Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COST PLUS HEATING & AIR

Founded 1985 • With Angi since September 2006

4.5

(26) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7132 N FESSENDEN ST

Portland, OR 97203

Description

5 EMPLOYEES. USES SUBS FOR ELECTRIC. CHARGES AN HOURLY RATE. NO TRAVEL CHARGES. NO SERVICE CHARGES. NO EXTRA CHARGE FOR AFTER HOURS SERVICE. MAY CONTACT THROUGH EMAIL. cell phone 503 781 9090,text

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

09/05/2017


Larry H.

We only had one problem with them, it is not taken care of yet but it is a non issue.

Description of Work
Installed unit at my mother in laws home.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/22/2017


Ruth E.

.

Description of Work
.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/11/2017


mat B.

This went as well as it could have possibly gone.

Description of Work
Our furnace went out during the a recent snow storm. I called around several places and left messages. Steve called me back quickly and walked me through the issue free of charge. I'm a paraplegic and was really worried about spending 3 days snowed in with no heat. Thanks Steve!

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

11/28/2016


Amy C.

They don't provide the service I was looking for, but they were pleasant enough on the phone.

Description of Work
I was looking for a quote on heating

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/30/2016


AIDAN O.

Excellent, was installed within 2 weeks of accepting bid, Very professional install.

Description of Work
Replaced furnace & installed new central ac + a Daikin ductless upstairs.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/03/2015


JILL S.

Oh my word. I cannot say enough great things about this whole transaction. My thermostat and furnace started acting off a few days ago but my house was still heating so I figured maybe it would keeping working. This morning though, nothing. I changed the battery in my thermostat, the filter had been changed a few weeks ago, I reset my thermostat. Nothing. Similar thing had happened a few years ago and had another company out to fix it. They were very nice and helpful and showed me how to fix and keep the furnace clean. It being a few years ago, I forgot. I called the other company this morning but they couldn't see me til 6 days from now. I know it's a busy season so while being really disappointed at potentially having a cold house for a week, I decided to call around. The next call was to Cost Plus Heating. Steve told me that he had a meeting and then 5 other calls today. The earliest would be after 3 today or tomorrow. I said "perfect!" He calls before 3 and says he's on his way. Shows up, gets to business, knows exactly what to fix. Shows me how to do it (again since I had forgotten) and is gone in half an hour. Steve was extremely courteous, prompt, professional, efficient, and reasonably priced. I would absolutely positively call him again if my heating or cooling goes out.

Description of Work
Fixed my gas furnace that had a blocked Venting Pressure Switch.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/03/2015


Elaine P.

.

Description of Work
.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

01/12/2015


Beverly R.

Nothing happened as I was never able to talk with provider other than initial contact when I was told he would get back with me. He did call once and left a message but never returned my 'return' call. Several weeks and couple of months went by with no contact. I called another service provider, got on their schedule, and service was performed at a reasonable rate. No further need for Cost Plus services. Gave up on them.

Description of Work
I was attempting to get annual service and inspection done on my furnace in preparation for the winter months. Contacted provider by phone two times and email once but no results.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/29/2014


Brooke W.

Cost Plus is a small shop. I dealt exclusively with Steve, the owner. He is was extremely knowledgable and thorough. He was the only one to offer to get a city inspection (he set it all up and did it himself) for the conversion. The inspector was impressed! The cost was less than the other estimates from bigger companies, with sales people. Steve did not try to up-sell. He did everything to code, and the work was excellent. He said to call him whenever on his cell if there are problems. I'd highly recommend him for gas heating and duct work.

Description of Work
Oil to gas heating conversion.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

10/29/2014


Warren H.

There is a lot I would like to say but will keep it as short as possible. The new heating portion of the system started having service related problems the second winter. Steve attended to the service issues for the first two or three years. I asked why I was having so many issues with a brand new system and he said that he didn't know why. Year three a third expansion tank failed inside one of the Navien heater boxes. Steve ordered the parts and said he would be out on a certain day. I stayed home from work and waited - no show - no call. When I finally reached him he barked and quot;the parts didn't arrive, they will be here Fridayand quot;. Friday comes around, no Steve, no call. I called to ask why he didn't communicate. He said and quot;find someone else to fix itand quot; and hung up on me. Dumbfounded, I tried to reach him several more times. He wouldn't answer and didn't reply to any of my messages. The system was still under warranty. It took several months to even find another company to work on the system because of the complexity of what was specified. An elapsed time of 18 months and getting opinions from three separate companies about what was wrong and how to resolve it I learned the following (all three companies came up with the same prognosis and I didn't tell any of them what the other said): 1) The Rinnai instant hot water heaters specified by Cost Plus were not recommended for the purpose that they used them. This was confirmed by all three companies and by the manufacturer themselves. I asked and quot;why would they be specifiedand quot;? I was told and quot;we see this all the timeand quot;. The application requires a boiler, companies that don't have a boilers license use water heating equipment that isn't up to the task to sell a system that they can legally install. GREAT! 2) The pipes running to the heater coil in the attic were specified with too small a diameter. This did not allow adequate flow and enough heat to get the heater coil. A pump was added to try to draw enough hot water to compensate but it never overcame the fundamental issue of inadequate flow. This explains why we could never get adequate heat on the upper levels even when in the relatively rare instances that the system was working and quot;properlyand quot;. 3) Cost Plus did not specify oxygen blocking piping as required. Evidently there is special piping used in heating systems. Cost plus specified standard plumbing piping in the heater lines. Oxygen permeated the pipe and got into a system where it should not be present. This explained the three failed expansion tanks in just three years and the incessant need to backflush gunk out of the Rinnai's. 4) SAFETY: Cost Plus fed the outlet of the heating system water to our laundry room sink. This is a code violation. All of the solder, flux and heavy metals from the system were being allowed to go to a household sink! This stunned all three companies that independently determined the situation. 5) ANOTHER CODE VIOLATION: Cost Plus did not install a backflow valve on the system to keep it from pulling heater system water into the rest of the house or the city supply in the event of a pressure drop. This is a code requirement. There were more issues but you get the idea. So, after throwing good money after bad. Losing heat at least twice every winter after Cost Plus installed a complete new system and then abandoned the faulty installation barking and quot;get someone else to fix itand quot; I just paid a fortune to have it all ripped out (the heating system part of the system) and replaced. Less than seven years after installing a brand new system and 6 winters with no heat and multiple service visit expenses, a complete reboot. Thanks Steve! I never take the time to write reviews. Indeed the reason I joined Angie's list was to read up on the companies that I was considering for replacing the disaster that was my dealing with Steve Sanderson. This really happened. There are no mitigating circumstances - Steve Sanderson installed a monstrosity in my house and then abandoned it. I have the bills and a lot of communication to prove it.

Description of Work
We decommissioned the original oil fired furnace in our 1929 house as part of a comprehensive remodel that we did in 2007. The new system was entirely specified and installed by Steve Sanderson the owner of Cost Plus. The new system that he proposed actually wound up being two systems - one for the first two levels (daylight basement and main level) and a second for the bedroom/upper levels. Each zone included a Unico air handler (small duct system), a Rinnai instant hot water heater, a Navien heater box and an American Standard AC unit. Note that the price for the installation excluded the plumbing and electrical work. That work was done by other subs (at my expense) that were on my job for the general house plumbing and electrical retrofit portion of the job. All of the plumbing work done for the heating system installation was done under the instruction of Steve Sanderson.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

First off We did not do the plumbing.we did speck out 1" pipe not 3/4.the plumber was to supply the back flow device,was speck out. All the problems Came from the plumber.we added the extra pump no cost.He was told from the start that the plumbing was not right and needed to be replaced.It all passed inspections with the city.
5.0

02/02/2014


Becky S.

Most importantly, Steve did exactly what he said he would do exactly when he said he would do it. No surprise costs. No excuses. No misunderstandings. I would hire Cost Plus Heating and Air again without hesitation.

Description of Work
They replaced an oil furnace with a gas furnace and provided new ducting where needed. Also a new thermostat.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/03/2013


John W.

Steve at Cost Plus came over the day that I called to look at the job. I had a firm bid two days later. He originally indicated that it would be about 10 days before he could get to the project, but fortunately for us one of his jobs was delayed and he was able to start a week earlier. He estimated that the job would take two days from the start until the installation was complete and the gas meter was set and the furnace functioning. The project went as expected. He started Monday morning, Furnace was functioning Tuesday afternoon. City inspector came on Friday and approved the installation. The inspector said that the work was and quot;done welland quot;.

Description of Work
Converted from oil furnace to gas furnace, Replaced old oil furnace with a new 95% gas unit. Replaced all the ductwork (by my choice) installed the new gas piping. Dealt with NW Natural Gas and the city inspectors, permits ...

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/06/2012


Sherry Y.

During the estimate Steve mentioned the need for a permit and that his quote for the work performed was firm. He was on time, which seems to be unheard of, professional and courteous. He kept me up to date on his progress and was thorough, including meeting the inspector on the weekend and showing me how to change my filter. He worked with me and met my needs. Steve is an honest rarity and I would hire him again! Plus the man rescues cats when he's not working 15 hour days...

Description of Work
Steve gave me an estimate with a few choices to choose from, as I was on a budget. He removed my old unit, installed the new one, repaired my duct work and corrected my intake. He also saw the job through to the end meeting with the inspector the next day, which was a Saturday.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/02/2012


Susan S.

It was great. They came in, did the job and left. The fireplace work was included in the bid and they didn't want to do it until we were about done with the house, which was fine. They did a really nice job. We would absolutely use them again.

Description of Work
We used Cost Plus Heating & Air to put in a new furnace a year ago. They came a month ago and refurbished the fireplace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, fireplaces

5.0

01/26/2012


Jeremy R.

We had two issues: we were wondering what replacing our inefficient furnace would cost, and were hearing what could best be described as a clanging noise in the return vent. We called the NW Naturals number for a reference for the estimate, knowing that we could probably find a serviceman in the same place. On the phone Steve commented that he's a technician so he could take a look at the banging noise. The day of the estimate, Steve walked in and heard the banging and said, and quot;you have an electric filter.and quot; We went to the garage where the furnace and filter are and he took a moment to try to straighten out where the filter was arcing. He was able to get one of the filters to stop arcing, but not the other. He took some time to advise me on how to clean them (we had done so only once since buying the house and used a dishwasher per the owner manual, he advised us not to use the dishwasher in the future). He then looked through the existing furnace and took notes for the estimate. On the way back from the garage, I asked him to take a look at an old wall furnace in one room. We had been a little scared of it since buying the house (the previous owners said they never used it). He looked at it and commented that he used to install them and that they are great machines. He said that it's probably still usable, but probably could use servicing and went over a couple of common major problems (for example, the knob is rigid and if forced can break requiring an expensive replacement). After the visit, we arranged for him to come back and service the wall furnace and replace the still-arcing cell. He was unable to find a used cell at first, but shortly before the service date at our house replaced an identical electric filter at another house and bought those cells off that client. We ended up replacing both cells for half of what one new cell would cost. We also realized that we could only hear the clanging in one of our return vents and asked him to check to make sure the other was connected, so he climbed through the attic to verify that it was. It's connected with flexi-duct, which is why the clanging wasn't audible. The wall furnace was serviced and provides excellent warmth for the room. On the estimate, Steve was very honest and up-front. He mentioned some options and then added that they weren't going to provide enough savings to justify the price. I asked him about a more modern and efficient wall furnace and he said it wouldn't be worth the money because the savings would only come from the change from a pilot light to electric ignition. Overall, we felt that whatever price we would get would be fair. I also was impressed by how knowledgeable he was. From immediately diagnosing the noise in the intake vent to his familiarity with the wall furnace. It's obvious that Steve has been doing this a long time and has earned and maintained good knowledge of products on the market. Replacing the furnace is probably not going to happen right away (so long as the current furnace keeps going), but we now can anticipate the cost when that happens and know who to call. Likewise, I imagine we will call him again in the future for service calls.

Description of Work
Replaced cells in electric air filter (old cells were damaged and arcing). Serviced old wall furnace. Examined return ducting. Provided estimate for furnace replacement.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/27/2011


CYD E.

Job went very well. I've known Steve professionally over 20 years and would recommend him to anyone.

Description of Work
Steve installed a Rinnai tankless water heater, ran a new 1" gas line to it, ran 2 gas hook ups to the deck for a bbq and glass fire chat table. Hauled off the old tank.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

11/16/2010


Brian D.

Steve came out and looked at our system and gave us a bid. I was very impressed with Steve and his knowledge of our system; he pointed out a programming problem that 4 other techs had missed in the passed two years. I liked that he was a small company and would be there when the work was being done, unlike the larger comapnies where the guy who sales the equipment and promises the world is never seen again. His bid didn't have some of the detail his competitors did, and he was slow getting it to us due to limtted office technology (ability to email). Ultimately, we decided not to go with Steve because of price. I just don't think he could compete with the larger competitor we went with (he was almost $2k more), but I would definetly have used him for anything other than a purchase of a new system.

Description of Work
Steve did an estimate of a Furnace and A/C replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/19/2010


joe P.

They did an excellent job and really went above and beyond with their service. He was very professional and very informative. The information I learned was very important.

Description of Work
He came out to give me an estimate on a heating and A/C unit and ended up putting in American Standard units. They put the system in including duct work and even did the paper reports for government rebates.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, dog fence

5.0

01/26/2010


WILLIAM R.

He showed up on short notice and worked very quickly and competently. I know a bit about furnaces and motors and talked with him at length. He obviously understands furnaces and motors very well; he was not just following a set procedure. Excellent knowledge and service.

Description of Work
Steve replaced the blower motor on my gas furnace and cleaned the squirrel-cage fan and did other service. He also explained to me the likely cause of my motor failure after only seven years of operation and how to avoid future problems.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/23/2008


Jeff B.

Steve was very responsive in all aspects of the job. He came out and prepared a quote the day I called. He explained exactly what he would do and why (with respect to the furnace, the gas line for the existing water heater and the furnace, the venting system for the water heater). He took his time to make sure I understood why the work was required. He did not try to push upgrades that I didn't want. He and his co-worker completed the job within a few days of the original quote. The job was completed under the quoted price, and Steve provided the necessary paperwork for various energy efficiency rebates. When I asked him about strategies for future changes to the heating and cooling system (including expansion of the ductwork, upgrading the water heater), he was very helpful and knowledgeable (and, again, didn't try to push us to do any of this work now rather than at some time down the road). We are totally satisfied with every aspect of the job and Steve's knowledge and responsiveness. He's just a straight-shooter.

Description of Work
Replacement of an old gas furnace with a high-efficiency unit, brought gas lines for water heater and furnace up to code, lined the chimney for the "orphaned" water heater vent (which was not up to code before the work), filled an opening in the chimney to bring it up to code (from a earlier oil furnace).

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, gas leak repair

5.0

12/15/2006


COURTNEY A.

Steve was on the ball. He returned our call quickly and was able to come and look at our project to provide a bid. He communicates exactly what needs to be done in terms anyone can understand. He spent time researching and talking with the manufacturer of the tankless water heater to make sure the venting was done correctly for this model. On the day work was schedule to be done he and his co-worker showed up on time and took precautions to protect the flooring areas. He had other challenges with our house and was able to meet them head on and solve the issues quickly. He is number one in our book. Thanks Steve for the great job!

Description of Work
Steve was hired to put in a 1" gas line and to redo work done by the previous owner of house to make the tankless hot water heater safer. He added a fresh air vent to the water heater and relocated the exhaust vent from venting with the furnace to having its own vent line out through the chimney. He also put in two gas dryer lines.

Category water heater repair

1.0

11/30/2006


STEVE S.

Project was no more then satisfactorily completed. One more additional add-on cost to go. A new gas line for the 2nd floor dryer. Gas line was then installed in an incorrect location. I requested the gas line to be re-located. It was but still ended being in the way of another future mechanical system. This was not known till such other mechanical system was being installed. By now enough-is-enough, this gas line was sawed out of the way. A call to Cost Plus Heating and Air brought Steve, the proprietor, out to the job site when after a short conversation obscenities where spoken to me by him. Thirty years in construction and I've never experienced anything like this. Someone swearing at me because he screwed up and installed a gas line in the wrong location! He was informed at this time that $1800.00 is way to steep for an extra. Which had approximately $500.00 in materials. This only infuriated him to slamming the door on me on the way out. Beware of a volatile personality.

Description of Work
Initially I felt that I was in good hands with a most reputable HVAC contractor who came highly recommended by a friend. A major residential renovation necessitated the new heating system to be put in. Cost Plus Heating and Air bid was competitive with 1 other from a large longtime Portland area HVAC contractor. Always on the look-out for the small 1 man type company. I elected to go with Cost Plus Heating and Air. A short time into this a change in the basement ductwork was mandated by the City because of the lack of ceiling head height. Cost Plus Heating and Air gave me a cost for these 2 short lengths of new duct at $1800.00. Hmmm. A number that did not sit well with me. I've already accepted him and still felt a trust in him.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/03/2006


KYLE V.

Steve with Cost Plus is outstanding! I had a number of bids, and he was the only one that wasn't a slick salesman. In-between running his business and doing the jobs, he's the one that provides the bids. His bid was straightforward, clear, and the best price. He hadn't even received the job yet, but he fixed my electric water heater for free because he said I shouldn't have to be without hot water for 3 weeks. I had asked for a one-stage 90% furnace, but the wholesaler made him aware of a two-stage 90% furnace that would only cost me $50.00 more! Removal of the oil tanks was more than what Steve thought it might be, but he didn't charge any more than the estimate. He also saw that my dryer vent needed fixing, so he did that as well. He and his assistant, Jeremiah, were friendly and on-time. They did outstanding work and left the job site cleaner than when they had arrived. Not only would I recommend Cost Plus to anyone, I would beg them to have Cost Plus do the work. Thank You Steve.

Description of Work
I had two oil tanks, an oil furnace, & water heater removed. Tanks had to be cut up to be removed. They did installation of a new gas water heater, 2-stage 90% gas furnace & thermostat. They fixed the electric water heater for free and dryer duct for free just because they needed fixing. They are the most professional craftsman I've ever worked with and had unmatched integrity and skill.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

5.0

10/18/2006


MARK W.

I chose Cost Plus after getting five estimates. Their estimate was by far the fairest of all the estimates given the type of equipment that I wanted to purchase. They were consistently on time and completed the work without any complications.

Description of Work
They removed the old oil furnace and electric hot water heater and installed a new high efficiency natural gas furnace and natural gas hot water heater.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/06/2006


SCOTT D.

Steve was great. He knows his stuff, explained what he was doing, gave me some recommendations for further upkeep, didn't upsell me with things I didn't ask for.

Description of Work
The fan on my electric furnace had been stuck on, blowing constantly. After a rep from another heating company came out to the house and completely failed to fix the problem (and overcharged me!), a friend recommended Steve at Cost Plus. Steve diagnosed the problem right away (some kind of gunk was keeping a switch from making proper contact), cleaned things up, ran some tests, and everything was back to normal.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    The Original Fence Company

    serving oregon with over 50 years experience, we can help with all your fencing needs. Give us a call or click for a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Family Chimney Repair

    20 years plus experience 3 generation Mason. Employees have over 6 years in cleaning ,installing and inspections.We are A Family owned and operated business that brings a combined industry experience over 25 plus years. We are competitive and take our customers seriously. Like our name says family so are customers.  

    Angi Certified

    Pipeline Plumbing & Drains

    Owner operated. Our motto is "Where Quality Meet's Integrity" and we really value giving great customer service. We pride ourselves on how well versed we are in the plumbing industry, being able to accommodate our clients with most plumbing issues or projects that come our way. We work very hard to keep our clients happy, making sure they feel we are working hard for them. We have an amazing group of plumbers with years of great experience. We stay very consistent with the level of quality work we provide, at the same time trying to keep our pricing affordable.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING, FIREPLACES-GAS, ELECTRIC, WOOD, SALES, SERVICE & INSTALLATION.Duct work,Gas water heaters

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about COST PLUS HEATING & AIR

    How is COST PLUS HEATING & AIR overall rated?

    COST PLUS HEATING & AIR is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are COST PLUS HEATING & AIR open?

    COST PLUS HEATING & AIR is open:

    Monday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does COST PLUS HEATING & AIR provide

    COST PLUS HEATING & AIR accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does COST PLUS HEATING & AIR offer free estimates?

    Yes, COST PLUS HEATING & AIR offers free project estimates.

    Does COST PLUS HEATING & AIR offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, COST PLUS HEATING & AIR does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does COST PLUS HEATING & AIR offer a senior discount?

    No, COST PLUS HEATING & AIR does not offer a senior discount.

    Does COST PLUS HEATING & AIR offer emergency services?

    Yes, COST PLUS HEATING & AIR offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by COST PLUS HEATING & AIR?

    No, COST PLUS HEATING & AIR does not offer warranties.

    What services does COST PLUS HEATING & AIR offer?

    COST PLUS HEATING & AIR offers the following services: HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING, FIREPLACES-GAS, ELECTRIC, WOOD, SALES, SERVICE & INSTALLATION.Duct work,Gas water heaters