Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

F/X REPAIR & REMODELING

Founded 1988 • With Angi since May 2006

4.4

(61) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2950 NW 29TH AVE

Portland, OR 97210

Description

OR LICENSE: #CCB100757. WA LICENSE: #FXREPRR911MA. CAPS- Certified Aging In Place Specialist. ADDITIONAL EMAIL: FXREPAIR@FXREPAIR.COM. ADDITIONAL PH#'S: (503) 297-8682 & (503) 542-4440. ADDITIONAL FAX#: (503) 297-8682. Emergency # 503-292-0292 We are General Contractor who has inhouse full

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

02/11/2021


Christopher R.

Bob quoted “20-30 days” on a contract that is now on day 644 and counting, and so far $67,000 over budget. Considers work and materials that other contractors, and most reasonable people, would consider part of the original bid to be “change orders” (such as removing drywall before putting up HVAC ducts, or putting up drywall after putting up HVAC ducts, or painting after putting up drywall, or cutting concrete that they could have seen was there when doing the several site visits to put the estimate, bid, and subsequent contract in....) Constantly forgets previous discussions, agreements, and communications. Adds work that was never discussed or asked for while contracted work is months or even years behind schedule, all while asking for more and more money the few times he does show up on site - if you see Bob, he’s going to try and talk to you for hours about Trump or his ex-wife, and he’s going to ask for more “change orders” and thousands more dollars every time. Incredibly unprofessional work, incredibly unprofessional and disrespectful communications. Bob constantly tries to blame broken ageeements, shoddy work, and incompetent mismanagement on clients and his own workers. Gaslighting, mansplaining, condescending, no personal responsibility or business ethics. We have seen belittle his own workers and even smack one upside the head. Makes excuses for shoddy or behind schedule work by telling clients that he has hired homeless people, meth users, potheads, etc., gossips extremely personal information about the personal lives and health conditions of workers he hires, his own ex-wife and current girlfriend and her friends, etc., then accuses clients of having an “attitude” when issues with work or his unprofessionalism are brought to his attention. We made a HUGE mistake by not reading online reviews before hiring. Avoid Bob and FX Repair and Remodeling at all costs!

Description of Work
Gutter modification, HVAC and basement remodel / upgrade, electrical / lighting additions, upgrade ventilation in bathrooms

Category ceramic tile, closet systems, concrete repair, drywall, electrician, excavators, picture framing, gutter cleaning, gutter repair, handyman service, heating & air conditioning/hvac, insulation, lighting, remodeling, woodworking, drain pipe, ceiling fans, house painters, interior painters, doors, drain cleaning, mudjacking, basement remodeling

1.0

07/21/2019


Kevin K.

No communication of damage to property. No communication of status or needs. Multiple requests for door access codes, some made by his own company. The owner and all employees have been a disappointment.

Description of Work
We needed new exterior siding windows and doors. The lot is a severe slope so we needed a large firm to handle the elevation issues. We already had the architectural and structural drawings finished. I would not hire this company to build a dog house in a flat yard.

Category siding

3.0

05/07/2013


RT S.

We called for an estimate and an appointment was made. He did not arrive, so we called him after an hour. He apologized and came right over. Bob was a very personable fellow and seemed to really know what he was talking about and to fully understand the project. We looked forward to receiving his estimate. It did not arrive. He emailed to say it would arrive the following week. We never heard from him again. We hired someone else.

Description of Work
Called for estimate on pergola repair.

Category remodeling

2.0

02/07/2013


Georgia J.

Contractor seemed courteous, came out to evaluate project, told me when to expect the estimate. Even though I tried to contact him again after that date had passed, I never heard back from him. Why bother going through all it would take to evaluate the job if you are NEVER going to follow up in any way? I figure if I have to work to track down a contractor for an estimate, it doesn't bode well for how the job would go.

Description of Work
I don't get it

Category remodeling

5.0

01/31/2013


ZAC I.

They met with me to discuss a porch roof that was sinking. They were very responsive to what I needed. They were flexible about adding some additional work. Good communication. They gave me a detailed bid by email. They came out and worked promptly and had it done within the week. They replaced existing roof support posts that were sinking through a rotting porch deck with ground-based posts. They also replaced an upper gutter and downspout.

Description of Work
Replace porch roof supports

Category decks, remodeling

4.0

01/02/2013


Kathy P.

We had a few problems as the first crew quit on the job. They sent a second crew out and one of the guys did get fired. They did do the repair work and I am happy with the work. I am happy with the company as it seemed to be a worker problem not a company problem. I have used them in the past and everything has been fine with them.

Description of Work
They did a door replacement. They had to do some sawing down of a concrete pad due to a tree that was uprising. They fixed a step and cleaned my driveway as well.

Category concrete repair, handyman service, pressure washing, doors

3.0

12/20/2012


Bill B.

I originally called F/X repairs several months before we actually met but because the closing of the property kept getting delayed in escrow, I kept having to delay getting bids to repair the place for rental. I asked Bob at that time to call me back in two weeks which he did. He was friendly, we got delayed again, he called again and each time he called back exactly when he said he would. Finally, in late November we closed on the property and he came by the next week to give me a bid. He checked out all the things I wanted done, wrote down the repairs needed, looked at what needed painting and wrote everything down. I liked him a lot and was thinking I was likely to use him for the whole project if the bid was in my ballpark between $3500-5000. He told me he'd get me the proposal and bid on Friday (it was Wednesday) and we parted very friendly. Then nothing. Nothing. No call. No email. I waited 10 days, got other bids and went another direction. I was a bid dumbfounded because he had been so friendly. Curiosity finally got the better of me and I gave him a call just to find out what happened. I actually wondered if something bad might have happened. Anyway, he was apologetic, said he had no excuse, and just didn't get it done. Oh well, no harm no foul. I guess I'm glad I didn't hire him and find out later he (they) just wouldn't show up.

Description of Work
Bob of F/X Repair came to inspect my property and to give me a bid on general repair, painting, and updates and installations necessary to get the property ready for rental.

Category remodeling

5.0

11/11/2012


Jane B.

On August 13 around midnight, we had the host to our refrigerator break and we now it leaked for a lteast 3 hours. As a result our handwood floors, tile floors, walls, carpet. padding, ceilings, insulation, were badly damaged. After consulting with our insurance co. we went to Angies's List and found three contractors and asked for bids. When the deciision to go with F/X Repair was made we contacted them and they were at our house within a day or two. Tom Miller, his wife Nancy and Brian were at my home daily and I could not be happier. These are the most amazing people. Tom is a master carpenter, Brian is a wonderful jack of many trades, but Nancy... Nancy is the icing on the cake. She makes sure all small mistakes or "booboos" are corrected and the best thing is she comes behind the construction crew and does a PERFECT of cleaning the rooms after the repairs have been made. (she paints too) I had a mess and she left it sparkling. I have to smile now, these people not only became or repair crew of choice they became our friends. They were very nice about fixing little things as they went along that might not have been caused by the flood, just little things but that means so much. Bob, the owner of F/X Repair is diligent about checking in on the phone, coming by and consistantly staying on top of the job to be sure we were completely. satisfied. My husband had done a lot of the remodieling in our home, and much of that was damaged so he was very "picky" about how the repairs were done, and is very pleased with our finished product. I even picked out a color to repaint our master bath and was very disapointed when i got it home and we put it on the walls, but; Tom saved the day by mixed it with paint we had used in our bedroom and I have the most beautiful bathroom now with a paint color we have named "Tommy Taupe". I am guessing it's fairly obvious we would recommend these people and this company to anyone who might need their services. Understand, things are not perfect but nearly perfect and I am very happy. It is such a pleasure to write a review like this, especially since it is my home. All I can say is Thank You F/X Bob, Tom, Nancy and Brian for being so great and our dog BooBoo is still watching for you to come in the door. By the way, these guys had the hardest time leaving our little dog, they brought her treats and loved on her daily. She misses them.

Description of Work
Woodwork was repaired, walls were painted, drywall replaced with perfect results, ceilings were repaired, insullations reinstalled, cabinets repaired, file removed and replaced, water damaged wood in the floors replaced, slate tile removed and relaid, capet removed, padding replaced then the carpet was replaced. Minor plumbing was done first. Every one of the subcontractors they provided were as professional as F/X and we were equally as happy with them. Oh, our ducts were cleaned, those guys were amazing, The job started with SerPo of Tualitin coming to dry everyhting and remove all the damage before the repairs could start. It took them 14 days there was so much water and they left everything completely dry and also did a perfect job. I am sure I have left many things out that were damaged and repaired but considering how much damage was done I can assure you they knew what needed to be done and left nothing out.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

10/19/2012


Charles F.

The two workmen from F/X came out when they said they would. It took half a day for them to make sure the gutters were all cleaned out and then apply the gutter guard on the 200' of gutter on our house. It is not obtrusively noticeable and has made us feel safe about our gutters as the rainy season has finally begun.

Description of Work
Our gutters had no cover to keep out debris, and when we moved in a few months ago, there were little trees growing out of the thick mess in two sections of the gutters. They had cleaned the gutters of debris during the major remodeling of the house earlier in the summer, but the question of covering the gutters was left for later. We couldn't afford the "Cadillac" gutter inserts that simply leave no room for debris to enter the gutters, and Bob Artis, the owner, suggested a few cheaper alternatives.

Category gutter cleaning, gutter repair

4.0

09/20/2012


FRED C.

The work was acceptable, but not excellent. He left the stucco outside unpainted, but granted, we never discussed it in detail. The work he did was done well, both on the outside and inside of my home.

Description of Work
We hired him to work on some stucco and plaster in our home.

Category stucco

5.0

08/16/2012


Charles F.

I lived in the house while the seven weeks of work were progressing. Not once was I embarrassed by the workers or worried about security. They were all friendly, competent, and professional. When they said they'd do something or be there, they were. A number of items that needed repair became clear during the time, and it was clear when we had to add items to the worklist. I purchased many of the items when the crew told me it would be cheaper if I did it myself, but most of the time the materials were all handled by the crew. Each day they cleaned up thoroughly before leaving for the evening, something that I came to really value! When mistakes happened, Tom, the crew boss, never got upset but simply got about making things right. As a result, I never felt threatened about pointing out things that I wanted or thought needed improvement on. Every few weeks Bob brought a new invoice for the work done and materials purchased so far, so we never paid ahead. Furthermore, we were assured that the price would never overrun the contract we signed, and that is how it turned out. We had added new jobs along the way, which added cost, but items that we had bought ourselves that had been specified in the contract were removed from the invoices, so we never felt cheated or double-billed. Finally, it was wonderful to have Nancy cleaning mirrors, sinks, toilets, floors, windows, counters, and drawers throughout. When my wife finally arrived at the end, she did not have days and days of cleaning to do before we could even get to our boxes. Friendly, honest, competent workers: it was a joy to work with the F/X crew. We have already gotten on their list for more items that we didn't have in the contract, so we look forward to having F/X to our place again!

Description of Work
We went with F/X because of good ratings on Angie's List. Are we glad we did! From the time we met with Bob Artis, the owner, we knew we had a good firm. Their view of things is that there is only one way to do things- the right way. We had a list of what we wanted done with our home, and good advice helped us hone the list. They referred us to a contractor's shop where we could choose the paint colors, carpeting, and flooring we wanted, which made us feel in charge. The jobs were many- 1) flooring- to replace the carpeting in the bedrooms, remove it in other living areas, and lay down three different laminate floorings in the rest of the house; 2) kitchen- refresh the kitchen cabinets, remove one, add another level of cabinets around the rest of the kitchen, and add tray carrels and lazy susans in the two basically unuseable corner lower cabinets; change the counters and splashboards; install our new stove and overhead microwave oven, adding a new electrical circuit in the process and repairing the outside vent; replacing the faucet hardware in the sink; reworking the overhead large light fixture; painting the kitchen; installing new Levolor shades and thoroughly cleaning the windows; 3) living room- priming and painting the untreated ceiling, painting the whole room, removing a former built-in play cabinet and replacing it with a new floor-to-ceiling bookcase, and installing trim around the mirror over the gas logs; 4) floor molding and moldings around doors and windows- replacing all of the floorboard moldings throughout, as well as repainting and repairing all trim throughout; 5) guest bathroom and surrounding bedrooms and hallway- repaint them, clean the fan over the tub, install new Levolor cloth blinds, inspect all smoke detectors, re-seat the toilet and replace its working parts, and clean everything thoroughly; entry foyer- install new cloth shades, paint the walls, and cover the scarred hardwood floor with laminate; 6) laundry room- repaint and add a magnet to hold the washing machine lid up; 7) hallway to master bedroom- repaint and change out the overhead fixture; 8) hall closet- replace carpet; 9) master bedroom- repaint the walls, prime and paint the ceiling, install new shades; 10) master bathroom dressing room- change out the sink fixtures, inspect the skylight, repaint the room, prime and paint the atrium around the skylight, replace the large light fixture over the sinks, replace the carpet in the walk-in closet and add another closet rod; 11) master bathroom- paint walls and ceiling, re-seat the toilet and rework its innards, clean the fan motor, and replace the shower with another unit; 12) deck- pressure wash the deck, add a beam under the railing to strengthen it, and repaint the posts, pressure wash the underside of the deck to remove mold; 13) roof and gutters- repaint the roof beams and trim where necessary, clean out the gutters, and repair downspout bands and woodwork where necessary; 14) sidewalks and driveway- pressure wash all cement around the house; 15) doors- replace all locks and hardware and rekey them, replace the weatherstripping around the bedroom doors; and 16) garage- install a new hose guide, and reroute the dryer vent from the master bathroom shower stall to the garage, thus bringing it up to code

Category custom cabinets, carpet installation, closet systems, countertops, decks, electrician, flooring contractor, gutter cleaning, gutter repair, lighting, remodeling, screen repair, deck cleaning, pressure washing, skylights, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, cabinet refacing, drain cleaning

5.0

07/16/2012


Erin S.

They’ve been awesome to work with! He always let us know when he was coming out, since it took some time to get the work done. He really worked around our schedule and was punctual.

Description of Work
They updated our deck.

Category decks

3.0

06/09/2012


MARILYN M.

Nice man. Just didn't seem to be the right project for this company.

Description of Work
sill plate rotted out

Category remodeling

5.0

05/26/2012


Tricia L.

They showed up on time. They used larger boards for the stair steps so I can now step on them confidently and really get my foot on the step instead of stepping very carefully on the small narrow boards that were there previously. Also, they used some roof shingles to make non-skid treads on the stairs so I won't slip and fall. The new stairs are nice pressure treated wood so they will last and they look attractive too. FX even made the last step at the bottom more finished looking with extra support on the basement floor. The stairs are wonderful, such a dramatic improvement over what was there before. I am really impressed with how nice the stairs are, and extra safe too! It only took a few hours and they were done, and even cleaned everything up. I am used to cleaning up after contractor projects, but I had nothing to do--it looked like they were never there. Awesome stairs, great job from start to finish. I know it seems silly to write about some stairs, but the good work is very appreciated. It is a real improvement on my home in function, looks, and safety!

Description of Work
I had some old rickety basement stairs that go from exterior outside entrance of basement to basement level. They were very old and the last step was barely hanging on. I had FX come out and replace old stairs (appx 7 stairs) with new.

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

5.0

02/28/2012


Diane H.

He did an excellent job.. We have used him before. And we will be calling him again.

Description of Work
He went under the building to seal up holes that an animal had made.

Category handyman service

5.0

01/04/2012


Dennis B.

They arrived on time, did the work in a timely fashion, and cleaned up after they were finished.

Description of Work
They repaired an exterior storage door and added a door jamb.

Category doors

5.0

01/03/2012


Cheryl M.

They had someone come out and talk to us about what we wanted. They took that and created a design. Walked through and made changes. They had the plans processed by the city. Problems that came up they addressed right away.

Description of Work
They remodeled the house to add a bathroom, a bed room, a sitting room (about 800 square feet) and a 1,000 square foot studio for teaching, Kilns , electricity, storage.

Category electrician, remodeling

5.0

01/03/2012


Cheryl M.

They had someone come out and talk to us about what we wanted. They took that and created a design. Walked through and made changes. They had the plans processed by the city. Problems that came up they addressed right away.

Description of Work
They added an egress window to the house.

Category egress windows

5.0

01/03/2012


TERRA B.

Everything went well and the job progressed smoothly. They completed the job without incident and did fine work.

Description of Work
They installed fixtures for holding literature and books.

Category handyman service

3.0

01/03/2012


JOHN L.

Everything went well, but he was supposed to provide an estimate on a bathroom remodel and never did so.

Description of Work
They replaced some skylights.

Category skylights

5.0

01/03/2012


Hazel L.

It went well. FX had good ideas, was very accomodating, and did a great job. They were priced competitively as well.

Description of Work
They did some remodeling in my kitchen.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

12/29/2011


FAY M.

Everything went well. They came out right away, completed the job on time, and came in under estimate.

Description of Work
They sealed up an old coal chute in my basement.

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

3.0

12/28/2011


PAMELA P.

However, it didn't go well as the windows ares still leaking.

Description of Work
They repaired leaking windows on an addition to the house.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

I don't believe she ever called to let us know that she was still having leaking problems. I called and left her a message today to follow-up.
4.0

12/28/2011


Charlotte S.

It went well. They did a professional job and were very helpful with the designs.

Description of Work
They remodeled a bathroom.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

07/11/2011


Tom C.

They came and gave the quotation in advance and it was exactly what the quotation was. They came on time, worked all day and left on time. I got exactly what I needed. I am intending to use them again.

Description of Work
I used F/X Repair & Remodeling for repairing our roof about a month ago.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    The Closet Factory

    Design, Manufacture, And Install Custom Storage Solutions For Closets, Home Office, Wall Beds, Pantry, Garage, Library, Wall Units, Entertainment Centers, And Wine Rooms. 16 Employess, Licensed, Bonded And Insured. No Subcontractors. License In Oregon Ccb#147900 And Washington Wa-Close995rc  

    NW Seismic

    We are a family-owned business whose mission is to create a more seismically prepared Portland. In designing and implementing a retrofit plan tailored specifically to our client's homes, we hope to shorten the recovery time for Portland after the next Cascadia subduction earthquake. Our work is calculated to strengthen homes to a degree in which homeowners can shelter in place after a moderate-to-high seismic event.  

    Landon Robert Jenkinson Painting

    I provide quality interior and exterior painting and restoration services. Licensed, bonded, insured and lead safe certified. I communicate clearly and coordinate with my customers to ensure the work is done to their standard and within budget and time constraints. I specialize in fine finish interior painting.  

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    HOME REMODELING, ADDITIONS, ASPHALT SURFACES, BASEMENTS, BATHROOMS, CEILINGS, CONCRETE DRIVES & WALKWAYS, DECKS, DOORS, DRYWALL, FLOOR COVERINGS, FOUNDATIONS, HANDYMAN, KITCHENS, PAINTING, RECREATION ROOMS, REMODELS, ROOFS, SIDING & OTHER EXTERIOR FINISHES, WATER LEAK & DAMAGE REPAIR, WINDOWS, BATHROOMS, CARPETING, COATING, DECKS, DOCKS & WALKS, ENTRANCES, EXTERIOR FINISHES, STRUCTURAL REHABILITATION, TENANT IMPROVEMENT, WATERPROOFING & REMODELING.

    Services Not Offered

    LANDSCAPING unless part of remodeling

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about F/X REPAIR & REMODELING

    How is F/X REPAIR & REMODELING overall rated?

    F/X REPAIR & REMODELING is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are F/X REPAIR & REMODELING open?

    F/X REPAIR & REMODELING is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does F/X REPAIR & REMODELING provide

    F/X REPAIR & REMODELING accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal

    Does F/X REPAIR & REMODELING offer free estimates?

    No, F/X REPAIR & REMODELING does not offer free project estimates.

    Does F/X REPAIR & REMODELING offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, F/X REPAIR & REMODELING offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does F/X REPAIR & REMODELING offer a senior discount?

    No, F/X REPAIR & REMODELING does not offer a senior discount.

    Does F/X REPAIR & REMODELING offer emergency services?

    Yes, F/X REPAIR & REMODELING offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by F/X REPAIR & REMODELING?

    Yes, F/X REPAIR & REMODELING offers warranties.

    What services does F/X REPAIR & REMODELING offer?

    F/X REPAIR & REMODELING offers the following services: HOME REMODELING, ADDITIONS, ASPHALT SURFACES, BASEMENTS, BATHROOMS, CEILINGS, CONCRETE DRIVES & WALKWAYS, DECKS, DOORS, DRYWALL, FLOOR COVERINGS, FOUNDATIONS, HANDYMAN, KITCHENS, PAINTING, RECREATION ROOMS, REMODELS, ROOFS, SIDING & OTHER EXTERIOR FINISHES, WATER LEAK & DAMAGE REPAIR, WINDOWS, BATHROOMS, CARPETING, COATING, DECKS, DOCKS & WALKS, ENTRANCES, EXTERIOR FINISHES, STRUCTURAL REHABILITATION, TENANT IMPROVEMENT, WATERPROOFING & REMODELING.

    Are there any services F/X REPAIR & REMODELING does not offer?

    LANDSCAPING unless part of remodeling