it are hard to reach because of incline and close quarters due to other bushes.

Category lawn service

5.0

08/12/2008


VENA A.

He is very pleasant, he knows a lot about plants, and he always comes out to review the work being done by his employees. If things aren't right he will make them right.

Description of Work
He maintains my yard.

Category lawn service

Service Provider Response

THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO POST A REPORT ABOUT US. I REALLY LOVE READING WHAT PEOPLE SAY ABOUT US. DON'T GET ME WRONG MONEY IS GREAT, BUT POSITIVE FEEDBACK IS AWESOME TOO. THANKS AND CALL AGAIN WHEN YOU NEED US AGAIN BIG SMILE FROM ME TOO YOU.
5.0

07/21/2008


Heather R.

They were very friendly and on time.

Description of Work
They did yard work for me that consisted of weeding and clean up.

Category lawn service

Service Provider Response

THANK YOU THANK YOU FOR YOUR STELLER REPORT ON US PLEASE CALL AGAIN WHEN WE CAN HELP. BIG SMILE FROM ME TO YOU.
5.0

07/15/2008


PAULA F.

They are just wonderful, I really like them they always do what I ask them and they are very efficient at doing the work. I will continue to use them and recommend them to others often.

Description of Work
They cut my grass and do my outside everything they do all kinds of landscaping work.

Category lawn service

Service Provider Response

I REALLY LIKE YOU TOO. THANKS FOR POSTING ABOUT US. LOVE YA, SANDY. BIG SMILE FROM ME TO YOU.
5.0

07/11/2008


John S.

We purchased the plants from a grower, they then did the install. In some cases, the installation required real skill and attention to detail as they had to go around existing water pipes, a gas line, and in very limited spaces. We are very happy with the work. Price gets a B only because we had a bid for essentially the same work, but including the cost of the plants. We chose Hector because we wanted to buy our plants (which were much better than what's out at a large chain store, etc.), and he was OK to install them. We would hire again.

Description of Work
Hector's guys installed approximately 40 large (8-9 foot) arborvitae.

Category lawn service

Service Provider Response

THANKS FOR POSTING ABOUT US AND ALSO FOR PUTTING PICTURES. YOU'RE THE FIRST TIME EVER TO PUT PICS. GLAD THAT YOU LET US DO THE WORK FOR YOU, LOOK FORWARD TO DOING MORE FOR YOU IN THE FUTURE. BIG SMILE FROM ME TO YOU.
1.0

05/22/2008


NOLLIE T.

Read every report on this company and although "Hector" seemed to do a good job, I was troubled by the reports on the scheduler's (Sandy and apparently his wife) lack of communication to the customer. I also thought that since she had responded to the critical comments, that this would have been corrected. Well, believe what you read. I contacted this company, received an email back that they would "be glad to give me an estimate on my yard work and would be able to come to my house on Sat May 10th between 6 and 7 PM." (Note: this company is listed less than two miles from me). I waited and waited and am still waiting. No one showed up, no one called, and no one has contacted me since. I called and left a message for Sandy to call me please and no response to date which is three week. Moral of this story: believe what you read. Terrible service. Hector may have helping hands as listed but you might never know cause the response is non-existent.

Description of Work
No service was performed.

Category lawn service

Service Provider Response

I AM REALLY SORRY THAT WE WERE UNABLE TO DO ANY WORK FOR YOU. IT WAS ALL MY FAULT. I HAVE BEEN REALLY SICK BUT THAT DOESN'T EXCUSE ME FROM CONTACTING YOU IN A TIMELY MANNER. AGAIN I'M SORRY AND HOPE ALL TURNED OUT WELL FOR YOU WITH YOUR YARD WORK. IF YOU WANT TO TRY AGAIN I'M HERE. IF NOT I UNDERSTAND AND WISH YOU NOTHING BUT THE BEST. SINCERELY, SANDY RIVERA.
4.0

05/19/2008


Michael L.

Overall pretty well. A couple small jobs in the estimate got overlooked. A 5 to 6 man crew did the work in a day. The estimate was broken down by task. I choose to forgo some mulching which I thought was too expensive. A couple sprinkler heads required return visits to get working properly. But when all is said and done, I am happy with the results. Hector and his wife were pleasant to deal with.

Description of Work
Yard clean-up, hedge trimming, reseeding front lawn, debris removal, weed removal, hauling a load of garage stuff to the dump, fixing multiple sprinkler heads in in-ground watering system.

Category hauling services, lawn service, irrigation systems, lawn treatment

Service Provider Response

THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO POST ABOUT US. LIFE IS SO BUSY THAT I REALLY APPRECIATE IT. WE HOPE TO DO MORE WORK FOR YOU IN THE FUTURE BIG SMILE FROM US TO YOU, SANDY AND HECTOR RIVERA.
5.0

05/04/2008


Caroline K.

Hector and his team are just great. His wife, Sandy, is very helpful and friendly on the phone. The work was done speedily and as promised. No problems at all.

Description of Work
Extensive weeding, thinning of plants, pruning of shrubs, re bark dust.

Category lawn service

Service Provider Response

THANK YOU I LOVE WHEN PEOPLE SAY NICE THINGS ABOUT ME TOO. IT'S ALWAYS HECTOR HECTOR HECTOR. I'M JEALOUS SO THANK YOU FOR SAYING I'M NICE TOO. (HE IS PRETTY GREAT THOUGH IN MY OPINION...) I MARRIED HIM. I'M GLAD THAT YOU LIKED THE WORK AND HOPE THAT WE CAN HELP YOU OUT AGAIN IN THE FUTURE, BIG SMILE FROM ME TO YOU, SANDY & HECTOR RIVERA
4.0

04/28/2008


TIMOTHY W.

It went great! I was impressed with Hector's friendliness and earnestness and ability to schedule and complete the work promptly. Hector spent a while with me answering questions about when and how to take care of the plants in my garden (I inherited it when I purchased the house and am still teaching myself how to care for it. Everything looked fantastic when his crew was done, so I asked for a quote for monthly service and gave what I thought was a generous tip. The quote sounded good, so I tried to schedule service, but here's where my delight with Hector's company more or less ended. His wife Sandy coordinates communications and scheduling and I found her incredibly difficult to reach. Hector assured me that I could obtain a copy of the work performed for my records and after about 6 phone calls and as many email requests, I've given up. It took about 5 weeks for her to get back to me about a time for Hector's crew to visit and when I mentioned it was a bad time and requested a reschedule, I heard nothing more. In fact, the only email communication I've had with the company besides a notification of the originally scheduled visit was a completely unrelated email forward that she sent to everyone on her list. Although I think Hector and his crew performed the work professionally, I have had so much trouble just getting in touch with the company that I ended up finding someone else for monthly maintenance. My ratings were "A" for price; "A" for quality of work; "D" for responsiveness because of the lack of communication; "C" for punctuality because although the work was scheduled and performed prom ply, the followup has been completely unsatisfactory; and "C" for professionalism to average Hector's earnest and affable approach with the non responsiveness and administrative slowness of his wife, Sandy.

Description of Work
Hector and his crew performed a general clean-up, including late winter pruning, cleaning beds of debris and leaves, spreading compost, new barkdust and new wood chips on my pathways.

Category lawn service, leaf removal

5.0

04/17/2008


CATRIONA B.

We met Hector, who provided an estimate on a gentle trim versus a full laurel hedge trim. We went for the more deep trim. They came out promptly, and while we thought things looked pretty good after the first day, Hector was concerned that the laurel hedge debris from the previous trim was stuck into the hedge. They came back the following day and cleaned out the mess left from the previous owners. We were delighted.

Description of Work
Provided wonderful laurel hedge trimming and cleanup.

Category lawn service

    Other local Pros in your area

    Red Bark Inc

    Red Bark Inc. can help with any of your bark dust blowing needs. We have 25 years of experience, dependable, licensed drivers, and top of the line bark blowers to ensure a job well done, every single time.  

    PDX Sewer Solutions, LLC

    We are a female, minority owned company, specializing in sewer repairs, replacements, and all sewer related services. We are dedicated to providing our clients with the very best in service, installation, and repair for all phases of your sewer needs. We have industry experience since 1990 and we created our own company in 1994. We specialize in a variety of residential and commercial services and take pride in the attention to detail put into each of the projects we're involved with. We're known for our quality work and the integrity of our business. We look forward to building long-term relationships with our clients, and guarantee your satisfaction.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Mobile Concrete Cleaning

    Hello there my names austin and I clean concrete,windows,houses by using a pressure washer contact me today to get a free quote today!! Call or text at 360-702-2840 thanks  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Lawn maintenance, yard clean ups, debris removal, weeding, and pruning. we clean roofs , deep edging composting bark dust just call if we dont do it we probably know someone who does big smile from us to you

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Hector's Helping Hands

    How is Hector's Helping Hands overall rated?

    Hector's Helping Hands is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Hector's Helping Hands open?

    Hector's Helping Hands is open:

    Sunday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Hector's Helping Hands provide

    Hector's Helping Hands accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Hector's Helping Hands offer free estimates?

    Yes, Hector's Helping Hands offers free project estimates.

    Does Hector's Helping Hands offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Hector's Helping Hands does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Hector's Helping Hands offer a senior discount?

    No, Hector's Helping Hands does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Hector's Helping Hands offer emergency services?

    Yes, Hector's Helping Hands offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Hector's Helping Hands?

    Yes, Hector's Helping Hands offers warranties.

    What services does Hector's Helping Hands offer?

    Hector's Helping Hands offers the following services: Lawn maintenance, yard clean ups, debris removal, weeding, and pruning. we clean roofs , deep edging composting bark dust just call if we dont do it we probably know someone who does big smile from us to you