Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Decorview

Founded 1997 • With Angi since February 2015

4.3

(31) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

12006 SW Garden Pl

Portland, OR 97204

Description

Decorview is a leading provider of Hunter Douglas and custom drapery window treatments, with a large network of local designers. Our in-home design consultations bring the latest showroom trends to the home, allowing homeowners to explore colors, fabrics and finishes, with expert assistance from a

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/09/2017


Cally K.

The whole process was done in a very timely manner, no hang ups or big surprises.

Description of Work
I received new window coverings, they helped with selection and did the installation. We were very happy with their service.

Category interior designers, window treatments

5.0

09/26/2016


Paul M.

Work done promptly and professionally.

Description of Work
Fix window blinds

Category window treatments

5.0

08/08/2016


Susan K.

The stylist brought a large array of samples. She was knowledgeable about the products and helped me make a great selection. She was on time, was professional and was very responsive via email, text and calls.

Description of Work
Assisted with selecting window treatments for 20+ windows in our beach house. Brought samples, help with product comparisons, etc. They measured all windows, ordered the correct products and arranged installation.

Category window treatments

4.0

04/12/2016


Harish P.

The service was fine. I have worked with them twice.

Description of Work
They put in window blinds.

Category window treatments

5.0

04/12/2016


Harish P.

.

Description of Work
.

Category window treatments

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review our in-home design service. We're thrilled you had such a positive experience and hope you enjoy your new window treatments!
5.0

07/28/2015


Ronna L.

They did a very good job. They were very good. I got nice products so they were a little bit higher in price. I didn't really compare them to a lot of other places. They weren't cheap but they had good quality so I guess their prices were good. They came in and made sure everything was fine, and that's important. I had several things done and I think they were priced off separately. I had some that were unusual so they had to custom do them, in terms of the windows' shapes that were different than normal sizes. Their responsiveness was great. Their installer was somebody I knew so that worked out well, and he was very flexible.

Description of Work
I had some blinds put up by Décorview.

Category window treatments

5.0

07/28/2015


MAIDA M.

They were excellent. We had a really complicated project and they came up with a perfect solution. They were very easy to get a hold of and they were very responsive. We heard back from them right away. They really put a lot of time into it for us. They were great. We were very happy with what they did for us. The type of the material was very high quality. It was good stuff. We've used a lot of contractors for different projects at our house and I can't think of another one that we've been that satisfied with.

Description of Work
We used Décorview.

Category window treatments

5.0

07/27/2015


Betty S.

I was very pleased. They came out probably a year ago. They charged about $4,000. I liked the product. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
They did my blinds.

Category remodeling

4.0

07/27/2015


Erma & Bruce H.

They did a good job. They came out last year. Their work was spotless, everything was fine. I would use them again.

Description of Work
They did window treatments for me.

Category window treatments

5.0

06/04/2015


Kimberly C.

Diana the designer came to my home to figure out the best option for replacing three different sets of window treatments that had worn out. In addition, I wanted some new treatments on windows that had not had anything. We had a lot of ground to cover and Diana was full of good ideas as to what might work in each space, suggesting things that I had not considered which ultimately worked out well. In addition she could clearly explain what differentiated the various Hunter Douglas products and which areas I could save a few pennies on and which were worth the extra resources. Because she asked good questions on the phone before coming, she brought the right samples so I could see how the various options would function...especially the Vignette Modern Roman Shades...I had thought they would look to "new' in our older, more traditional home, but they look perfect. She also helped me pick some wonderful fabric for new drapes. She and the installer agreed that my older hardware was still functional and still looked good, so that saved me some pennies as well. I love the new fabrics and they work well with everything we already had in place. The installer was also terrific. He adjusted Diana's original measurements slightly so our new roman shades fit better around our older more traditional molding. They were a great team and we have been really happy with the finished products. I hope it will be another 15 or 20 years before I need to replace them!

Description of Work
Designer Diana came to my home and helped me organize and select window treatments for three different areas. Decorview then arranged for delivery and installation.

Category window treatments

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of our in-home design service. We are thrilled you like your new window treatments and are glad you found our designer and installer to be knowledgeable and easy to work.
5.0

04/13/2015


Denise L.

They were great because of the turn time, her promptness, her attitude, her knowledege and everything that went with it. She came up with some great ideas that I would have never thought of and so she did a really good job. I got some really nice blinds. She was easy to work with.

Description of Work
They put blinds on four windows in my home.

Category window treatments

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive review, [member name remove] We're thrilled you like your new window treatments and are glad you had such a positive experience with our designer!
5.0

04/13/2015


Cassandra W.

It was for my office- it went well. It was fine and everything turned out great. They were great - showed up on time.

Description of Work
They hang blinds for my work place.

Category window treatments

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive review, [member name removed]. We're glad your new window treatments turned out just the way you wanted!
5.0

11/05/2013


kathy K.

The installer came out a second time to double-check Juli's measurements for each window (smart); and a few weeks later, set up another appointment to install the shades. They were prompt, courteous and did a great job.

Description of Work
Juli Thurston came out with a car full of samples to show me window coverings and I thought we were going to be in for a long day. But, I explained what I wanted and within minutes, she was showing me the perfect shade -- pretty, functional and affordable. She was so knowledgeable and helpful, it made the process a breeze.

Category window treatments

5.0

06/18/2013


Sheree J.

Pamela helped us choose colors and sizes. We wanted wood blinds for our kitchen window and bay window in the kitchen and she pointed out that we needed the smaller slats due to our bay window's fit. We felt the price was good for getting Hunter Douglas. Every step went perfect. The installer was wonderful and spent time showing us how to use the up/down feature on our blinds properly. They all look beautiful. In all, we did a bay window and a large window in our living room, a bay window and window above our sink in the kitchen, and a window in our family room. They also matched a valance to the family room blinds on our slider. We are very pleased and would recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
Pamela came out and showed us several samples of different blinds. She did an initial measure, and then they came out to re-measure before placing the order. A few weeks later, they came on a Saturday moning to install.

Category window treatments

5.0

12/04/2012


Ken S.

Excellent! I used Costco to purchase the window dressings and saved about 40%. Linda DeFault is an excellent designer and was very helpful and patient to help me choose the right product for each window. I highly recommend Custom Decorators!

Description of Work
Design, recommend, install Hunter Douglas window dressings throughout my home.

Category interior designers, window treatments

1.0

11/14/2012


THOMAS H.

Normally, I'm not one to complain. In fact, I'm much more apt to give praise. However, my experience with Custom Decorators moves me to warn those who are looking for a designer or shopping for window treatments / carpet at COSTCO to avoid using the services of Custom Decorators. I've gone through COSTCO many times for home services and have always been pleased with the results and the responsiveness of the contractors. Not this time. Custom Decorators has failed my minimum expectations. Promises made by this company were not fulfilled. More frustrating was their lack of response to my emails, phone calls. Surprised, since the Company's pledge is "We are committed to delivering the finest custom carpet for your home and guarantee excellent service from start to finish" My initial experience with Custom Decorators was with the design consultant. He provided samples, gave suggestions, ran through the company's commitment to a high level of customer service and provided a booklet with various service promises pledged by the company. During the consultation I asked for a specific type of edging hardware and seam placement. Other than an extra charge for the edging, he said that both requests would not be a problem. I chose the carpet and that was that until the day of install. Carpet installation: 1) The crew of 2 showed up late without calling to let me know they'd be late. Not good when the Company's first installation promise is " We will arrive within the scheduled installation time and call you in advance if we are delayed.". 2) The seam was placed in a spot other than what was agreed upon. 3) The edging that I paid extra for was not installed. 4) Communicating with the installers was nearly impossible since they spoke very little English. 5) Installers appeared to have no knowledge of the specifications agreed upon during my consultation. 6) Discovered areas of uneven carpet cuts 6) Sharp loose staples still remain in my new carpet. I still find them with my bare feet even after vacuuming several times. After the install, I respectfully emailed Custom Decorators with my issues. I received no reply. I called several days later and spoke to a customer service representative who assured me that I'd receive a call within 24 to 48 hours. After 8 days of waiting for the phone call, I called back. That was yesterday. Spoke to another rep and he assured me that someone would be contacting me that day. As of now....Nothing. Warning to others...Don't believe Custom Decorators statement in guaranteeing excellent service from start to finish one. They make many promises but they don't deliver. I can't believe that COSTCO continues to use Custom Decorators as a contractor, since It appears as if I'm not the only one that has reviewed this company unfavorably. The only thing I can do now is contact COSTCO to convey my thoughts on Custom Decorators.

Description of Work
Design consultation and carpet installation. Arranged through COSTCO, who uses Custom Decorators as a contractor.

Category carpet installation, interior designers

2.0

05/30/2012


Andrea L.

My first experience during the measuring / shopping phase was good, however I heard that another company (WESSCO) was great and had talked to them once, but had a friend who had just been there and at her urging, gave them a call after I had the quote and measurements from Custom Decorators. Up until that point all was good and I had planned on going with Custom decorators, as the lady was helpful and had been very responsive - initially. I found out that Custom Decorators wasn't all they were spouting as far as customer service and CERTAINLY weren't living up to my expectations and experience with COSTCO. I honestly can't believe they still have a COSTCO contract....So being a Good Human, I called my rep back and left her a message before she came back to my house so I didn't waster her time and told her I had got a better price with WESSCO ( ~20% difference on the total, which took into account installation) and she literally WENT OFF ON ME FOR OVER 5 MINUTES! She wasn't going to price adjust / match, she kept telling me how her time was "worth something and I needed to think about that..." Well, I did, and I am NEVER CALLING THESE PEOPLE AGAIN! The nerve of her - this is a business, and if she wants my business she had to wheel and deal a little. I wasn't going to just pay sticker price and remain an uninformed consumer. She gave me a lot to think about, and I'll think about that while I am writing my check to WESSCO blinds for their better price and same warranty. Also I was not getting with Custom Decorators: price match, sale pricing, cash/check pricing., and the flexibility to install myself. ALL these things I did get with WESSCO! Skip this company - they are HORRIBLE!

Description of Work
Custom Decorators came out to measure and bring samples for window treatments. I had been shopping around but needed more choices and had to see how things looked in my house before deciding, and chose Custom Decorators because they were the COSTCO contractor when I called the 1-800 number for window treatments.

Category window treatments

2.0

11/23/2011


Craig L.

We had all the windows and a door replace in our home and needed new shades for all. We decided to order shades through Costco. Custom Decorators is the contractor Costco uses for orders and installation. The sales rep from CD came to the house to show us the window coverings they carried. She was professional, courteous and fairly knowledgeable about the product lines. We settle on HunterDouglas Applause shades for the windows and door and she wrote up the order. Delivery took 6 weeks as promised. When the shades arrived at CD, they called and scheduled an appointment for installation. Justin was the installer that came to the house to install the shades. After some discussion, we agreed on a ¾? setback for all window shades and Justin began the installation process. There were 22 windows and 1 door, and it took him 3 hours to install all the shades. After he finished, I took a quick look and the shades looked great. However, after Justin left I noticed one shade did not hang straight. I got looking at it and found the setback on one side of the shade was 1? and the other side was 1.5 ?. We had agreed on ¾? both sides. I then checked the other windows and found 2 shades were done correctly, the other 20 were hung incorrectly. The setbacks varied from 1.25? to 2?. I fixed 18 of the shades myself as it was fairly simple to drill new holes and adjust the brackets. The other 3 windows have round tops with two shades each and are difficult to install correctly. On one of these windows the setback was 1.25? on one side, 1.75? on the other, and 3? at the top. It was these 3 windows that prompted me to go with the installation service in the first place. I decided to leave the 3 windows along and have CD fix the shades. I next inspected the shade installed on our new exterior door. While it was hanging correctly, I did notice an extra hole drilled in the door where Justin had apparently measured incorrectly for one of the shade brackets. Nice! I contacted the sales rep and expressed my dissatisfaction for the quality of work performed. I also complained about their labor cost. I paid $510.00 to install the shades which include a $75.00 dollar travel charge. It took Justin 3 hours to do the job, that?s $145.00 per hour. (I think that cost per hour is way out of line for installing window coverings.) But if I have to pay that rate, I expect exceptional precision workmanship and what I got was poor at best. The sale rep indicated Justin would come back out and fix the shades on the 3 round top windows. A few weeks later, Justin was back to fix the 3 round top window shades. After he was done, the shades were straight and had the proper setback. However, one shade was mounted too high and hit the window frame. Also, there were so many holes in the window frames from moving the mounting brackets they look like Swiss cheese. I decided enough is enough. I sent Justin on his way and pulled down the shades, patched all the holes, repainted the window frames, and re-hung the shades myself. The bottom line is Customer Decorators does very poor work and doesn?t seem to care. I would not use them again and I would not recommend them to anyone. In addition to this post, I called Costco?s headquarters told them the story and recommended they find another contractor for window coverings.

Description of Work
We had all the window coverings (shades) replaced in our home.

Category window treatments

5.0

09/26/2011


Jeffrey H.

Workers arrived on time the day the installations were scheduled. They removed the old carpeting (included in the price) and cleaned up the mess and carried everything away with them. Jobs were completed in about an hour and a half for each room.

Description of Work
I contacted Costco for estimates on carpeting in a bedroom and living room. A designer came out to the house with samples and advice. We had one other estimate but in the end went with Costco. The bedroom was done first and I was more than pleased with the job they did. Another crew came back two weeks later to install the living room carpet. While they did a good job, I was more pleased with the first crew that did the bedroom. They just seemed to pay more attention to the little details. Still, I'm happy with both rooms. I would definately use Costco again and will for an upstairs bedroom in the near future.

Category carpet installation

2.0

06/17/2011


JOHN P.

The experience was unbelievably unprofessional. We surmise it was a bad sales rep (Karen), plus a system that didn't catch that this person was a complete whack job. We canceled the order before it arrived after a four-month delay. We got our money back -- and reasonably quickly too -- but this probably happened only because it was an order placed through Costco. (Thank god for them.) Here are the details of what happened. Nothing happened after we placed the order. We were told it would take six weeks for the order to show up. We heard nothing, then called at that time. The sales rep (Karen) said it should show up the next week and she would call us. The next week, nothing happened and she didn't call us. We called once two months had passed (since placing the order). We got her voicemail and left a message. Heard nothing. Left another message (or maybe it was two). Finally, after a week or two, she called back and said she couldn't get the message because she had dropped her cell phone in the ocean while vacationing at the Oregon coast the prior weekend. She said the order was being shipped from North Carolina, and that she would call is in two or three days. Nothing happened. We called a week later, and couldn't reach her. Finally, I noticed in the fine print that it was Custom Decorators who was the vendor. My wife called their office and was told that they couldn't find us in their system and that no order had been placed. This was about 3.5 months after we had (1) placed the order with Karen, and (2) on that same day paid in full with the Costco American Express card (because she told us that Costco requires full payment up-front). Also, we had already paid the Am Xpress bill in full. How it got into Am Xpress without every showing up at Custom Decorators is still a mystery, but it appears that the sales rep (Karen) (can you tell I'm not a big fan of her?) never handed the paperwork to the people in her shop who place the order -- though that makes no sense when you think about the fact that we got billed for it. Or, perhaps the shop can't keep track of its paperwork. Or maybe Costco screwed up. I don't know. Whatever the case is, it's obvious that this company -- whether at the individual level (the sales rep) or the business / corporate level (the folks in the office) -- does not have its act together at all. The only reason I did not give an F was because I got my money back quickly (thanks likely to Costco, rather than this outfit).

Description of Work
This was work I arranged through Costco, who uses this company as a contractor. This company came to the house, conducted measurements, and went over samples with us. My wife and I placed an order with the company that same day while the sales rep was still at our house.

Category window treatments

1.0

09/09/2008


KATHERINE R.

1) It took numerous phone calls and requests through the web site to schedule an appointment for the sales rep to come to our home - three weeks elapsed from our first contact with them until we had an appointment scheduled. 2) The sales rep continuously tried to push one product line on us even though we did not like the look of the product line. 3) The sales rep tried to get a "hard close" for the entire project the same day even though it was clear that we were not comfortable with her approach, and the products she was estimating. She did not respond well to our request to estimate the job in pieces so that we could phase it over a few months. 4) We asked for a faxed or emailed estimate from her at the end of the appointment, and we never received one. We ended up checking Angie's List and going with another provider that had high ratings. We'll pay a little more but not so much to justify the hassle. That work is in progress as of the date of the report.

Description of Work
This is another company's custom window treatments service. We tried them because our experience with other services with that company have been excellent. We requested an estimate and met with their local sales rep. We were 100% ready to buy on the date of the appointment if we had felt comfortable with the process.

Category window treatments

1.0

08/16/2007


GERI G.

They did not know if the shutters where shipped and acted a little vague as to if they had even placed the order so I asked them to please look into it and call me back that day. They assured me they would know Thursday and I did not here from them so I called again. I was told to leave a voice message the person was on the phone this was at 10. At noon I had not heard from them so I called again this time requested to speak to a human voice. I was directed to Ray who did not know if they where shipped or what was going on so I asked he find out and call me by 5. At 4:15 I called back and was told Mandy was handling it and she was busy, leave her a voice message. Very frustrated by now, I called the manufacturer. They tried to conference call to the company with me but only got voice message.

Description of Work
In the store there is a kiosk for window treatment I was interested in shutters so I contacted the number given, this is the company the store uses. Denise came out in April and told me that was too early to order shutter to be installed in June or July. They only took a few weeks so in June I called her and ordered the shutters. The installer came out to do the measurements the next day. I was to call in three weeks to see when they where shipped which I did. When I called the first week of Aug. I was told on an automated message that my shutter where shipped Aug.7th. When I did not hear from them I called Aug 13 to see when they would be installing.

Category window treatments

1.0

08/17/2006


ARTHUR G.

At the time of installation they were very considerate but after the defective blind was made workable the first time we are no longer a client to be taken care of.

Description of Work
The company replaced old window blinds with new ones. One of the blinds did not work. Product is Duette, sku#hddu2. The installer returned and worked on defective blind. It worked. The next day the blind again was defective. In a period of three weeks we have called Costco the primary contractor and also custom decorators to get the blind replaced. We have heard nothing from either company. It would appear that since we have paid for the product we are no longer a primary customer.

Category window treatments

5.0

09/23/2005


MARGARET M.

COSTCO'S HOME CUSTOM DECORATOR WAS WONDERFUL! I WAS THRILLED TO FIND THAT THE PERSON WHO CAME TO MY HOME WAS VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE AND HAD GREAT SUGGESTIONS ON SEVERAL THINGS, AND THERE WAS NO PRESSURE TO PURCHASE ANYTHING. BUT, I DID GET A GREAT DEAL ON SOME HUNTER DOUGLAS SILHOUETTE BLINDS & I LOVE THEM!

Description of Work
THE ACTUAL COST FOR THE INTERIOR DESIGNER WAS FREE! THE AMOUNT PAID FOR WORK WAS JUST THE CHARGE FOR THE BLINDS I ORDERED.

Category interior designers

5.0

07/27/2005

THE PEOPLE WHO DID THE BLINDS WERE VERY FRIENDLY. THEY TOOK A LOT OF TIME TO MAKE SURE THAT THE COLORS WERE EXACTLY WHAT WE WANTED. THEY WERE VERY PROMPT.

Description of Work
BLINDS WERE INSTALLED.

Category window treatments

    Other local Pros in your area

    Flooring America of Oregon

    Call us at 503.655.9421 or Email sales@flooringamericaoregon.com to schedule your FREE in home consultation. WE DO NOT REPAIR OR RESTRETCH CARPET. DUE TO INCREASED VOLUME, OUR MINIMUM PROJECT AMOUNT IS $2000 FOR MATERIAL AND INSTALLATION. We are the most recommended flooring store in Portland! How is Flooring America of Oregon different? -Warranty on materials and LABOR! We do not sell you material and then refer you to an installer, with 5 to 50 year warranties on our products, our labor is performed by our certified craftsman and guaranteed for the life of the product! Most stores warranty labor for only 1 year and have many exclusions in the material warranties they offer. For instance, most carpet warranties exclude stairs and hallways (which get the most traffic). Our Tigressa Nylon carpets are warrantied on stairs and hallways and even carry a Confidence Plus guarantee. - Superior service! As a family owned small business, we care about our reputation. We take pride in every project and treat our customers right. Quality assurance and job follow up are of utmost importance to our sales and production team! If you are not happy with ANYTHING, even the style or color you chose we will replace it for free on our 4 and 5 star materials! -Great Prices! As part of the largest flooring buying group in the country (Flooring America), we collectively buy more flooring than Home Depot and Lowes combined, so we compete with the big guys on price along with monthly promotions and brands you don't find elsewhere. We carry a great selection available in our 5000sf showroom. - Interest FREE financing! Same as Cash financing for 1 year available. No interest financing up to 5 years through Synchrony Financial! We look forward to meeting with you!  

    Angi Certified

    Skyview Flooring

    We specialize in flooring services such as: carpet, laminate, LVT, and tile. I have been installing floors since 2010. You can call me directly or text @360-852-0707. I give free estimates and I can help you choose what to install if you are unsure of what works best. I speak Ukrainian/English. Check out all the services we offer below and give me a call!  

    Angi Certified

    Construction New Flooring

    We specialize in all phases of flooring services, such as: laminate, vinyl, luxury vinyl, hardwood, tile, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Financing Available
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Drapery window treatments - blinds, shades & design consultation.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Decorview

    How is Decorview overall rated?

    Decorview is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are Decorview open?

    Decorview is open:

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:30 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:30 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Decorview provide

    Decorview accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Financing Available

    Does Decorview offer free estimates?

    Yes, Decorview offers free project estimates.

    Does Decorview offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Decorview does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Decorview?

    No, Decorview does not offer warranties.

    What services does Decorview offer?

    Decorview offers the following services: Drapery window treatments - blinds, shades & design consultation.